Customer Reviews for HORNADY Hornady® LEVERevolution® Rifle Ammunition

HORNADY Hornady® LEVERevolution® Rifle Ammunition

Hornady, a leader in ballistic innovation, now introduces a new line of ammunition for lever-action rifles that dramatically increases velocity, energy, trajectory and downrange terminal performance. Lever guns with tubular magazines have been hindered in the past by their inability to fire pointed bullets safely. Now Hornady has perfected the Elastomer Flex Tip™ bullet that can be safely fired from such rifles without fear of a chain reaction discharge in the magazine. The Flex Tip puts enough give in the bullet tip to prevent detonation of the primer ahead of it in the magazine. It also increases the ballistic coefficient of the round by using a pointed bullet design and permits the use of propellants that can turn popular 100-yard "brush gun" rounds into deadly performers at 200 yards and beyond. For example, LEVERevolution .30-30 ammunition shoots a 160-grain bullet that is 400 fps faster and has 400 ft.-lbs. more energy at 250 yards than conventional .30-30 ammo, and bullet drop at 300 yards is about 12" with a 200-yard zero. LEVERevolution similarly enhances the performance of other popular lever gun calibers and delivers up to 40% more energy compared to conventional flat-point ammunition. Join the LEVERevolution today. Per 20.
Overall Customer Rating:
4.668 out of 5
4.7
 out of 
5
(362 Reviews) 362
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 362 reviews
5 Stars
304
4 Stars
29
3 Stars
10
2 Stars
5
1 Star
14
342 out of 362(94%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer questions and answers:
12 Questions | 36 Answers
Customer Reviews for Hornady® LEVERevolution® Rifle Ammunition
Review 121 for Hornady® LEVERevolution® Rifle Ammunition
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location: St. Louis, MO
Age: 25 and under
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

BEST AMMO EVER

Date:February 3, 2011
This is the best ammo out there. Mine is a .30-30 and you cannot get the accuracy out of any other ammo that you can get out of these. Would recommend this ammo to everyone.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 122 for Hornady® LEVERevolution® Rifle Ammunition
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location: Roseboro, NC
Age: 26-35
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

30-30 LEVERevolution rifle ammo

Date:January 31, 2011
I love this ammo...It has got the job done on every shot!!! It also has much more range and accuracy than any other ammo ever made for the 30-30.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 123 for Hornady® LEVERevolution® Rifle Ammunition
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location: Oklahoma Panhandle
Age: 56-65
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Good purchase

Date:January 31, 2011
Top of the line ammo!
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 124 for Hornady® LEVERevolution® Rifle Ammunition
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location: Mankato, MN
Age: 65 and over
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Great Product

Date:January 31, 2011
Makes lever guns great again!
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 125 for Hornady® LEVERevolution® Rifle Ammunition
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location: Cheyenne, WY
Age: 56-65
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

30-30 Leverevolutiom

Date:January 30, 2011
Shoots as tight as my best handloads out of my Winchester model 64. have several groups less than .75 inch @ 100 yds. (have a Marble peep sight) shot a big mule deer doe at 175 yds this fall, hit point of aim, dropped her in her tracks
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 126 for Hornady® LEVERevolution® Rifle Ammunition
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location: San Antonio Texas
Age: 65 and over
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Hornady Lever FTX Ammo

Date:January 27, 2011
Probably the "best ever" ammo for a lever gun. They have totally given new life to the old lever guns with tube mags AND give a lot of life to some old cartyridges in general, with their innovations with bullets and powders! This ammo is far superior to the old flat pointed 100 yard deer cartridges. My Dad would be surprised to see and use this stuff!
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 127 for Hornady® LEVERevolution® Rifle Ammunition
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location: St Rose, La.
Age: 46-55
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Great

Date:January 27, 2011
Bought this for my H&R .444 it shoots great.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 128 for Hornady® LEVERevolution® Rifle Ammunition
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location: Brownington, VT
Age: 26-35
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Great Purchase

Date:January 26, 2011
This product is phenominal. To test it out I set up 5 pumpkins that were about 8 Inches in diameter 175 yards away. Open sights with no optics I hit the target not only 10 out of 10 but the accuracy was amazing. These rounds shoot flat and fast. the entry was perfect nice decent size hole and the exit was about 3 in in diameter. I will not shoot any other roundsout of my .30-30 for now on.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 129 for Hornady® LEVERevolution® Rifle Ammunition
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location: Canton, mi
Age: 56-65
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

A safer approach

Date:January 22, 2011
I wanted a cartrage that loaded easily into a traditional 30-30 lever action rifle. These worked flawlessly and the ballistics are improved over my former choice!
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 130 for Hornady® LEVERevolution® Rifle Ammunition
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location: Baton Rouge, La.
Age: 65 and over
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

ammunition

Date:January 19, 2011
excellent shells great results.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 131 for Hornady® LEVERevolution® Rifle Ammunition
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location: Bellevue,WA
Age: 65 and over
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Hornady

Date:January 18, 2011
makes my 30-30 into a much longer range rifle. It 's almost like I bought a different rifle. I put a scope on my 30-30 and found it very accurate.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 132 for Hornady® LEVERevolution® Rifle Ammunition
Overall Customer Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location: Lake Havasu City, Arizona
Age: 56-65
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Accurate in my gun

Date:January 18, 2011
Can't speak to the terminal performance of this ammo - haven't tried it on anything but paper targets, but it sure is accurate in my Marlin 1895SBL Guide Gun.
Recoil is light, also.
Only issue is for reloaders, at least for 45/70 caliber anyway. Hornady shortens the brass to allow for longer bullet. It takes some die adjustments from regular 45/70 brass length, so make sure you don't mix it with other brands of brass.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 133 for Hornady® LEVERevolution® Rifle Ammunition
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location: Chessapeake VA
Age: 65 and over
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Peace of Mind

Date:January 18, 2011
Hornady Rifle ammo with FTX bullets works great in my tube feed Lever action HENRY Rifle's . The worry of RECOIL causing ammo in feed tube to be set off is elimanted as far as I'm concerned.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 134 for Hornady® LEVERevolution® Rifle Ammunition
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location: Baton Rouge, LA
Age: 56-65
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Great round!

Date:January 18, 2011
Hotter than other 45-70 rounds I' ve tried. More recoil, too, but worth the extra kick. When using this ammo for the first time, be sure to re-zero your rifle before pulling the trigger on a game animal. Bagged an elk in Idaho and a whitetail in Mississippi. Hit right where I was aiming and dropped both in their tracks.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 135 for Hornady® LEVERevolution® Rifle Ammunition
Overall Customer Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location: Franklin, TN
Age: 46-55
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

not bad out of 25 bullets.

Date:January 18, 2011
Had only one problem with only one bullet.....seems that the bullet shell was slightly scuffed up and prevented the shell ejection....resulting in a gun jam.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 136 for Hornady® LEVERevolution® Rifle Ammunition
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location: Seguin, TX
Age: 56-65
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

leverevolution lauded

Date:January 18, 2011
The only ammo i will shoot in my lever action rifles: 4 shots at 125 yards, 4 hogs slain.
this stuff is the best. The 45-70 Govt. drops 'em in their stinky little tracks!
It's the finest ammo on the market today!
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 137 for Hornady® LEVERevolution® Rifle Ammunition
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location: Breaux Bridge, LA
Age: 56-65
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Good ammo, don't hunt with anything else.

Date:January 18, 2011
I have used Hornady ammo for many years. Hornady is for me the most consistent manufacture out there - including much higher priced ammo. I am perhaps too attached to my old lever action rifles but, I believe the Lever revolution has gives me a little edge I just don't see with other brands.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 138 for Hornady® LEVERevolution® Rifle Ammunition
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location: Tawas, Mi
Age: 25 and under
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

444 Leverevolution

Date:November 21, 2010
During the summer I purchased a single shot 444 Marlin, and the bullets that caught my eye were the Hornady Leverevolution. within 5 shots I had my rifle sighted dead on at 150 yards with 2" groups at that distance. And on November 16th I was able to put them to the test on 185 pound whitetail doe. The shot was 138 yards and she was quartering to and she was slightly uphill, I knelt down and aimed for the point of her shoulder but I slightly pulled 2" to the right and hit her in between the base of her neck and her shoulder blade, but the bullet passed through and exited directly between her shoulders and made an exit wound the size of a soda can! Needless to say the 265 grain slug spun her completely around and she dropped right there.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 139 for Hornady® LEVERevolution® Rifle Ammunition
Overall Customer Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Location: Silver Spring, MD
Age: 46-55
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

misleading ballistic data

Date:November 17, 2010
Mixed feelings about this ammo.
The good - Very accurate in my .35 Remington Mossberg 742.
The bad - Shot a 140lb buck that was quartering towards me through front shoulder from 65 yards. Knocked the deer off his feet but he stood right up. Shot him again behind shoulder and put him down for good. Neither pulled passed through the body. More importantly, both bullets fragmented. Never happened with other ammo.
Also, ballistic data indicates +3" at 100 yds, -1.3" at 200 yards. Real world isn't even close. Groups +2" at 100 yards were -8" at 200 yards. That's a 10" drop compared to published 4.3"
I know Hornady uses 24" test barrels because that's the spec, and I know guns shoot ammo differently but a difference of 6"? By the way, all groups were shot from bench using a sled on calm day with no wind.
All the hype is that this ammo turns lever guns into 200+ yard point-blank shooters. Not in my case.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 140 for Hornady® LEVERevolution® Rifle Ammunition
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Unbelievable performance from my 32 Special

Date:October 30, 2010
Look, I don't write reviews. Util I shot these rounds. I've shot Remington's Core Lokt in 32 Win Special for years. I bought 2 boxes of the Leverevolution and using iron sights I'm patterning about the size of my fist at 100 yards. With the Remington rounds I could NEVER do that. Also, the bullet is not dropping at 100 yards - it's 100% dead on as it is at 50. Again, Remingtons could never do that. If this gun wasn't near and dear to my heart I'd be half tempted to put a scope on it, because this baby could easilly be a 200 yard gun now. BUY THIS AMMO - you'll never regret it. THANKS HORNADY!
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
ReviewQuestion 121-140 of 362