Customer Reviews for HORNADY Hornady® LEVERevolution® Rifle Ammunition

HORNADY Hornady® LEVERevolution® Rifle Ammunition

Hornady, a leader in ballistic innovation, now introduces a new line of ammunition for lever-action rifles that dramatically increases velocity, energy, trajectory and downrange terminal performance. Lever guns with tubular magazines have been hindered in the past by their inability to fire pointed bullets safely. Now Hornady has perfected the Elastomer Flex Tip™ bullet that can be safely fired from such rifles without fear of a chain reaction discharge in the magazine. The Flex Tip puts enough give in the bullet tip to prevent detonation of the primer ahead of it in the magazine. It also increases the ballistic coefficient of the round by using a pointed bullet design and permits the use of propellants that can turn popular 100-yard "brush gun" rounds into deadly performers at 200 yards and beyond. For example, LEVERevolution .30-30 ammunition shoots a 160-grain bullet that is 400 fps faster and has 400 ft.-lbs. more energy at 250 yards than conventional .30-30 ammo, and bullet drop at 300 yards is about 12" with a 200-yard zero. LEVERevolution similarly enhances the performance of other popular lever gun calibers and delivers up to 40% more energy compared to conventional flat-point ammunition. Join the LEVERevolution today. Per 20.
Overall Customer Rating:
4.665 out of 5
4.7
 out of 
5
(355 Reviews) 355
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 355 reviews
5 Stars
298
4 Stars
28
3 Stars
10
2 Stars
5
1 Star
14
335 out of 355(94%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer questions and answers:
11 Questions | 33 Answers
Customer Reviews for Hornady® LEVERevolution® Rifle Ammunition
Review 241 for Hornady® LEVERevolution® Rifle Ammunition
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location: Roseboro, NC
Age: 26-35
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

30-30 LEVERevolution rifle ammo

Date:January 31, 2011
I love this ammo...It has got the job done on every shot!!! It also has much more range and accuracy than any other ammo ever made for the 30-30.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 242 for Hornady® LEVERevolution® Rifle Ammunition
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location: St. Louis, MO
Age: 25 and under
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

BEST AMMO EVER

Date:February 3, 2011
This is the best ammo out there. Mine is a .30-30 and you cannot get the accuracy out of any other ammo that you can get out of these. Would recommend this ammo to everyone.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 243 for Hornady® LEVERevolution® Rifle Ammunition
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location: Fredericktown, MO
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Good feed for Marlin 1895

Date:February 3, 2011
Have used several boxes and no problems whatsoever
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 244 for Hornady® LEVERevolution® Rifle Ammunition
Overall Customer Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Location: alpine, CA
Age: 36-45
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

poor penatration on bigger game

Date:February 5, 2011
probably great for deer, hit an oregon coast elk in the shoulder from about 40 yards (not the perfect shot but) and had to take a second. found the bullet in the shoulder muscle ,it never hit the bone! lead was seperated from the jacket. i think they expand a little too fast . i think i will go with the buffalo bore for the elk next season and save the honady for the deer.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 245 for Hornady® LEVERevolution® Rifle Ammunition
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location: Milford,PA
Age: 56-65
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Excellent Ammo

Date:February 8, 2011
In my Marlin 336C I had difficulty getting good groups at 100 yards with the traditional ammo. With this Ammo I can get 3 rounds touching at 100 yards and can cover them with a quarter!!
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 246 for Hornady® LEVERevolution® Rifle Ammunition
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location: Boyertown PA
Age: 56-65
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Horneday 308 marlin express and 45-70 gov accurate

Date:February 8, 2011
I find that the Horneday 308 marlin express shoots accurate and level. I don't normally shoot past 100yards and find it has good knock down power. In PA I use the 160 grain bullet for deer. The 45-70 is again very accurate and even though I haven't shot a bear lately It must have good knock down power especially using larger grained bullets.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 247 for Hornady® LEVERevolution® Rifle Ammunition
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location: Ayden, NC
Age: 46-55
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

bear

Date:February 17, 2011
I use the ammo in my Contendor and Marlin rifle. It shoots well in both guns.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 248 for Hornady® LEVERevolution® Rifle Ammunition
Overall Customer Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Location: burlington, ks
Age: 36-45
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? No

unexpected

Date:February 18, 2011
usually have good results-performance with hornady but had 3 rounds that did not work in one box. the primers just would not go off even after we dismantled the round and tryed to set it off. odd to have that in one box never had one round not go off before and this had three, the other box was fine
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 249 for Hornady® LEVERevolution® Rifle Ammunition
Overall Customer Rating: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Location: Broadway, VA
Age: 26-35
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? No

Inspect closely

Date:February 20, 2011
The .45-70s are accurate, but I had a box where three different rounds failed to fire. Upon inspection the primers are seated much deeper on those specific rounds and the pin didn't hit hard enough. Ive shot about 120 rounds of those bullets, and they were all in the same box, so I'm chalking it up to a bad lot, but I'll definitely be inspecting the rest of the rounds from now on.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 250 for Hornady® LEVERevolution® Rifle Ammunition
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location: Claremont, CA
Age: 26-35
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Hornady LEVERevolution® Rifle Ammunition 30-30 Win

Date:February 23, 2011
Excellent ammo, flawless function, accurate!
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 251 for Hornady® LEVERevolution® Rifle Ammunition
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location: Maine
Age: 26-35
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Long range accuracy

Date:March 1, 2011
This ammo is truly amazing. I bought a box for my 444 marlin outfitter and could not believe the trajectory when compared to my other rounds. At 100 yards holding dead on, with the scope set for corelock, I was shooting 2.5” high. After a minor scope adjustment I was shooting sub MOA groups at 100 yards. Last week I shot a coyote @ 175 yards and completely rolled him! My big bore brush gun is now a long range thumper!
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 252 for Hornady® LEVERevolution® Rifle Ammunition
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location: Petaluma,CA
Age: 46-55
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Extended Range

Date:March 9, 2011
I have the Hornady Leverevolution ammo for my .45-70Marlin, .30-30Marlin ,.357Mag ,.22Mag and they all shoot the Hornady Ammo accurately at greater distances. The .30-30 has the most noticable improvement. No jam's and I can reload the brass. I am very satisfied with the ammo and the price is very reasonable for the value.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 253 for Hornady® LEVERevolution® Rifle Ammunition
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location: Warrens, Wi
Age: 36-45
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Great choice of ammo

Date:March 10, 2011
This is a great choice of ammo for lever rifles. The polymer tip offers both protection while in the tube and better aerodynamic qualities after fired. I use this ammo in my .35mm rifle and will stick with for as long as it is offered.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 254 for Hornady® LEVERevolution® Rifle Ammunition
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location: Los Angeles, CA
Age: 65 and over
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Great Ammo

Date:March 12, 2011
Works great, no misfires or jams!!!
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 255 for Hornady® LEVERevolution® Rifle Ammunition
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location: Silt Colorado
Age: 65 and over
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Great product

Date:April 7, 2011
This product performed just as advertised and was pleasant to shoot.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 256 for Hornady® LEVERevolution® Rifle Ammunition
Overall Customer Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Location: Imperial Valley, Ca
Age: 56-65
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? No

What A Waste

Date:April 16, 2011
Been using Federal 150 gr FN and have great resultes, so I decided to try these after all the positive reviews. Used a Caldwell Lead Slead at 100 yrds in a Marlin 336 C with Nikon scope and these rounds were all over. Best group at 100 yrds was approximately 7 inches. At least I have 20 brass 30-30 shell cases I can reload. Bottom line is that I won't be buying this ammo again.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 257 for Hornady® LEVERevolution® Rifle Ammunition
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location: okeechobee fl
Age: 26-35
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Hogs and Deer look out

Date:May 2, 2011
Everthing i shoot buckles in its tracks
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 258 for Hornady® LEVERevolution® Rifle Ammunition
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location: San Antonio, Texas
Age: 46-55
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Great ammo

Date:May 29, 2011
I'm a southpaw shooter, and hunt with a lever actiom Marlin 30-30 for its' ambidextrous handling. I also participated on an NRA high school rifle team; we took first in the southwest one year. I'm not the best shot ever, but I do know how to fire a rifle accurately.
Those hunters who claim that the Hornady ammo is no good must be doing something wrong, or there's something wrong with their gun. I've been hunting with the ammo for four seasons. After sighting in the gun at 150 yards, I have hit every deer that I have targeted. Only one deer ever ran - for about 40 yards - because my shot was a bit off. Every other white tail dropped where it stood when shot. My youngest son shot his first buck with my 30-30, and his buck ran 20 yards. But it was a lung shot.
My shot groups aren't match rifle tight, but the groups are tighter with the LeveRevolution than they ever were with flat-nosed rounds. I now take shots with my Marlin that I never would have considered prior to using Hornady LeveRevolution rounds for my 30-30. I never have feed problems, ejection problems, etc. I find the ammo very accurate and reliable for the weapon.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 259 for Hornady® LEVERevolution® Rifle Ammunition
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location: Danbury, CT
Age: 56-65
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Expensive but reliable

Date:May 31, 2011
Great, consistent groupings - very nice ammo and worth the price
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 260 for Hornady® LEVERevolution® Rifle Ammunition
Overall Customer Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Good in Marlin336

Date:June 17, 2011
Used this to target shoot in my .35 Marlin. Good groups at 75 meters (Yards are too weird for me) and reliable feed. No FTFs in 40 rounds. The rubbery flex tips on this ammo make it ideal for long term storage in tubular magazines. Reason for 4 stars is the ammo is fairly dirty compared to other .35 I have used. So you will spend a little bit longer cleaning after shooting this.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
ReviewQuestion 241-260 of 355