Customer Reviews for PEDERSOLI Pedersoli Rocky Mountain Hawken Rifle

PEDERSOLI Pedersoli Rocky Mountain Hawken Rifle

The Hawken is a symbol of the period that saw the passage from the long and heavy small caliber Pennsylvania rifles to more practical and powerful Plains rifles, and the definite abandoning of the flintlock for the far more modern percussion system. The strong barrel and the larger caliber, enabled hits on any target with surprising accuracy. This rifle soon became an invaluable friend of Mountain men, and the most famous explorers of the American continent. The Rocky Mountain Hawken is offered in a maple stock with a barrel having seven grooves obtained by broaching, rust brown color finish, steel metal parts. Barrel length 34". Available in .50 caliber and .54 caliber with twist rates of 1 in 48" on the .50 and 1 in 65" on the .54. Right hand only. Overall length: 51-1/4" Weight: 9.9 lbs.
Overall Customer Rating:
4.862 out of 5
4.9
 out of 
5
(29 Reviews) 29
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 29 reviews
5 Stars
28
4 Stars
0
3 Stars
0
2 Stars
0
1 Star
1
28 out of 29(97%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer questions and answers:
5 Questions | 17 Answers
Customer Reviews for Pedersoli Rocky Mountain Hawken Rifle
Review 1 for Pedersoli Rocky Mountain Hawken Rifle
Overall Customer Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Country: United States
State: Arizona
Age: 65 and over
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? No

Defective rifle(s)

Date:July 26, 2014
The first RM Hawken I bought from Cabelas had a defective barrel and would not group, so I took it back and ordered a replacement. The second one, had the same problem. Both rifles were beautiful with excellent metal to wood matching, and a very good brown finish. Neither rifle would group and both shredded patches regardless of powder load or patch thickness. The first several inches of the barrel on both guns was scarred and scratched. Neither gun should have left the factory. Very disappointed with Pedersoli, very happy with the way Cabelas treated me.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 2 for Pedersoli Rocky Mountain Hawken Rifle
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Country: United States
State: Tennessee
Age: 46-55
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

GREAT Muzzle loader

Date:June 20, 2014
The best looking and shooting muzzleloader ive ever had, the only draw back is the ramrod could be better
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 3 for Pedersoli Rocky Mountain Hawken Rifle
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Country: United States
State: West Virginia
Age: 56-65
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

A nice shooter.

Date:June 8, 2014
Picked this rifle up in the bargain cave. A few scratches, so what. A real good bargain I must say. At the range today performance was flawless. Not a single ftf. The rifle is more capable than my eyes. Hits where you aim it. 100yard gong, 50 yd bowling pins, and just punching holes in paper. This is a .50 percussion, with curly maple stock. The wood is soft maple so it dings easy. The only issue I have is the 2 barrel/stock weges are so tight they have to be knocked out. Beautiful rifle. I like it.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 4 for Pedersoli Rocky Mountain Hawken Rifle
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Country: United States
State: Minnesota
Age: 46-55
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Recommended

Date:January 1, 2014
This is my second Rocky - the first one had a very rough stretch in the barrel right where the patched ball sits, which I understand is atypical for Pedersolis. Cabela's was incredibly gracious about exchanging it. Just outstanding.
The gun itself is something else. The trip on the double set amounts to a puff of air, no gun in my safe has a better trigger. The finish on the metal and wood is outstanding, there appears to be a lot a hand work on this piece. The only downside is the fear of marring it. A good 'problem'!
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 5 for Pedersoli Rocky Mountain Hawken Rifle
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Country: United States
State: Colorado
Age: 56-65
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

A gun I will be proud to pass on to my grandson

Date:October 21, 2013
This is a robust, very well-built rifle, equal to most custom Hawkens. It is the most accurate factory-made replica of the famed Hawken rifles available today, and the quality of this firearm is no doubt equal, if not superior, to that of the original Hawkens. The flame in the Maple stock on my rifle is magnificent, the barrel is a flawless deep, dark brown and the period correct color case hardened hardware is excellent. Fit, finish and workmanship is as fine as any factory firearm I have ever owned. This rifle is also an impressive shooter. I had no problem at all shooting 1-1 1/2" groups at 100 yards, once I found the charge my rifle liked best, which was 110 gr of Triple Seven and a Hornady .530 patched round ball. With this load I can take anything on the North American Continent...or in Africa, for that matter! I find myself picking it up and admiring it all the time, and I can't wait to get back out to the range to shoot it again!
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 6 for Pedersoli Rocky Mountain Hawken Rifle
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Country: United States
State: Arizona
Age: 36-45
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Work of art!

Date:September 10, 2013
This gun shoots as well as it looks, great!! The target trigger is about 1/2 pound and the hunting trigger is 3 pound from the factory. The sights are dead on and rear tang pre-drilled for target sights. Fit and finish is one of the best that I have seen. Well worth the $$$ in opinion.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 7 for Pedersoli Rocky Mountain Hawken Rifle
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Country: United States
State: Indiana
Age: 65 and over
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Splendid Repro

Date:August 7, 2013
I got the Hawkin a bit ago but have not fired it. Just enjoyed looking at it and fondling it.
it hangs on my LR wall for me and all to admire. The fit and finish of the rifle are wonderful, fully equal to some custom made rifles costing many dollars more. Probably get out to fire it upon return from vacation and casting up some .50 caliber bullets (Lee Balls and maxi-type bullets). If it shoots as good as it looks, I will be overjoyed! ! !!
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 8 for Pedersoli Rocky Mountain Hawken Rifle
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Country: United States
State: Rhode Island
Age: 56-65
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Best Hawken

Date:May 7, 2013
I've owned several Hawken rifles including a Thompson and a Lyman and the Pedersoli is the best. The fit and finish is superb and it shoots great. If you can afford the extra cost, it's worth it.
Pedersoli recommends that you use a .535 caliber ball, but I've learned that Hornady and Speer balls vary a lot in size making them difficult to load; .530 balls work much better.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 9 for Pedersoli Rocky Mountain Hawken Rifle
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Country: United States
State: Nebraska
Age: 65 and over
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

An excellent rifle!

Date:February 5, 2013
This Pedersoli rifle is a beautiful example of quality workmanship. It is something to pass down for generations. If you are in to quality reproduction firearms, Pedersoli is highly recommended. It is well worth paying more to get a firearm this good.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 10 for Pedersoli Rocky Mountain Hawken Rifle
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Country: United States
State: California
Age: 56-65
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Best Factory Muzzleloader that I've owned

Date:November 30, 2012
Recently I have experienced problems with another model Pedersoli and had just about given up on getting a new rifle this year when I agreed to make an exchange for this rifle. This is as close to a semi custom rifle that I have ever had. It is truly excellent in every way. It is almost too beautiful to take into the field, I said Almost! Definitely worth the money. The maple stock is really nice, the finish work is first rate. This is the one to buy!
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 11 for Pedersoli Rocky Mountain Hawken Rifle
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Superb Rifle

Date:August 22, 2012
Beautifully made, gorgeous maple stock and deadly accurate. My .50 Hawken is capable of 3" groups at 100 yards using .018" pillow ticking dry patch lubed with bore butter, .490 swaged ball and 80 grains of triple se7en, with the rifle resting on a single sandbag. Money well spent!
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 12 for Pedersoli Rocky Mountain Hawken Rifle
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location: Sandy, UT
Age: 46-55
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Gem of a rifle

Date:March 5, 2011
Pedersoli's Rocky Mountain Hawken is a keeper. I purchased the .50 cal maple version on sale through Cabelas. Had to wait several weeks for the maple version but it was worth it. The first thing I noticed right out of the box is this rifle is more robust than expected. This is a good thing, it implies strength and durability and stabilizes the rifle when shooting. The maple stock is beautiful, I like the raised cheekpiece, and the wood to metal finish is good. The satin browned barrel is very attractive also. I'm glad I opted for the .50 cal as the 1/48" barrel allows shooting of both round balls and conicals. I figure the conical bullet will give more accuracy and retained energy over a .54 cal round ball (1/66" twist barrel) at longer distance, 75 - 100 yds and w/ less recoil.
I just finished a shooting session, shooting a combination of about 50 .490 Hornady round balls and Powerbelt Copper Series conical hollow points. I worked up from 70 to 90 gr of Pyrodex FFg w/ both projectiles and when I did my part, got very good accuracy no matter the powder charge. Keep in mind that I'm a centerfire/scope guy and this is the first time shooting black powder in over 20 years! The rifle shot consistently to the right and I wasn't able to drift the front sight in the field to correct for this so I had to aim about a front blade's width to the left. 3 shot groups w/ the round balls were all under 1 3/4" at 50 yards, the best was 1 1/2". Also cleaned the barrel every 3 shots or so. I started shooting w/ the round balls so I was experimenting w/ powder charge, sights, and was adjusting to the trigger pull. Switching to the conicals put a big smile on my face as my best 3 shot group at 50 yds could be covered by a quarter! I then proceeded to knock over several 1 liter sized water bottles at 75 yds shooting the conicals. For the entire shooting session, all shots would have been in the vitals of a deer sized animal. Recoil wasn't an issue, a moderate push rather than a sharp kick. I believe the weight of the rifle helps here.
Other than needing a windage adjustment, the only glitch was towards the end of my shooting session, the hammer started to "catch" at times when pulling the trigger after using the set trigger. It would fall only to the half cock position. Recocking and firing w/o setting the trigger always worked.
The Rocky Mtn Hawken was a blast to shoot and is a work of art. Loved the cloud of smoke! If any of you are debating between a .50 vs .54 and maple vs. walnut stock, go for the maple stock, it's beautiful, and you'll appreciate the accuracy and versatility of the 1/48" twist barrel of the .50 cal.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 13 for Pedersoli Rocky Mountain Hawken Rifle
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location: MT
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Rocky Mountain Hawken

Date:February 28, 2011
Beautifully fininshed rifle!
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 14 for Pedersoli Rocky Mountain Hawken Rifle
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location: Duluth, MN
Age: 46-55
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Great Hawken

Date:November 30, 2010
I've wanted one for several years and finally got one of these, and am very pleased. The quality is first class and the wood is really beautiful. The browning is great and dark. The barrel is darker than the rod ferrules. The color-case hardening is really nice. I'm looking forward to shooting it.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 15 for Pedersoli Rocky Mountain Hawken Rifle
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location: North Pole, AK
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Work of art

Date:March 4, 2010
This was my first muzzleloader purchase so I researched for quite some time before settling on the Maple .54. The price was considerably more than other production rifles I had looked at but it was absolutely worth the money. I could not have made a better choice. The maple stock is beautiful and well fitted to the metal. I really love the set trigger which works very well increases accuracy significantly. I can't wait to try this beauty out on a Yukon moose this fall!
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 16 for Pedersoli Rocky Mountain Hawken Rifle
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location: Dallas, TX
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Pedersoli Rocky Mountain Hawken

Date:January 3, 2010
All I can say is "wow!" This rifle is beautiful and functions flawlessly. I purchased the .54 caliber maple stock model from Cabela's back in June at an incredible sale price. I only recently put it to the test at the range and in the field during the 2009 Missouri muzzleloader season. It was a big hit at the range. I have found the following combination to be very effective for me: 90 gr Pyrodex RS, .010 patches lubed with TC Bore Butter, Hornady .535 lead balls. This combination helped to produce a well placed shot and a clean kill on a whitetail at 85 yds.
After an initial hot water cleansing to get the petroleum based lubricants out of the barrel, I have only used natural products in this rifle (TC Bore Butter and TC No. 13 Bore Cleaner). I use the Bore Butter on the patch for each shot and I use the No. 13 to clean the barrel at the end of the day. Then I swab the barrel with Bore Butter for rust protection and put it away. I have fired the rifle about 100 times and have not had to swab the bore at all between shots. This natural method of seasoning the barrel makes black power shooting so much easier and enjoyable.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 17 for Pedersoli Rocky Mountain Hawken Rifle
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location: Houston, TX
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Pedersoli Rocky Mountain Hawken

Date:November 3, 2009
I am very pleased with my purchase. The rifle is a beautiful peice of craftsmanship. I am glad I went for the maple stock. I haven't taken it to the range yet but I am certain it will function perfectly.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 18 for Pedersoli Rocky Mountain Hawken Rifle
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Pedersoli Rocky Mt Hawken

Date:July 16, 2009
I received my Hawken and was very impressed with it's appearance. I haven't had a chance to shoot it yet but am looking forward to it. My one complaint would be that it was advertised with a brown finish and it is more of a blue finish. But the workmanship is very good and the maple stock is awesome.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 19 for Pedersoli Rocky Mountain Hawken Rifle
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location: San Francisco,Ca.
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

54 cal. Rocky Mt. Hawken

Date:July 10, 2009
With the unavailability of reloading components in my neck of the woods, I thought a muzzleloader would keep me shooting. When I saw this rifle on sale at Cabela's with a great shipping promotion,it was too good to pass up. The gun arrived within a few days and I could not believe the beautiful tiger striped maple stock on a production firearm ! Fit and finish was perfect . First shooting impression,.530 ball,.015 patch,70g of 3f,one ragged hole.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 20 for Pedersoli Rocky Mountain Hawken Rifle
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location: Arizona
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Great bang for your buck

Date:July 7, 2009
I had read many reviews about this particular Hawken rifle and all have given it high marks. Well, I can now add my recommendation as this is one of the best production Hawkens I have ever seen. Excellent wood to metal finishing and the quality of the maple is very good for the price. I shoot off-hand and the Rocky Mountain Hawken has great balance and I easily shot in the black. This is a wonderful addition to my Hawken collection.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
ReviewQuestion 1-20 of 29