Customer Reviews for FEDERAL PREMIUM Federal® Truball™ Rifled Slugs

FEDERAL PREMIUM Federal® Truball™ Rifled Slugs

This innovative design allows smoothbore shotgun shooters to attain accuracy comparable to that of shotguns with rifled barrels. A unique projectile stabilizing system results in groups up to 75% tighter than those shot from smoothbore barrels using rifled slugs. Made in USA. Five rounds per box.
Overall Customer Rating:
4.785 out of 5
4.8
 out of 
5
(93 Reviews) 93
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 93 reviews
5 Stars
77
4 Stars
12
3 Stars
4
2 Stars
0
1 Star
0
93 out of 93(100%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer questions and answers:
10 Questions | 18 Answers
Customer Reviews for Federal® Truball™ Rifled Slugs
Review 21 for Federal® Truball™ Rifled Slugs
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location: Sacramento, CA
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Excellent Ammo

Date:May 11, 2011
I fired these from my Remington 870HD with a 18" smooth bore barrel. They are very accurate, I was shooting targets (2ltr bottles) between 5 and 50 yards with no problems.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 22 for Federal® Truball™ Rifled Slugs
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location: Seattle, WA
Age: 46-55
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Very Good Accuracy

Date:May 5, 2011
Cycles well through a Saiga 12. A little more lead left behind in the bore which is to be expected as the slug expands more (tighten up) as designed, so needs more cleaning with fewer slugs fired. Fifty yard performance yielded 10 shots in an 8 inch grouping at point of aim in my gun. Make sure you have some padding on your shoulder or a good soft butt stock with the 1600 fps shells! LOL I'll buy more!!
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 23 for Federal® Truball™ Rifled Slugs
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location: Upstate NY
Age: 56-65
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

truball slugs

Date:February 9, 2011
i have been using these slugs in 2 3/4 inch for about 5 years. they are the best slug for a smooth bore shotgun, on the market! the accuracy is fantastic while delivering a very manageable recoil. i expect to be using these slugs for many years to come
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 24 for Federal® Truball™ Rifled Slugs
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location: Easton, Md.
Age: 56-65
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Tight Group

Date:February 3, 2011
Grouped extremely well in a smooth bore barrel
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 25 for Federal® Truball™ Rifled Slugs
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location: Connecticut
Age: 56-65
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

truball slugs

Date:January 19, 2011
I recently tried some truball slugs and was very impressed at the accuracy. I shot them out of a mossberg 12ga. pump with an 18 1/2 " smooth bore barrell with iron sights. After I got the hang of aiming the gun I put 3 slugs inside a 3" circle at 50 yards. They may not be great for every smooth bore but are sure the ticket for my set -up. deermanct.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 26 for Federal® Truball™ Rifled Slugs
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location: Spring Hill, FL
Age: 56-65
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Great Value.

Date:January 18, 2011
With the rebate these slugs are the deal of the year.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 27 for Federal® Truball™ Rifled Slugs
Overall Customer Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Location: NW PA
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

nothing special

Date:November 28, 2010
Claims 75% tighter groups, I saw no difference from other slugs out of my smoothbore. You can't beat the price for them is the good part.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 28 for Federal® Truball™ Rifled Slugs
Overall Customer Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location: northern lower michigan
Age: 46-55
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

federal truball slugs

Date:November 4, 2010
this is great ammo for the smoothbore hunter out to 45-65 yards, gun and sights dependent. in a 12 gauge 2 3/4'' remington 870, smoothbore with a single bead, sure tipped over the 9 pointer at 47 measured yards with a lazer range finder. 20 gauge is equally awsome. should put the hurts on a bear too if you opt for a shotgun.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 29 for Federal® Truball™ Rifled Slugs
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location: Westchester, NY
Age: 36-45
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Fantastic Slugs!

Date:October 18, 2010
These slugs add significantly to my confidence in the field. Accurate and fun to shoot. I just shot over 40 of these the other day and my shoulder felt fine! However, I'm still undecided as to which version I prefer. From the bench, the regular loads kick like anything, while the low recoil ones are quite comfortable. Both are very accurate (less than 2" at 50 yds from my 870 w/20" cylinder barrel). One word of caution: after switching back and forth, I realized that they do not hit at the same point of impact! I had my scope set up to hit 1" high at 50 yds with the low recoil loads, and with the same zero, the high recoil loads hit about an inch low and left. I fired about 20 rounds of each to confirm this, and it was consistent. Maybe it was just the way my body reacted to the recoil, but there was clearly a difference. Group size was still the same though.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 30 for Federal® Truball™ Rifled Slugs
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location: China Spring,TX
Age: 36-45
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

low recoil

Date:July 13, 2010
They kick like bird shot, dead on accurate out of NEF 12ga. singleshot smoothbore.Great product!
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 31 for Federal® Truball™ Rifled Slugs
Overall Customer Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

I hope they are as good as the write up says

Date:May 24, 2010
I purchased them to use in this falls hunting season. Have not fired them yet so I can only rate them as average, but was told by others they are great in your smooth bore. Cabela's actually had them in stock. I was surprised!
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 32 for Federal® Truball™ Rifled Slugs
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location: Idaho Falls, ID
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Shotman

Date:April 20, 2010
Excellent slug shotshell and accurate! Best value (as always) from Cabela's - bar-non.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 33 for Federal® Truball™ Rifled Slugs
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location: Colorado Hunter
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

20 gauge great

Date:March 13, 2010
bought these slugs in 20 ga for my Remington 870. was really impressed with the accuracy and consistency
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 34 for Federal® Truball™ Rifled Slugs
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location: Southern California
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Simply Awesome'''''''

Date:March 1, 2010
Great slugs for smooth bore shotguns..
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 35 for Federal® Truball™ Rifled Slugs
Overall Customer Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location: the Deep South
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

truball slugs

Date:February 8, 2010
Can't say if these slugs are top dwags, cuz if possible I shoot rifle. They did get me a deer at 65 yds. a few weeks back, and without a scope. They kick purdy hard, but that's only when your target shootin. Little or no kick at all when your target's a white tail deer (ha). For sure this is good ammo.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 36 for Federal® Truball™ Rifled Slugs
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location: SouthCentral Iowa
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Federal Truball Rifled Slugs

Date:January 20, 2010
I use a smooth-bore slug barrel on my Mossberg 500 12 ga; dropped (DROPPED) a buck at 80 yards. Slug went right through the boiler room exactly where I aimed. what more can you ask for?
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 37 for Federal® Truball™ Rifled Slugs
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location: Eastern Shore MD
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Federal Truball rifled slugs

Date:January 11, 2010
Accurate in a 11-87 smoothbore. Hit pie plates at 100yds and with plenty to spare ( very centerd in plates) and the deer went down on the spot.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 38 for Federal® Truball™ Rifled Slugs
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location: Brick, NJ
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Cheap alternative to a rifled barrel!

Date:January 6, 2010
My PD has been using these for several years. Knowing how they shoot I use them for hunting. The accuracy of these slugs bring you close to a rifled barrel without the cost of another barrel and the cost of Sabots.
Also, if you like these rounds you should try Federal's Buckshot with the Flight Control Wad. Those puppies hold extremely tight patterns.
Sabot slugs? Remington Buckhammers are the best bang for the buck. Get it, buck? They are reasonably priced, hit hard and shoot tight.
For the smoothbores however, the Federal Truball's are the Bees knees!
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 39 for Federal® Truball™ Rifled Slugs
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Great Ammo

Date:December 22, 2009
My PTR-91 ate this ammo like a baby eating candy...Not a single jam...Highly recommended
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 40 for Federal® Truball™ Rifled Slugs
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location: Berea, OH
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Federal Truball Ammo

Date:December 6, 2009
Flat shooting and hard hitting. What more can you ask for? Shot a doe at 40 yards and it delivered a devastating wound. She only ran another 40 yards but she left a blood trail a blind man could follow in the rain. I plan on using the low-recoil for breaking in new hunters of the youth and female variety.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
ReviewQuestion 21-40 of 93