Customer Reviews for FEDERAL Fusion® Fusion® Rifle Ammunition

FEDERAL Fusion® Fusion® Rifle Ammunition

Molecular science meets ballistics and the result is the next generation of performance ammunition from Federal. Years in the making, Fusion bonds the copper jacket to the lead core at the molecular level to totally eliminate component separation. The result is superior downrange transfer of terminal energy and outstanding bullet weight retention. The optimized boattail profile ensures excellent flight characteristics and accuracy. A skived tip provides lethal long-range expansion potential without minimizing short-range tenacity. Made specifically for deer hunting, Fusion also delivers exceptional performance on antelope and other thin-skinned game. 20 rounds per box.
Overall Customer Rating:
4.297 out of 5
4.3
 out of 
5
(236 Reviews) 236
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 236 reviews
5 Stars
159
4 Stars
40
3 Stars
6
2 Stars
10
1 Star
21
202 out of 236(86%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer questions and answers:
3 Questions | 16 Answers
Customer Reviews for Fusion® Fusion® Rifle Ammunition
Review 81 for Fusion® Fusion® Rifle Ammunition
Overall Customer Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Location: WA
Would you recommend this product to a friend? No

7mm Rem. Mag.

Date:October 3, 2008
Terrible grouping at 100 yds. Shot half a box and had one grouping under 2 inches, most were around 5 to 6 inches. Shot one group with my buddy's Core-Lokts and had a 1/2" group. Not happy with the Fusions.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 82 for Fusion® Fusion® Rifle Ammunition
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Good bullet

Date:October 22, 2008
I have a Remington 280. I was looking for a 140 Gr. boat tail. So I found that fusions had them. I read the reviews on them and didn't know for sure if I wanted to bank on them since I was going to be hiking a long ways into the mountains after mule deer. Mountain muleys can take a good hit and still go a long ways. I knew I only had one shot. So I bought them and went to the range. At 100 yards on sand bags I had a 3/4" group! The next test would come in the field. I got my shot at 25 yards. I shot him through the shoulder to try and brake him down. It worked, He went 15 yards and pilled up.
Remember!, at 25 yards that bullet is traveling at 2990 feet per second! That is a test of all testes. The bullet went through both sides of him!!!! Weather or not the bullet will hold together is no question. The question is will your gun hold a tight group with this ammunition.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 83 for Fusion® Fusion® Rifle Ammunition
Overall Customer Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location: Dadeville, AL
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Federal Fusion Rifle Ammunition

Date:October 27, 2008
Performs well. Groups are not as tight as I would like, but should be sufficient to bring the trophy home. Price is excellent.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 84 for Fusion® Fusion® Rifle Ammunition
Overall Customer Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Location: Arkansas
Would you recommend this product to a friend? No

Poor performance

Date:October 27, 2008
Several of us in a hunting club tried these bullets without much success. The problem was consistent expansion, which in turn leads to lack of blood trails, which in turn leads no many hours on lenghty blood trails seldom finding deer. As far as accuracy goes though, that was awsome, sub 1" groups at 100 yards so now I use the left over bullets for those pesky coyotes.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 85 for Fusion® Fusion® Rifle Ammunition
Overall Customer Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location: Colorado
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

.308 Winchester Delivers

Date:November 2, 2008
I chose this ammo in 2007 for my Browning BLR .308. I choose it because my gun is pretty picky when it comes to ammo and has a tendency to jam if I use hot ammo or cheep stuff. Fusion, however, chambered great and never ever jammed up. At the range I was able to overlap my shots at 100 yards and at 200 yards I was able to keep a fist sized grouping with it.
2008 Hunt
It was about 34 degrees when I took my deer at 147 yards. The bullet went in behind the left foreleg, went through the top of the heart and, unfortunately, out the side of the right shoulder. The deer took 1 step and fell down dead. The 150 grain 308 win fusion bullet went in clean, exploded the top of the heart, went through the shoulderblade, and came out leaving an exit wound the size of a fifty cent piece. All in all, a very ethical and clean kill.
I would recomend this ammo but will try Winchester Silver Tip .308 next year.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 86 for Fusion® Fusion® Rifle Ammunition
Overall Customer Rating: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Location: Blue Ridge, GA
Would you recommend this product to a friend? No

it didn"t all work

Date:November 3, 2008
I purchased this ammo to take to CO on an elk hunt. I've had good look with Fusion ammo in my other rifles, but I have purchased a new Remington 700 for this particular trip and some of the cartridges would not load into the chamber and some would load but were hard to push into the chamber. The ammo that did load, however, performed well producing half inch groups at 100 yards and made a pass through shot on a cow elk leaving a good exit wound.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 87 for Fusion® Fusion® Rifle Ammunition
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location: Nashville, TN
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Good

Date:November 17, 2008
I got (5) boxes 270-130gr they are the best they shoot good
in my Remington 700 BDL not just good they are the BEST
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 88 for Fusion® Fusion® Rifle Ammunition
Overall Customer Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location: Norman OK
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Works well at the range

Date:November 19, 2008
I have had positive results at the range, 1" groups with a .338 Federal. I have not used them in the field yet.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 89 for Fusion® Fusion® Rifle Ammunition
Overall Customer Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location: Detroit, MI
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

120 gr. .25-06

Date:November 19, 2008
Have killed 4 whitetails with these bullets. They perform way better on longer shots. The two I shot past 100 yards dropped in their tracks. The two I shot within 40 yards ran....both died within 30 yards but left very little blood trail. I have confidence that these bullets work, I just think they work better once they have slowed down some. Maybe its just the caliber/speed I'm working with. Also, my gun loves these and groups nicely so I will use and recommend them in the future.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 90 for Fusion® Fusion® Rifle Ammunition
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location: Sturgis, SD
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Powerful punch

Date:November 23, 2008
I shoot a Win. model 70 .270WSM. This gun is picky with the type of ammo it shoots well and mine is no exception. With the 150 grain fusion I am getting awesome groups at 100 yds with some shots either sharing one hole in the target or overlapping by 50%. As far as knock down power goes I have yet to have a deer (which the ammo is designed for) go more than 40 yards. The big whitetail that I shot with it dropped like a car landed on it and the even bigger mule deer that I just shot 3 days ago went 40 yards and dropped dead. I had a pass through shot on the mule deer at 220 yards. This ammo is also unbelievable on antelope (even though the 150 grain bullet might be a bit much) given the longer range shots that have to be made at times. My rifle LOVES this ammo and I will keep using it for all of the deer and antelope hunts that I go on in the future.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 91 for Fusion® Fusion® Rifle Ammunition
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Excellent Performance on Deer

Date:November 27, 2008
I have seen over 20 deer killed in the last three years with this ammo in .243,.270,.308, and 7mm mag . Each kill was humane and very lethal. In my experience, this ammo was very accurate and produced quite dramatic kills when the animal was shot in the vitals, neck, or any kind of lethal bone structure (spine,ribs, or shoulder). Penetration was not an issue as all the bullets seemed to have passed through the animal regardless of the range. I would definitely recommend this ammo as it is excellent.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 92 for Fusion® Fusion® Rifle Ammunition
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location: Washington State
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Federal Fusion Rifle Ammunition

Date:December 6, 2008
We used this ammunition on a recent elk hunt here in Washington State. We were told by a more experienced hunter that this is more of a deer ammunition. I did not fill my elk tag yet this year. Towards the end of the hunt, my partner took some 500 yard shots at a monster bull. The caliber was .30-06 and the bull escaped uninjured, but this was shooter/scope issue and we were pretty confident about the ammunition's ability to take down the elk had shot placement been better. We were also impressed with the range accuracy of this ammunition.
John B.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 93 for Fusion® Fusion® Rifle Ammunition
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location: Shreveport, LA
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Federal Fusion Fantastic!

Date:December 9, 2008
I've used Fusion in .25/06 & .30-30 for Louisiana deer with excellent results! Great knock down power from either caliber. One bullet recovered from a .30-30 kill was a perfect mushroom with most of the bullet mass still intact. My confidence from field experience is just as high as that from the range, where Fusion provides less than 2 inch groups for this average shooter. Groups at 200 yds. with my finish-made .25/06 were consistent as well.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 94 for Fusion® Fusion® Rifle Ammunition
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

FUSION 150GR .270

Date:December 18, 2008
WENT TO SOUTHERN TEXAS USED A .270 FUSION 150GR LOAD .TOOK A 140 CLASS WHITE TAIL @ 200YDS ALL HE GAVE ME WAS A NECK SHOT. HE WAS TAKING A DIRT NAP BEFORE HE HIT THE GROUND. THIS ROUND IS VERY ACCURATE I USED MY SONS REMINGTON 710 IN .270 TO TRY IT OUT. ITS DEADLY! IM GOING TO ADD A .270 TO MY COLLECTION !!
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 95 for Fusion® Fusion® Rifle Ammunition
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location: Jacksonville, AR
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Whitetail knockdown

Date:December 18, 2008
I am from the school of Rocky Mountain Elk and big mule deer. This was my first year hunting in Arkansas where I am based in the Air Force. I am an avid shooter and hunter, and normally shoot hand loads but my equipment is elsewhere. I bought these for a relatively inexpensive price as far as 7mm Rem Mag rounds go. The deer hit the ground so fast that by the time I jacked another round in and whipped up the scope, the deer was flat on the ground exactly where he was standing. the 7 Mag is a little bit of overkill for these little white tails, but with the 150 gr bullet it seems to perform quite nicely. However, due to the density of the growth around here I doubt I will be taking any shots further than 150 yards.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 96 for Fusion® Fusion® Rifle Ammunition
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location: Hunt in Northern Wisconsin
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

As good as I can afford

Date:February 8, 2009
Holds 1-1.5 inch groups at 100 yards using a bench and front rest. Very effective expansion on whitetail deer. There is probably better, but the cost may not be worth it.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 97 for Fusion® Fusion® Rifle Ammunition
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location: Colorado
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Great practice ammo

Date:February 17, 2009
I have been using Fusion ammo for practice for several years now. I use Federal Premium for hunting elk and I get the same accuracy with the Fusion. I have killed several deer with the Fusion and there is no reason to spend more. It puts them down!
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 98 for Fusion® Fusion® Rifle Ammunition
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location: Rockport ME
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

very good ammo

Date:March 9, 2009
I got a browning .308 for mybirth day and I use this ammo in it. It works well, There have been no miss fires and it is good at grooping, so one you get your riffle sighted in then you will hit the bulleyes every time.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 99 for Fusion® Fusion® Rifle Ammunition
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location: Western NY
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Extremely accurate ammo

Date:July 6, 2009
This ammo is extremely accurate in my Ruger M77 MkII chambered in .300 Win Mag. I compared Fusion, Win Ballistic Silvertip, and Win Super-X. The Fusion groups are consistently tighter than either of the Win products. I'm consistently shooting one-inch four round groups at 100 yards with the Fusion, often with consecutive shots touching. In contrast, the Win Ballistic Silvertip shoots a vertical spread of three inches. I made these comparisons by shooting each type of ammo back-to-back on several different days between January and July 2009.
The one-inch groups may not sound impressive, but I am a novice rifleman with perhaps only 500 rifle rounds down range (between .22lr, .30-06, and .300 win mag). I've fired five boxes of ammo through my M77 (2 Fusion, 2 Super-X, 1 WBST). Considering my low level of rifle experience, I suspect that much of that variation is on me, not the rifle or the ammo. I am confident that I will be able to achieve sub-moa with this rifle/ammo combo as I gain experience.
Now I just have to wait until November to see how the ammo performs in the field.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 100 for Fusion® Fusion® Rifle Ammunition
Overall Customer Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location: SC
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Fusion ammo

Date:August 1, 2009
These were pretty good for the .308. No problem dropping deer. I killed 5 deer with these so far, and out of 5 only 2 ran after being shot. And one of those 2 left a massive blood trail. The other one ran about 40 yards into the woods and left very little blood. Only thing is, they are not as accurate as other ammo for my .308.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
ReviewQuestion 81-100 of 236