Customer Reviews for WINCHESTER Winchester® XP3 Rifle Ammunition

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Cabela's.

WINCHESTER Winchester® XP3 Rifle Ammunition

Winchester's XP3 Rifle Ammunition combines the best features of Winchester’s Fail Safe®, Accubond™ and Ballistic Silvertip to create the finest sporting bullet the company has ever offered. A bonded-core, polymer-tipped, Lubalox-coated boattail configuration has the highest weight retention in the Supreme line, along with the deepest penetration, outstanding downrange performance and tremendous accuracy. The lead core is bonded to the jacket, resulting in excellent strength and weight retention. Two-stage expansion delivers devastating shock and knockdown power. A great performer on game from close-up forest shots to long-range prairie action. Per 20.
Overall Customer Rating:
4.167 out of 5
4.2
 out of 
5
(180 Reviews) 180
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 180 reviews
5 Stars
124
4 Stars
14
3 Stars
9
2 Stars
14
1 Star
19
143 out of 180(79%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Winchester® XP3 Rifle Ammunition
Review 21 for Winchester® XP3 Rifle Ammunition
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Age: 56-65
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Great Ammo!

Date:January 9, 2012
Recently used the 150 grain in my 270 WSM on a cow elk hunt in New Mexico. One shot, one kill. Penetrated both lungs and dropped her in her tracks. You could spend more but you don't need to.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 22 for Winchester® XP3 Rifle Ammunition
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location: Elko, NV
Age: 26-35
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

SWEET!!!!

Date:December 29, 2011
i used the .270 150g on my bull elk a couple years ago and it punched right through both lungs at 318 yards away the bull did not know what hit him the bullet never broke up i thought i missed at first cause i seen dust behind him so i jacked in another shell and put one in his neck as he was walking up the hill it went in his neck and stopped at his shoulder blaid did not go another step it is worth every penny
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 23 for Winchester® XP3 Rifle Ammunition
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location: Stokes, NC
Age: 26-35
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Best Shot so far

Date:December 5, 2011
I've tried several different styles for my rifle, and this one by far is the most accurate and makes a unbelievable impact on a shoulder! You have to see what it will do to a white tail deer to believe it!!!
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 24 for Winchester® XP3 Rifle Ammunition
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location: Arlington, TX
Age: 56-65
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

XP3 in 270WSM - Outstanding!

Date:November 9, 2011
In preparation for elk hunting, I took my daughter to a long-range rifle school taught by a former SF guy. By day's end, she was consistently shooting into an 8" bull at 550 yards with these (W'by Vanguard Sub-MOA, 150 grain bullet)
In Colorado, she had a 100 yard chip shot on a fat 4X4. The bullet drilled both lungs and liver & exited the far shoulder. He went no more than 50 yards & dropped.
Great bullet! Great memories!
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 25 for Winchester® XP3 Rifle Ammunition
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location: South Jersey
Age: 65 and over
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Win XP3 in 300 Win Mag

Date:October 3, 2011
My gunsmith reported that when he completed his work, he test fired my Ruger M77 MKII 300 Win Mag, and the 180 gr XP3 round went through 16" of solid oak. I took the rifle to my favorite R&G club, and after zeroing at 200 yds, shot a 4.5" three-round "group" at 300 yards (that's off of a Caldwell Tack-Driver bag, with my new Vais muzzle brake, H-S Precision Kevlar aluminum-bedded stock, and a Nikon Monarch 3.3-10 42 AO scope with a bubble level mounted, one shot per five minutes). I hope to repeat this with a five-round group.
I like the moly coat, and hope to clean this SS barrel no more often than every 80 rounds (dry boresnake after each session), or once a year. Between the boattail design and moly coat of the XP3 bullet, I'm getting about a 5" drop at 300 yds with a 200 yd zero, less than Winchester publishes. The XP3 round is also purported to be a versatile round, which can be used on thin-skinned (whitetail) as well as larger North American game. Although I hunt principally in PA, I don't like hunting for whitetail with anything less than a decent bear cartridge.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 26 for Winchester® XP3 Rifle Ammunition
Overall Customer Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

quality ammo

Date:September 26, 2011
I havent had the opportunity to shoot anything with this ammo yet, but it is accurate at the range. If it performs any better than the accubond ammunition on game, I know I will be very well pleased.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 27 for Winchester® XP3 Rifle Ammunition
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location: michigan
Age: 56-65
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

great product

Date:September 20, 2011
best bullet i have ever used
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 28 for Winchester® XP3 Rifle Ammunition
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location: PA
Age: 26-35
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

great groups

Date:September 12, 2011
these shot great for me out to 500 yaeds. I am sticking to them
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 29 for Winchester® XP3 Rifle Ammunition
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location: Texas
Age: 36-45
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

World Class Ammo

Date:September 9, 2011
Great Product, you can't seem to be able to find it just any where.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 30 for Winchester® XP3 Rifle Ammunition
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location: Sanger,ca
Age: 46-55
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

So far so good

Date:September 7, 2011
I bought these for a Leopard hunt nex yeart they shoot good . Nice groups at a hundred yards.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 31 for Winchester® XP3 Rifle Ammunition
Overall Customer Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Location: Walla Walla Washington
Age: 56-65
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? No

Winchester XP3

Date:August 26, 2011
I purchased the Winchester ammunition to go on a elk hunt in idaho. After going to the range I woul not recomend the this ammunition I shot 5 & 6 inch groups with it and immediatly went back to Federal bonded which consistantly shoots under an inch. The rifle is a Tika in 300 WSM it is expensive and as far as I am concerned totally worthless. I have a box for sale if anyone wants it.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 32 for Winchester® XP3 Rifle Ammunition
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location: Afton, MN
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Widow Maker

Date:August 21, 2011
I have been very satisfied with this shell. I have shot four cows and a bull. The cows were all about 150 yd head shot and then went right down. The bull took two to the chest and he was flattened. I really like how it stretches my 270 wsm to larger game.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 33 for Winchester® XP3 Rifle Ammunition
Overall Customer Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Location: Michigan
Age: 26-35
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? No

Good looking yes, good shooting no!

Date:August 7, 2011
180 out of a Tikka t3 30.06 from a bench could not be better than 3 inch groups from 2 different shooters.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 34 for Winchester® XP3 Rifle Ammunition
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location: Savannah Ga
Age: 46-55
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Great Purchase

Date:July 19, 2011
This ammo brought a 140 pond hog with one shot dropped on the spot, I was using the 150 grain bullet very pleased
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 35 for Winchester® XP3 Rifle Ammunition
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location: Herndon, VA
Age: 56-65
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Winchester XP3 Ammo

Date:July 6, 2011
I have shot this ammunition in a .300 WSM on two safaris to Namibia in the last three years for plains game. With the exception of a springbok, which took two shots because I was not familiar with shooting over sticks, all the other game I took were one shot kills. This was everything from Warthogs to Gemsbok to a Greater Kudu and everything in between. I found this ammo to be highly accurate and very deeply penetrating even at long ranges. I am going back again next year and will also take a 30.06 in the same XP3 bullet.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 36 for Winchester® XP3 Rifle Ammunition
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location: winnemucca, nv
Age: 36-45
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Great Ammo

Date:June 7, 2011
Used this ammo well bear hunting this spring did a great job only neeeded one shot on each of the two bears that I shot.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 37 for Winchester® XP3 Rifle Ammunition
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location: Fremont, NE
Age: 56-65
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

XP3 great ammo

Date:April 7, 2011
I have been using the Winchester XP3's in my 270 WSM for several years now. I consistently knock down deer at longer ranges up to my longest at 432 yards. At least in my gun they've been very accurate.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 38 for Winchester® XP3 Rifle Ammunition
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location: Sycamore,GA
Age: 56-65
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

wounderful product

Date:February 24, 2011
These bullets not only group well but do a very good job on game. My 300 wsm tikka groups 1/4 groups at 100yards with these bullets. Hogs and deer are in trouble when these bad boys hit. You need to try these you want be disappointed. They also don't mess up to much meat which i consider a big plus when you have to clean them. They are the best you factory bullet you can buy. Thanks Phil
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 39 for Winchester® XP3 Rifle Ammunition
Overall Customer Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

performed as advertised

Date:February 5, 2011
Filled my cow elk tag with 270 wsm 150gr. at little over 200yds. Perfect expansion, bullet ended up right under the hide opposite the entrance. Proved accurate at the range.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 40 for Winchester® XP3 Rifle Ammunition
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location: New Glarus, WI
Age: 65 and over
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

A little pricey but a great bullet.

Date:February 4, 2011
What can you say about ammo? You want them to shoot well and cleanly kill the game you are pursuing. These bullets do just that. They hold a consistent pattern and this past season I dropped two deer, each with one clean shot.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
ReviewQuestion 21-40 of 180