Customer Reviews for HORNADY Hornady® LEVERevolution® Rifle Ammunition

HORNADY Hornady® LEVERevolution® Rifle Ammunition

Hornady, a leader in ballistic innovation, now introduces a new line of ammunition for lever-action rifles that dramatically increases velocity, energy, trajectory and downrange terminal performance. Lever guns with tubular magazines have been hindered in the past by their inability to fire pointed bullets safely. Now Hornady has perfected the Elastomer Flex Tip™ bullet that can be safely fired from such rifles without fear of a chain reaction discharge in the magazine. The Flex Tip puts enough give in the bullet tip to prevent detonation of the primer ahead of it in the magazine. It also increases the ballistic coefficient of the round by using a pointed bullet design and permits the use of propellants that can turn popular 100-yard "brush gun" rounds into deadly performers at 200 yards and beyond. For example, LEVERevolution .30-30 ammunition shoots a 160-grain bullet that is 400 fps faster and has 400 ft.-lbs. more energy at 250 yards than conventional .30-30 ammo, and bullet drop at 300 yards is about 12" with a 200-yard zero. LEVERevolution similarly enhances the performance of other popular lever gun calibers and delivers up to 40% more energy compared to conventional flat-point ammunition. Join the LEVERevolution today. Per 20.
Overall Customer Rating:
4.673 out of 5
4.7
 out of 
5
(373 Reviews) 373
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 373 reviews
5 Stars
314
4 Stars
29
3 Stars
11
2 Stars
5
1 Star
14
352 out of 373(94%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer questions and answers:
12 Questions | 36 Answers
Customer Reviews for Hornady® LEVERevolution® Rifle Ammunition
Review 121 for Hornady® LEVERevolution® Rifle Ammunition
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location: Warrens, Wi
Age: 36-45
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Great choice of ammo

Date:March 10, 2011
This is a great choice of ammo for lever rifles. The polymer tip offers both protection while in the tube and better aerodynamic qualities after fired. I use this ammo in my .35mm rifle and will stick with for as long as it is offered.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 122 for Hornady® LEVERevolution® Rifle Ammunition
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location: Petaluma,CA
Age: 46-55
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Extended Range

Date:March 9, 2011
I have the Hornady Leverevolution ammo for my .45-70Marlin, .30-30Marlin ,.357Mag ,.22Mag and they all shoot the Hornady Ammo accurately at greater distances. The .30-30 has the most noticable improvement. No jam's and I can reload the brass. I am very satisfied with the ammo and the price is very reasonable for the value.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 123 for Hornady® LEVERevolution® Rifle Ammunition
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location: Maine
Age: 26-35
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Long range accuracy

Date:March 1, 2011
This ammo is truly amazing. I bought a box for my 444 marlin outfitter and could not believe the trajectory when compared to my other rounds. At 100 yards holding dead on, with the scope set for corelock, I was shooting 2.5” high. After a minor scope adjustment I was shooting sub MOA groups at 100 yards. Last week I shot a coyote @ 175 yards and completely rolled him! My big bore brush gun is now a long range thumper!
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 124 for Hornady® LEVERevolution® Rifle Ammunition
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location: Claremont, CA
Age: 26-35
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Hornady LEVERevolution® Rifle Ammunition 30-30 Win

Date:February 23, 2011
Excellent ammo, flawless function, accurate!
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 125 for Hornady® LEVERevolution® Rifle Ammunition
Overall Customer Rating: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Location: Broadway, VA
Age: 26-35
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? No

Inspect closely

Date:February 20, 2011
The .45-70s are accurate, but I had a box where three different rounds failed to fire. Upon inspection the primers are seated much deeper on those specific rounds and the pin didn't hit hard enough. Ive shot about 120 rounds of those bullets, and they were all in the same box, so I'm chalking it up to a bad lot, but I'll definitely be inspecting the rest of the rounds from now on.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 126 for Hornady® LEVERevolution® Rifle Ammunition
Overall Customer Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Location: burlington, ks
Age: 36-45
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? No

unexpected

Date:February 18, 2011
usually have good results-performance with hornady but had 3 rounds that did not work in one box. the primers just would not go off even after we dismantled the round and tryed to set it off. odd to have that in one box never had one round not go off before and this had three, the other box was fine
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 127 for Hornady® LEVERevolution® Rifle Ammunition
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location: Ayden, NC
Age: 46-55
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

bear

Date:February 17, 2011
I use the ammo in my Contendor and Marlin rifle. It shoots well in both guns.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 128 for Hornady® LEVERevolution® Rifle Ammunition
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location: Boyertown PA
Age: 56-65
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Horneday 308 marlin express and 45-70 gov accurate

Date:February 8, 2011
I find that the Horneday 308 marlin express shoots accurate and level. I don't normally shoot past 100yards and find it has good knock down power. In PA I use the 160 grain bullet for deer. The 45-70 is again very accurate and even though I haven't shot a bear lately It must have good knock down power especially using larger grained bullets.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 129 for Hornady® LEVERevolution® Rifle Ammunition
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location: Milford,PA
Age: 56-65
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Excellent Ammo

Date:February 8, 2011
In my Marlin 336C I had difficulty getting good groups at 100 yards with the traditional ammo. With this Ammo I can get 3 rounds touching at 100 yards and can cover them with a quarter!!
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 130 for Hornady® LEVERevolution® Rifle Ammunition
Overall Customer Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Location: alpine, CA
Age: 36-45
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

poor penatration on bigger game

Date:February 5, 2011
probably great for deer, hit an oregon coast elk in the shoulder from about 40 yards (not the perfect shot but) and had to take a second. found the bullet in the shoulder muscle ,it never hit the bone! lead was seperated from the jacket. i think they expand a little too fast . i think i will go with the buffalo bore for the elk next season and save the honady for the deer.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 131 for Hornady® LEVERevolution® Rifle Ammunition
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location: Fredericktown, MO
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Good feed for Marlin 1895

Date:February 3, 2011
Have used several boxes and no problems whatsoever
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 132 for Hornady® LEVERevolution® Rifle Ammunition
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location: St. Louis, MO
Age: 25 and under
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

BEST AMMO EVER

Date:February 3, 2011
This is the best ammo out there. Mine is a .30-30 and you cannot get the accuracy out of any other ammo that you can get out of these. Would recommend this ammo to everyone.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 133 for Hornady® LEVERevolution® Rifle Ammunition
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location: Roseboro, NC
Age: 26-35
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

30-30 LEVERevolution rifle ammo

Date:January 31, 2011
I love this ammo...It has got the job done on every shot!!! It also has much more range and accuracy than any other ammo ever made for the 30-30.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 134 for Hornady® LEVERevolution® Rifle Ammunition
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location: Oklahoma Panhandle
Age: 56-65
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Good purchase

Date:January 31, 2011
Top of the line ammo!
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 135 for Hornady® LEVERevolution® Rifle Ammunition
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location: Mankato, MN
Age: 65 and over
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Great Product

Date:January 31, 2011
Makes lever guns great again!
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 136 for Hornady® LEVERevolution® Rifle Ammunition
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location: Cheyenne, WY
Age: 56-65
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

30-30 Leverevolutiom

Date:January 30, 2011
Shoots as tight as my best handloads out of my Winchester model 64. have several groups less than .75 inch @ 100 yds. (have a Marble peep sight) shot a big mule deer doe at 175 yds this fall, hit point of aim, dropped her in her tracks
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 137 for Hornady® LEVERevolution® Rifle Ammunition
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location: San Antonio Texas
Age: 65 and over
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Hornady Lever FTX Ammo

Date:January 27, 2011
Probably the "best ever" ammo for a lever gun. They have totally given new life to the old lever guns with tube mags AND give a lot of life to some old cartyridges in general, with their innovations with bullets and powders! This ammo is far superior to the old flat pointed 100 yard deer cartridges. My Dad would be surprised to see and use this stuff!
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 138 for Hornady® LEVERevolution® Rifle Ammunition
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location: St Rose, La.
Age: 46-55
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Great

Date:January 27, 2011
Bought this for my H&R .444 it shoots great.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 139 for Hornady® LEVERevolution® Rifle Ammunition
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location: Brownington, VT
Age: 26-35
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Great Purchase

Date:January 26, 2011
This product is phenominal. To test it out I set up 5 pumpkins that were about 8 Inches in diameter 175 yards away. Open sights with no optics I hit the target not only 10 out of 10 but the accuracy was amazing. These rounds shoot flat and fast. the entry was perfect nice decent size hole and the exit was about 3 in in diameter. I will not shoot any other roundsout of my .30-30 for now on.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 140 for Hornady® LEVERevolution® Rifle Ammunition
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location: Canton, mi
Age: 56-65
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

A safer approach

Date:January 22, 2011
I wanted a cartrage that loaded easily into a traditional 30-30 lever action rifle. These worked flawlessly and the ballistics are improved over my former choice!
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
ReviewQuestion 121-140 of 373