Customer Reviews for PIETTA Pietta Model 1860 Army .44 Caliber Black Powder Revolver with Starter Kit

PIETTA Pietta Model 1860 Army .44 Caliber Black Powder Revolver with Starter Kit

One of the most popular cap-and-ball, single-action revolvers ever made is available again — the Pietta Model 1860 Army .44 Caliber Black Powder Revolver. Not only was the original a Civil War mainstay, it was also the weapon of choice for Texas gunfighter John Wesley Hardin and other gunmen on both sides of the law. The 1860 replica boasts a color case-hardened steel frame, brass trigger guard, round barrel and walnut grips. A classy naval battle scene is engraved on the cylinder. Easily removable, replaceable cylinders make reloading extremely fast. Starter Kit includes: a nipple wrench, straight line capper, adjustable powder measure, powder flask, 30 lead round balls, 30 3mm-thick lubed wads and 30 10mm-thick lubed wads. Barrel length: 8”. OAL: 13.75”. Wt: 2.625 lbs.
Overall Customer Rating:
4.686 out of 5
4.7
 out of 
5
(35 Reviews) 35
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 35 reviews
5 Stars
27
4 Stars
5
3 Stars
3
2 Stars
0
1 Star
0
35 out of 35(100%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer questions and answers:
7 Questions | 13 Answers
Customer Reviews for Pietta Model 1860 Army .44 Caliber Black Powder Revolver with Starter Kit
Review 1 for Pietta Model 1860 Army .44 Caliber Black Powder Revolver with Starter Kit
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:June 2, 2015

Excellent Revolver

By
Country: United States
State: Texas
Age: 56-65
Gender: Male
Beautiful, period perfect, 1860 Colt Army Revolver. Have taken it to the Range twice now since purchasing it. A lot of fun to shoot and very accurate. Will continue to buy from Cabela's.
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 2 for Pietta Model 1860 Army .44 Caliber Black Powder Revolver with Starter Kit
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:December 9, 2014

Very nice pistol

By
Country: United States
State: California
Age: 46-55
Gender: Male
Always interested in black powder pistols so I went ahead and bought this starter kit. I love it, lots of fun just wish I had another cylinder. Guess I'll have to buy one or two more.
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 3 for Pietta Model 1860 Army .44 Caliber Black Powder Revolver with Starter Kit
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:October 16, 2013

Excellent Quality Gun

By
Country: United States
State: Texas
Age: 65 and over
Gender: Male
Have had this gun for a mouth now and have shot it several times and it is a lot of fun and draws plenty of attention. My shooting was limited by ruining out of caps but Cabala's has fixed that I will soon be back out there. You can't go wrong with this gun well made and looks awesome to. I highly recommend this and Cabala's for their fast and courteous service. I forgot to mention the starter kit is a must have if you are starting out everything you need and the first 30 shots to boot.
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
-1point
0out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 4 for Pietta Model 1860 Army .44 Caliber Black Powder Revolver with Starter Kit
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:May 7, 2013

Value for the Money...

By
Country: United States
State: Pennsylvania
Age: 56-65
Gender: Male
All Steel, Handcrafted in Italy with character that no modern Revolver can match.
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 5 for Pietta Model 1860 Army .44 Caliber Black Powder Revolver with Starter Kit
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:January 3, 2013

Great fun

By
Country: United States
State: Oklahoma
Age: 36-45
Gender: Male
Great gun. Loads of fun shooting a black powder and this ones the best
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 6 for Pietta Model 1860 Army .44 Caliber Black Powder Revolver with Starter Kit
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:December 12, 2012

Excellent Buy

By
Country: United States
State: Florida
Age: 65 and over
Gender: Male
As always Cabelas sells only the best products for the price and this is one of them. My only complaint is there should be a round ball mould in the shooters kit.
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 7 for Pietta Model 1860 Army .44 Caliber Black Powder Revolver with Starter Kit
Overall Customer Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Date:September 4, 2012

Very good value

By
Country: United States
State: Florida
Age: 65 and over
Gender: Male
I found the 1860 Army to be a very good value. Workmanship was commensurate with price and the pistol was finished nicely.
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 8 for Pietta Model 1860 Army .44 Caliber Black Powder Revolver with Starter Kit
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:April 23, 2012

Well Satisfied

By
Location: Chicago
Age: 46-55
Gender: Male
My first firearm purchase. Had to learn from scratch but getting better. Gun seems high quality, starter kit was nice.
Been out to the range 4 times with it so far....does seem to shoot a little left, right, high and low but I'm thinking my old eyes have more to do with that than the gun!
It's been a load of fun to own...and the service from Cabellas was very good with the gun arriving a bit ahead of schedule.
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 9 for Pietta Model 1860 Army .44 Caliber Black Powder Revolver with Starter Kit
Overall Customer Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Date:March 28, 2012

great handgun

By
Age: 46-55
Gender: Male
Took a number of weeks to receive,but was worth the wait.Firearm looks great and shoots as expected,accurate and easy to handle.
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 10 for Pietta Model 1860 Army .44 Caliber Black Powder Revolver with Starter Kit
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:March 28, 2012

Lots of fun

By
Age: 46-55
Gender: Male
The Colt 1860 Army is a lot of fun to shoot. It's also well made, nice fit and finish. I recommend the starter kit.This was my first cap and ball revolver and the kit gave me every thing I needed to shoot except powder and caps.
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 11 for Pietta Model 1860 Army .44 Caliber Black Powder Revolver with Starter Kit
Overall Customer Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Date:December 7, 2011

Art Deco Revolver

By
Location: Albuquerque, NM
Age: 56-65
Gender: Male
I bought one of these from Cabela's a few years ago. I once read a description of the 1860 Army as being 70 years ahead of itself in terms of industrial design, and the author described it as an Art Deco-like design. I agree. The housing for the rammer gives it that look...very streamlined. It's well-balanced with a grip that fits the hand well, although it's difficult for me to sight through the hammer notch (I prefer the Remington New Army for cowboy shooting applications.# I prefer Pietta's more authentic-looking grips to Uberti's red-stained wooden grips. My only complaint about this model is that, like other Colt-style percussion revolvers, it doesn't lend itself to using a loading tool, or easily swapping out a cartridge conversion cylinder #as in the Remington 58 design) because the barrel wedge must be removed first. Nonetheless, it shoots well and is a beautiful gun, with its case-hardened frame, richly blued cylinder and barrel, and attractive grips, not to mention the streamlined rammer housing. It was a highly regarded weapon during the Civil War and was used in its original configuration out west well into the cartridge era.
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 12 for Pietta Model 1860 Army .44 Caliber Black Powder Revolver with Starter Kit
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:August 18, 2011

Cabela's is thte best

By
Location: CA
Age: 65 and over
Gender: Male
The gun was great, but I knew it would be.It was from Cabela;s
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 13 for Pietta Model 1860 Army .44 Caliber Black Powder Revolver with Starter Kit
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:February 25, 2011

First Firearm Purchase

By
Location: Denver, CO
Age: 26-35
Gender: Male
I bought my 1860 .44 cal revolver with high expectations. It did not dissappoint. The gun is beautiful, user friendly, and very accurate when fired. I would recommend it to anyone. Thanks Cabela's.
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 14 for Pietta Model 1860 Army .44 Caliber Black Powder Revolver with Starter Kit
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:February 23, 2011

Great Fun

By
Location: Gulfport, ms
Age: 46-55
Gender: Male
Good fun to shoot. Great service and delivery
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 15 for Pietta Model 1860 Army .44 Caliber Black Powder Revolver with Starter Kit
Overall Customer Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Date:January 9, 2011

easy transaction

By
Age: 26-35
Gender: Male
was a gift to a retiered Soldier he loves it.
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 16 for Pietta Model 1860 Army .44 Caliber Black Powder Revolver with Starter Kit
Overall Customer Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Date:April 7, 2010

1860 Army .44

By
Location: Florida
If your into something new and different, this is the revolver for you. Quite accurate out to 25 yards. Only drawbacks are the time it takes to load and sharp edges on the grip areas of the frame and grips. Start up kit comes in handy for new black powder shooters like me. The problem I encountered with the kit was proper loading and use of the primer cap tool since there are no written instructions.
Highly recommend purchasing an extra cylinder.
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 17 for Pietta Model 1860 Army .44 Caliber Black Powder Revolver with Starter Kit
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:April 4, 2010

First time black powder

By
Location: Florida
First time purchase of a black powder revolver and mightily impressed with quality, service and value for money for this 1860 Colt Army from Cabelas. Very smooth action, great feel and everything about it looks and feels right. Got so carried away purchased the small presentation case (looks superb and fits just right) and enough powder, caps and slugs to keep me going for quite a while.
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 18 for Pietta Model 1860 Army .44 Caliber Black Powder Revolver with Starter Kit
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:March 30, 2010

1860 army

By
Location: costa mesa Ca.
the gun shoots great and is a blast to shoot easy to clean
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 19 for Pietta Model 1860 Army .44 Caliber Black Powder Revolver with Starter Kit
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:February 8, 2010

First time with black powder

By
Location: Scottsdale, AZ.
This is the first black powder firearm I have ever owned or purchased so it was a bit of a new experience for me. I can tell you however that I was not let down. The quality of the firearm is outstanding and the workmanship and finishing of it is top notch. It’s amazing that it can be produced for such a reasonable cost with such quality. If you are in the market for one you will not be let down.
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 20 for Pietta Model 1860 Army .44 Caliber Black Powder Revolver with Starter Kit
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:January 6, 2010

Excellent

By
I love it, the only bother is that the spent caps sometimes get caught in the revolver, but maybe I just need better caps!?
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Viewing 1-20 of 35