Customer Reviews for Knight Knight Sabots and Conicals

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Cabela's.

Knight Knight Sabots and Conicals

These Sabots and Conicals deliver accuracy and performance that is sure to impress anyone who tries them. The Knight Tipped Boattail gives exceptional long-range performance from a streamlined, 100% copper bullet that expands into six razor-sharp petals on impact. Knight Red Hots are Knight's best-selling bullet. Unsurpassed accuracy and game-dropping power from a copper hollow point with superb expansion and retention properties. The Knight Hydra-Con is a hard-hitting, pure lead conical bullet with excellent expansion and hard-to-match accuracy. The Spitzer Boattail is the first such bullet available for muzzleloaders. Advantages include less bullet drop, greater accuracy, higher velocities and more down range energy.
Overall Customer Rating:
4.136 out of 5
4.1
 out of 
5
(22 Reviews) 22
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 22 reviews
5 Stars
15
4 Stars
2
3 Stars
1
2 Stars
1
1 Star
3
18 out of 22(82%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Knight Sabots and Conicals
Review 1 for Knight Sabots and Conicals
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location: Tuscumbia Al
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

A big bullet for a big job.

Date:July 28, 2009
These loaded well and shot flat to the target. I am well pleased with the product and the service.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 2 for Knight Sabots and Conicals
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location: JNDIANA
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

SPITFIRE MUZZLELOADER BULLET

Date:March 9, 2009
THE MOST ACCURATE AND DEADLY MUZZLELOADER BULLET AVAILABLE. TRUST ME WHEN I SAY THIS. AFTER LOSING A ABSOLUTE GIANT BETTER THAN 200 INCH WHITETAIL TO ANOTHER BRAND OF BULLET. THE KNIGHT MADE BY BARNES BULLETS IS BY FAR SUPERIOR TO ANY BULLET ON THE MARKET PEROID. I HAVE HARVESTED MANY WHITETAIL DEER. 5 TROPHY BUCKS HANG ON MY WALL. IF I WAS USING A KNIGHT TMZ MADE BY BARNES THERE WOULD HAVE BEEN 6.EVERY DEER I SHOT WITH THE KNIGHT MUZZLELOADER BULLET WAS RECOVERED IN SHORT ORDER. DO YOURSELF A FAVOR FROM MY EXPERIENCE TRYING ALL THE MUZZLELOADER BULLETS OUT THERE AND SHOOT A KNIGHT MUZZLELOADER BULLET SOLID COPPER. P. S. NOT RESPONSIBLE FOR YOUR TAXIDERMY BILLS.THANK YOU
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 3 for Knight Sabots and Conicals
Overall Customer Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Location: Stanwood, Washington
Would you recommend this product to a friend? No

Do not use this bullet

Date:October 8, 2008
I hit a three point from 50 yards right behind the shoulder and it knocked it down like a linebacker, it got right back up and ran . We tracked it for over a half mile until he clotted up. Never found him. My hunting partner said he saw the shot hit and it was a text book shot. He should have never ran more thant 20 feet. Two days later I got another shot, hit another buck in the kill zone with the same result. He was knocked down and got right back up and ran. Another 3 hours of tracking a blood trail until the trail was lost. Please do not use these bullets unless you test them on the range with hard targets along with other bullets. Maybe I just had bad luck...
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 4 for Knight Sabots and Conicals
Overall Customer Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Location: bossier city, la
Would you recommend this product to a friend? No

52cal knight rifle bullets (conicals)

Date:July 20, 2008
i bought a 52cal knight muzzleloader at a RMEF banquet in 2007. i was very excited and could not wait to shot it. as anyone knows who hunts in colorado you cannot use sabots. so i ordered the 52cal. conicals, but the only grain that was available was 530grns. i don't know what they were thinking but 530 grns is way to heavy for a muzzleloader. i tried to sight in the rifle with 150grns of powder: dead on at 25yrds, i backed up to 50 and it dropped 6in. i raised the sight up as for as it would go and it only brought it up about 3in. i backed up to 100yrds and never even came close to the target. i like shooting the gun, it has the thumb hole in the stock but i don't need a gun like that if i have no idea where it's shooting. i borrowed a t/c omega 50cal. and shot 320grn maxiball with 120grns of triple 7 powder, and can shoot pretty consistent. i killed an elk last year with the t/c at 189yrds. i hope that knight request the bullet maker to make a lighter bullet in a conical: i believe a 350grns would be great. that would be plenty punch for anything in north america and probably in the world.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 5 for Knight Sabots and Conicals
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location: Lewisville.NC
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Knight Sabots and Conicals

Date:January 11, 2008
I,ve used Knight Sabots in my inline muzzle loader since they first come out. The sabots handles the pressure of 150g of powder with no problem. I have taken multiple whitetail deer over the one hundred yard mark with great penatration. I can count on 1 3/4"groups at 150 yards.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 6 for Knight Sabots and Conicals
Overall Customer Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Location: Indiana
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

knight muzzleloader bullets

Date:January 7, 2008
These did not shoot well for me if I used 150 grains of powder, performed very well with 100 or 90 grains. Like the bullet itself, think it comes from Barnes.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 7 for Knight Sabots and Conicals
Overall Customer Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Location: Lindon UT
Would you recommend this product to a friend? No

Bullets flew sideways

Date:October 2, 2007
I shoot a TC Omega and recently went on an elk hunt in Utah. Because I would be hunting large bulls I bought some 295 grain solid copper bullets. I hoped the bullet would pass straight thought the elk. I was shooting 3 pellets of triple 7.
I went out with some friends several times and for some reason every once in a while the bullets would completely hit the target sideways. My friend switched to only two pellets of powder and it seemed to eliminate the problems but I was still wary.
I switched bullets and am happy to report that I shot a very nice 6 point bull from 150 yards. I am glad I didn't use these bullets because if one would have flown sideways I would have either missed or wounded the elk.
I wouldn't recommend these bullets if you are shooting three pellets of powder. We couldn't get them to group consistently and the wierd sideway flyers were defiantley a problem. I am not sure why some shot that way.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 8 for Knight Sabots and Conicals
Overall Customer Rating: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Location: Los Alamos, New Mexico
Would you recommend this product to a friend? No

Try the Knight/ Barnes 285 gr HP spitzer instead

Date:October 1, 2007
I've been trying without success to get the 290 grain 50 Caliber polymer tip boattail to shoot.
Obviously I have not tried all of the powder types and charges possible, and individual guns have likes and dislikes. However, the groups I have gotten with this bullet range from 5 inches to all bullets but one completely missing the 3 foot target at 100 yards. I was hoping for better from these bullets.
It may be a case of the lure disigned to catch the fisherman, rather than the fish.
I suggest trying the Knight/ Barnes 285 grain hollow point spitzer boat tail. Those do much better in my inline (1-1.5 inches at 100 yards).
Don't expect long range though, the Ballistic Coefficient of either bullet is only about .240, which limits the range to about 150 yards. Barnes bullets are tested for expansion at 1600 FPS. Either of these bullets leaving the muzzle at about 2100 FPS (3 Pyrodex pellets) is travelling about 1600 FPS at 150 Yards.
If you can, look at a ballistic calculator. They can be very informative.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 9 for Knight Sabots and Conicals
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location: Lansing, Illinois
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Knight Sabots by Barnes (250gr MZ's & Spitfire)

Date:August 20, 2007
Shot excellent out of each of my muzzleloaders! 1.5" groups at 100 yards, great product!!!!!!!!!!!
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 10 for Knight Sabots and Conicals
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location: Howell, Michigan
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

.50 cal. 300 gr. Red Hots

Date:June 27, 2007
I have only been into the muzzleloader game for 4 years now. I have shot alot of different sabots out of my Disc Extreme in those 4 years. I was not overly impressed with any until I tried the Red Hots on a recent Sask. bear hunt. I loaded my front stuffer with a 300 gr. Red Hot in front of 150 grs. of triple 7 pellets ( not my first choice of powders, but we couldn't find any American Pioneer in stock anywhere in Saskatoon) and smoked my biggest bear yet ( 8 bears). He didnt go 5 feet after the shot. I cant wait to try this bullet out on a big southern Michigan buck this fall. Oh yea my bear had a green score of 20 1/2" and weighed in at just under 500 lbs. live weight, and was chocolate to boot.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 11 for Knight Sabots and Conicals
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location: Buffalo NY
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

285 grain sabot

Date:June 20, 2007
I went on a black bear hunt and bagged myself two bears with only two sabots, that were shot from my knight muzzleloader.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 12 for Knight Sabots and Conicals
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location: Sacramento, Ca.
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Incredible!!!!

Date:January 18, 2007
My partner and I decided to go pig huntin'. Around sunset a large boar appeared at the pond with a couple of sows. I sighted in on the boars neck and touched off a Red Hot. The boar never knew what hit him! The Red Hot shattered the vertabrae in his neck and stopped just under the hide on the other side. After removing the bullet, it clearly showed that it mushroomed perfectly and lost very little of it's mass. That Red Hot performed perfectly with 120 grains of Pyrodex at just over 50 yards. The only thing missing was a scale, but we guessed the weight of the boar at around 200lbs.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 13 for Knight Sabots and Conicals
Overall Customer Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location: Morgan County Missouri
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Red Hot 220 grain Barnes 100% copper bullet

Date:November 26, 2006
Product patterned well at 100 yards and achieved a double lung shot at 50 yds on a huge 8 pt. Excellent blood trail 50 yds to buck.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 14 for Knight Sabots and Conicals
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location: the thumb,michigan
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

knight 195gr 45 cal red hot

Date:November 24, 2006
the knight 45 cal 195 grain red hot, shoots flat and accurate,penetrates deep with large wound channels, for quick clean harvests. it is a superior muzzleloading projectile!
i would highly recommend to all muzzleloading hunters.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 15 for Knight Sabots and Conicals
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location: Mechanicsville Va.
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

.52 Cal. Knight are HOT!!!

Date:November 24, 2006
I Used my .52 Knight to take one of my best buck's in my 38 years of hunting. The shot was 166 Yards,as read on my laser rang finder. The buck had 10.5" brow tines and 13" "g-2's". The Bullet penatrated Completly from the deer's brisket to an exit near his hind Quarters.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 16 for Knight Sabots and Conicals
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location: Tucson, Arizona
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Excellent three shot groups

Date:November 22, 2006
Using the Knight .50 caliber tipped, all copper bullet, the three shot groups were consistent each time at 100 yards.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 17 for Knight Sabots and Conicals
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Great Product

Date:November 22, 2006
I have shot nothing but 250 gr. Red Hots in my Knight .50 claiber DISC rifle. I use 130 grains of pyrodex pellets. This seems to be more accurate than 150 grains. I have never tried anything else because I believe "if it ain't broke don't fix it".
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 18 for Knight Sabots and Conicals
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location: Cedar Springs, MI
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Knock Down

Date:November 21, 2006
It is the best and most accurate light weight bullet for the muzzle loader. I have harvested several quality whitetails out to 150 yards with devestating results.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 19 for Knight Sabots and Conicals
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location: Southern California
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Red Hots

Date:November 20, 2006
A certain section of Southern California will soon, I believe, require non-toxic ammunition for all hunting, including rifles. California Condors (at $1 million? per bird) are in need of protection from eating lead stained animal parts, it seems. Since some Knight bullets are the Barnes 100% copper type I thought I'd give them a try as I plan for the future.
Barnes centerfire bullets are known to be the toughest (hold together under all conditions) of any bullet and yet this creates an expansion problem at low velocity or upon impact with a smaller/thinner critter.
Southern California deer are small, but any expansion on a 45 caliber bullet (from my 50 caliber muzzleloader) should do the trick, I figure. And in the event I get to hunt elk, bear or wild pig, I should be set with the same bullet. Therefore I selected the bullets around 300 grains.
Knight PBT 290 grain bullets were of satisfactory accuracy in my T/C Encore rifle but I was absolutely amazed by the accuracy of the 300 grain Red Hots! Both bullets were pushed by 100 grains of Pyrodex or 777. The PBTs averaged 2.25 MOA but the Red Hots average half that! And with the massive hollow point, the Red Hots should do a number on our skinny deer here.
I clean the barrel thoroughly between each shot to maximize consistency and simulate first shot hunting conditions. Not only that, but these tight sabots cannot be pushed down a fouled barrel.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 20 for Knight Sabots and Conicals
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location: Ohio
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Knight Polymer Tipped Boat Tail

Date:November 16, 2006
I have tested both the 250 & 290 grain Knight PBT. Test shoots began with
100 grains of powder and worked up in 10 grain increments. Test rifle was
a Knight Disc Extreme, 26" stainless barrel. Both bullets shot well. The
290 held a slightly tighter group than the 250. Both shot best with maximum
or near maximum powder charges of 150 grains. Best group was 1 1/2" at 100
yards with the 290 grain bullet and 140 grains of powder. Accuracy fell with
powder charges of 110 grains or lower.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
ReviewQuestion 1-20 of 22