Customer Reviews for POWERBELT PowerBelt™ Platinum Bullets

POWERBELT PowerBelt™ Platinum Bullets

Enjoy all the benefits of sabot-like performance without any of the drawbacks of using sabots. A patented snap-on base creates a perfect gas seal, resulting in consistent pressures and accuracy. Gas blow-by is eliminated, creating consistently higher velocities. Unlike sabot rounds, these projectiles are full-caliber size, are easy to load and don’t require cleaning after each shot. No plastic residue is left behind, so you can shoot up to eight shots between recommended barrel swabs. The three PowerBelt configurations are tailored to specific applications. The AeroTip’s superior flight performance results in longer, flatter trajectories and controlled expansion. They’re ideal for deer, elk and black bear. Hollow-Point PowerBelts deliver maximum expansion on thin-skinned game such as deer and varmints. Use Flat-Point PowerBelts for hard-hitting punches on heavy-skinned game such as bear and moose. For clean, accurate, game-dropping muzzleloader ammunition, there’s a PowerBelt bullet that meats your needs. Available: Platinum – The pinnacle bullet in the PowerBelt line with a smaller hollow-point cavity for controlled expansion; an aerodynamic-enhancing ultrasmooth finish; and a fluted, large-diameter gas check for an accuracy-enhancing tight seal. Platinums handle magnum loads with ease and deliver superior accuracy, high muzzle velocity and optimal expansion on game.
Overall Customer Rating:
4.022 out of 5
4
 out of 
5
(90 Reviews) 90
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 90 reviews
5 Stars
54
4 Stars
14
3 Stars
5
2 Stars
4
1 Star
13
71 out of 90(79%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer questions and answers:
3 Questions | 13 Answers
Customer Reviews for PowerBelt™ Platinum Bullets
Review 21 for PowerBelt™ Platinum Bullets
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location: Boseman, MT
Age: 26-35
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Used in .50 Cal T/C Firestorm... work great.

Date:December 25, 2010
I had the worst time getting my new T/C Firestorm to shoot anything using the pellets. To much powder for round balls, not enough it seemed for conical bullets... I tried at least $150 worth of different bullets. They all were everywhere. These were the last and best bullets I tried. They group 2" groups at 50 yds and 3" groups at 100. I was so relieved to find something that worked. They also kill very well, always have shot right through, no run offs. My Encore Pro Hunter will not shoot these at all, they won't even stay on paper. So don't worry if other reviewers say they don't group well. Every shooter worth his salt knows that some guns like one type and other guns like another. If they do group well for you, they are the easiest loading bullet I know and deadly.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 22 for PowerBelt™ Platinum Bullets
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location: Sarasota, Fl.
Age: 46-55
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Littlefox Sarasota, Fl.

Date:September 17, 2010
Been using power belts for 18 years, this is the first season with the Platinum. LOVE Them, Took a 135 at 163yds. never took another step.They do the job. I shoot a 45cal. with 150grs. powder and a 223gr. belt.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 23 for PowerBelt™ Platinum Bullets
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location: Arkansas
Age: 26-35
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Best bullet ever!

Date:August 24, 2010
This thing is accurate, hits hard and destroys anything it hits. Easiest, and best seating bullet I've ever loaded. Can load these back to back without having to scrub the barrel out, slides in smooth and easy, made muzzleloading easy.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 24 for PowerBelt™ Platinum Bullets
Overall Customer Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Age: 36-45
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? No

Never given a one-star review before but...

Date:August 8, 2010
Perhaps it's just my rifle (new CVA Acura) but these were all over the place. When shot some TC bullets had good groups. In my opinion, would try something else first.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 25 for PowerBelt™ Platinum Bullets
Overall Customer Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Platinum Powerbelts

Date:April 18, 2010
Used 270 gr. Platinum with 100 grns of Pyrodex out of a CVA Kodiak Magnum w/ Bushnell red dot. Took a 6x6 bull elk at 50 yards, no blood trail but didn't need it elk fell at 40 yards. Getting sub 2" groups at 100 yds after swabbing each shot. Can't ask for much more. If you want tack drivers shoot centerfire just remember this is primative style shooting and has alot of variables. Very happy...
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 26 for PowerBelt™ Platinum Bullets
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location: Texas
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

powerbelt

Date:February 17, 2010
Work great, Love all the powerbelts, especially the platinum's. whacked a couple nice hogs and 2 doe this past season.
Powerbelts are all I have ever used.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 27 for PowerBelt™ Platinum Bullets
Overall Customer Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Location: Howard County, MD
Would you recommend this product to a friend? No

PowerBelt Platinum 338 Grain

Date:February 6, 2010
I had excellent range results shooting 3 pellets of triple seven powder, coupled with a 209 primer in my T/C Omega shooting the 338 grain platinum powerbelts. Grouped very well out to 150 yards. Very poor performance on the two does and one buck I shot at ranges from 20-70 yards. Complete pass through lung shots, no blood trails, all deer deer ran for at least 100 yards onto the adjacent property. Entry and exit holes showed no expansion. I suspect this bullet is too hard for deer sized game. It was accurate and loaded easy, but was worthless for it's intended purpose. Switched to 300 grain Super Glides with better on game results.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 28 for PowerBelt™ Platinum Bullets
Overall Customer Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Location: Michigan
Would you recommend this product to a friend? No

powerbelt performance

Date:December 23, 2009
Had no problems getting these sighted in over the 2 years I used them but the penetration and performance were aweful. Three of us on the same property using the same CVA guns, powder and loads lost deer in the same season. In every case we're talking about experienced shooters/hunters. This bullet is horrible in my opinion and should be pulled from the shelves. I have read other reviews on various forums and get the same feedback from others. Do your own homework but I hope you at least trust me on this and look into it.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 29 for PowerBelt™ Platinum Bullets
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location: Valley Stream, NY
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Happy in NY

Date:December 22, 2009
Bought .50 cal. CVA Accura scoped stainless kit from Cabelas in Spring 2009, and sighted it in August 2009 with PB Platinum 270 grain. Shot 5 rounds, avg 1.5" groups at 100 yds, with 2-3 of the bullet holes touching. They were all same in the vertical, left/right range - no flyers. Went afield last Sat 12/19 for muzzleloading in upstate NY, and took 2 deer - ranged at 125yds and 100yds. Both were clean kills through the boiler room, right at point of aim. Thank you PowerBelt.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 30 for PowerBelt™ Platinum Bullets
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location: Troy Missouri
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

What a Bullet

Date:December 22, 2009
Just last Sunday I made my first kill with the Powerbelt Bullet. A forty yard shot to the kill area of a year and half old button buck. Drop him in his tracks with 100 grams of powder in a 50 caliber CVA Accura. The crazy thing is when I was skinning the dear and got down to the shoulder on the opposit side of entry point the bullet was between the outside meat and inside skin. There was a perfectly round flatten out bullet with the plastic tip in the middle of the flat bullet. I have killed and processed a lot of deer and never seen a bullet in one piece ever before still inside the deer. It looked just like a picture of a flatten bullet from a magazine field test.. Great Bullet. Performed perfect...
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 31 for PowerBelt™ Platinum Bullets
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location: Michigan, S.east lower to the UP
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

DO YOUR PART AND THEY PERFORM EXCELLENT

Date:December 3, 2009
Been shooting the Pbelts for years now. So I had to try these....Love all the usual features , plus the easier bore cleaning. Using a CVA with a Nikon Monarch Scope 150gr Pdex Pellets 348gr bullet I can manage 1.97" @ 150 yrds. Average group just over 2.2". Only shot 2 deer and 1 coyote so far but never had a deer drop more than 10' from POI. Per lieca range finder 47 yrds and 128 yrds on the deer. I haven't shot this bullet enough to confirm how much better it is than the other non-platinum Pbelts , but I can say they are just as good in every aspect so far. If you can't kill an animal with a Powerbelt then no bullet will make you happy or a successful hunter. Accuracy comes from consistency, cleanliness and good equipment. Good clean kills come from well prepared ethical hunters who take responsibility in knowing how their equip. works before they go afield.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 32 for PowerBelt™ Platinum Bullets
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Power belt

Date:November 25, 2009
These are the easiest to load and shoot consistantly straight
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 33 for PowerBelt™ Platinum Bullets
Overall Customer Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Location: Florida
Would you recommend this product to a friend? No

GARBAGE.

Date:November 9, 2009
The best these can do is 15" groups at 100 yards with 100 grains of Goex black powder in my Remington Genesis. Swabbed between shots. I also used the Powerbelt loading tips I purchased as well. They were very difficult to load, and my spotter noticed that the plastic base wasn't always separating from the bullet, unlike the sabots always do. I've switched to the Barnes MZ Expander as well as the Traditions T-Shocks and the groups shrunk to less that 2".
I used this round on a recent bison hunt at 75 yards, and despite a decent hit, it did NOT drop the bison cow. She hemorrhaged profusely from the mouth, but did not go down and required a follow-up shot from a .300WSM 180 grain bullet to put her down. Recovery of the Powerbelt showed that it expanded completely, almost to the size of a quarter and just as thin! It did not retain but a fraction of its weight, and only made it into the bison's lung. The .300WSM round went clear to the opposite ribcage.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 34 for PowerBelt™ Platinum Bullets
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Powerbelt 45cal

Date:November 9, 2009
I have used 45cal 223 Platinum Powerbelt with 100gr 777 in my TC G2 Contender to kill 5 deer. All of the deer have been devastated by the impact and have fallen in their tracks. The longest shot 110yds, closest 40. I shot 1 buck in the chest at 55yds and sat him on his butt with the impact, he stayed on his butt and dropped. I will offer this advice for those who may have problems shooting Powerbelt. I had trouble using 150gr of 777 pellets (shooting all over and missing 2 ft square at 100 yrds) I could not hold anything using pelletized loads and was advised to lower my grain and switch to powder, I did. I found what many others are writting, the gun and load have to be matched. My weapon is perfect at 100gr powder 777 and a 223 45cal Platinum Powerbelt. I advise every hunter to find the match for their weapon and shoot it. This ammo is like throwing a brick at 200 miles an hour at the target. You hit the kill zone it kills the animal. Even those complaining about no blood trail are admitting the animal dropped within view. I have yet to need a blood trail, I hope that continues, for those who might ask...yes I have used Sabot 45cal of varying weights and powder loads High pressure and Low pressure to hunt. They do not stop the animal or hold the accuracy of this round in my weapon.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 35 for PowerBelt™ Platinum Bullets
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location: Northern Michigan
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Good Bullet!

Date:November 4, 2009
After much reading and research I decided to go to a heavier
bullet this year. I picked the power belt platinum 338 grain.
I just shot this bullet at the range on 11/3/09, here are the results. 150 grains of orignal pyrodex pellets, 338grain bullet Winchester 209 primer. I managed a 3 inch group at one hundred yards. I have not taken game with them, but from other reveiws I sure they will be fine. The gun was a 2000 model Thomspon Center 50cal Encore! From the practice at the range and seeing a couple of the bullets retrieved from the bank. I have not doub that this will dispatch anything you wish to hunt! Good Hunting!
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 36 for PowerBelt™ Platinum Bullets
Overall Customer Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Location: belair, md.
Would you recommend this product to a friend? No

terrible penetration and knock down power

Date:October 26, 2009
i have shot between 6 to 8 deer in the last 3 years that i have lost with the power belt bullets. this past weekend was early muzzle loader season here in md. and between 3 hunters in our hunting club we lost 4 deer shooting these junk bullets. i shot a 8 pointer at less than 10 yards only to watch through the smoke as the deer ran away. if i didn't actually see the deer stumble as he ran away i would have thought i missed him. no sign of blood or hair where i shot the deer and no blood trail what so ever. i tracked the deer for the first 100 yards and got lucky when another hunter spotted him in the woods an additional 150 to 200 yards away in the woods. i hit both lungs and the bullet didn't pass through the deer, remember i shot him at 10 yards with a 295 grain hollow point using 150 grains of pyrodex. i later shot another deer at 85 yards with worse results, again through both lungs and no pass through. deer do not bleed with these bullets and there is only a small amount of hair at the impact point. i shoot between 4 to 6 deer every year with blackpowder and have never had one drop on the spot unless shot in the head. these bullets are very accurate at the range but are terrible to hunt with. worse experience ever with any product in hunting
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 37 for PowerBelt™ Platinum Bullets
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location: Vermont
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

PowerBelt Platinum Bellets

Date:October 7, 2009
338 gr will do the job on any game in the Northeast. Hold together real well and create a good exit wound.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 38 for PowerBelt™ Platinum Bullets
Overall Customer Rating: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Would you recommend this product to a friend? No

NOT IMPRESSED

Date:September 3, 2009
I have been looking for a bullet for hunting mule deer, I tried this bullet and was not impressed with the accuracy. 4 inch group at 100 yds. I thought it was my gun. I tried another bullet and found my accuracy. 1.5 inch at 100 yard. my advice is try a number of bullets and powders and shoot what is best for you.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 39 for PowerBelt™ Platinum Bullets
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location: Virginia
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Great Bullets

Date:March 23, 2009
The PowerBelt Platinum series bullets are an inprovement over the copper PowerBelt bullets. I have been using the 270 gr, 50 cal Platinum bullets for a while now. They are easy to load, accurate and take down what you aim at. I have tried sabot bullets and they are a real pain in the ramrod. If you are looking for a bullet that is designed with the shooter in mind than look no farther. I will be using these until PowerBelt improves on this series and comes out with an even better product.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 40 for PowerBelt™ Platinum Bullets
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location: Van Alstyne, TX
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Powerbelt Bullets

Date:February 24, 2009
I do not understand what you people want from this bullet, I get 1 to 1 1/2 groups at 150 yards with 90 grs of 777 powder, winchester 777 primers & 300gr Powerbelt Platinum bullets, using a Tradition Pursuit 50 cal rifle with a 1:28 twist barrel. The 270 gr bullets would not groug at 100yr, I used the 300gr bullet on a 100lb hog at 70 yards, head on head shot. The bullet left a 1 inch hole in the skull and went 8 inches through the spine, this hog was dead before it hit the ground. This bullet prefomes better with lower charges (under 100grs) check your old cowboy loads, 45-70, 50-90, 45-110, 45-120 using 300-500 gr bullets, they did not use small light bullets with 150grs of powder, these are MUZZLE LOADERS NOT MODERN RIFLE. Lower your powder loads try the heavier bullets & hit your deer in neck area, you will get a pass through less meat lose and game on the ground where you shot it. This bullet has done everythine I asked it to do when I pull the trigger & do my part.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
ReviewQuestion 21-40 of 90