Customer Reviews for HORNADY Hornady® LEVERevolution® Rifle Ammunition

HORNADY Hornady® LEVERevolution® Rifle Ammunition

Hornady, a leader in ballistic innovation, now introduces a new line of ammunition for lever-action rifles that dramatically increases velocity, energy, trajectory and downrange terminal performance. Lever guns with tubular magazines have been hindered in the past by their inability to fire pointed bullets safely. Now Hornady has perfected the Elastomer Flex Tip™ bullet that can be safely fired from such rifles without fear of a chain reaction discharge in the magazine. The Flex Tip puts enough give in the bullet tip to prevent detonation of the primer ahead of it in the magazine. It also increases the ballistic coefficient of the round by using a pointed bullet design and permits the use of propellants that can turn popular 100-yard "brush gun" rounds into deadly performers at 200 yards and beyond. For example, LEVERevolution .30-30 ammunition shoots a 160-grain bullet that is 400 fps faster and has 400 ft.-lbs. more energy at 250 yards than conventional .30-30 ammo, and bullet drop at 300 yards is about 12" with a 200-yard zero. LEVERevolution similarly enhances the performance of other popular lever gun calibers and delivers up to 40% more energy compared to conventional flat-point ammunition. Join the LEVERevolution today. Per 20.
Overall Customer Rating:
4.682 out of 5
4.7
 out of 
5
(346 Reviews) 346
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 346 reviews
5 Stars
292
4 Stars
27
3 Stars
10
2 Stars
5
1 Star
12
328 out of 346(95%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer questions and answers:
11 Questions | 31 Answers
Customer Reviews for Hornady® LEVERevolution® Rifle Ammunition
Review 121 for Hornady® LEVERevolution® Rifle Ammunition
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location: Breaux Bridge, LA
Age: 56-65
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Good ammo, don't hunt with anything else.

Date:January 18, 2011
I have used Hornady ammo for many years. Hornady is for me the most consistent manufacture out there - including much higher priced ammo. I am perhaps too attached to my old lever action rifles but, I believe the Lever revolution has gives me a little edge I just don't see with other brands.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 122 for Hornady® LEVERevolution® Rifle Ammunition
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location: Tawas, Mi
Age: 25 and under
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

444 Leverevolution

Date:November 21, 2010
During the summer I purchased a single shot 444 Marlin, and the bullets that caught my eye were the Hornady Leverevolution. within 5 shots I had my rifle sighted dead on at 150 yards with 2" groups at that distance. And on November 16th I was able to put them to the test on 185 pound whitetail doe. The shot was 138 yards and she was quartering to and she was slightly uphill, I knelt down and aimed for the point of her shoulder but I slightly pulled 2" to the right and hit her in between the base of her neck and her shoulder blade, but the bullet passed through and exited directly between her shoulders and made an exit wound the size of a soda can! Needless to say the 265 grain slug spun her completely around and she dropped right there.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 123 for Hornady® LEVERevolution® Rifle Ammunition
Overall Customer Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Location: Silver Spring, MD
Age: 46-55
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

misleading ballistic data

Date:November 17, 2010
Mixed feelings about this ammo.
The good - Very accurate in my .35 Remington Mossberg 742.
The bad - Shot a 140lb buck that was quartering towards me through front shoulder from 65 yards. Knocked the deer off his feet but he stood right up. Shot him again behind shoulder and put him down for good. Neither pulled passed through the body. More importantly, both bullets fragmented. Never happened with other ammo.
Also, ballistic data indicates +3" at 100 yds, -1.3" at 200 yards. Real world isn't even close. Groups +2" at 100 yards were -8" at 200 yards. That's a 10" drop compared to published 4.3"
I know Hornady uses 24" test barrels because that's the spec, and I know guns shoot ammo differently but a difference of 6"? By the way, all groups were shot from bench using a sled on calm day with no wind.
All the hype is that this ammo turns lever guns into 200+ yard point-blank shooters. Not in my case.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 124 for Hornady® LEVERevolution® Rifle Ammunition
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Unbelievable performance from my 32 Special

Date:October 30, 2010
Look, I don't write reviews. Util I shot these rounds. I've shot Remington's Core Lokt in 32 Win Special for years. I bought 2 boxes of the Leverevolution and using iron sights I'm patterning about the size of my fist at 100 yards. With the Remington rounds I could NEVER do that. Also, the bullet is not dropping at 100 yards - it's 100% dead on as it is at 50. Again, Remingtons could never do that. If this gun wasn't near and dear to my heart I'd be half tempted to put a scope on it, because this baby could easilly be a 200 yard gun now. BUY THIS AMMO - you'll never regret it. THANKS HORNADY!
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 125 for Hornady® LEVERevolution® Rifle Ammunition
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location: Iowa
Age: 36-45
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Great Hunting Ammo

Date:September 10, 2010
Used this Hornaday Leverevolution ammo in 30-30Win. last year for deer hunting. Very accurate and made a quick clean kill. Only ammo I will deer hunt with in this caliber.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 126 for Hornady® LEVERevolution® Rifle Ammunition
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location: Newmarket, NH
Age: 46-55
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Bullet Tech is the future of hunting

Date:August 27, 2010
I bought these in 45-70 350grn and what a rush. They push hard and created more tauma than a 500grn flat head at 100 yards. I reload with Barnes Tripple Shock and wanted a go to back up bullet for this comming season, so I tried these out. The price was reasonable and the performance was amazing, at 150 yards a 5 inch drop on 350 grain bullet. Hit a woodchuck at 50 yards with one and was reminded of a varmint grenade video, definate overkill.
With bullet technology advancing so rapidly I wonder what a 45 auto will be able to do in 3 years? I hate tracking game after a long cold hunt and anything that puts em down fast I'm all for. Happy Hunting!!
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 127 for Hornady® LEVERevolution® Rifle Ammunition
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Age: 25 and under
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Great Cartridge!

Date:August 22, 2010
The LEVERevolution ammunition is very impressive. it only drops an opprox. 6 inches at 200 yards! The Bullet is great. It punches deer and i would recommend this to anyone who has a Lever gun.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 128 for Hornady® LEVERevolution® Rifle Ammunition
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location: North Carolina
Age: 26-35
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Good Clean Bullet

Date:August 9, 2010
Anything that I can extend the range of my 3030 I am for. Hornaday always puts out quality ammo.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 129 for Hornady® LEVERevolution® Rifle Ammunition
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location: Texoma area, OK
Age: 26-35
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Lever-action reborn!

Date:July 27, 2010
I was a little sceptical about the reviews I have seen claiming several inches high at 100 yards, but I am now a believer! I had my scope zeroed for 75 yards with my 170 grain Winchester power point cartridges. And just to make sure, I used my last one to test my zero, the next shot I used one of the Hornady rounds, and I couldn't find the hit on my 8.5 by 11 inch target. So I took another shot and found it dead center at the very top edge of the sheet, 7 inches away from the center of the bullseye, from 75 yards! I was astonished at the difference and went about resetting my scope to 150 yards (there were fewer clicks that way) because I will never use anything else. Oh and on a side note, they are quite capable of detonating the Star Exploding Targets with my Winchester Model 94, just in case you were wondering.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 130 for Hornady® LEVERevolution® Rifle Ammunition
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location: MA
Age: 56-65
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

LEVER 45-70

Date:July 26, 2010
I love this stuff for my Marlin 1895 "Cowboy" lever action 45-70
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 131 for Hornady® LEVERevolution® Rifle Ammunition
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location: Chattanooga, TN
Age: 36-45
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Leverevoloution .444 ammo

Date:July 9, 2010
When this ammunition first appeared on the market, I thought "Why not?". Untill that point, all I had ever shot was the Remington 240 grain loads with what I considered were good results. WOW!! What a difference! Groups are one inch or less and I can shoot them all day long. These loads are the real deal in my older model 444 Marlin...
Due to my work schedule, ( I know, but I gotta pay the bills!) I was finally able to use this stuff on game this past year. Had a nice fat doe come in through the thick Tennessee brush from behind and offer a steep quartering toward shot. Normally, I would pass on a shot like this, but temptation got the better of me. One boom later, she was on the ground with a baseball sized entrance wound and an even bigger exit!!
Here where I live, retreiving your deer can be a real chore if they dont go down quick and this ammo will put 'em down... Hard!
Thanks Hornady! You gave my "Beast" even bigger fangs!!
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 132 for Hornady® LEVERevolution® Rifle Ammunition
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location: Encampment, WY
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Excellent Ammo

Date:July 8, 2010
You get what you pay for... This ammo is very accurate and dependable.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 133 for Hornady® LEVERevolution® Rifle Ammunition
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location: Beaumont, Texas
Age: 36-45
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

LEVERevolution ammo

Date:June 12, 2010
Ive taken 2 nice bucks with my 1895G in 45-70 with this ammo. This flex tip ammo shoots better out of my lever rifles than any other brand that ive used. Its consistant on the range out to 200 yrds. When i use my lever guns, i will use this LEVERevolution ammo, and most definately recommend the ammo to a friend, or anyone that is looking for great factory ammo.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 134 for Hornady® LEVERevolution® Rifle Ammunition
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location: South Dakota
Age: 46-55
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

30-30 Hornady Lever Revolution

Date:June 1, 2010
Great ammo. Minimal zero; gets on target further down range than other brands. Makes the 30-30 a more versatile rifle.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 135 for Hornady® LEVERevolution® Rifle Ammunition
Overall Customer Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location: Napa, Ca
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

buckhunter7

Date:May 24, 2010
only use for up close hog hunting, works very well
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 136 for Hornady® LEVERevolution® Rifle Ammunition
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location: Tarpon Springs,FL
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

A Bigger Splat!

Date:April 30, 2010
I bought a box of these to use in my Cabela's Sharps .45-70 rifle. I sighted it in at 200 yards and put a piece of 3" plywood behind my paper target. First I used standard 405 gr. cowboy loads and it made a fair sized hole in the plywood. Then I used these Hornandy LEVERevolution loads and not only did it make a big splat in the cardboard, but it split it in half right up the middle and it fell apart! Imagine what it would do to a deer or a hog at that distance - wow! I bought a box of these for my .30-30 rifle too and had similar results. Definatly would reccomend this ammo to all you long range hunters out there!
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 137 for Hornady® LEVERevolution® Rifle Ammunition
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location: PA
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Dead Bear

Date:April 21, 2010
I use the LEVERevolution ammo in my Marlin 22' 1895. At 100 yards I can put 4 out of 5 (the fifth is right on the edge) into a box the size of half of a playing card. I use no sand bag or anything like that, just rest my elbows on a shooting bench and hold the gun like it will be when actually shooting an animal.
The bore does not seem to get as dirty as with other ammo. I am going to use the rifle/ammo combo for hunting bear in PA and ME. With this kind of accuracy, why reload? Great ammo.....
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 138 for Hornady® LEVERevolution® Rifle Ammunition
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Turn your older gun into a top performer

Date:March 22, 2010
Dust off or try that old lever action gun. This ammo is great!! The 35 cal gun I used to trust to 75 yards, I now trust over 150. I have the 8 pointer to prove it.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 139 for Hornady® LEVERevolution® Rifle Ammunition
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location: Farmington Hills, Michigan
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

LEVERevolution Ammo

Date:March 18, 2010
I own a Marlin 336C .35 Remington. Before Hornady ammunition I was forced to buy Remington Core-lock which was OK out to 100 yards. I was able to obtain 2 - 3 inch groups at 100 yards but knew the hitting power was greatly diminished. When Hornady arrived it was a miracle!!! After changing the magazine follower out I was able to use the Hornady .35 Remington rounds...what a difference!! These rounds turned my 100 yard (at best) carbine into a 200+ yard rifle. I was holding 1/2 inch groups at 150 yards and the ballistics were amazing. I would recommend these cartridges to everyone!
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 140 for Hornady® LEVERevolution® Rifle Ammunition
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location: Bartow, Florida
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

30-30 hornaday leverevolution

Date:March 15, 2010
I went to the gun range on march 4, 2010, to sight in some 30-30 ballistic tip and some hornadays. The ballistic tips were holding a real tight group after 2 (3 shot groups). So, I tried the hornadays and these bullets were about 2 inches high at 50 yards, but carried a good grouping. The hornadays should be good to hunt with after, I shoot up the winchesters. Both bullets were real good to shoot with my 30A Marlin with a 3 by 9 scope.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
ReviewQuestion 121-140 of 346