Customer Reviews for Lyman Lyman® Mustang Breakaway™ .50-Caliber Rifle

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Cabela's.

Lyman Lyman® Mustang Breakaway™ .50-Caliber Rifle

A hammerless, break-action design, recoil pad, fiber-optic sights and magnetized primer retention help set the Mustang apart from other in-line muzzleloaders. By incorporating a hammerless ignition system, you can mount a scope low and centered for fast target acquisition. For those preferring open sights, the Mustang is equipped with a front and rear fiber-optic system that's adjustable for windage and elevation. Premium ultragrain wood finish gives the Mustang the look of an expensive custom model. The Pachmayr Decelerator recoil pad makes this rifle a joy to shoot. The barrel has a 1-in-28 twist that's ideal for conical hunting bullets and is drilled and tapped to accept Weaver?-style scope mounts (bases included). The safety is a tang-mounted shotgun style, making the Mustang perfect for right- and left-handed shooters alike. Removable barrel and breech plug make clean-up easy, and the primer seat is slightly magnetized to hold the primer in place. Uses 209 primers and a charge up to 150 grains. Barrel length: 26". Overall length: 42-3/4". Weight: 8-3/4 lbs.
Overall Customer Rating:
4.889 out of 5
4.9
 out of 
5
(9 Reviews) 9
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 9 reviews
5 Stars
8
4 Stars
1
3 Stars
0
2 Stars
0
1 Star
0
9 out of 9(100%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Lyman® Mustang Breakaway™ .50-Caliber Rifle
Review 1 for Lyman® Mustang Breakaway™ .50-Caliber Rifle
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location: marble hill, mo
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

excellent quality

Date:December 8, 2009
For the money this is the best muzzleloader on the market.
No cheap synthetic stock.
Solid wood.
No hammer, so the scope mounts low.
Excellent gun.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 2 for Lyman® Mustang Breakaway™ .50-Caliber Rifle
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Mustang rifle

Date:September 11, 2009
Great modern smokepole, very well made,Great accuracy, great recoil pad, magnetic breachplug is wonderful! you just get the primer close and let go of it and the magnet pulls it in. Breach plug is easy to remove, makes clean-up from the breech so easy! The two piece ram rod ain't the greatest thing,but from a engineering standpoint it's a way to hang a ram rod on the rifle that is not longer than the barrel. The trigger again ain't the greatest but after a gritty take up it does break clean. all in all I am very pleased with Lymans mustang rifle.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 3 for Lyman® Mustang Breakaway™ .50-Caliber Rifle
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location: Senoia Georgia
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Beautiful low recoil gun that shoots tight groups.

Date:August 17, 2009
This gun is very nice. The looks are real nice. The fit and finish are perfect. The balance is very nice. The recoil pad is the best I've seen. It shoots really well. Shooters that complain about recoil need to shoot this gun.
There are a couple of problems. Both minor.
Tigger pull is scratchy at first, but improves with use.
I don't understand why Lyman has put a wooden ramrod on this gun. The end pulled off of mine. I wrote Lyman and they graciously sent me another by express mail. They give good service.
The magnetic primer holder is great. A little soot enters the breech area, so there may be some room for Lyman to improve the fit of the primer. I believe someone will eventually make a 209 primer that seals itself when fired..
I shoot ffg powder. The groups I have shot with many different loads are very, very good. This gun likes to be damp swabbed and them double dry patched between rounds.
I wish Lyman would come out withs some options for sights on this gun. I would like more open rear sight and narrower front. (This gun came with weaver style bases).
Again, the fit and finish are beautiful! If you close the gun up and hold it up to the sun, there is zero light in the breach closing area. It is tight! This should make for better wet weather hunting. Tang safety is nice.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 4 for Lyman® Mustang Breakaway™ .50-Caliber Rifle
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location: OZARK MOUNTAINS!!
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

LYMAN BREAKAWAY .50 CALIBER MUZZLELOADER

Date:August 14, 2009
I HAVE ENJOYED SHOOTING THIS RIFLE AS IT IS VERY COMFORTABLE TO SHOULDER AND IS SOMEWHAT EASY ON THE BONES TO FIRE WITH THE NICE PACHMEYER DE-CELERATOR RECOIL PAD. I HAVE FOUND IT IS EXTREMELY ACCURATE FOR A MUZZLELOADER AVERAGING A 1 1/4 TO 1 1/2 INCH GROUPS AT 100 YARDS WITH THE KNIGHT 290 GRAINER (BARNES) POLYMER TIP BOATTAIL IN FRONT OF 150 GRAINS OF JIM SHOKEYS' GOLD ( 50 GRAINS EACH )PELLETS. THE STOCK IS RICH ( REAL WOOD ) WITH A NICE SWIRLED GRAIN AND HAS AN INTERNATIONAL FEEL. CONSTRUCTION SEEMS VERY STRONG WITH TIGHT TOLERANCES, AFTER BREAKIN IT LOADS EASY AND SHOOTS WELL. I AM VERY HAPPY WITH THIS RIFLE, DO NOT HESITATE TO BUY IT, YOU WONT BE DISAPPOINTED!!
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 5 for Lyman® Mustang Breakaway™ .50-Caliber Rifle
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location: Campton, NH
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Lyman Mustang Muzzleloader

Date:July 20, 2009
I purchased it in December and did not get a chance to shoot it until today. Cabelas mounted a Leopuld Ultimate Slam scope on it. It shoots tight groups at 100 yards using Buckhorn 209 powder and Barnes 250 gr Red hot sabots. I am very happy with it, for the price it is well worth it.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 6 for Lyman® Mustang Breakaway™ .50-Caliber Rifle
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location: NORTHEASTERN, OHIO
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Lyman Mustang Breakaway

Date:February 9, 2009
LOVE THIS GUN! BEST LOOKING MUZZLELOADER I HAVE EVER SEEN. SUPER GOOD DEAL! THANKS! JIM
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 7 for Lyman® Mustang Breakaway™ .50-Caliber Rifle
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location: Henryetta, OK
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Lyman Mustang Breakaway

Date:November 3, 2007
It's accuracy equals it's good looks. Every black powder shooter should own one, beginner or experienced.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 8 for Lyman® Mustang Breakaway™ .50-Caliber Rifle
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Lyman mustang Breakaway .50 caliber rifle

Date:September 3, 2007
Just bought one of these and I love it. I shot it at 75 yards just resting on sand bags and two of three shots were touching. one was about one inch away. On the last shot I think I flinched. Gun looks great and is easy to clean. Highly Recomend this gun to everyone.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 9 for Lyman® Mustang Breakaway™ .50-Caliber Rifle
Overall Customer Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location: Maine
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Creepy Trigger

Date:February 28, 2008
Purchased the Lyman Breakaway Mustang to have a more weatherproof black powder gun to cope with the snow and wet weather we have here in Maine for the muzzleloading season. After mounting a scope and test firing, I was very pleased with the feel, soft recoil, and accuracy of this gun. The fit of the faux finished stock is quite good, the metal work is good, and the break action is easy to use. The only bad thing is that the trigger has a long scratchy creep, but does break cleanly,(although somewhat heavy), after the creep is taken-up. This will be a matter for some additional expense to have the trigger smoothed by a gunsmith. The two piece ramrod may be a bit pesty two some. Overall this gun fulfilled my expectations, and will be a good companion in the deer woods next fall.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.