Customer Reviews for FEDERAL Federal Premium® Ultra-Shok™ High-Density™ Shotshells - Per Box

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Cabela's.

FEDERAL Federal Premium® Ultra-Shok™ High-Density™ Shotshells - Per Box

These shells from Federal have up to 20% more soft tungsten-iron pellets than comparable steel shot loads. Pellets are also 20% softer than steel with 15% lower wind drift. Uniform pellet size means consistent, tight patterns. 10 shells per box.
Overall Customer Rating:
4.067 out of 5
4.1
 out of 
5
(15 Reviews) 15
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 15 reviews
5 Stars
9
4 Stars
2
3 Stars
1
2 Stars
2
1 Star
1
11 out of 15(73%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Federal Premium® Ultra-Shok™ High-Density™ Shotshells - Per Box
Review 1 for Federal Premium® Ultra-Shok™ High-Density™ Shotshells - Per Box
Overall Customer Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Would you recommend this product to a friend? No

NO! No no no no

Date:October 17, 2006
Not worth the price! Bad pattern. Can't hit a barn with these!
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 2 for Federal Premium® Ultra-Shok™ High-Density™ Shotshells - Per Box
Overall Customer Rating: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Would you recommend this product to a friend? No

not with a remington 870

Date:February 18, 2009
i have a Remington 870 and i bought the 3in BB for water foul hunting but manly for Canadian geese. my main problem with this shot was that it was not ejecting from my 870. some one might say that i was not pumping the shotgun properly, but after i went threw that box i started shooting Remington wingmaster HD and i have not had any problems with the gun ejecting the shells. so if you are using a 870 the i suggest that you shoot Remington wingmaster HD it is about the same price and is a better shot then Federal's Ultra-Shok HD.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 3 for Federal Premium® Ultra-Shok™ High-Density™ Shotshells - Per Box
Overall Customer Rating: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Location: Sac.
Would you recommend this product to a friend? No

ultra-shok

Date:November 29, 2008
the price is the only shock you will receive, not the birds. Found other brands worked much better, even if these were on sale
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 4 for Federal Premium® Ultra-Shok™ High-Density™ Shotshells - Per Box
Overall Customer Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Location: South Dakota
Would you recommend this product to a friend? No

not better than high speed steel for pheasants

Date:December 14, 2008
Using the 12 gauge 3" #2 & #4 shot, bought them on sale and with the rebate coupon price was right to give a try. Was searching for something to hunt December pheasants with on public land in South Dakota. Roosters this time of year have very thick feathers and layers of fat.
Ammo patterns well from Remington 870 Wingmaster with 26" Hastings barrel and improved cylinder choke as do all the Federal Premium shotshells; much better than Fiocchi, Remington, & Winchester (steel shot).
The problem was in killing power. Had been using #4 steel (1400 fps 1 1/4 oz) for earlier season birds and was adequate within range. Birds are now tougher & wilder, getting longer shots. Thought the #4 High Density would have similar pattern but with more penetration; was wrong as the penetration was just slightly better than #4 steel and about the same as #3 steel (1400 fps 1 1/4 oz). The #2 shot had better distance and maintained pattern; but results were not significantly better than high speed (1550 fps 1 1/8 oz) #4 steel for dropped birds. The best steel round we used for winter pheasants was the #3 1550 fps 1 1/8 oz Federal Premium Speed Shok. It seems that speed matters when you have increased feather density on these birds. I would love to see the Federal Premium High Density in a 1550 fps with lighter payload (and lower price).
A side note, the improved cylinder choke patterns tighter than the modified choke with steel shot in this particular combination; and the #3 & #4 steel shot have the same size of pattern, and the load of 1 1/4 & 1 1/8 also pattern very similar. High Density shotshells fit right in with the improved cylinder choke and patterned well; no complaints in that area.
The Federal Premium High Density should be priced around the same as Environmental's Hevi Steel because it performs about the same in the field on December pheasants with similar shot sizes. Save money and go with high speed steel #3 (haven't used steel #2 1550 fps 1 1/8 oz yet) for late season cold weather pheasants.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 5 for Federal Premium® Ultra-Shok™ High-Density™ Shotshells - Per Box
Overall Customer Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location: Bay City, MI
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

12 ga. Ultra-Shok

Date:April 18, 2007
Bone cracking on North Dakota snows and can drop big Michigan Canadas like rocks with one shot. These work very well if you don't try sky-busting with them, or any of the lead alternatives for that matter. Do you part and let em' get within range.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 6 for Federal Premium® Ultra-Shok™ High-Density™ Shotshells - Per Box
Overall Customer Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location: Michigan
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Excellent shells

Date:November 20, 2006
These pattern great, PLENTY of knockdown power, even well down-range. The ability to knockdown even Greater Canadas at 40+ yards isn't a problem even in strong winds. You'll love these shells, and a reasonable priced product for a premium ammo.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 7 for Federal Premium® Ultra-Shok™ High-Density™ Shotshells - Per Box
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location: ohio
Age: 26-35
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Great product

Date:April 18, 2012
Patterns great, awesome penetration. Great product
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 8 for Federal Premium® Ultra-Shok™ High-Density™ Shotshells - Per Box
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location: Lexington, SC
Age: 46-55
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Excellent on Canadas

Date:September 16, 2011
I bought these shells from Cabelas on sale. I have used them for early Goose season in South Carolina. I took 5 geese at 30-40 yds with three shots. Knock down is exceptional. I used a Weatherby SA08 12 ga, Trulock extended modified choke tube, 12 ga 3 in shells #2 shot.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 9 for Federal Premium® Ultra-Shok™ High-Density™ Shotshells - Per Box
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location: Quakertown, PA
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

GREAT SHELLS

Date:December 18, 2010
TOOK THESE OUT DUCK HUNTING THIS MORNING...THEY HIT HARD! ONE SHOT KILLS ON 1 MERGANSER AND 3 MALLARDS...30 YD. AVERAGE SHOTS.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 10 for Federal Premium® Ultra-Shok™ High-Density™ Shotshells - Per Box
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location: pittsburgh pa
Age: 56-65
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

worked for me!

Date:December 16, 2010
put a beretta light full choke on my extrema2 and looked for a choke responsive shotshell to shoot late season wary warefowl. bought federal high density bb and yesterday i smacked a mallard dead at 60 yards---a canada goose at 30 yards---and when my sons gun jammed, handed him my beretta to take a goose decoyed to 5 yards. all fell stone dead.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 11 for Federal Premium® Ultra-Shok™ High-Density™ Shotshells - Per Box
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location: Kansas
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Hitting power that you need

Date:November 23, 2009
These shells have the speed and density to get the job done even at a distance. Well worth the money
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 12 for Federal Premium® Ultra-Shok™ High-Density™ Shotshells - Per Box
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location: Palmyra, ME.
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Killer loads

Date:September 7, 2009
I have used a variety of nontoxic loads for ducks over the last 30 years and I would have to rate these among the most effective yet. I picked up 2 boxes before a 4 day goose hunt in northern ME. last Oct. and I was amazed at the results I experienced. My Mossberg 935 with the im cyl choke loved these in 3 1/2 inch #2. On the first day, first flight in, I scored a double, not the classic 2 birds with 2 shots, but 2 birds with 1 shot. This was the limit for the day.On day 2 I made some fairly long shots on ducks that hit the ground dead. I bought more for this year.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 13 for Federal Premium® Ultra-Shok™ High-Density™ Shotshells - Per Box
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location: Atlanta, GA
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Federal Premium Ultra-Shok Shotshells

Date:December 1, 2008
These shells are outstanding and definitely help provide excellent down range knockdown power. The shells are more expensive, but will provide clean kills on all species of waterfowl. Highly recommend to any avid waterfowl hunter.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 14 for Federal Premium® Ultra-Shok™ High-Density™ Shotshells - Per Box
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Federal Premium Ultra Shok

Date:August 26, 2008
We hunt big water in Kansas for divers. As you can well imagine we encounter some rough conditions and long shots. (If you havent shot at a downwind canvasback try it sometime!) These shells have alot of killing power and are in my opinion better than Hevi Shot. Excellent Shell!
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 15 for Federal Premium® Ultra-Shok™ High-Density™ Shotshells - Per Box
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location: Lowell, IN
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Federal Premium

Date:November 12, 2007
Hello to all,
I'am a huge duck hunter and I would reccomend these shells to anyone. I shoot a Benelli Super Nova 12 guage, and these shells work great. I use the 3 inch shot size 2's and I cannot complain at all. They pattern super nice in my gun, and hit extremely hard. In general I'am a "long shooter", and these shells are the only kind that can bring birds down (dead) for me at 60+ yards. Like I said these shells are simply amazing and I would recommend them to anyone.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.