Customer Reviews for FEDERAL Fusion® Fusion® Rifle Ammunition

FEDERAL Fusion® Fusion® Rifle Ammunition

Molecular science meets ballistics and the result is the next generation of performance ammunition from Federal. Years in the making, Fusion bonds the copper jacket to the lead core at the molecular level to totally eliminate component separation. The result is superior downrange transfer of terminal energy and outstanding bullet weight retention. The optimized boattail profile ensures excellent flight characteristics and accuracy. A skived tip provides lethal long-range expansion potential without minimizing short-range tenacity. Made specifically for deer hunting, Fusion also delivers exceptional performance on antelope and other thin-skinned game. 20 rounds per box.
Overall Customer Rating:
4.305 out of 5
4.3
 out of 
5
(233 Reviews) 233
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 233 reviews
5 Stars
157
4 Stars
40
3 Stars
6
2 Stars
10
1 Star
20
200 out of 233(86%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer questions and answers:
3 Questions | 16 Answers
Customer Reviews for Fusion® Fusion® Rifle Ammunition
Review 121 for Fusion® Fusion® Rifle Ammunition
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location: Minnesota
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Hog hunt

Date:February 1, 2010
I recently used 150gr Fusion ammo in my .308 while hog hunting in TX. I shot 3 hogs and all 3 dropped on the spot. If you've never hunted hogs before they are very hard to bring down unless you hit them in the head. We have shot them in the past with a 300 ultra mag thru the lungs and it ran over a mile and we never found it. With the fusion ammo I shot a 175lb boar thru the lungs and it dropped on the spot. Will definitely be using fusion ammo next year when I go back.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 122 for Fusion® Fusion® Rifle Ammunition
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location: Ft Pierce FL
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Excellent

Date:February 1, 2010
This ammo worked just like it was supposed to, grouping was tight, and puts down hogs and deer right where there shot.
I have a savage 25-06 and couldnt ask for better ammo.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 123 for Fusion® Fusion® Rifle Ammunition
Overall Customer Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location: North Idaho
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Very good hunting ammunition

Date:January 16, 2010
Stoutly constructed bullets. Very accurate. Great price.
The only drawback I've found is that at long ranges the bullets fail to expand. We recovered two 180 g. bullets from a whitetail buck shot at 385 yards with a .308 and the points were just slightly bent over with absolutely no peeling of the jacket. They seem to perform fine at short to medium distance on both deer and elk with nice mushrooms and high weight retention.
Plus, they are very difficult to find anymore? Cabela's is the only retail establishment I have found them in the last year or so.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 124 for Fusion® Fusion® Rifle Ammunition
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location: Emery South Dakota
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Quality Ammo

Date:December 31, 2009
This is the first time I have ever used Fusion Rifle ammo. I just purchased a new 7mm-08 rifle and I bought this ammo for it. It has a good flat trajectory. I will be buying this from now on.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 125 for Fusion® Fusion® Rifle Ammunition
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location: South Texas
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

.270 Win Federal Fusion™ Rifle Ammunition

Date:December 22, 2009
I purchased both 150 gr. & 130 gr. Fusion Ammo for my Lever Action (1/2" 3 shot groups) and Bolt Action (1/4" 3 shot groups) .270 Win Rifles. I love the performance of the ammo. It is the best factory ammo I shoot to date. Cabela's is the place I always go to buy this ammunition. They have it in stock and ready to ship the day I call. Thanks Cabela's!
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 126 for Fusion® Fusion® Rifle Ammunition
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location: Cavendish, VT
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Customer

Date:December 16, 2009
The Federal Ammuniton has out preformed any thing else I have used.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 127 for Fusion® Fusion® Rifle Ammunition
Overall Customer Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location: New England
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Fusion Ammo

Date:December 15, 2009
Great BONDED Bullet. Shoots and groups just as well as Ammo that is twice the price...
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 128 for Fusion® Fusion® Rifle Ammunition
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location: Colorado Springs, Colorado
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

.308 180 gr on elk

Date:December 7, 2009
i just got back my from my elk hunt on 12/06/09 and killed a cow elk 150 yrds away. i used the 180 grain ammo and worked great out of my remington 700. i couldnt be happier with the ammo. i dropped the animal right in her tracks. the animal was bigger than an average size cow elk. i was also using the cabelas pine ridge scope 4-12x44
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 129 for Fusion® Fusion® Rifle Ammunition
Overall Customer Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location: binghamton, ny
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

not a bad round

Date:November 15, 2009
I have shot these bullets in 180 grains out of my weatherby sub-moa in .308 but was very disappointed with the average sized group of 2" at 100 yards with the 165 grain rounds. Nothing compares to hand reloads in my rifle but for the money and lack of time these bullets do just fine for the average deer hunter.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 130 for Fusion® Fusion® Rifle Ammunition
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Great Deer Round

Date:October 22, 2009
A few weeks ago my son was using his Winchester 88,in 308.He was using the Fusion 165 gr.He shot a nice buck at 135 yds,with a slight incline,he hit it high in the shoulder.It went through exployed the heart,crushed the back bone and out the other side.Best of all it droped in its tracks.If it works this good on Deer,it will certanly work on Elk as well.
As far as accuracy I thinks it does pretty good,just because it does or doesn't shoot 1/2 in .groups at what ever distances doesn't mean anything in the hunting world.We all know that there are so many varibles to contend with.
You can certianly buy the expensive rounds,but for the price ,I think it will do just fine.Happy Hunting !!!
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 131 for Fusion® Fusion® Rifle Ammunition
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location: Napoleonville, LA
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Extremely accurate ammo

Date:October 19, 2009
I am shooting a Tikka T3 lite in a 270 wsm along with Fusion 150's. At a 100 yards I am able to shoot a 3 shot group that can be covered with a nickle. I have not tried any other ammo but I do not think I have to shooting groups like this.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 132 for Fusion® Fusion® Rifle Ammunition
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location: LAFAYETTE, LA
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Fusion Rifle Ammo

Date:October 7, 2009
Good quality, fair price, bullet type I was looking for.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 133 for Fusion® Fusion® Rifle Ammunition
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location: Fargo, North Dakota
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Great for Whitetail!!

Date:August 26, 2009
I used to shoot Winchester silver tip, I am now convinced that this is better!! I use a .243 cal, shot a deer at 245 yards and the bullet went rite through the deer tearing apart the vitals!! excellent for deer hunting!!
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 134 for Fusion® Fusion® Rifle Ammunition
Overall Customer Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location: SC
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Fusion ammo

Date:August 1, 2009
These were pretty good for the .308. No problem dropping deer. I killed 5 deer with these so far, and out of 5 only 2 ran after being shot. And one of those 2 left a massive blood trail. The other one ran about 40 yards into the woods and left very little blood. Only thing is, they are not as accurate as other ammo for my .308.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 135 for Fusion® Fusion® Rifle Ammunition
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location: Western NY
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Extremely accurate ammo

Date:July 6, 2009
This ammo is extremely accurate in my Ruger M77 MkII chambered in .300 Win Mag. I compared Fusion, Win Ballistic Silvertip, and Win Super-X. The Fusion groups are consistently tighter than either of the Win products. I'm consistently shooting one-inch four round groups at 100 yards with the Fusion, often with consecutive shots touching. In contrast, the Win Ballistic Silvertip shoots a vertical spread of three inches. I made these comparisons by shooting each type of ammo back-to-back on several different days between January and July 2009.
The one-inch groups may not sound impressive, but I am a novice rifleman with perhaps only 500 rifle rounds down range (between .22lr, .30-06, and .300 win mag). I've fired five boxes of ammo through my M77 (2 Fusion, 2 Super-X, 1 WBST). Considering my low level of rifle experience, I suspect that much of that variation is on me, not the rifle or the ammo. I am confident that I will be able to achieve sub-moa with this rifle/ammo combo as I gain experience.
Now I just have to wait until November to see how the ammo performs in the field.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 136 for Fusion® Fusion® Rifle Ammunition
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location: Rockport ME
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

very good ammo

Date:March 9, 2009
I got a browning .308 for mybirth day and I use this ammo in it. It works well, There have been no miss fires and it is good at grooping, so one you get your riffle sighted in then you will hit the bulleyes every time.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 137 for Fusion® Fusion® Rifle Ammunition
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location: Colorado
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Great practice ammo

Date:February 17, 2009
I have been using Fusion ammo for practice for several years now. I use Federal Premium for hunting elk and I get the same accuracy with the Fusion. I have killed several deer with the Fusion and there is no reason to spend more. It puts them down!
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 138 for Fusion® Fusion® Rifle Ammunition
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location: Hunt in Northern Wisconsin
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

As good as I can afford

Date:February 8, 2009
Holds 1-1.5 inch groups at 100 yards using a bench and front rest. Very effective expansion on whitetail deer. There is probably better, but the cost may not be worth it.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 139 for Fusion® Fusion® Rifle Ammunition
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location: Jacksonville, AR
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Whitetail knockdown

Date:December 18, 2008
I am from the school of Rocky Mountain Elk and big mule deer. This was my first year hunting in Arkansas where I am based in the Air Force. I am an avid shooter and hunter, and normally shoot hand loads but my equipment is elsewhere. I bought these for a relatively inexpensive price as far as 7mm Rem Mag rounds go. The deer hit the ground so fast that by the time I jacked another round in and whipped up the scope, the deer was flat on the ground exactly where he was standing. the 7 Mag is a little bit of overkill for these little white tails, but with the 150 gr bullet it seems to perform quite nicely. However, due to the density of the growth around here I doubt I will be taking any shots further than 150 yards.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 140 for Fusion® Fusion® Rifle Ammunition
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

FUSION 150GR .270

Date:December 18, 2008
WENT TO SOUTHERN TEXAS USED A .270 FUSION 150GR LOAD .TOOK A 140 CLASS WHITE TAIL @ 200YDS ALL HE GAVE ME WAS A NECK SHOT. HE WAS TAKING A DIRT NAP BEFORE HE HIT THE GROUND. THIS ROUND IS VERY ACCURATE I USED MY SONS REMINGTON 710 IN .270 TO TRY IT OUT. ITS DEADLY! IM GOING TO ADD A .270 TO MY COLLECTION !!
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
ReviewQuestion 121-140 of 233