Customer Reviews for BARNES BULLETS Barnes Expander MZ and Spit Fire MZ and TMZ

BARNES BULLETS Barnes Expander MZ and Spit Fire MZ and TMZ

These 100% copper muzzleloader bullets deliver outstanding accuracy, penetration and expansion. Recommended for use in in-line muzzleloaders, these bullets expand up to double their original diameter and retain nearly 100% of their weight. The result is incredible terminal performance and quick, humane kills. Snug-fitting sabot prevents gas blow-by, ensuring consistent velocities and tight groups. Specify order number and order code from chart. Available: Expander® MZ™: Hollow-point cavity expands into six whirling copper petals. Spit-Fire MZ™: Open-tip, semi-spitzer boattail with great long-range performance. Spit-Fire TMZ™: Polymer-tipped boattail resulting in flatter long-range trajectory.  
Overall Customer Rating:
4.48 out of 5
4.5
 out of 
5
(198 Reviews) 198
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 198 reviews
5 Stars
151
4 Stars
20
3 Stars
7
2 Stars
11
1 Star
9
178 out of 198(90%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer questions and answers:
8 Questions | 27 Answers
Customer Reviews for Barnes Expander MZ and Spit Fire MZ and TMZ
Review 61 for Barnes Expander MZ and Spit Fire MZ and TMZ
Overall Customer Rating: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Date:February 3, 2011

Worked OK short range only

By
Location: California
Age: 65 and over
Gender: Male
Seemed like after 50 yards accuracy was compromised due apparent tumbling ...Under 50 works OK. However would buy them again knowing the limitation . We have to use solid copper in most of the state due Calif Condor issues
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 62 for Barnes Expander MZ and Spit Fire MZ and TMZ
Overall Customer Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Date:February 1, 2011

Good Sabot

By
Location: Nebraska
Age: 36-45
Gender: Male
Very accurate, but also very hard to load in my Traditions Pursuit. Used 90 grains Blackhorn 209.
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 63 for Barnes Expander MZ and Spit Fire MZ and TMZ
Overall Customer Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Date:January 31, 2011

worth the effort

By
Location: America's North Coast
Age: 46-55
Gender: Male
These sabots are more difficult to load than some others on the market but the benefits gained in velocity and consistency should not be overlooked. I took them out west for a special season mulie hunt and they far exceeded my expectations. Coming from the midwest, I was unable to practice with them beyond 100 yards close to home. Out there that's practically point blank range. Once there I was able to practice at the outfitter's property at 200 + yards. I was pleasantly surprised to find that my TC omega (zeroed 2 " high at 100 yds) landed only 4" low at 200 yds and 6 " low at 250 yds. I'm no great shot but these were acceptable groups for hunting purposes.
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 64 for Barnes Expander MZ and Spit Fire MZ and TMZ
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:January 24, 2011

Awesome sabots

By
Location: Up state New York
Age: 56-65
Gender: Male
I took white deer at well over 100 yards.These are one of the best muzzle loader sabots ever.You have to give these a try you won`t be sorry.Thanks Cabela`s and Barnes,Bruce from N.Y.
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 65 for Barnes Expander MZ and Spit Fire MZ and TMZ
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:January 14, 2011

Expander-MZ bullets

By
Location: Encinitas, California
Age: 65 and over
Gender: Male
I had to work up a load for hogs to use in a "no-lead" area in California so I picked the Expander-MZ in the 250-grain version. They come with HPH-12 sabots, which may or may not fit your rifle. I shoot an Omega, which has a pretty tight barrel, and had to switch the sabots out to HPH-24's, which are a little "looser". I wound up shooting a 250# hog at 59 yards right behind the shoulder for a double-lung shot using 100 grains of Pyrodex RS We recovered the bullet when we skinned the hog. The bullet blew a big hole through the far side of the hog, but stayed just inside the skin. It expanded perfectly and looked like a big copper flower. I highly recommend this bullet.
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 66 for Barnes Expander MZ and Spit Fire MZ and TMZ
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:January 14, 2011

Barnes sabots

By
Location: Ohio
Age: 56-65
Gender: Male
I wouldn't hunt with any other bullet than a Barnes- reliable expansion 100% pass thru even with 110 g of triple 7 on a moose. The total so far with Barnes is 2 whitetails, 3 moose. One shot one each. Good accuracy. Some bullets I have found to be more accurate in my Knight such as the Shockwaves, but I don't trust them hunting due to unreliable expansion reports. Generally with the Barnes I get a 2" group at 150 yards. Last moose was a one shot kill at 200 yards in Newfoundland with the Barnes.
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 67 for Barnes Expander MZ and Spit Fire MZ and TMZ
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:January 13, 2011

Best sabot ever

By
Location: washington
Age: 26-35
Gender: Male
This bullet flat performs!! Flat shooting!!
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 68 for Barnes Expander MZ and Spit Fire MZ and TMZ
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:January 10, 2011

50 cal

By
Location: Longmont, Co
Age: 46-55
Gender: Male
Excellent. much better than the sabots.
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 69 for Barnes Expander MZ and Spit Fire MZ and TMZ
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:January 6, 2011

barnes bullets

By
Location: grundy va
Age: 46-55
Gender: Male
barnes makes the best muzzleloading bullets on the market. i wish they would make them in 200 grain
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 70 for Barnes Expander MZ and Spit Fire MZ and TMZ
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:January 6, 2011

Big bullets, Bigger Hole, Dead Deer

By
Location: Memphis, TN
Age: 26-35
Gender: Male
Big entry hole.
Bigger exit hole.
Easy blood trails.
We've shot several deer with these bullets (both the wide-mouthed and the spitzer style) and have never had a lost deer or failure to pass through. The internal hydrostatic shock is enormous, and neither ribs, shoulders, nor spine have been able to slow down these bullets.
You do your part, and the bullet will do its part.
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 71 for Barnes Expander MZ and Spit Fire MZ and TMZ
Overall Customer Rating: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Date:January 4, 2011

Not worth the effort to load

By
Location: Pittsburgh
I broke a brand new starter the first time I went to the range with these. I was shooting good patterns when I could finally get them loaded but the effort wasn't worth it. I can get just as good patterns with the Hornady sabots and can start them with my thumb. Buy something that's easier to load.
Would you recommend this product to a friend? No
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 72 for Barnes Expander MZ and Spit Fire MZ and TMZ
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:December 23, 2010

Wonderful Bullet

By
Location: Fredonia, New York
Age: 26-35
Gender: Male
4 shots, 4 dead deer all over 150 yards using 100 grains pyrodex out of a cva wolf. These bullets do alot of damage. thanks barnes
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 73 for Barnes Expander MZ and Spit Fire MZ and TMZ
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:December 21, 2010

Just amazing!!

By
Location: Des moines, IA
Age: 26-35
Gender: Male
I have used this for two season and the first deer dropped in her tracks. this season the two Does only ran 20 yards. great blood trail and complete pass throught. I dont think their too hard to load, but with a 1 inch group at 100 yards with 100 grains of 777 who cares if it is hard to load. I use this in my TC Omega and Truimph.
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 74 for Barnes Expander MZ and Spit Fire MZ and TMZ
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:December 18, 2010

Great Expansion just like picture

By
Location: Enfield, CT
Age: 46-55
Gender: Male
Shot at deer near head on uphill at 40 yards. Dropped deer where it stood. Shot pass through front right shoulder lodged in fat at bottom of backstrap. Recovered Sabot looked just like picture shown. Little if any fragmentation on sabot. They are kind of tough to load, recommend coating with lube since they are not lubricated. Consistently tight groups.
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 75 for Barnes Expander MZ and Spit Fire MZ and TMZ
Overall Customer Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Date:December 14, 2010

Did the Job!

By
Location: MI
Age: 26-35
Gender: Male
Settled on these this year based on the reviews of others and the accuracy I saw form them in my CVA Accura V2. 1" groups at 100yds, 2 777's. Saw similar accuracy with 3 pellets as well. Took a tough shot on a 135" 8 pt this year, but these spitfires had spectacular devastation causing him to run 40 yards and lay down. Difficulty of loading was my only drawback with these Sabots.
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 76 for Barnes Expander MZ and Spit Fire MZ and TMZ
Overall Customer Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Date:December 13, 2010

Good bullet, really hard to load.

By
Location: Iowa
Age: 26-35
Gender: Male
Shot a tight group when I could get them down the barrel. Had to really horse on these to get them down the barrel. Might fit others guns, but not mine. I hunt treestands and there is no way i could ever load in the tree with all it took on the ground. Had to drill the bullet out of the barrel the last time I tried them. Bullet lodged about 1 inch down the barrel and could not hammer it out from back or front sides, and I had just swabbed the barrel. Good accuracy but laoding is too much work for hunting situation. Sticking with the powerbelts for now. Might try the barnes EZ next year.
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 77 for Barnes Expander MZ and Spit Fire MZ and TMZ
Overall Customer Rating: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Date:November 18, 2010

can't get them down the barrel

By
Location: Wisconsin
Age: 56-65
Gender: Male
Just picked up the new T-MZ 50 Cal bullets. So I swab my T/C Encore after every shot with Rem oil and had shot a dozen T/C shockwave easy glide sabots and they went down the barrel like butter. I reloaded with the Barns bullet and almost needed to pound it down the tube. I shot three rounds all followed with a swabbing, Never again will I shoot or attemt to shoot this bullet. I will say the shots were on target.
Would you recommend this product to a friend? No
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 78 for Barnes Expander MZ and Spit Fire MZ and TMZ
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:November 6, 2010

3 and Counting

By
Location: Powhatan,Virginia
I have used T/Cbullets in the past with varying results.They are great on paper however have lost a number of deer because of lack of expandtion.Not much knock down and no blood trails! I switched this year after losing another deer with them.I am now shooting 250gr. TMZ with 110gr. of Blackhorn 209 behind it. My Omega shoots as well or better than the T/C brand bullet. I have taken 3 deer so far and all have been amazing. Dead right there! Shot down thorugh the bushes at one clipped a limb , Bullet expanded hitting the deer behind front shoulder going on thorugh chest cavity lodging in oppisite shoulder. Recovered the bullet and it is exactly what Barnes claims, Perfect expandtion and 100% weight retention. Never shoot any else again! !Awesome!!
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 79 for Barnes Expander MZ and Spit Fire MZ and TMZ
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:September 18, 2010

sabots

By
Location: hastings mn
Age: 36-45
Gender: Male
they fire well will find out soon how they work on deer
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 80 for Barnes Expander MZ and Spit Fire MZ and TMZ
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:September 16, 2010

Very good product.

By
Location: Santa Fe, New Mexico
Age: 56-65
Gender: Male
I had just about given up on finding a bullet and sabot that my 2 Thompson Omegas would shoot accurately. I have tried a lot of other sabots and bullets including the T-EZ. None of them compare to the MZ. I shot 1/2" groups at 100 yards with both of my Omegas. 250gr. MZ with 230 grains of 777. I shot an antelope at 145 yards, and dropped him in his tracks. They are very hard to load, but the accuracy is worth it.
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Viewing 61-80 of 198