Customer Reviews for POWERBELT PowerBelt™ Platinum Bullets

POWERBELT PowerBelt™ Platinum Bullets

Enjoy all the benefits of sabot-like performance without any of the drawbacks of using sabots. A patented snap-on base creates a perfect gas seal, resulting in consistent pressures and accuracy. Gas blow-by is eliminated, creating consistently higher velocities. Unlike sabot rounds, these projectiles are full-caliber size, are easy to load and don’t require cleaning after each shot. No plastic residue is left behind, so you can shoot up to eight shots between recommended barrel swabs. The three PowerBelt configurations are tailored to specific applications. The AeroTip’s superior flight performance results in longer, flatter trajectories and controlled expansion. They’re ideal for deer, elk and black bear. Hollow-Point PowerBelts deliver maximum expansion on thin-skinned game such as deer and varmints. Use Flat-Point PowerBelts for hard-hitting punches on heavy-skinned game such as bear and moose. For clean, accurate, game-dropping muzzleloader ammunition, there’s a PowerBelt bullet that meats your needs. Available: Platinum – The pinnacle bullet in the PowerBelt line with a smaller hollow-point cavity for controlled expansion; an aerodynamic-enhancing ultrasmooth finish; and a fluted, large-diameter gas check for an accuracy-enhancing tight seal. Platinums handle magnum loads with ease and deliver superior accuracy, high muzzle velocity and optimal expansion on game.
Overall Customer Rating:
4.074 out of 5
4.1
 out of 
5
(95 Reviews) 95
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 95 reviews
5 Stars
59
4 Stars
14
3 Stars
5
2 Stars
4
1 Star
13
76 out of 95(80%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer questions and answers:
3 Questions | 14 Answers
Customer Reviews for PowerBelt™ Platinum Bullets
Review 21 for PowerBelt™ Platinum Bullets
Overall Customer Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Date:February 23, 2011

Power Belts

By
Location: Pa
Age: 46-55
Gender: Male
Very inaccurate in my TC encore. Sabots are much more accurate. The only reason I bought them is for Colorado Muzzeloader season which does not allow sabots.
Would you recommend this product to a friend? No
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 22 for PowerBelt™ Platinum Bullets
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:February 8, 2011

PLATINUM BULLETS

By
Location: MARYLAND
Age: 46-55
Gender: Male
PERFORM WELL. SHOOT NICELY OUT OF MY KNIGHT LONG RANGE 50 CAL.ALSO USE THEM IN MY 45 CAL.
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 23 for PowerBelt™ Platinum Bullets
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:February 1, 2011

Best thing I've used in my ML

By
Location: Dover, Delaware
Age: 56-65
Gender: Male
I've tried many different bullets in my various muzzleloaders but this one by far has been the best. Using magnum loads of 150 gr of pyrodex pellets it is the most accurate. It is also the easiest bullet I have ever loaded. Even on a reload, the bullet slides right down the barrel with no real effort.
Thanks PowerBelt!!
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 24 for PowerBelt™ Platinum Bullets
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:January 27, 2011

powerbelt

By
Location: Indianapolis In.
Age: 36-45
Gender: Male
best bullet ive used. pentration is great even out to 200 yards. i used a cva 45 cal and will not use any other bullet
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 25 for PowerBelt™ Platinum Bullets
Overall Customer Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Date:January 24, 2011

average

By
Location: North Jersey
Age: 25 and under
Gender: Male
i found barnes spitfire tmz 290 gr to be the best bullet for my CVA Accura V2 50 cal with fed primer 209A 120 grains Black Horn 209 dead solid rest moa grouping
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 26 for PowerBelt™ Platinum Bullets
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:December 25, 2010

Used in .50 Cal T/C Firestorm... work great.

By
Location: Boseman, MT
Age: 26-35
Gender: Male
I had the worst time getting my new T/C Firestorm to shoot anything using the pellets. To much powder for round balls, not enough it seemed for conical bullets... I tried at least $150 worth of different bullets. They all were everywhere. These were the last and best bullets I tried. They group 2" groups at 50 yds and 3" groups at 100. I was so relieved to find something that worked. They also kill very well, always have shot right through, no run offs. My Encore Pro Hunter will not shoot these at all, they won't even stay on paper. So don't worry if other reviewers say they don't group well. Every shooter worth his salt knows that some guns like one type and other guns like another. If they do group well for you, they are the easiest loading bullet I know and deadly.
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 27 for PowerBelt™ Platinum Bullets
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:September 17, 2010

Littlefox Sarasota, Fl.

By
Location: Sarasota, Fl.
Age: 46-55
Gender: Male
Been using power belts for 18 years, this is the first season with the Platinum. LOVE Them, Took a 135 at 163yds. never took another step.They do the job. I shoot a 45cal. with 150grs. powder and a 223gr. belt.
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 28 for PowerBelt™ Platinum Bullets
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:August 24, 2010

Best bullet ever!

By
Location: Arkansas
Age: 26-35
Gender: Male
This thing is accurate, hits hard and destroys anything it hits. Easiest, and best seating bullet I've ever loaded. Can load these back to back without having to scrub the barrel out, slides in smooth and easy, made muzzleloading easy.
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 29 for PowerBelt™ Platinum Bullets
Overall Customer Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Date:August 8, 2010

Never given a one-star review before but...

By
Age: 36-45
Gender: Male
Perhaps it's just my rifle (new CVA Acura) but these were all over the place. When shot some TC bullets had good groups. In my opinion, would try something else first.
Would you recommend this product to a friend? No
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 30 for PowerBelt™ Platinum Bullets
Overall Customer Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Date:April 18, 2010

Platinum Powerbelts

By
Used 270 gr. Platinum with 100 grns of Pyrodex out of a CVA Kodiak Magnum w/ Bushnell red dot. Took a 6x6 bull elk at 50 yards, no blood trail but didn't need it elk fell at 40 yards. Getting sub 2" groups at 100 yds after swabbing each shot. Can't ask for much more. If you want tack drivers shoot centerfire just remember this is primative style shooting and has alot of variables. Very happy...
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 31 for PowerBelt™ Platinum Bullets
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:February 17, 2010

powerbelt

By
Location: Texas
Work great, Love all the powerbelts, especially the platinum's. whacked a couple nice hogs and 2 doe this past season.
Powerbelts are all I have ever used.
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 32 for PowerBelt™ Platinum Bullets
Overall Customer Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Date:February 6, 2010

PowerBelt Platinum 338 Grain

By
Location: Howard County, MD
I had excellent range results shooting 3 pellets of triple seven powder, coupled with a 209 primer in my T/C Omega shooting the 338 grain platinum powerbelts. Grouped very well out to 150 yards. Very poor performance on the two does and one buck I shot at ranges from 20-70 yards. Complete pass through lung shots, no blood trails, all deer deer ran for at least 100 yards onto the adjacent property. Entry and exit holes showed no expansion. I suspect this bullet is too hard for deer sized game. It was accurate and loaded easy, but was worthless for it's intended purpose. Switched to 300 grain Super Glides with better on game results.
Would you recommend this product to a friend? No
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 33 for PowerBelt™ Platinum Bullets
Overall Customer Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Date:December 23, 2009

powerbelt performance

By
Location: Michigan
Had no problems getting these sighted in over the 2 years I used them but the penetration and performance were aweful. Three of us on the same property using the same CVA guns, powder and loads lost deer in the same season. In every case we're talking about experienced shooters/hunters. This bullet is horrible in my opinion and should be pulled from the shelves. I have read other reviews on various forums and get the same feedback from others. Do your own homework but I hope you at least trust me on this and look into it.
Would you recommend this product to a friend? No
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 34 for PowerBelt™ Platinum Bullets
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:December 22, 2009

Happy in NY

By
Location: Valley Stream, NY
Bought .50 cal. CVA Accura scoped stainless kit from Cabelas in Spring 2009, and sighted it in August 2009 with PB Platinum 270 grain. Shot 5 rounds, avg 1.5" groups at 100 yds, with 2-3 of the bullet holes touching. They were all same in the vertical, left/right range - no flyers. Went afield last Sat 12/19 for muzzleloading in upstate NY, and took 2 deer - ranged at 125yds and 100yds. Both were clean kills through the boiler room, right at point of aim. Thank you PowerBelt.
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 35 for PowerBelt™ Platinum Bullets
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:December 22, 2009

What a Bullet

By
Location: Troy Missouri
Just last Sunday I made my first kill with the Powerbelt Bullet. A forty yard shot to the kill area of a year and half old button buck. Drop him in his tracks with 100 grams of powder in a 50 caliber CVA Accura. The crazy thing is when I was skinning the dear and got down to the shoulder on the opposit side of entry point the bullet was between the outside meat and inside skin. There was a perfectly round flatten out bullet with the plastic tip in the middle of the flat bullet. I have killed and processed a lot of deer and never seen a bullet in one piece ever before still inside the deer. It looked just like a picture of a flatten bullet from a magazine field test.. Great Bullet. Performed perfect...
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 36 for PowerBelt™ Platinum Bullets
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:December 3, 2009

DO YOUR PART AND THEY PERFORM EXCELLENT

By
Location: Michigan, S.east lower to the UP
Been shooting the Pbelts for years now. So I had to try these....Love all the usual features , plus the easier bore cleaning. Using a CVA with a Nikon Monarch Scope 150gr Pdex Pellets 348gr bullet I can manage 1.97" @ 150 yrds. Average group just over 2.2". Only shot 2 deer and 1 coyote so far but never had a deer drop more than 10' from POI. Per lieca range finder 47 yrds and 128 yrds on the deer. I haven't shot this bullet enough to confirm how much better it is than the other non-platinum Pbelts , but I can say they are just as good in every aspect so far. If you can't kill an animal with a Powerbelt then no bullet will make you happy or a successful hunter. Accuracy comes from consistency, cleanliness and good equipment. Good clean kills come from well prepared ethical hunters who take responsibility in knowing how their equip. works before they go afield.
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 37 for PowerBelt™ Platinum Bullets
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:November 25, 2009

Power belt

By
These are the easiest to load and shoot consistantly straight
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 38 for PowerBelt™ Platinum Bullets
Overall Customer Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Date:November 9, 2009

GARBAGE.

By
Location: Florida
The best these can do is 15" groups at 100 yards with 100 grains of Goex black powder in my Remington Genesis. Swabbed between shots. I also used the Powerbelt loading tips I purchased as well. They were very difficult to load, and my spotter noticed that the plastic base wasn't always separating from the bullet, unlike the sabots always do. I've switched to the Barnes MZ Expander as well as the Traditions T-Shocks and the groups shrunk to less that 2".
I used this round on a recent bison hunt at 75 yards, and despite a decent hit, it did NOT drop the bison cow. She hemorrhaged profusely from the mouth, but did not go down and required a follow-up shot from a .300WSM 180 grain bullet to put her down. Recovery of the Powerbelt showed that it expanded completely, almost to the size of a quarter and just as thin! It did not retain but a fraction of its weight, and only made it into the bison's lung. The .300WSM round went clear to the opposite ribcage.
Would you recommend this product to a friend? No
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 39 for PowerBelt™ Platinum Bullets
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:November 9, 2009

Powerbelt 45cal

By
I have used 45cal 223 Platinum Powerbelt with 100gr 777 in my TC G2 Contender to kill 5 deer. All of the deer have been devastated by the impact and have fallen in their tracks. The longest shot 110yds, closest 40. I shot 1 buck in the chest at 55yds and sat him on his butt with the impact, he stayed on his butt and dropped. I will offer this advice for those who may have problems shooting Powerbelt. I had trouble using 150gr of 777 pellets (shooting all over and missing 2 ft square at 100 yrds) I could not hold anything using pelletized loads and was advised to lower my grain and switch to powder, I did. I found what many others are writting, the gun and load have to be matched. My weapon is perfect at 100gr powder 777 and a 223 45cal Platinum Powerbelt. I advise every hunter to find the match for their weapon and shoot it. This ammo is like throwing a brick at 200 miles an hour at the target. You hit the kill zone it kills the animal. Even those complaining about no blood trail are admitting the animal dropped within view. I have yet to need a blood trail, I hope that continues, for those who might ask...yes I have used Sabot 45cal of varying weights and powder loads High pressure and Low pressure to hunt. They do not stop the animal or hold the accuracy of this round in my weapon.
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 40 for PowerBelt™ Platinum Bullets
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:November 4, 2009

Good Bullet!

By
Location: Northern Michigan
After much reading and research I decided to go to a heavier
bullet this year. I picked the power belt platinum 338 grain.
I just shot this bullet at the range on 11/3/09, here are the results. 150 grains of orignal pyrodex pellets, 338grain bullet Winchester 209 primer. I managed a 3 inch group at one hundred yards. I have not taken game with them, but from other reveiws I sure they will be fine. The gun was a 2000 model Thomspon Center 50cal Encore! From the practice at the range and seeing a couple of the bullets retrieved from the bank. I have not doub that this will dispatch anything you wish to hunt! Good Hunting!
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Viewing 21-40 of 95