Customer Reviews for KIMBER Kimber 1911 .22 LR Rimfire Conversion Kits

KIMBER Kimber 1911 .22 LR Rimfire Conversion Kits

Whether it's to improve your shooting form or just to save money on ammo, these easy-to-install .22 rimfire conversion kits from Kimber will let you get even more enjoyment from your 1911 pistol. Fits almost any brand of mil-spec. 1911 with single-stack magazines and non ramped barrels. Installation is as simple as field stripping. Changing from centerfire to rimfire can be completed in less than a minute. Includes one .22-caliber magazine. No modifications are necessary and you will not have to change mainsprings. Also available is an extra .22-caliber conversion magazine.
Overall Customer Rating:
4.257 out of 5
4.3
 out of 
5
(101 Reviews) 101
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 101 reviews
5 Stars
61
4 Stars
22
3 Stars
6
2 Stars
7
1 Star
5
88 out of 101(87%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer questions and answers:
16 Questions | 26 Answers
Customer Reviews for Kimber 1911 .22 LR Rimfire Conversion Kits
Review 1 for Kimber 1911 .22 LR Rimfire Conversion Kits
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Country: United States
State: Indiana
Age: 65 and over
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Kimber 1911 .22 conversion kit

Date:March 11, 2014
This is like a swiss watch. It converts very fast and is a great buy.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 2 for Kimber 1911 .22 LR Rimfire Conversion Kits
Overall Customer Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Country: United States
State: Kentucky
Age: 65 and over
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? No

Bad fit.

Date:April 23, 2013
With my STI Sentry, it was too tight. It would not even go back 3" towards the hammer. With my STI 9MM the fit was fine, very smooth. But when I tried to install the slide stop, it would not fit. I hate to pay a gunsmith to fix this, I really need this to work.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 3 for Kimber 1911 .22 LR Rimfire Conversion Kits
Overall Customer Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Age: 46-55
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Kimber 1911 .22cal conversion kit

Date:April 2, 2013
Shoots best with cci high velocity .22cal . Takes about 40 sec. To do a quick switch over
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 4 for Kimber 1911 .22 LR Rimfire Conversion Kits
Overall Customer Rating: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Country: United States
Age: 65 and over
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Kimber 1911 .22 LR Rimfire Conversion Kit

Date:January 20, 2013
Placed kit on my Kimber Custom II. First trip to range was a disaster. Shot about 100 rounds of Winchester 333 36gr HP copper plated ammo there was a failure to feed on every magazine sometimes two or three. Shot about 50 Federal Champion 36gr HP copper plated rounds with same results. Shot 100 rounds of CCI Mini-Mag HP 36gr. That ammo worked best but there still was an occasional failure to feed. The Kimber design of slide not staying open on last round resulted in a lot of dry fires. I am extremely disappointed I have to work the kinks out of this high priced accessory.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 5 for Kimber 1911 .22 LR Rimfire Conversion Kits
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Country: United States
State: New York
Age: 46-55
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Fine Addition

Date:August 8, 2012
The conversion kit installed on my Kimber Gold Match easily. I noticed however that the slide was dragging on the top of the magazines such that it was slowed during recoil and while returning to battery. This problem was quickly corrected with an emery board to remove the "bright spot" area on the top of the magazines' lips. Once the dragging was eliminated it functioned fine. Accuracy is on par with my open sighted S&W Model 41 target pistol at 50 feet... 50 rounds in one hole a bit under an inch in diameter shooting two-handed off-hand. With only about 200 rounds through the unit I was hitting an 8" gong at 100 yards.
I would not be surprised to find out that many of the high volume FTF and FTE problems reported here are due to the magazine dragging on the slide rather than being an ammo problem. It is easy to test for this... retract the slide by hand and let is return to battery under it's own power with the magazine inserted and then without it inserted. If it returns any slower with the magazine inserted you will likely find a bright spot on the magazine lips where the slide is rubbing on them. In my case the dragging with one of the magazines was even evident while retracting the slide.
I've recommend this conversion unit to my friends.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 6 for Kimber 1911 .22 LR Rimfire Conversion Kits
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Great addition to my Kimber

Date:June 14, 2012
I bought this conversion kit to shoot my Kimber more because the price of ammunition just keeps going up. It works great and is easy to swap out for the 45 barrell.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 7 for Kimber 1911 .22 LR Rimfire Conversion Kits
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Country: United States
State: Florida
Age: 56-65
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

a whole new pistol

Date:May 7, 2012
ran all types of ammo thru it and found the 1340+ to function all the time when very clean some types of high velocity (1250) work well for 0-50 rounds then will not cycle 65yds very accurate
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 8 for Kimber 1911 .22 LR Rimfire Conversion Kits
Overall Customer Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Kimber Conversion

Date:May 7, 2012
I installed the Kimber 22 conversion without cleaning it, there must have been heavy grease or some other foreign material causing the firing pin to hang up and not return to the firing position. Once cleaned the conversion functioned perfectly and is accurate and fun to shoot. I have shot several different brands of ammuntion with no difference in preformance.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 9 for Kimber 1911 .22 LR Rimfire Conversion Kits
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location: Maine
Age: 25 and under
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Kimber 1911 .22 Conversion Kit

Date:April 10, 2012
Very easy to install, feeds well with my Federal 36 gr, CPHP .22s. Accuracy was very good. Experiment with ammo types and make sure the slide rails are lubricated, as the slide is very lightweight and poor feeding or ejecting ammo can cause problems. This is true with most .22 semi-autos, so this doesn't count against my score. All-in-all, the best purchase I could have made. My 1911 is now the only pistol I need for any type of shooting I might want to do.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 10 for Kimber 1911 .22 LR Rimfire Conversion Kits
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location: NY
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Awesome

Date:January 12, 2012
Works flawlessly
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 11 for Kimber 1911 .22 LR Rimfire Conversion Kits
Overall Customer Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location: St. Louis, MO
Age: 36-45
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Kimber 1911 .22 LR Rimfire Conversion Kit

Date:January 12, 2012
Added to Ruger sr1911. The Ruger slide stop did not fit intp the slide for me. I called Kimber, they sent me a Kimber slide stop (free). I had to have Kimber slide stop machined by my gunsmith (he just ground some metal off -for free) a Drummel would have done the trick. Fun add on to shoot. F2F maybe every 20 rnds with bulk .22 ammo.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 12 for Kimber 1911 .22 LR Rimfire Conversion Kits
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location: Sonora, CA
Age: 65 and over
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Smart Choice

Date:January 11, 2012
My wife and I both have and carry .45 APC Kimbers. Also, we both have this .22 conversion kit. . .one calibrated for her Kimber, and one calibrated for my Kimber.
The actual conversion is simple, and takes less than a minute at the range. Not only does this conversion allow for practice with cheap .22lr ammo, you are doing your practice shooting with your actual daily carry weapon, with its unique trigger pull.
One thing that you need to know in using this conversion kit is that you need to use high velocity .22lr ammo in order for the slide to properly recycle when firing.
The main question is simple: Why buy a seperate .22 handgun for cheap shooting, that is not your daily carry weapon and trigger, that costs more than this conversion kit?
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 13 for Kimber 1911 .22 LR Rimfire Conversion Kits
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location: Dallas, Tx
Age: 56-65
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Best out-of-box ever

Date:December 7, 2011
Got my .22 conversion kit last week and went to the indoor range today (hey, its winter!). Cleaned it well, and shot 5-shot strings with Winchester black - grouped low and left, but adjustments were easy. Settled on Remington Gold bulk .22s as best for my gun, for now. Shot a 1" group at 25 yards with the Rem Gold!
Had one fail to eject, one mis-feed and the magazine didn't fully seat twice. Shot the .45 barrel first and the first .22 show was kinda surprising - the .22 recoil is nothing.
Will try other ammo in the future, but for now I feel this conversion is fun, accurate and inexpensive to use.
One negative - the slide will not stay open after the last round is fired. I've been warned not to drop the hammer on an empty chamber - can lead to hang-ups... Count your shots and don't "Dry Fire" it. Wish there was to have the slide stay open with the last shot.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 14 for Kimber 1911 .22 LR Rimfire Conversion Kits
Overall Customer Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location: Delcambre, LA
Age: 65 and over
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Excellent puchase

Date:August 30, 2011
Easy to install on Kimber Pro carry. Accurate with 2 hand hold. Have not disassembled for cleaning. Works great!
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 15 for Kimber 1911 .22 LR Rimfire Conversion Kits
Overall Customer Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Great workmanship

Date:August 7, 2011
The workmanship on this piece is very good. Maybe a bit better than the Sig kits. I had to enlarge the notch in the slide for the slide stop to get it to work on my Colt Commander. This was not a big deal (a small round file worked fine). It functions fairly well. At least as well as other kits I have tried (occasional malfunctions as typical with rimfire pistols).
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 16 for Kimber 1911 .22 LR Rimfire Conversion Kits
Overall Customer Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location: Oregon
Age: 56-65
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Great quality conversion

Date:June 22, 2011
This kit is very well machined to great tolerances. Easy to make the conversion and the fit is great. One problem I experienced is that the loads could not develop enough gas pressure to eject the shell. I had to pull the slide back to load and continue firing. I'm not sure if this problem will self correct once the slide is cycled more. I will try different brands of .22 to see if this helps this problem. Overall I am extremely pleased with this conversion. It is certainly a less expensive way to practice with my Custom Crimson Kimber .45ACP
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 17 for Kimber 1911 .22 LR Rimfire Conversion Kits
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location: Michigan
Age: 56-65
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Kimber .22 Conversion

Date:June 20, 2011
Works flawlessly on my Springfield 1911
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 18 for Kimber 1911 .22 LR Rimfire Conversion Kits
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location: waynesburg, a
Age: 56-65
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Kimber 22 adapter

Date:June 14, 2011
The kimber 22 adapter is easy to install. at first it wouldn't cyccle all 10 rounds but after use it works great.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 19 for Kimber 1911 .22 LR Rimfire Conversion Kits
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location: Dutton, AL
Age: 36-45
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Great Quality and Accuracy

Date:April 22, 2011
I am very pleased and impressed with the quality of this conversion. It is defeinaley the kind of quaility and craftsmanship that I expect from Kimber. It shoots very accurately, feeds with no problems and extracts flawlessly. I have not yet experienced a jam or stove pipe. This is what I have come to expect from Kimber products. the magazine compliments the conversion very well with similar quality. No short cuts or inferior materials here. And the conversion is simple to install with no tools and can be done in less than a minute. What's not to like?
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 20 for Kimber 1911 .22 LR Rimfire Conversion Kits
Overall Customer Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Location: NJ
Age: 26-35
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Good but....

Date:April 19, 2011
I bought this for my Kimber Eclipse Target II because 45acp is just too dang expensive to shoot all the time. My first time out shooting with the conversion kit I got 50% failures...mostly FTE.
I called Kimber and they stressed that they engineer the kit to work with 40gr CCI minimag round nose ammo. My experience was with Federal bulk 36gr hp. I'll repost if I have better luck later, but if you buy this just plan to put above average ammo through it for maximum effectiveness.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
ReviewQuestion 1-20 of 101