Customer Reviews for FEDERAL PREMIUM Federal® Truball™ Rifled Slugs

FEDERAL PREMIUM Federal® Truball™ Rifled Slugs

This innovative design allows smoothbore shotgun shooters to attain accuracy comparable to that of shotguns with rifled barrels. A unique projectile stabilizing system results in groups up to 75% tighter than those shot from smoothbore barrels using rifled slugs. Made in USA. Five rounds per box.
Overall Customer Rating:
4.786 out of 5
4.8
 out of 
5
(112 Reviews) 112
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 112 reviews
5 Stars
94
4 Stars
13
3 Stars
4
2 Stars
1
1 Star
0
111 out of 112(99%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer questions and answers:
13 Questions | 24 Answers
Customer Reviews for Federal® Truball™ Rifled Slugs
Review 21 for Federal® Truball™ Rifled Slugs
Overall Customer Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Date:June 27, 2011

Great for the price

By
Location: CA
Age: 36-45
Gender: Male
These slugs worked flawlessly in my Mossberg 590.
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 22 for Federal® Truball™ Rifled Slugs
Overall Customer Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Date:June 15, 2011

these are great feral hog slugs

By
Location: Belton, Missouri
Age: 26-35
Gender: Male
so far the 2 truball rifled slugs that i have used stopped these hogs in their tracks
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 23 for Federal® Truball™ Rifled Slugs
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:May 11, 2011

Excellent Ammo

By
Location: Sacramento, CA
I fired these from my Remington 870HD with a 18" smooth bore barrel. They are very accurate, I was shooting targets (2ltr bottles) between 5 and 50 yards with no problems.
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 24 for Federal® Truball™ Rifled Slugs
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:May 5, 2011

Very Good Accuracy

By
Location: Seattle, WA
Age: 46-55
Gender: Male
Cycles well through a Saiga 12. A little more lead left behind in the bore which is to be expected as the slug expands more (tighten up) as designed, so needs more cleaning with fewer slugs fired. Fifty yard performance yielded 10 shots in an 8 inch grouping at point of aim in my gun. Make sure you have some padding on your shoulder or a good soft butt stock with the 1600 fps shells! LOL I'll buy more!!
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 25 for Federal® Truball™ Rifled Slugs
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:February 9, 2011

truball slugs

By
Location: Upstate NY
Age: 56-65
Gender: Male
i have been using these slugs in 2 3/4 inch for about 5 years. they are the best slug for a smooth bore shotgun, on the market! the accuracy is fantastic while delivering a very manageable recoil. i expect to be using these slugs for many years to come
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 26 for Federal® Truball™ Rifled Slugs
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:February 3, 2011

Tight Group

By
Location: Easton, Md.
Age: 56-65
Gender: Male
Grouped extremely well in a smooth bore barrel
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 27 for Federal® Truball™ Rifled Slugs
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:January 19, 2011

truball slugs

By
Location: Connecticut
Age: 56-65
Gender: Male
I recently tried some truball slugs and was very impressed at the accuracy. I shot them out of a mossberg 12ga. pump with an 18 1/2 " smooth bore barrell with iron sights. After I got the hang of aiming the gun I put 3 slugs inside a 3" circle at 50 yards. They may not be great for every smooth bore but are sure the ticket for my set -up. deermanct.
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 28 for Federal® Truball™ Rifled Slugs
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:January 18, 2011

Great Value.

By
Location: Spring Hill, FL
Age: 56-65
Gender: Male
With the rebate these slugs are the deal of the year.
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 29 for Federal® Truball™ Rifled Slugs
Overall Customer Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Date:November 28, 2010

nothing special

By
Location: NW PA
Claims 75% tighter groups, I saw no difference from other slugs out of my smoothbore. You can't beat the price for them is the good part.
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
-1point
0out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 30 for Federal® Truball™ Rifled Slugs
Overall Customer Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Date:November 4, 2010

federal truball slugs

By
Location: northern lower michigan
Age: 46-55
Gender: Male
this is great ammo for the smoothbore hunter out to 45-65 yards, gun and sights dependent. in a 12 gauge 2 3/4'' remington 870, smoothbore with a single bead, sure tipped over the 9 pointer at 47 measured yards with a lazer range finder. 20 gauge is equally awsome. should put the hurts on a bear too if you opt for a shotgun.
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 31 for Federal® Truball™ Rifled Slugs
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:October 18, 2010

Fantastic Slugs!

By
Location: Westchester, NY
Age: 36-45
Gender: Male
These slugs add significantly to my confidence in the field. Accurate and fun to shoot. I just shot over 40 of these the other day and my shoulder felt fine! However, I'm still undecided as to which version I prefer. From the bench, the regular loads kick like anything, while the low recoil ones are quite comfortable. Both are very accurate (less than 2" at 50 yds from my 870 w/20" cylinder barrel). One word of caution: after switching back and forth, I realized that they do not hit at the same point of impact! I had my scope set up to hit 1" high at 50 yds with the low recoil loads, and with the same zero, the high recoil loads hit about an inch low and left. I fired about 20 rounds of each to confirm this, and it was consistent. Maybe it was just the way my body reacted to the recoil, but there was clearly a difference. Group size was still the same though.
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 32 for Federal® Truball™ Rifled Slugs
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:July 13, 2010

low recoil

By
Location: China Spring,TX
Age: 36-45
Gender: Male
They kick like bird shot, dead on accurate out of NEF 12ga. singleshot smoothbore.Great product!
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 33 for Federal® Truball™ Rifled Slugs
Overall Customer Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Date:May 24, 2010

I hope they are as good as the write up says

By
I purchased them to use in this falls hunting season. Have not fired them yet so I can only rate them as average, but was told by others they are great in your smooth bore. Cabela's actually had them in stock. I was surprised!
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 34 for Federal® Truball™ Rifled Slugs
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:April 20, 2010

Shotman

By
Location: Idaho Falls, ID
Excellent slug shotshell and accurate! Best value (as always) from Cabela's - bar-non.
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 35 for Federal® Truball™ Rifled Slugs
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:March 13, 2010

20 gauge great

By
Location: Colorado Hunter
bought these slugs in 20 ga for my Remington 870. was really impressed with the accuracy and consistency
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 36 for Federal® Truball™ Rifled Slugs
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:March 1, 2010

Simply Awesome'''''''

By
Location: Southern California
Great slugs for smooth bore shotguns..
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 37 for Federal® Truball™ Rifled Slugs
Overall Customer Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Date:February 8, 2010

truball slugs

By
Location: the Deep South
Can't say if these slugs are top dwags, cuz if possible I shoot rifle. They did get me a deer at 65 yds. a few weeks back, and without a scope. They kick purdy hard, but that's only when your target shootin. Little or no kick at all when your target's a white tail deer (ha). For sure this is good ammo.
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 38 for Federal® Truball™ Rifled Slugs
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:January 20, 2010

Federal Truball Rifled Slugs

By
Location: SouthCentral Iowa
I use a smooth-bore slug barrel on my Mossberg 500 12 ga; dropped (DROPPED) a buck at 80 yards. Slug went right through the boiler room exactly where I aimed. what more can you ask for?
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 39 for Federal® Truball™ Rifled Slugs
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:January 11, 2010

Federal Truball rifled slugs

By
Location: Eastern Shore MD
Accurate in a 11-87 smoothbore. Hit pie plates at 100yds and with plenty to spare ( very centerd in plates) and the deer went down on the spot.
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 40 for Federal® Truball™ Rifled Slugs
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:January 6, 2010

Cheap alternative to a rifled barrel!

By
Location: Brick, NJ
My PD has been using these for several years. Knowing how they shoot I use them for hunting. The accuracy of these slugs bring you close to a rifled barrel without the cost of another barrel and the cost of Sabots.
Also, if you like these rounds you should try Federal's Buckshot with the Flight Control Wad. Those puppies hold extremely tight patterns.
Sabot slugs? Remington Buckhammers are the best bang for the buck. Get it, buck? They are reasonably priced, hit hard and shoot tight.
For the smoothbores however, the Federal Truball's are the Bees knees!
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Viewing 21-40 of 96