Customer Reviews for FEDERAL Fusion® Rifle Ammunition

FEDERAL Fusion® Rifle Ammunition

Molecular science meets ballistics and the result is the next generation of performance ammunition from Federal. Years in the making, Fusion bonds the copper jacket to the lead core at the molecular level to totally eliminate component separation. The result is superior downrange transfer of terminal energy and outstanding bullet weight retention. The optimized boattail profile ensures excellent flight characteristics and accuracy. A skived tip provides lethal long-range expansion potential without minimizing short-range tenacity. Made specifically for deer hunting, Fusion also delivers exceptional performance on antelope and other thin-skinned game. 20 rounds per box.
Overall Customer Rating:
4.327 out of 5
4.3
 out of 
5
(254 Reviews) 254
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 254 reviews
5 Stars
173
4 Stars
43
3 Stars
7
2 Stars
10
1 Star
21
219 out of 254(86%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer questions and answers:
3 Questions | 16 Answers
Customer Reviews for Fusion® Rifle Ammunition
Review 121 for Fusion® Rifle Ammunition
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location: Minnesota
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Massive damage!

Date:November 8, 2010
I shoot a Tikka in .270 win. It can shoot 1" groups @ 100 yards with sandbags and I am very new to rifle shooting. I was very impressed with the damage it did to a whitetail this weekend. Very accurate!
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 122 for Fusion® Rifle Ammunition
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

good round

Date:October 31, 2010
i use 180gr out of my .300 win mag good round and shoots tight groups at 200yds does good in the woods aswell all over a very good round to use i will continue using fusion in all my rifles
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 123 for Fusion® Rifle Ammunition
Overall Customer Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location: MT
Age: 36-45
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Excellent Groups

Date:October 27, 2010
Was out in the field sighting in this ammo with my Savage Model 16 300 WSM. The person that was helping me sight in was old school and had me go out to 300 and 400 yards.
Well, this ammo (165 gr.) shot 1" groups at 400 yards!! Haven't tried it on game yet, but the groups are amazing. I'm at best a barely above avg shooter.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 124 for Fusion® Rifle Ammunition
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location: ND
Age: 26-35
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Great on deer

Date:October 18, 2010
I have been using .270 130gr in my A-bolt ever sine they came out, never had a problem, they shoot very accurate out of my gun, and seem to do the job well on deer. I have killed around 9 deer the last few years, and have never blamed fusion bullets on one that got away. The way they are designed may not be the best for game bigger than deer or black bear, but for those they are just about perfect.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 125 for Fusion® Rifle Ammunition
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location: Houston, TX
Age: 46-55
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Wyoming Hunting Trip - 2 shots, 2 kills - 7mm-08

Date:October 4, 2010
I tried several different brands of bullets in my 7mm-08 Cooper 54 with mixed results until I came across some boxes of Fusion ammo. I had several one-hole three-shot groups with Fusion off the bench so I took it with me hunting in Wyoming for antelope and mule deer. I shot an antelope quartering away from me on a ridge-line 144 yards away the first day. The Fusion bullet hit with an audible smack - the antelope jumped over the ridge and disappeared. When I got up to the ridge the antelope was on the other side quite dead about three steps from where I shot it. The bullet had entered the rear right ribcage and exited the left shoulder - tiny exit wound, probably the lead core. When I cleaned the antelope the lungs were completely shredded, the chest cavity full of blood, and I could find no sign of the heart. The next day I had exactly the same shot at 110 yards on a huge 160 B&C mule deer buck that weighed over 200 pounds with the exact same result-- the buck jumped over the ridge, was dead on the other side when I got there, same entrance and exit wounds, same shredded lungs and nonexistent heart. I am a believer! I will use this ammo again as it outperformed other much more expensive ammo in my rifle.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 126 for Fusion® Rifle Ammunition
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location: utah
Age: 36-45
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

fusion 150 grain

Date:September 16, 2010
Using 270 will consistently place four shot nickle size groups at 100 yards. Looking forward to trying out on the deer hunt.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 127 for Fusion® Rifle Ammunition
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location: eureka. ca
Age: 36-45
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

My Remington 300 WSM loves this stuff !!!

Date:September 11, 2010
I was very impressed with this ammo. It works very well in my 300 WSM. I'll continue to use it until I come up with a better receipe on my own. After seeing what this does at the range as well my deer, it may take me a awhile to come up with something better. Until then I'll use only this. Good stuff guys.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 128 for Fusion® Rifle Ammunition
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location: IRWINVILLE,GA
Age: 46-55
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

BBBBAAAAAAADDDD!!!!!!!!

Date:September 1, 2010
THE FEDERAL FUSION BY FAR IS THE BEST BULLET ON THE MARKET. I HAVE BEEN HUNTING FOR ABOUT 11 YEARS AND I HAVE TRIED MANY BULLETS.I HAVE TRIED HIGH DOLLAR BULLETS,CHEAPER BULLETS AND IT IS ALWAYS SAID YOU GET WHAT YOU PAY FOR.NOT NECESSARILLY SO.THE FUSION HAS OUT PERFORMED ANY AND I MEAN ANY BULLET I HAVE USED.THE PERFORMANCE IS INCREDIBLE! IN ,OUT, BAM,DEVASTATION,TRACKING(NO PROBLEM IF NEEDED)I HAVE GOT TO GIVE THESE BULLETS TOP HONORS.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 129 for Fusion® Rifle Ammunition
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location: pittsburgh, pa
Age: 26-35
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Best FACTORY AMMO

Date:August 29, 2010
Sighted in my brother's .270 weatherby, 3 shots 3 bullseyes, 1 hole! Dropped a whitetail with no problem, huge exit wound! I'm buy more for my 30-06.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 130 for Fusion® Rifle Ammunition
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location: OHIO
Age: 36-45
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Sako loves this stuff

Date:June 28, 2010
My sako A7 can shoot .75 inch groups all day with this stuff at 100 yards. Perfect ammo.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 131 for Fusion® Rifle Ammunition
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location: madeira bch, fl.
Age: 56-65
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

ammo

Date:June 28, 2010
best ammo ever used.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 132 for Fusion® Rifle Ammunition
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location: Pa. Oilfield Worker and Hunter.
Age: 56-65
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Fusion Ammo

Date:June 8, 2010
Performs very well.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 133 for Fusion® Rifle Ammunition
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location: Phoenix, AZ
Age: 36-45
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Fusion Ammo

Date:June 7, 2010
I have been using this ammo for several years now and have compared it to many other types of ammo including Barnes X, Nosler Partition, Hornady SST, Federal PowerShock, and Remington Core-Lokts. I have found it to be as accurate as any other brand and actually probably one of the most accurate of all the different bullets listed above. This bullet performs better than the moderate price point would indicate and I have shot enough of them to know! I can assure you this bullet is a performer in the field (real world). I have taken some very tough critters with it including wild boar, mountain goat, deer, black bear, and even elk. The bullet has always proven to have excellent penetration (always passes through) and expansion seems to be excellent as the exit hole is always impressive. All game has been cleanly killed with this bullet and it is much more capable than taking just deer. It has an impressive combination of penetration, expansion, and weight retention (holds together well) which is just what we hunters need from our bullets! Highly recommended- can't go wrong with this ammo.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 134 for Fusion® Rifle Ammunition
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location: Bay County, Michigan
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Fusion® Rifle Ammunition

Date:May 2, 2010
This ammo is excellent. It is the only type I use in my Remington Rifle. I have taken everything from North American Pronghorn to a Sitka Blacktail with it. It is very consistant.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 135 for Fusion® Rifle Ammunition
Overall Customer Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location: Vermont
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Fusion® Rifle Ammunition - 7mm-08

Date:April 19, 2010
I recently purchased a new Winchester model 70 Featherweight made by FN in SC in 7mm-08 and have been evaluating different factory ammo to what it likes. So far the 140g Fusions have been fantastic. I've put about 3 boxes of this stuff through it, and it noticebly out performs the similarly priced Remington Core-Lokt's. I've been able to shoot 1.5" goups at 100 yds off a simple bench rest with no problem. The only reason I haven't given it 5 stars is because I haven't seen how it performs on whitetail yet, but I imagine it will be very similar to the Core-Lokts which are quite satisfactory. Good stuff.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 136 for Fusion® Rifle Ammunition
Overall Customer Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location: california
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

for target use

Date:April 14, 2010
excellent product for general shooting needs like targets or varmints, great groupings but for big game they fragment too much versus the accubonds.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 137 for Fusion® Rifle Ammunition
Overall Customer Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location: FLorida
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

hard hitting

Date:April 8, 2010
i gave it 4 stars instead of 5 because i only used it for one season and never tried it over 150yd. i killed 3 deer (only shot at 3) using my 30-06 that year and the terminal damage is awesome. i started reloading is why i dont use it anymore.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 138 for Fusion® Rifle Ammunition
Overall Customer Rating: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Location: Oregon
Would you recommend this product to a friend? No

less accurate

Date:March 28, 2010
I have tried 12 different loads in my 7mm-08 Tikka T3 and this is the worst ammo of the bunch. About 3 inch groups at 100 yards with a lot of vertical stringing. I consistent get 1 to 1 1/2 inch groups out of some other brands. It's cheap and if you didn't need 200 to 250 yard shots on antelope it might be ok.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 139 for Fusion® Rifle Ammunition
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location: Mountain Home, Idaho
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Fusion ammo

Date:March 28, 2010
Love this ammo for hunting Pronghorns, Mulies and Whitetails here in Idaho and South Dakota. My son (19) and I use the .243 (95 grain) and 7mm WSM (150 gr.) ammo and it dusts 'em down, baby, I'll tell ya. Very accurate in my model 70 (7mm WSM) and 700 (243), sub moa groups. Doesn't blow apart like some ammo I have used in the past (and won't use again). From 5-325 yards all have been complete pass throughs with most animals dropping in their tracks, even the longest shot on a big muley doe. The most tracking I've done is about 10 yards! Stocked up with 5 boxes each this past season at well below retail. Can't wait to get out this season and do it all again. Shot 5 deer in SD last year (donated three to Hunters for the Hungry) have shot over 15 animals, using this ammo. Great stuff.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 140 for Fusion® Rifle Ammunition
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location: Williamsburg, Virginia
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Fusion ammunition

Date:March 1, 2010
I have been using fusion ammunition for several years on my Texas ranch for trophy deer hunting. I use .270, 270WSM, and 30.06 caliber. I have had exceptional results using this ammo as it has great velocity, knock down power and penetration. This ammo is tough to find and Cabelas does a nice job keeping it in stock.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
ReviewQuestion 121-140 of 254