Customer Reviews for HORNADY Hornady® LEVERevolution® Rifle Ammunition

HORNADY Hornady® LEVERevolution® Rifle Ammunition

Hornady, a leader in ballistic innovation, now introduces a new line of ammunition for lever-action rifles that dramatically increases velocity, energy, trajectory and downrange terminal performance. Lever guns with tubular magazines have been hindered in the past by their inability to fire pointed bullets safely. Now Hornady has perfected the Elastomer Flex Tip™ bullet that can be safely fired from such rifles without fear of a chain reaction discharge in the magazine. The Flex Tip puts enough give in the bullet tip to prevent detonation of the primer ahead of it in the magazine. It also increases the ballistic coefficient of the round by using a pointed bullet design and permits the use of propellants that can turn popular 100-yard "brush gun" rounds into deadly performers at 200 yards and beyond. For example, LEVERevolution .30-30 ammunition shoots a 160-grain bullet that is 400 fps faster and has 400 ft.-lbs. more energy at 250 yards than conventional .30-30 ammo, and bullet drop at 300 yards is about 12" with a 200-yard zero. LEVERevolution similarly enhances the performance of other popular lever gun calibers and delivers up to 40% more energy compared to conventional flat-point ammunition. Join the LEVERevolution today. Per 20.
Overall Customer Rating:
4.665 out of 5
4.7
 out of 
5
(355 Reviews) 355
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 355 reviews
5 Stars
298
4 Stars
28
3 Stars
10
2 Stars
5
1 Star
14
335 out of 355(94%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer questions and answers:
11 Questions | 33 Answers
Customer Reviews for Hornady® LEVERevolution® Rifle Ammunition
Review 121 for Hornady® LEVERevolution® Rifle Ammunition
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location: Brownington, VT
Age: 26-35
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Great Purchase

Date:January 26, 2011
This product is phenominal. To test it out I set up 5 pumpkins that were about 8 Inches in diameter 175 yards away. Open sights with no optics I hit the target not only 10 out of 10 but the accuracy was amazing. These rounds shoot flat and fast. the entry was perfect nice decent size hole and the exit was about 3 in in diameter. I will not shoot any other roundsout of my .30-30 for now on.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 122 for Hornady® LEVERevolution® Rifle Ammunition
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location: Canton, mi
Age: 56-65
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

A safer approach

Date:January 22, 2011
I wanted a cartrage that loaded easily into a traditional 30-30 lever action rifle. These worked flawlessly and the ballistics are improved over my former choice!
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 123 for Hornady® LEVERevolution® Rifle Ammunition
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location: Baton Rouge, La.
Age: 65 and over
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

ammunition

Date:January 19, 2011
excellent shells great results.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 124 for Hornady® LEVERevolution® Rifle Ammunition
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location: Bellevue,WA
Age: 65 and over
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Hornady

Date:January 18, 2011
makes my 30-30 into a much longer range rifle. It 's almost like I bought a different rifle. I put a scope on my 30-30 and found it very accurate.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 125 for Hornady® LEVERevolution® Rifle Ammunition
Overall Customer Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location: Lake Havasu City, Arizona
Age: 56-65
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Accurate in my gun

Date:January 18, 2011
Can't speak to the terminal performance of this ammo - haven't tried it on anything but paper targets, but it sure is accurate in my Marlin 1895SBL Guide Gun.
Recoil is light, also.
Only issue is for reloaders, at least for 45/70 caliber anyway. Hornady shortens the brass to allow for longer bullet. It takes some die adjustments from regular 45/70 brass length, so make sure you don't mix it with other brands of brass.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 126 for Hornady® LEVERevolution® Rifle Ammunition
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location: Chessapeake VA
Age: 65 and over
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Peace of Mind

Date:January 18, 2011
Hornady Rifle ammo with FTX bullets works great in my tube feed Lever action HENRY Rifle's . The worry of RECOIL causing ammo in feed tube to be set off is elimanted as far as I'm concerned.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 127 for Hornady® LEVERevolution® Rifle Ammunition
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location: Baton Rouge, LA
Age: 56-65
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Great round!

Date:January 18, 2011
Hotter than other 45-70 rounds I' ve tried. More recoil, too, but worth the extra kick. When using this ammo for the first time, be sure to re-zero your rifle before pulling the trigger on a game animal. Bagged an elk in Idaho and a whitetail in Mississippi. Hit right where I was aiming and dropped both in their tracks.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 128 for Hornady® LEVERevolution® Rifle Ammunition
Overall Customer Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location: Franklin, TN
Age: 46-55
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

not bad out of 25 bullets.

Date:January 18, 2011
Had only one problem with only one bullet.....seems that the bullet shell was slightly scuffed up and prevented the shell ejection....resulting in a gun jam.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 129 for Hornady® LEVERevolution® Rifle Ammunition
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location: Seguin, TX
Age: 56-65
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

leverevolution lauded

Date:January 18, 2011
The only ammo i will shoot in my lever action rifles: 4 shots at 125 yards, 4 hogs slain.
this stuff is the best. The 45-70 Govt. drops 'em in their stinky little tracks!
It's the finest ammo on the market today!
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 130 for Hornady® LEVERevolution® Rifle Ammunition
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location: Breaux Bridge, LA
Age: 56-65
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Good ammo, don't hunt with anything else.

Date:January 18, 2011
I have used Hornady ammo for many years. Hornady is for me the most consistent manufacture out there - including much higher priced ammo. I am perhaps too attached to my old lever action rifles but, I believe the Lever revolution has gives me a little edge I just don't see with other brands.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 131 for Hornady® LEVERevolution® Rifle Ammunition
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location: Tawas, Mi
Age: 25 and under
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

444 Leverevolution

Date:November 21, 2010
During the summer I purchased a single shot 444 Marlin, and the bullets that caught my eye were the Hornady Leverevolution. within 5 shots I had my rifle sighted dead on at 150 yards with 2" groups at that distance. And on November 16th I was able to put them to the test on 185 pound whitetail doe. The shot was 138 yards and she was quartering to and she was slightly uphill, I knelt down and aimed for the point of her shoulder but I slightly pulled 2" to the right and hit her in between the base of her neck and her shoulder blade, but the bullet passed through and exited directly between her shoulders and made an exit wound the size of a soda can! Needless to say the 265 grain slug spun her completely around and she dropped right there.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 132 for Hornady® LEVERevolution® Rifle Ammunition
Overall Customer Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Location: Silver Spring, MD
Age: 46-55
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

misleading ballistic data

Date:November 17, 2010
Mixed feelings about this ammo.
The good - Very accurate in my .35 Remington Mossberg 742.
The bad - Shot a 140lb buck that was quartering towards me through front shoulder from 65 yards. Knocked the deer off his feet but he stood right up. Shot him again behind shoulder and put him down for good. Neither pulled passed through the body. More importantly, both bullets fragmented. Never happened with other ammo.
Also, ballistic data indicates +3" at 100 yds, -1.3" at 200 yards. Real world isn't even close. Groups +2" at 100 yards were -8" at 200 yards. That's a 10" drop compared to published 4.3"
I know Hornady uses 24" test barrels because that's the spec, and I know guns shoot ammo differently but a difference of 6"? By the way, all groups were shot from bench using a sled on calm day with no wind.
All the hype is that this ammo turns lever guns into 200+ yard point-blank shooters. Not in my case.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 133 for Hornady® LEVERevolution® Rifle Ammunition
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Unbelievable performance from my 32 Special

Date:October 30, 2010
Look, I don't write reviews. Util I shot these rounds. I've shot Remington's Core Lokt in 32 Win Special for years. I bought 2 boxes of the Leverevolution and using iron sights I'm patterning about the size of my fist at 100 yards. With the Remington rounds I could NEVER do that. Also, the bullet is not dropping at 100 yards - it's 100% dead on as it is at 50. Again, Remingtons could never do that. If this gun wasn't near and dear to my heart I'd be half tempted to put a scope on it, because this baby could easilly be a 200 yard gun now. BUY THIS AMMO - you'll never regret it. THANKS HORNADY!
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 134 for Hornady® LEVERevolution® Rifle Ammunition
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location: Iowa
Age: 36-45
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Great Hunting Ammo

Date:September 10, 2010
Used this Hornaday Leverevolution ammo in 30-30Win. last year for deer hunting. Very accurate and made a quick clean kill. Only ammo I will deer hunt with in this caliber.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 135 for Hornady® LEVERevolution® Rifle Ammunition
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location: Newmarket, NH
Age: 46-55
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Bullet Tech is the future of hunting

Date:August 27, 2010
I bought these in 45-70 350grn and what a rush. They push hard and created more tauma than a 500grn flat head at 100 yards. I reload with Barnes Tripple Shock and wanted a go to back up bullet for this comming season, so I tried these out. The price was reasonable and the performance was amazing, at 150 yards a 5 inch drop on 350 grain bullet. Hit a woodchuck at 50 yards with one and was reminded of a varmint grenade video, definate overkill.
With bullet technology advancing so rapidly I wonder what a 45 auto will be able to do in 3 years? I hate tracking game after a long cold hunt and anything that puts em down fast I'm all for. Happy Hunting!!
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 136 for Hornady® LEVERevolution® Rifle Ammunition
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Age: 25 and under
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Great Cartridge!

Date:August 22, 2010
The LEVERevolution ammunition is very impressive. it only drops an opprox. 6 inches at 200 yards! The Bullet is great. It punches deer and i would recommend this to anyone who has a Lever gun.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 137 for Hornady® LEVERevolution® Rifle Ammunition
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location: North Carolina
Age: 26-35
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Good Clean Bullet

Date:August 9, 2010
Anything that I can extend the range of my 3030 I am for. Hornaday always puts out quality ammo.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 138 for Hornady® LEVERevolution® Rifle Ammunition
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location: Texoma area, OK
Age: 26-35
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Lever-action reborn!

Date:July 27, 2010
I was a little sceptical about the reviews I have seen claiming several inches high at 100 yards, but I am now a believer! I had my scope zeroed for 75 yards with my 170 grain Winchester power point cartridges. And just to make sure, I used my last one to test my zero, the next shot I used one of the Hornady rounds, and I couldn't find the hit on my 8.5 by 11 inch target. So I took another shot and found it dead center at the very top edge of the sheet, 7 inches away from the center of the bullseye, from 75 yards! I was astonished at the difference and went about resetting my scope to 150 yards (there were fewer clicks that way) because I will never use anything else. Oh and on a side note, they are quite capable of detonating the Star Exploding Targets with my Winchester Model 94, just in case you were wondering.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 139 for Hornady® LEVERevolution® Rifle Ammunition
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location: MA
Age: 56-65
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

LEVER 45-70

Date:July 26, 2010
I love this stuff for my Marlin 1895 "Cowboy" lever action 45-70
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 140 for Hornady® LEVERevolution® Rifle Ammunition
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location: Chattanooga, TN
Age: 36-45
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Leverevoloution .444 ammo

Date:July 9, 2010
When this ammunition first appeared on the market, I thought "Why not?". Untill that point, all I had ever shot was the Remington 240 grain loads with what I considered were good results. WOW!! What a difference! Groups are one inch or less and I can shoot them all day long. These loads are the real deal in my older model 444 Marlin...
Due to my work schedule, ( I know, but I gotta pay the bills!) I was finally able to use this stuff on game this past year. Had a nice fat doe come in through the thick Tennessee brush from behind and offer a steep quartering toward shot. Normally, I would pass on a shot like this, but temptation got the better of me. One boom later, she was on the ground with a baseball sized entrance wound and an even bigger exit!!
Here where I live, retreiving your deer can be a real chore if they dont go down quick and this ammo will put 'em down... Hard!
Thanks Hornady! You gave my "Beast" even bigger fangs!!
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
ReviewQuestion 121-140 of 355