Customer Reviews for CABELA'S Cabela's XT 1500 Digital Scale

CABELA'S Cabela's XT 1500 Digital Scale

Our digital scale offers the extreme precision required to create loads that consistently deliver unsurpassed accuracy, yet it is incredibly easy to use. It’s accurate to 1/10 of a grain and has a 1,500+ grain capacity. Calibration is a snap using the two included calibration weights. A unit-select button lets you choose one of six units of weight to be displayed in the easy-to-read digital LED window. Operates on either a 9-volt battery (not included) or 110-volt AC with the included adapter. You can program the automatic-off feature to conserve battery life by shutting the scale down after a period of inactivity. A transport-locking screw secures the scale when taking it to a new location. Includes powder pan and carrying case.
Overall Customer Rating:
3.662 out of 5
3.7
 out of 
5
(234 Reviews) 234
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 234 reviews
5 Stars
109
4 Stars
53
3 Stars
10
2 Stars
8
1 Star
54
168 out of 234(72%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer questions and answers:
6 Questions | 18 Answers
Customer Reviews for Cabela's XT 1500 Digital Scale
Review 1 for Cabela's XT 1500 Digital Scale
Overall Customer Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Location: Red Feather Lakes, Colorado
Would you recommend this product to a friend? No

Unstable Scale

Date:October 25, 2006
I ordered one of these scales a while back and requested an exchange because the scale would not go back to 0 grains after putting weight on it and taking it off. The next scale did the same thing however. I am not sure who makes this scale, but they're made in China and just aren't accurate enough for reloading.
Went back to the old manual scale.....
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 2 for Cabela's XT 1500 Digital Scale
Overall Customer Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Would you recommend this product to a friend? No

1500 Powder scale.

Date:October 29, 2006
I purchased the 1500 two years ago and have tried to use it several times over that period. Sent it back one time for repair
and the unit is still the same. It drifts around plus or minus two
grains when reloading. Never seems to settle down and remain
solid. It also has very poor response when trying to trickle powder in to finish a laod.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 3 for Cabela's XT 1500 Digital Scale
Overall Customer Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Location: Miles City, MT
Would you recommend this product to a friend? No

Two Thumbs Down

Date:November 10, 2006
This scale is terrible. I bought this scale thinking it was going to make my loading easier. It had the exact opposite effect. The scale takes forever to calibrate and you must do it every time you turn it on. It never holds it's zero, you must check the zero every time you weigh a charge. Even after you get it zeroed, the readings are erratic and can vary plus or minus a full grain. Finally, the scale never settles especially with weights over 100 grains. Overall, just a very poor product. I traded mine for an RCBS 5-0-5 and haven't regretted it one bit. I must tip my hat to Cabela's Customer service handling the exchange in such a timely manner.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 4 for Cabela's XT 1500 Digital Scale
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location: California
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Cabela's XT 1500 Digital scale

Date:November 20, 2006
I recommend it for purchase. A very good value.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 5 for Cabela's XT 1500 Digital Scale
Overall Customer Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Location: Western Montana
Would you recommend this product to a friend? No

Cabelas 1500 digital scale.

Date:November 20, 2006
Over several days and using several different weights (grains) of gunpowder, I found the Cabelas 1500 digital scale to be unsatisfactory. I constantly calibtrated the digital scale before and during its use to ensure accuracy. I checked the digital scale against a beam scale. The digital 1500 scale was off more than not. At times the reading was off by several grains. The beam scale I use was consistent. As an example, if one is at the maximum charge as suggested by bullet manufacturers, and the reading of the digital scale is not correct, the resultant pressures may cause bodily harm and equipment destruction. Initally, I took the word of the digital scale and the trips to the rifle range showed the rounds to out of line. Using my beam scale I was able to get the one half inch groups that I expect. When I bought the digital scale I thoutht that it would speed up the reloading process. I found the digital scale reading to not have consistency, the readings were inaccutate. I would no recommend this product to anyone.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 6 for Cabela's XT 1500 Digital Scale
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Cabela's XT 1500 Digital Scale

Date:November 21, 2006
This is a very fine scale for your dollar. It works like a gem and is very precise. It is very easy to use, and you can count on it to weigh every load with bench rest accuracy.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 7 for Cabela's XT 1500 Digital Scale
Overall Customer Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location: Idaho
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

great scale

Date:November 22, 2006
This is a great scale especially for the price
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 8 for Cabela's XT 1500 Digital Scale
Overall Customer Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Location: Redding Ca
Would you recommend this product to a friend? No

Cabelas should be ashamed

Date:November 26, 2006
This scale is not fit for reloading. It will not hold calibration at all. The more bullets you weigh, the heaver it reads. It 's useless.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 9 for Cabela's XT 1500 Digital Scale
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location: Black Hawk, SD
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Cabela's XT 1500 Digital Scale

Date:November 29, 2006
I was very impressed with my scale. In fact all the shells I realoaded worked with perfection. We have 4 hunters in the family,myself,wife step daughter and son. We shot 10 derr in all and took all but one with one shot...That was not the shells fault thou.
I would highly reccomend it to all.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 10 for Cabela's XT 1500 Digital Scale
Overall Customer Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Location: Casa Grande AZ
Would you recommend this product to a friend? No

Shame on Cabela's

Date:December 30, 2006
This scale may work for very rough work but is in no way capable of being used for reloading of anything I want to shoot. The repeatability is almost zero and this is after a warm-up and many recal's. GOOD LUCK!
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 11 for Cabela's XT 1500 Digital Scale
Overall Customer Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location: Palmerton, PA
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Cabela's XT-1500 Scale

Date:January 3, 2007
I have seen other digtal scales and this one works if you follow the instructions and I ean follow the intructions. You must leave it warm up for 2 minutes when first turning it on, you must calibrate the scale the way the book says and also before calibrating leveling it is the most important. Once that is all done you are ready to go. As the book says between weigh-ins you can shut if off and turn it back on if there is enough elasped time between items you are going to weigh. the key is before you weigh hit the tare ket zero out the scale weigh your item and than remove. The next item do the same tare key, zero, and they weigh. I bought the RCBS Weight Standard Scale Set and the wire weights are 5.5 gn. if you follow like I said it weighs pefrect. This is not like a level type scale you put weight on get the reading and remove, where the problem is this is really a sentive scale and any movement will through the weight value off. It will work for a quick check scale.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 12 for Cabela's XT 1500 Digital Scale
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location: MONTANA
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

1500 DIGITAL SCALE

Date:January 28, 2007
I FOUND SCALE VERY EASY TO USE AND TO BE USER FRIENDLY. WOULD RECOMMEND TO ANYONE
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 13 for Cabela's XT 1500 Digital Scale
Overall Customer Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Location: Corbett, Oregon
Would you recommend this product to a friend? No

Power Scales

Date:February 25, 2007
I loaded 50 cartridges with this scale. The scale would not zero out between cartridges. Because of this the accuracy was very poor. I measured the powder twice in each cartridge and reweighed them with another scale. The weights were within +/- 0.5 grains. Not good.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 14 for Cabela's XT 1500 Digital Scale
Overall Customer Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Location: Ut
Would you recommend this product to a friend? No

No Zero

Date:March 29, 2007
This scale is not the quality needed for reloading. It will not hold a zero and was consistantly off by more a few tenths. Cabelas customer service still great and took it back with out question, upgraded to the RCBS combo and haven't had any problems.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 15 for Cabela's XT 1500 Digital Scale
Overall Customer Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location: TEXAS
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Cabela's Digital Scale

Date:April 10, 2007
The scale is a very good product. I have been reloading for 35 years, and this is my first digital scale. It is easy to use and is quite accurate.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 16 for Cabela's XT 1500 Digital Scale
Overall Customer Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location: Indiana SASS
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Digital Scale

Date:April 17, 2007
The scale works great. I chose the Cabela's model because it had a good case and was on sale at the time of my purchase.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 17 for Cabela's XT 1500 Digital Scale
Overall Customer Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Location: Texas
Would you recommend this product to a friend? No

Cabela's XT 1500 Digital Scale

Date:April 17, 2007
This digital scale does not have the accuracy necessary for reloading of ammunition. I followed the instructions carefully in setting up the scale and calibrating it. I weighed a charge and then tried re-weighing it several times and the scale would not repeat the original weight. In fact, it would be slightly higher each time I weighed the same charge. I checked it against my RCBS 10 - 10 beam scale and it was several grains different. Sometimes higher and sometimes lower. I went through the calibration sequence several times as per the instructions and never got accurate results when checking against the beam scale.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 18 for Cabela's XT 1500 Digital Scale
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location: Chicago Metro Area
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Easy to use

Date:April 17, 2007
I found the Item very easy to understand and use. I purchased the scale to use to check my shotgun powder and shot loads. It will cover any need I might have in the future should I go on to loading other types of ammo.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 19 for Cabela's XT 1500 Digital Scale
Overall Customer Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Location: NH
Would you recommend this product to a friend? No

Cabelas Digital 1500 Scale

Date:June 3, 2007
Bought one and it would never hold zero. I would calibrate, rezero but nothing helped. Had trouble with the start up button as it worked very hard and then it broke completely after 13 months. I don't know what it's good for but one thing is certain it isn't weighing powder.
I purchased an RCBS digital and it's everything this one wasn't.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 20 for Cabela's XT 1500 Digital Scale
Overall Customer Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location: Palm Bay Florida
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

XT 1500 Scale

Date:June 15, 2007
I bought this scale to supplement my old RCBS balance scale. It is a little tricky to set up, mostly due to warming up. Follow the directions which aren't hard at all to follow, let the unit warm up and it works just fine. As allways when reloading: check and double check! If something seems funny stop and find out whats going on before reloading anything. By the way my old beam scale matches charges with this scale exactly. Old school or high tech, RCBS and Cabelas are hard to beat.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
ReviewQuestion 1-20 of 234