Customer Reviews for BARNES BULLETS Barnes Expander MZ and Spit Fire MZ and TMZ

BARNES BULLETS Barnes Expander MZ and Spit Fire MZ and TMZ

These 100% copper muzzleloader bullets deliver outstanding accuracy, penetration and expansion. Recommended for use in in-line muzzleloaders, these bullets expand up to double their original diameter and retain nearly 100% of their weight. The result is incredible terminal performance and quick, humane kills. Snug-fitting sabot prevents gas blow-by, ensuring consistent velocities and tight groups. Specify order number and order code from chart. Available: Expander® MZ™: Hollow-point cavity expands into six whirling copper petals. Spit-Fire MZ™: Open-tip, semi-spitzer boattail with great long-range performance. Spit-Fire TMZ™: Polymer-tipped boattail resulting in flatter long-range trajectory.  
Overall Customer Rating:
4.486 out of 5
4.5
 out of 
5
(185 Reviews) 185
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 185 reviews
5 Stars
142
4 Stars
18
3 Stars
7
2 Stars
9
1 Star
9
166 out of 185(90%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer questions and answers:
7 Questions | 21 Answers
Customer Reviews for Barnes Expander MZ and Spit Fire MZ and TMZ
Review 61 for Barnes Expander MZ and Spit Fire MZ and TMZ
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location: Enfield, CT
Age: 46-55
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Great Expansion just like picture

Date:December 18, 2010
Shot at deer near head on uphill at 40 yards. Dropped deer where it stood. Shot pass through front right shoulder lodged in fat at bottom of backstrap. Recovered Sabot looked just like picture shown. Little if any fragmentation on sabot. They are kind of tough to load, recommend coating with lube since they are not lubricated. Consistently tight groups.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 62 for Barnes Expander MZ and Spit Fire MZ and TMZ
Overall Customer Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location: MI
Age: 26-35
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Did the Job!

Date:December 14, 2010
Settled on these this year based on the reviews of others and the accuracy I saw form them in my CVA Accura V2. 1" groups at 100yds, 2 777's. Saw similar accuracy with 3 pellets as well. Took a tough shot on a 135" 8 pt this year, but these spitfires had spectacular devastation causing him to run 40 yards and lay down. Difficulty of loading was my only drawback with these Sabots.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 63 for Barnes Expander MZ and Spit Fire MZ and TMZ
Overall Customer Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Location: Iowa
Age: 26-35
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Good bullet, really hard to load.

Date:December 13, 2010
Shot a tight group when I could get them down the barrel. Had to really horse on these to get them down the barrel. Might fit others guns, but not mine. I hunt treestands and there is no way i could ever load in the tree with all it took on the ground. Had to drill the bullet out of the barrel the last time I tried them. Bullet lodged about 1 inch down the barrel and could not hammer it out from back or front sides, and I had just swabbed the barrel. Good accuracy but laoding is too much work for hunting situation. Sticking with the powerbelts for now. Might try the barnes EZ next year.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 64 for Barnes Expander MZ and Spit Fire MZ and TMZ
Overall Customer Rating: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Location: Wisconsin
Age: 56-65
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? No

can't get them down the barrel

Date:November 18, 2010
Just picked up the new T-MZ 50 Cal bullets. So I swab my T/C Encore after every shot with Rem oil and had shot a dozen T/C shockwave easy glide sabots and they went down the barrel like butter. I reloaded with the Barns bullet and almost needed to pound it down the tube. I shot three rounds all followed with a swabbing, Never again will I shoot or attemt to shoot this bullet. I will say the shots were on target.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 65 for Barnes Expander MZ and Spit Fire MZ and TMZ
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location: Powhatan,Virginia
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

3 and Counting

Date:November 6, 2010
I have used T/Cbullets in the past with varying results.They are great on paper however have lost a number of deer because of lack of expandtion.Not much knock down and no blood trails! I switched this year after losing another deer with them.I am now shooting 250gr. TMZ with 110gr. of Blackhorn 209 behind it. My Omega shoots as well or better than the T/C brand bullet. I have taken 3 deer so far and all have been amazing. Dead right there! Shot down thorugh the bushes at one clipped a limb , Bullet expanded hitting the deer behind front shoulder going on thorugh chest cavity lodging in oppisite shoulder. Recovered the bullet and it is exactly what Barnes claims, Perfect expandtion and 100% weight retention. Never shoot any else again! !Awesome!!
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 66 for Barnes Expander MZ and Spit Fire MZ and TMZ
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location: hastings mn
Age: 36-45
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

sabots

Date:September 18, 2010
they fire well will find out soon how they work on deer
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 67 for Barnes Expander MZ and Spit Fire MZ and TMZ
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location: Santa Fe, New Mexico
Age: 56-65
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Very good product.

Date:September 16, 2010
I had just about given up on finding a bullet and sabot that my 2 Thompson Omegas would shoot accurately. I have tried a lot of other sabots and bullets including the T-EZ. None of them compare to the MZ. I shot 1/2" groups at 100 yards with both of my Omegas. 250gr. MZ with 230 grains of 777. I shot an antelope at 145 yards, and dropped him in his tracks. They are very hard to load, but the accuracy is worth it.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 68 for Barnes Expander MZ and Spit Fire MZ and TMZ
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location: Seattle, WA.
Age: 56-65
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Barnes Muzzleloader MZ Sabots

Date:August 26, 2010
They tend to be a bit harder to load, but are very accurate. At the range, bench rested, I shot a two inch group at a 100 yards with open sights. Two of the rounds almost key holed. I haven't had the opportunity yet to use them on any game, but hope to have the chance this year during elk season.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 69 for Barnes Expander MZ and Spit Fire MZ and TMZ
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

great mz

Date:August 2, 2010
used in pistol, fits well easier to mount than lead ball.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 70 for Barnes Expander MZ and Spit Fire MZ and TMZ
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location: MI
Age: 25 and under
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Worth the cost

Date:June 15, 2010
These bullets expand perfictly when shot in to sand and they are very accurate. Anxious to take a deer with them. Spend the extra few bucks and get these over other sabots. Don't forget your aligner/ seater.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 71 for Barnes Expander MZ and Spit Fire MZ and TMZ
Overall Customer Rating: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Location: Jacksonville, fl
Age: 56-65
Would you recommend this product to a friend? No

Barnes boatail sabots.

Date:June 14, 2010
I recieved these and were very impressed with the packaging and shape of the tapered boattail disign. The problem arose when I tryed loading them in my TC omega. Extremilly hard to force down the barrel. I cleaned the bore after every shot but could not get a good group better than 4 inches at 50 yards. In a hunting situation where a second shot was neccesary I don't believe I could load another round in a dirty barrel. I was using 777 pellets and rem 209 primers.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 72 for Barnes Expander MZ and Spit Fire MZ and TMZ
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location: Northeast, Iowa
Age: 26-35
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Barnes 250 TMZ and 245 Spitfire

Date:June 4, 2010
I have used these bullets for five years in variations, try the 245 spitfire and switch to the 250 TMZ then back. I have found that both bullets open readily on game, and are super accurate.. Last fall I killed a broadside doe at 270 yards, with the 250 TMZ and 110grns FFFg Triple Seven, from a rested position, she went five more yards and flopped. They both are a great bullet.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 73 for Barnes Expander MZ and Spit Fire MZ and TMZ
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location: Eddyville, IA
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Barnes Tipped MZ

Date:May 31, 2010
Accurate and devastating on whitetail. I've been using the 250 gr infront of 110 gr of Blackhorn 209. I can get 4 or 5 shots before needing to swab. Unbelievable wound channel... make a good shot or your going to tear up some meat. Quartering away shot this year destroyed all the venison on the off shoulder.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 74 for Barnes Expander MZ and Spit Fire MZ and TMZ
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location: Stevensville, Michigan
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

barnes muzzleloader MZ sabots

Date:March 9, 2010
I use these in my .50 cal cva accura with pyrodex pellets. awsome sabots I shoot a 2" pattern at 150 yards, cant wait till deer season
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 75 for Barnes Expander MZ and Spit Fire MZ and TMZ
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location: Michigan UP
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Barnes Muzzleloader MZ Sabots

Date:March 8, 2010
I have not yet hunted with these but I have used Barnes bullets in the past. So I have faith in their products.
I did shoot a half inch group at 50 yards.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 76 for Barnes Expander MZ and Spit Fire MZ and TMZ
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location: Lexington, KY
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Great product 250 G. Expander MZ

Date:February 9, 2010
I used the 250 Gr. Expander MZ out of my Thompson Center Encore. This sabot was very accurate and had great expansion while sighting in my rifle this past summer and works very well with 777 powder and primer. Using this sabot brought down my 275 lbs 135 inch KY buck this past October. Broadside shot from 66 yards, one shot directly through both lungs and his heart and he only ran 35 yards before going down. Great sabot to use, not only was it accurate but it also had the knockdown power and expansion to take down a mature whitetail. I would recommend using a very little bit of lube on the sabots for easy loading.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 77 for Barnes Expander MZ and Spit Fire MZ and TMZ
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location: Ohio
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Barnes X Muzzleloader Bullets

Date:February 8, 2010
THey are excelent. I would not use anything else. My son down this first Ohio deer this year with them. I have shot two moose with them and they went down harder than ones I shot with a 300 Win Mag.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 78 for Barnes Expander MZ and Spit Fire MZ and TMZ
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location: london ontario canada
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

best sabot in the world

Date:January 24, 2010
I use the 250 gr tmz with 150 gr of jim shockey gold in my TC black diamond I shot a moose this year at 204 yds the sabot hit 1 1/2" into the shoulder blade the bull moose did not even take one step it just drop rate at the spot i shot it at there was massive devastation to the heart and lungs just like they were put into a blender these bullets are amazing I will never switch to another load again
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 79 for Barnes Expander MZ and Spit Fire MZ and TMZ
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Devestation

Date:January 18, 2010
I'Ve been using these sabots over the last 3 years and killed 9 deer with them. I haven't had one get away yet, as they do alot of damage. My average shot has been about 80 yards, and the deer usually die within 20 yards of the impact. Very good sabot, good accuracy, and good knock down power.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 80 for Barnes Expander MZ and Spit Fire MZ and TMZ
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location: Covington, Ga.
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Barnes

Date:January 11, 2010
Great , accurate !
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
ReviewQuestion 61-80 of 185