Customer Reviews for Boyds' Replacement Thumbhole Rifle Stock

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Cabela's.

Boyds' Replacement Thumbhole Rifle Stock

Handsome to behold and a joy to shoot, this attractive and funcional laminated rifle stock is available for select Remingtion, Ruger, Savage and Winchester rifles. The hand-conforming teardrop grip works together with the thumbhole and a large, rollover cheekpiece to enhance stability and accuracy.
Overall Customer Rating:
4.316 out of 5
4.3
 out of 
5
(57 Reviews) 57
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 57 reviews
5 Stars
39
4 Stars
7
3 Stars
5
2 Stars
2
1 Star
4
52 out of 57(91%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Replacement Thumbhole Rifle Stock
Review 21 for Replacement Thumbhole Rifle Stock
Overall Customer Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location: Sedalia, Mo.
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Gun Stock problems

Date:November 4, 2007
I bought the thumbhole rifle stock for my winchester 300 win mag wsm. I had to do some sanding on it because the wider end of the barrel would not fit and the drop plate would not go down far enough for the screw to start.After I sanded it down to fit it looks good on the gun. I have not shot the gun yet to see how it does.
A friend of mine also bought one of the thumbhole stocks. He also had to do some changing.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 22 for Replacement Thumbhole Rifle Stock
Overall Customer Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location: Atlanta, GA
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Good Product

Date:November 6, 2007
I am impressed with this stock. I had to do some slight filing to fit the magazine so that it would recess completely and close easily. The recoil pad is not as nice as I would have expected. I plan to replace it. Since I have customized the trigger and replaced the stock replacing the recoil pad seems insignificant. This stock is a good purchase I would buy another with no hesitation.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 23 for Replacement Thumbhole Rifle Stock
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location: Syracuse,IN
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

thumb hole stock

Date:November 7, 2007
This product is a no brainer.It is a dropin quick retro for your rifle . A few screws and you have a brand new look an feel to an old stand by rifle.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 24 for Replacement Thumbhole Rifle Stock
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

BOYD THUMBHOLE STOCK

Date:November 13, 2007
IT WAS 100 % DROP IN ON MY RUGER 77 LONG ACTION.NO MODIFICATIONS AT ALL COMFORTABLE TO SHOOT ALTHOUGH ITS A LITTLE HEAVY.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 25 for Replacement Thumbhole Rifle Stock
Overall Customer Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Location: Auburn, Kansas
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

not enough information

Date:January 8, 2008
While the stock is good, finish is OK, the ad didn't tell that I would need to purchase a floor plate or state that the stock was for rifles with floor plate (Winchester model 70), so I have extra expense and hassle to chase down floor plate and install before using the stock
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 26 for Replacement Thumbhole Rifle Stock
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location: San Angelo Texas
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Fancy

Date:January 8, 2008
This stock fit like a glove and made a plain rifle look like a true custom !!!
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 27 for Replacement Thumbhole Rifle Stock
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Savage Mod 110 LA

Date:January 29, 2008
I just got my new stock today, the finish on it was excellent, It took me about 3minutes to put the barrel on. I would recommend this stock to anyone. It actually fit better than the original.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 28 for Replacement Thumbhole Rifle Stock
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location: Eugene.Oregon
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

excellent value

Date:February 3, 2008
This thumbhole stalk, is one of the nicest pieces of wood that I've seen in years. The craftmanship is superb, the rifle fit into the stalk, like they were molded together. I only wish I could get this stalk for some of my other rifles. BEYOND a 5 star value.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 29 for Replacement Thumbhole Rifle Stock
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location: Benton, Arkansas
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Thumbhole gun stock

Date:March 24, 2008
Perfect fit. 3 screws and 5 minutes. Couldn't be pleased more, beautiful grain and feel.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 30 for Replacement Thumbhole Rifle Stock
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location: Litchfield, Michigan
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Boyd's Rem. 700 laminated thumbhole stock

Date:March 25, 2008
I had a customer who'd gotten one of the limited-production, Custom Shop Remington 700 ML (muzzleloader) models years back and wanted to re-create another from the standard, plastic (Excuse me - "synthetic"!) stocked version. Unfortunately, Rem. doesn't handle these separately, but we did track down what looked like the same design from Boyd's (who prob'ly made 'em for Rem. in the first place).
Of course, they didn't offer it in a ML configuration (with a slot in the forend for the ramrod), but I figgered I could convert it fairly easily. We were both surprised to find that Cabela's was selling the stocks for less than Boyd's! I was particularly pleased that there was already a slot most of the way down the forend of the Short Action ADL (no floorplate) model we ordered, and it only took an hour or so of routing, sanding and finishing (with Tru-Oil, to re-seal the wood), along with re-engineering the front sling swivel stud mount.
He was quite thrilled with the results and I was very pleased to be able to give him what he wanted, thanks to Cabela's!
PMC, FNG/G
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 31 for Replacement Thumbhole Rifle Stock
Overall Customer Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Location: Florida
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Boyd stock

Date:March 31, 2008
very nice looking piece of furniture, I own 2. Both for Rem.700
1.PSS 308 2. VLS223 Neither are just drop in without bedding properly. Barrel touches somewhere no matter what,if you switch out the stocks one to the other you just get the same problem. The barrel touches the wood somewhere. Sum total=you will need some gunsmithing if you want it to bed right.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 32 for Replacement Thumbhole Rifle Stock
Overall Customer Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Location: central Ohio
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Need more product information

Date:April 7, 2008
It is a good product and the price is right. However, if there was more information about this stock I would not have purchased it. It did not specify the size of the barrel channel ( I even called and asked). I rolled the dice, and lost. I had to buy barrel inletting tools to make it fit my heavy barrel. It is a well made stock and the finish is great.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 33 for Replacement Thumbhole Rifle Stock
Overall Customer Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location: muskogee, OK
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Boyds replacement rifle stocks

Date:April 11, 2008
The "BOYDS" replacement rifle stocks are exceptionally beautiful, and the ease of replacement is nice even for someone who is just an average Joe and not a gunsmith. When holding the stock it feels like it is made specifically for your hand and increases stability when shooting whether on a bench or off hand. However accuracy can be hindered because some stocks are not completely free floating which helps in accuracy, so glass bedding is suggested; but some stocks do come ready to go and align to the barrel perfectly. I have "BOYDS" on three of my rifles and I wouldn't change anything about them
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 34 for Replacement Thumbhole Rifle Stock
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location: TX
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Wooden Thumbhole Stock

Date:May 5, 2008
Beautiful piece of wood that is as close to drop in an you can get. Very pleased with what i got for the price.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 35 for Replacement Thumbhole Rifle Stock
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location: Douglas, Wy.
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

t-hole stock

Date:June 2, 2008
Haven't shot it yet, but minimal fitting required to fully seat barreled action. Sanded out barrel channel to full float barrel. Resealed channel with linspeed oil. I especially like the way the stock fits my person and the the manner in which my trigger finger contacts the trigger-much better than the o.e.m. synthetic stock.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 36 for Replacement Thumbhole Rifle Stock
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location: Roanoke, Va.
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Byod's Thumbhole stock

Date:July 14, 2008
Excellent stock , easy install and excellent fit.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 37 for Replacement Thumbhole Rifle Stock
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location: Canada
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Excellent fit and performance

Date:August 19, 2008
I bought a Stevens 200 in .243 specifically with this stock in mind, and other than glass-bedding the recoil lug and shimming the front action screw to achieve proper engagement, it was a completely drop-in operation. The back of the bolt slot had to be opened up a bit, but that was less than five minutes work with a rotary tool. No work was necessary on the action inletting or barrel channel.
The stock has a very attractive low-lustre finish that complements the matte blue of the receiver and barrel perfectly. The proof was in the shooting - this rifle will now consistently group 100 gr. Sierra BT's under an inch @ 100 yds.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 38 for Replacement Thumbhole Rifle Stock
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location: SPRINGFIELD, MAINE
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

PERFECT FIT!!

Date:November 13, 2008
This stock fit perfectly on my Savage 11G and it looks great. It is also now rock solid to hold and shoot.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 39 for Replacement Thumbhole Rifle Stock
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location: Great Falls, MT
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Replacement Thumbhole Rifle Stock

Date:December 2, 2008
I am very pleased with the Thumbhole Rifle Stock. It is everything as advertised and more.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 40 for Replacement Thumbhole Rifle Stock
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location: buffalo,new york
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

rifle stock

Date:January 17, 2009
I could not believe how nice the BOYD"S gunstock is.It arrived quickly .The fit and finish is amazing . The fit on the rifle (Remington 700ADL) was perfect, no sanding or filing necessary , took all of about 15-20 minutes to install. All in all a great deal!
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
ReviewQuestion 21-40 of 57