Customer Reviews for PIETTA Pietta Model 1860 Army .44 Cal. .44 Caliber Revolver with Starter Kit

PIETTA Pietta Model 1860 Army .44 Cal. .44 Caliber Revolver with Starter Kit

One of the most popular cap-and-ball pistols ever made. Not only a Civil War mainstay, it was the weapon of choice of Texas gunfighter John Wesley Hardin and other gunmen on both sides of the law. This replica boasts a color case-hardened frame, loading lever and hammer. Naval battle scene on the cylinder. Starter Kit includes: nipple wrench, a straight line capper, powder measure, 30 wonder seals, a powder flask, 30 lead roundballs, and 30 felt powder wads. Barrel length: 8". Overall length: 14". Weight: 2 lbs. 11-oz.
Overall Customer Rating:
4.667 out of 5
4.7
 out of 
5
(33 Reviews) 33
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 33 reviews
5 Stars
25
4 Stars
5
3 Stars
3
2 Stars
0
1 Star
0
33 out of 33(100%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer questions and answers:
5 Questions | 9 Answers
Customer Reviews for Pietta Model 1860 Army .44 Cal. .44 Caliber Revolver with Starter Kit
Review 1 for Pietta Model 1860 Army .44 Cal. .44 Caliber Revolver with Starter Kit
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Country: United States
State: Texas
Age: 65 and over
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Excellent Quality Gun

Date:October 16, 2013
Have had this gun for a mouth now and have shot it several times and it is a lot of fun and draws plenty of attention. My shooting was limited by ruining out of caps but Cabala's has fixed that I will soon be back out there. You can't go wrong with this gun well made and looks awesome to. I highly recommend this and Cabala's for their fast and courteous service. I forgot to mention the starter kit is a must have if you are starting out everything you need and the first 30 shots to boot.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 2 for Pietta Model 1860 Army .44 Cal. .44 Caliber Revolver with Starter Kit
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Country: United States
State: Pennsylvania
Age: 56-65
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Value for the Money...

Date:May 7, 2013
All Steel, Handcrafted in Italy with character that no modern Revolver can match.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 3 for Pietta Model 1860 Army .44 Cal. .44 Caliber Revolver with Starter Kit
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Country: United States
State: Oklahoma
Age: 36-45
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Great fun

Date:January 3, 2013
Great gun. Loads of fun shooting a black powder and this ones the best
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 4 for Pietta Model 1860 Army .44 Cal. .44 Caliber Revolver with Starter Kit
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Country: United States
State: Florida
Age: 65 and over
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Excellent Buy

Date:December 12, 2012
As always Cabelas sells only the best products for the price and this is one of them. My only complaint is there should be a round ball mould in the shooters kit.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 5 for Pietta Model 1860 Army .44 Cal. .44 Caliber Revolver with Starter Kit
Overall Customer Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Country: United States
State: Florida
Age: 65 and over
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Very good value

Date:September 4, 2012
I found the 1860 Army to be a very good value. Workmanship was commensurate with price and the pistol was finished nicely.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 6 for Pietta Model 1860 Army .44 Cal. .44 Caliber Revolver with Starter Kit
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location: Chicago
Age: 46-55
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Well Satisfied

Date:April 23, 2012
My first firearm purchase. Had to learn from scratch but getting better. Gun seems high quality, starter kit was nice.
Been out to the range 4 times with it so far....does seem to shoot a little left, right, high and low but I'm thinking my old eyes have more to do with that than the gun!
It's been a load of fun to own...and the service from Cabellas was very good with the gun arriving a bit ahead of schedule.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 7 for Pietta Model 1860 Army .44 Cal. .44 Caliber Revolver with Starter Kit
Overall Customer Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Age: 46-55
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

great handgun

Date:March 28, 2012
Took a number of weeks to receive,but was worth the wait.Firearm looks great and shoots as expected,accurate and easy to handle.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 8 for Pietta Model 1860 Army .44 Cal. .44 Caliber Revolver with Starter Kit
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Age: 46-55
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Lots of fun

Date:March 28, 2012
The Colt 1860 Army is a lot of fun to shoot. It's also well made, nice fit and finish. I recommend the starter kit.This was my first cap and ball revolver and the kit gave me every thing I needed to shoot except powder and caps.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 9 for Pietta Model 1860 Army .44 Cal. .44 Caliber Revolver with Starter Kit
Overall Customer Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location: Albuquerque, NM
Age: 56-65
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Art Deco Revolver

Date:December 7, 2011
I bought one of these from Cabela's a few years ago. I once read a description of the 1860 Army as being 70 years ahead of itself in terms of industrial design, and the author described it as an Art Deco-like design. I agree. The housing for the rammer gives it that look...very streamlined. It's well-balanced with a grip that fits the hand well, although it's difficult for me to sight through the hammer notch (I prefer the Remington New Army for cowboy shooting applications.# I prefer Pietta's more authentic-looking grips to Uberti's red-stained wooden grips. My only complaint about this model is that, like other Colt-style percussion revolvers, it doesn't lend itself to using a loading tool, or easily swapping out a cartridge conversion cylinder #as in the Remington 58 design) because the barrel wedge must be removed first. Nonetheless, it shoots well and is a beautiful gun, with its case-hardened frame, richly blued cylinder and barrel, and attractive grips, not to mention the streamlined rammer housing. It was a highly regarded weapon during the Civil War and was used in its original configuration out west well into the cartridge era.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 10 for Pietta Model 1860 Army .44 Cal. .44 Caliber Revolver with Starter Kit
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location: CA
Age: 65 and over
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Cabela's is thte best

Date:August 18, 2011
The gun was great, but I knew it would be.It was from Cabela;s
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 11 for Pietta Model 1860 Army .44 Cal. .44 Caliber Revolver with Starter Kit
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location: Denver, CO
Age: 26-35
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

First Firearm Purchase

Date:February 25, 2011
I bought my 1860 .44 cal revolver with high expectations. It did not dissappoint. The gun is beautiful, user friendly, and very accurate when fired. I would recommend it to anyone. Thanks Cabela's.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 12 for Pietta Model 1860 Army .44 Cal. .44 Caliber Revolver with Starter Kit
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location: Gulfport, ms
Age: 46-55
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Great Fun

Date:February 23, 2011
Good fun to shoot. Great service and delivery
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 13 for Pietta Model 1860 Army .44 Cal. .44 Caliber Revolver with Starter Kit
Overall Customer Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Age: 26-35
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

easy transaction

Date:January 9, 2011
was a gift to a retiered Soldier he loves it.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 14 for Pietta Model 1860 Army .44 Cal. .44 Caliber Revolver with Starter Kit
Overall Customer Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location: Florida
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

1860 Army .44

Date:April 7, 2010
If your into something new and different, this is the revolver for you. Quite accurate out to 25 yards. Only drawbacks are the time it takes to load and sharp edges on the grip areas of the frame and grips. Start up kit comes in handy for new black powder shooters like me. The problem I encountered with the kit was proper loading and use of the primer cap tool since there are no written instructions.
Highly recommend purchasing an extra cylinder.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 15 for Pietta Model 1860 Army .44 Cal. .44 Caliber Revolver with Starter Kit
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location: Florida
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

First time black powder

Date:April 4, 2010
First time purchase of a black powder revolver and mightily impressed with quality, service and value for money for this 1860 Colt Army from Cabelas. Very smooth action, great feel and everything about it looks and feels right. Got so carried away purchased the small presentation case (looks superb and fits just right) and enough powder, caps and slugs to keep me going for quite a while.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 16 for Pietta Model 1860 Army .44 Cal. .44 Caliber Revolver with Starter Kit
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location: costa mesa Ca.
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

1860 army

Date:March 30, 2010
the gun shoots great and is a blast to shoot easy to clean
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 17 for Pietta Model 1860 Army .44 Cal. .44 Caliber Revolver with Starter Kit
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location: Scottsdale, AZ.
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

First time with black powder

Date:February 8, 2010
This is the first black powder firearm I have ever owned or purchased so it was a bit of a new experience for me. I can tell you however that I was not let down. The quality of the firearm is outstanding and the workmanship and finishing of it is top notch. It’s amazing that it can be produced for such a reasonable cost with such quality. If you are in the market for one you will not be let down.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 18 for Pietta Model 1860 Army .44 Cal. .44 Caliber Revolver with Starter Kit
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Excellent

Date:January 6, 2010
I love it, the only bother is that the spent caps sometimes get caught in the revolver, but maybe I just need better caps!?
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 19 for Pietta Model 1860 Army .44 Cal. .44 Caliber Revolver with Starter Kit
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location: Canton, CT
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Smooth and flawless

Date:September 27, 2009
I purchased this gun about a year ago. Since then I have fired over a thousand rounds without any flaws. I have been ordering from Cabela’s for over twenty years, products ranging from camping equipment, clothing and firearms. The customer service is top notch, and this firearm is a true example of how dedicated Cabela’s is to quality. I would highly recommend the Army 1860 for anybody wishing to enter the joy of firing a black powder.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 20 for Pietta Model 1860 Army .44 Cal. .44 Caliber Revolver with Starter Kit
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location: Upstate, New York
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

1860 Army .44

Date:March 18, 2009
What a beautiful piece. Handles well and looks great. I can't wait to try it at our range.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
ReviewQuestion 1-20 of 33