Customer Reviews for Wolf Wolf Military Classic .223 Bulk Ammo

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Cabela's.

Wolf Wolf Military Classic .223 Bulk Ammo

The perfect bulk load to run through your AR-15. Consistent loads with bi-metal (part-copper & part steel) bullets. 55-gr. full-metal jacket ammo for target or plinking use. Each 500-round lot comes with a NEW Dry-Storage Box, a $14.99 value. Available: 500 rounds, 1 Dry Box. 1,000 rounds, 2 Dry Boxes.
Overall Customer Rating:
3.552 out of 5
3.6
 out of 
5
(29 Reviews) 29
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 29 reviews
5 Stars
10
4 Stars
7
3 Stars
5
2 Stars
3
1 Star
4
23 out of 29(79%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Wolf Military Classic .223 Bulk Ammo
Review 1 for Wolf Military Classic .223 Bulk Ammo
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location: San Diego, CA
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Performs well!

Date:February 3, 2009
I bought 3500 rounds of this ammo and have shot about 400 rounds so far. Not a single jam or misfire through my Saiga 223. Grouping is very consistent too. I would highly recomend before prices go sky high to get some!! Shipping from Cabelas was quick and easy too!!
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 2 for Wolf Military Classic .223 Bulk Ammo
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location: Military guy + wife
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Great stuff, and good price

Date:December 8, 2008
This ammo is good stuff. Sure it might be a little dirty...but you should be cleaning your firearm after every outing anyway. I haven't had one issue with this ammo. And I own mulitple calipers of this ammo.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 3 for Wolf Military Classic .223 Bulk Ammo
Overall Customer Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location: Arkansas
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Wolf Ammo

Date:November 13, 2008
I have been using this ammo on a mini-14 ranch. No problems so far.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 4 for Wolf Military Classic .223 Bulk Ammo
Overall Customer Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Location: Rhode Island
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

No AR-15

Date:October 22, 2008
I'm new to this game and i didn't really know much when i puchassed this ammo. Come to find out that shooting this ammo thru an AR-15 is a big misstake and should not be done. Steel caseing is not suposed to be shot thru AR-15's and now im stuck with 500 rounds that i cant use or get rid of.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 5 for Wolf Military Classic .223 Bulk Ammo
Overall Customer Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Location: Fort Worth, Texas
Would you recommend this product to a friend? No

Wolf in my SIG 556

Date:October 20, 2008
Seems everybody has a different story to tell. I bought 500 rounds of the WOLF .223 military classic and hit the range. I had also found a deal on MONARCH .223 and took 250 rounds of this. I started off with the WOLF and about every 3rd round would not chamber. Tried another box and same thing, BIG dissappointment. I switched ammo to the MONARCH and blew through about 150 rounds without any problems. Talking to SIG Tech support, Their take was NOT to fire WOLF through their weapon. Said it had to do with the coating, he reccomended brass ammo for best results although MONARCH was not brass. Not sure about a difference with wolf Military or regular wolf brand but have simply sworn off of wolf. I figure if I am to spend that money on the SIG 556 I am better off to run high quality ammo through it.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 6 for Wolf Military Classic .223 Bulk Ammo
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location: "LA"-Lower Alabama-deep south
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Wolf Military Classic 5.56

Date:July 7, 2008
After reading the reviews posted for this ammo. I was a little hesitant to purchase it. But I am glad that I did !
I ran over 200 rounds of the 55 gr.FMJ thru my Ruger Mini-14 and my new S&W M&P15 with-out so much as a hick-up! Smooth loading with absolutely no ejection troubles at all.
This ammo actual proved to be very acurate (10 hits out of 10 shots on a prairie-dog silhoutte, at 100 yds. from BOTH guns !!) The only thing I can say in detriment to this product is that it is some what dirty, but what the heck. Cleaning is part of the fun!
For the price it can not be beat!!
In the future I will be ordering some of the heavier bullets as well as the hollow points , at this price it is cheap to experiment....
One more comment... Cabela's ,,, your delivery was FANTASTIC !! Placed my order on Tuesday Evening and received the package on Friday afternoon.
I don't need to shop any where else but Cabela's..
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 7 for Wolf Military Classic .223 Bulk Ammo
Overall Customer Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location: Thornhill, TN
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Great for the price

Date:June 10, 2008
I have heard people here say about this ammo jamming up their gun and such but Ive never had nothing but flawless performance out of these shells. They do leave a buit more fouling then more expensive bullets but just clean more often.
I have a stag-15 and have shot over 2000 of these exact shells in it in the last 3 months and have not had any problems. If you are just going to be plinking around or target shotting these ammo are good. the best bang for the buck. My local gun store has these on stock always and its what people use.
They may not be the best bullet in the world and you do get what you pay for but most of us Ar-15 users cant help but to waste ammo by playing around so might as well shoot cheap as you can.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 8 for Wolf Military Classic .223 Bulk Ammo
Overall Customer Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Location: buhl.id
Would you recommend this product to a friend? No

steel casings not good

Date:April 20, 2008
i shot 30 rds and my brand new s&w mp 15 jamed almost every round. before that i shot 80 rds of brass and not one problem. to tell you the truth the last round i shot of steel wolf ammo is still in my gun i think the casing sweld and i have not been able to get it out. but i will say every round did shoot
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 9 for Wolf Military Classic .223 Bulk Ammo
Overall Customer Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location: Pennsylvania
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Good ammo

Date:April 15, 2008
I've fired a bunch through my Bushmaster M4 with zero problems and the accuracy was very good. If you are getting failure to extract with this ammo, its more than likely due to a weak extractor spring, even on new rifles. I installed a "D" ring on my extractor and have no worries about using this ammo. Its not the best, but for the price I would definitely use it for practice or range work.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 10 for Wolf Military Classic .223 Bulk Ammo
Overall Customer Rating: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Location: Kingsville, TX
Would you recommend this product to a friend? No

Will give you problems!

Date:March 23, 2008
I bought 160rds of Wolf M.C. to test fire the ammo in my Law Enforcement model Bushmaster AR15M4 rifle. I have heard mixed reviews about the ammunition Jamming because the steel case gets stuck in the chamber. I fired almost all the rounds except for the last 40rds. I fired two 20rd mags as fast as possible just to heat up the barrel. I then inserted another mag and fired two rds and left a live bullet in the chamber to cool off with the barrel(pointed in a safe direction). Once the barrel was cool to the touch I fired the rifle and the empty case got stuck and would not extract. I had to remove the case at home :(
This ammo has no problems being feed into the rifle and the bullet grouping is good (open sights 100yrd). Just don't let the rifle cool down with a bullet in the chamber because you may have a similar problem as I did. This is why I wanted to test fire this brand before buying 1000rds.
I don't want to discourge some of you from buying this ammo but test it in your rifle. It may very well work great without ant flaws in your rifle but not in mine.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 11 for Wolf Military Classic .223 Bulk Ammo
Overall Customer Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Location: Alexandria, LA
Would you recommend this product to a friend? No

Gun Jammer

Date:March 22, 2008
Used this in my new Ruger Mini 14 Target after sighting in using Remington 64 Gr (excellent results with Remington). Unfortunately my semi auto Ruger jammed on the first and third shots of this stuff (55 Gr SP). The third one was so bad I had to disassemble the entire weapon to unjam. Unfortunately I ordered the 1,000 round variety. Am thinking of buying a bolt action 223 or just chunking this ammo.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 12 for Wolf Military Classic .223 Bulk Ammo
Overall Customer Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Location: washington
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

wolf 223 bulk ammo

Date:March 10, 2008
Very dirty ammo but best buy for your buck if you target shoot. Just clean your gun often.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 13 for Wolf Military Classic .223 Bulk Ammo
Overall Customer Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Location: Cincinnati, OH
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Bulk 223 ammo with can

Date:February 27, 2008
The price of the ammo was good and better with the discount. The price without shipping was what I desired to pay.
The ammo cans sent were lousy. I must have miss read. They were new plastic containers that have worthless seals. So do not buy if you want the cans. The ammo will work fine though.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 14 for Wolf Military Classic .223 Bulk Ammo
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location: tn
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Wolf Military Classic .223 Bulk Ammo

Date:February 24, 2008
got it before price increase no problems for practice shooting wished i could get more
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 15 for Wolf Military Classic .223 Bulk Ammo
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location: Scottsdale, az
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

wolf .223

Date:February 21, 2008
great stuff will buy more.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 16 for Wolf Military Classic .223 Bulk Ammo
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Works for me

Date:February 20, 2008
Price was right ammo works well for practice.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 17 for Wolf Military Classic .223 Bulk Ammo
Overall Customer Rating: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Location: Spring, TX
Would you recommend this product to a friend? No

dirty, dirty, dirty

Date:February 20, 2008
I shot this ammo twice so far at the range in my Bushmaster M4, about 300 rounds so far. First time only got through one clip then started having major problems with it feeding correctly. One round then charge ,two rounds charge, one round charge. Was very dissapointed. Went home and throughly cleaned weapon like always. After cleaning put about twice the amount of CLP more than I normally use. Second time at the range was better, but still had feeding issues. Not as much as the first time but still enough not to trust in REAL LIFE applications unless your quick on the charging handle. It did go BANG everytime there was one in the pipe though. Shot a couple different manufactured rounds through my M4 (over 1000) and never had problem one with feeding, missfire, stove pipe, or anything untill using WOLF. Its just too dirty for the tight inerworkings of an M4 carbine.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 18 for Wolf Military Classic .223 Bulk Ammo
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location: Pflugerville, TX
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Wolf .223 ammo

Date:January 7, 2008
I took my New Sig 556 down to the Gun Club and pumped 150 rounds through it. The ammo was smooth and did not jam or stove pipe. I keep my weapon well cleaned and oiled. I also bought better mags for my weapon so that might have also helped. I plan on getting a couple of Sig 556 mags for my weapon.
I have to run quite a bit through the Sig to break it in.
Happy Shooting.
FPavelec
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 19 for Wolf Military Classic .223 Bulk Ammo
Overall Customer Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location: Oxford, OH
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Wolf .223

Date:October 10, 2007
Decent round for plinking or full auto applications.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 20 for Wolf Military Classic .223 Bulk Ammo
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location: Pa.
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

wolf .223

Date:October 9, 2007
Some people critisize this product. When used for general shooting,just haveing fun, it is great. I have fired hundreds and hundreds of rounds with zero trouble. Can't say the same for a lot of .22LR ammo produced in this country.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
ReviewQuestion 1-20 of 29