Customer Reviews for BRENNEKE Brenneke USA Shotgun Slugs

BRENNEKE Brenneke USA Shotgun Slugs

Proven stopping power. A consistently flat trajectory delivers predictable accuracy you can count on to drop big game at long distances. Broad-angled ribs stretch back from its aerodynamic convex head for increased spin, optimizing guidance in the barrel. With a range of more than 100 yards, these slugs retain the energy and velocity needed to knock down deer-sized game at distances typical buckshot can’t match. The newly designed and patented B.E.T.® wad column balances energy and recoil for maximum results. A special coating reduces lead fouling in your barrel. Per 5 rounds.
Overall Customer Rating:
4.529 out of 5
4.5
 out of 
5
(34 Reviews) 34
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 34 reviews
5 Stars
26
4 Stars
4
3 Stars
1
2 Stars
2
1 Star
1
30 out of 34(88%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer questions and answers:
4 Questions | 20 Answers
Customer Reviews for Brenneke USA Shotgun Slugs
Review 1 for Brenneke USA Shotgun Slugs
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location: Oakdale CT
Age: 65 and over
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Brenneke 12 ga 3" slugs are an excellant choise.

Date:April 19, 2011
These slugs are by far the most accurate slugs for my shotgun. They have outperformed all other slugs that I have used. I have been using these slugs for more than ten years and pre season sight-ins have produced groups with the holes overlapping each other.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 2 for Brenneke USA Shotgun Slugs
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Country: United States
State: Indiana
Age: 56-65
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

The Whackmaster- Brenneke slugs

Date:May 7, 2014
Over the years I have used the Brenneke slugs in both 12 & 20 ga. with very good accuracy and effective take town results on Whitetail deer up to 100yrds or so. Like all slugs, take out your gun to the range and see how they preform/pattern! They work great through either rifled barrels/rifle choke tubes or smooth bore.I have shot through them all. You will notice on the outside edge of a Brenneke slug, little fins almost like that of a circular turbofan in a jet engine. I would imagine that helps in a stable spin, especially through smooth bores. Also, great at the range on paper when you have two slugs going through almost the same whole. Makes it alittle easier to decipher.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 3 for Brenneke USA Shotgun Slugs
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Country: United States
State: California
Age: 25 and under
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

SLAY LOADS

Date:February 12, 2014
108 yards ranged, didnt twitch, 12 gauge 2 and 3/4 classics. mossberg 500 waterfowl edition with stock modified choke. california blacktail, 5x3. any other questions?
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 4 for Brenneke USA Shotgun Slugs
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Country: United States
State: Arizona
Age: 46-55
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Engine Blocks Beware!

Date:May 22, 2013
My God these slugs pack a punch. Use in a smoothbore semi. Have tried black, green, special forces and even magnum crush (DON'T use any choke on the magnum crush or you run the risk of ruining your gun and your day). The crush is specified for rifled barrel only, but after talking to the Brenneke guys in Germany they say they shoot them through smoothbores all the time and the legal guys here is the USA make them list that disclaimer. A Casull or Lott doesn't hold a candle to the Brenneke going down range. And did I mention how accurate these slugs are? With a plain old red bead you can place your shot dead on at up to 100 yds! Only shell I've tried that even comes close is the 3" Lightfield. You've gotta try these, even if just for the fun of it.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 5 for Brenneke USA Shotgun Slugs
Overall Customer Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Country: United States
State: Montana
Age: 26-35
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Good Bear Medicine

Date:May 21, 2013
I live in grizzly country and I keep these around for bear defense. They are serious business, lots of recoil, loud as all heck. But they shoot accurately in my smooth bore slug barrel and hit like a freight train. I've not tried them on a bear but I think they are the best choice for something that's readily available, in 12 gauge at least. I might use the 2 3/4" version to take a deer in the weapons restricted (shotgun, handgun, muzzle loader only) zone near where I duck hunt next fall too. Good stuff. Only downside is the price tag.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 6 for Brenneke USA Shotgun Slugs
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Country: United States
State: Georgia
Age: 46-55
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Proven to be the BEST SLUGS

Date:February 26, 2013
I first came across Berneke slugs while working in Minnesota, 600gr 12 ga. stoped my deer DEAD in it's tracks @ 80 yrds. Now I use them in Ga for multiple purposes. I continue to solely use Bernneke Slugs in all my shotguns.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 7 for Brenneke USA Shotgun Slugs
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Country: United States
State: New York
Age: 26-35
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Works Great

Date:January 8, 2013
I have a Remington 870 12 gauge smooth bore and tried multiple types of slugs (Winchester, Remington, Federal, Hornady) and all of them were all over the place out to 50 yards. I shot these (Classic Magnums) with a modified choke and they shot 6" groups at 50 yards, using just a bead sight. Really happy I found a rifled slug my gun gets along with. Only downfall is that no place close to me sells them so I have to always order them. Hoping to take a deer with em' during shotgun season next week!
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 8 for Brenneke USA Shotgun Slugs
Overall Customer Rating: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Country: United States
State: Michigan
Age: 26-35
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? No

not consistent

Date:December 18, 2012
I purchased multiple boxes fo these shells and after sighting in the gun with the first box, I opened the second and started shooting and the accuracy was way off... After making sure i didnt bump the scope, I re-sighted i the gun, and opened the third box... was off just as far as the first two... just to make sure again, i cleanded the gun fully and then tried the 4th box... had to re-sight in the gun and then tried the 5th box... way off again... not consistent and not reliable... i won't be using these when I head to the woods this fall
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 9 for Brenneke USA Shotgun Slugs
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Country: United States
State: Mississippi
Age: 56-65
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Great Slug

Date:November 26, 2012
I shot a 200 lb Bore Hog @ 40 yards and did not have any problem with the bullet performance. The slug is was accurate & expanded well, no trailing here. Great buy!
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 10 for Brenneke USA Shotgun Slugs
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Country: United States
State: Illinois
Age: 56-65
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Brenneke

Date:October 31, 2012
These are some of the best slugs I have ever used. 4" shot group at 100 yds.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 11 for Brenneke USA Shotgun Slugs
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Country: United States
State: Ohio
Age: 56-65
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

most accurate shells

Date:October 7, 2012
I have taken over 40 deer with the 20 gauge shells. I have never fired more than once on each deer. I hit a doe right between the eyes at 85 yards. The doe dropped like a brick. I could not wait to get to her and see precisely where it hit. It hit right where I had aimed. Dead on. We measured it off later and it was exactly 85 yards. There is no shell that compares to these shells. You couldn't get me to change shells in a million years.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 12 for Brenneke USA Shotgun Slugs
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Country: United States
State: Georgia
Age: 56-65
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Brenneke Slugs

Date:June 12, 2012
These are the best!
The knock down cannot be beat and the accuracy is where YOU aim.
I chose the 2 3/4 inch. It will get the job done.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 13 for Brenneke USA Shotgun Slugs
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Country: United States
State: Michigan
Age: 26-35
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Brenneke

Date:May 15, 2012
I use a 870 12 gauge with a 20" full rifled barrel shot
a 100 pound pig at 150 yard drop him in his track best slug's i use
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 14 for Brenneke USA Shotgun Slugs
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location: Graysklake, IL
Age: 56-65
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Accurate with power shotgun slugs

Date:January 11, 2012
Brennecke slugs are the best on the market for accuracy and knock down power. The rifle pattern provided on these slugs makes this ammunition the best when used in smooth bore shotgun barrels. Year after year I have use these and now my sons are using Brennecke slugs in there shotguns. They tried sabots and these Brenneke slugs rank superior in accuracy when pushing the limit to plus 100 yard shots.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 15 for Brenneke USA Shotgun Slugs
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location: South Africa
Age: 36-45
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Accuracy and Stopping Power

Date:December 2, 2011
I hunted 2 huge Russian boar in a forests in Ukraine with a friends O/U 12ga shotgun with only a bead sight and Brenneke slugs. The stopping power of the Brenneke was impressive. This year my wife bought me a Fabarm XLR hunter with a smooth bore as an all purpose gun to use in the Ukraine. I mounted a red dot Docter Sight II Plus, and had major difficulty getting the gun to group with other slugs. Then i tried the Brenneke slug. The first shots cloverleafed at 50y and i was very happy.
Thanks for all the reviews by members, it was extremely helpful in finding the right slug combination for my gun.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 16 for Brenneke USA Shotgun Slugs
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location: East Aurora, New York
Age: 56-65
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Brenneke Shotgun Slugs

Date:October 24, 2011
I have owned a Browning BPS shot gun with a smooth bore slug barrel for 20 years. When I first bought it I tried every slug available and found the Brenneke Classic Magnum out shoots all others. It has become increasingly more difficult to find these slugs especially with the trend moving to rifled shot gun barrels and sabot slugs. I found that I can group these slugs to a six inch pattern at 100 yards without any fliers.None of the other slugs out there perform like that in my gun. I hope Cabellas continues to stock them.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 17 for Brenneke USA Shotgun Slugs
Overall Customer Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Location: milwaukee wi
Age: 25 and under
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? No

all over the place

Date:October 12, 2011
these slugs were flat out all over the place out of my 870 at 50 yards. guess its true that all guns are different
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 18 for Brenneke USA Shotgun Slugs
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location: Lyons Ga.
Age: 36-45
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Classic magnum for sure!!!

Date:August 5, 2011
After reading an article on slug hunting, It was brought to my attention about the 1.8 ounce rifled slug that is offered in the Brenneke Classic Magnum! Some of the local complaints were, they did not have enough velocity. Well this may be true. I decided to try the Classic Magnum in my Rem. 870 with a rifled choke tube, along with a scope and mounts. I knew after shooting 3 rounds, I was willing to forfeit a small feet per second, for the supreme accuracy, not to mention the extra energy from the heavier slug! I cant wait to hunt with them this Fall! Thank you Cabelas, for offering this product, and your excellent service as always!!!
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 19 for Brenneke USA Shotgun Slugs
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location: Huntington Beach, CA
Age: 36-45
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Breneke slugs

Date:March 7, 2011
These slugs brought good reviews for my application so I thought I would try them out. Sorry I haven't used them yet, but the shipping was quick, pricing competitive
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 20 for Brenneke USA Shotgun Slugs
Overall Customer Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Location: Riceville, IA
Age: 26-35
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? No

Average and below expectations.

Date:February 8, 2011
I'm a huge fan of Brenneke slugs and have used them for years however; the Green Lightning slugs did not live up to expectations. The slug performed average to below average such as I would have some accurate results and then very off performance. I also didn't get the range I have been accustomed to in the past. I will still purchase Brenneke slugs but not the Lightning.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
ReviewQuestion 1-20 of 34