Customer Reviews for THOMPSON/CENTER Thompson/Center Omega .50-Caliber Z5 Rifle with Starter Kit – Blued/Black

THOMPSON/CENTER Thompson/Center Omega .50-Caliber Z5 Rifle with Starter Kit – Blued/Black

TC's patented pivoting action seals the 209 primer tight, ensuring 100% of the fire from the primer goes into the powder charge. No need for a capper or any other priming system. Just insert the primer into the primer hole and close the breech. The magnum charge capability, up to 150 grains of black powder or Pyrodex®, sends slugs thundering downrange. Quick-Load Accurizer Muzzle System on the 28" blued barrel makes loading easy, and 1-in-28" twist stabilizes sabots for tack-driving accuracy. The black synthetic stock is impervious to the elements and extremely tough for handling the hardest hunts. The pivoting action also makes the .50-caliber Omega easy to clean. There's no bolt or breech assembly to clean, and you don't have to disassemble it to remove the breech plug. Starter Kit includes: 20 Shockwave 250-grain sabots, composite T-handle short starter/ramrod extension, Super Jag with spire-point bullet tip, three speed loaders, 209 capper/ decapper, bronze cleaning brush, 4-oz. bottle of Cabela's Black-Powder Solvent, 1/2-oz. tube of Super Lube and 25 cleaning patches. Truglo® fiber-optic inserts in adjustable all-steel sights. Black synthetic stock. Overall length: 42-1/2". Weight: 7-1/4 lbs.
Overall Customer Rating:
4.821 out of 5
4.8
 out of 
5
(28 Reviews) 28
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 28 reviews
5 Stars
26
4 Stars
0
3 Stars
1
2 Stars
1
1 Star
0
27 out of 28(96%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Thompson/Center Omega .50-Caliber Z5 Rifle with Starter Kit – Blued/Black
Review 21 for Thompson/Center Omega .50-Caliber Z5 Rifle with Starter Kit – Blued/Black
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:September 25, 2007

TC Omega Z5

By
Location: LA
The Omega Z5 is my first muzzleloader, and I am impressed. I am accustomed to high quality centerfire rifles and shotguns, and the Omega was not a disappointment. I purchased the blue/black, and the quality well exceeded my expectations. It has nice fit and finish at what I would consider a bargain price, and at the range I found it to be quite accurate. I plan to hunt with it this season, and I can honestly say I am confident the Omega will perform as advertised.
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 22 for Thompson/Center Omega .50-Caliber Z5 Rifle with Starter Kit – Blued/Black
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:September 16, 2007

I'm trilled

By
Location: FL
I cleaned my Omega and installed a BSA 3-10 x 44 Cat's Eye telescope. I bore sighted it. At 25 yds... 2-pack. At 50 yds... 2-pack. At 100 yds... 2-pack. I'm in Florida so it's not even practical to work out anything beyond 100 yds. If this killer rifle will put 2 in the same hole at 100... the rest is up to me. This rifle is my first muzzleloader. I was expecting to have some homework to do in finding the accuracy I've seen hyped into this package. I've only used one recipe. 100gr. of Seven & Seven, with the 250gr T/C Shockwave sabots included in the starter kit. Also should mention I've only used the Vari-Flame primer adapter kit that uses a small rifle primer. I did a little research and seemed like the way to go. The DVD included with the Omega is a great start; very well done. Thanks Cabelas for having them on sale for a great deal.
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 23 for Thompson/Center Omega .50-Caliber Z5 Rifle with Starter Kit – Blued/Black
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:August 1, 2007

One Shot Challenge's

By
Location: Hogansville, GA
This is my first Muzzle Loading firearm. Choice was made for a couple of reasons. The inline advancements of the TC /Omega Z5. Name recognition. Also BUILT IN THE USA Folks... I must say that when the rifle arrived I was waiting in the drive way for it. In a matter of minutes it was out of the box getting it's initial cleaning. Then I read thru the manual. In no time at all I was in the back 40 pacing off 30 yards. Set up a can of old beef stew on top of a 4x4 post. Sat down on my little portable shooting chair and took careful aim. Click sound has the hammer was cocked, then Blame! Nice poof of smoke and a beef stew shower. This rifle is just a plan Jane Black/Blue model with open sights out of the box dead on accuarcy. And it's MINE! I will be placing a scope on it. Just waiting on the one piece mount I ordered to show up. Its getting the scope for the simple reason when you get past forty it helps out big time on the long shots. This Omega Z5 will have no trouble with making those long shots. I will be joining the many hunters in taking to the woods early this year. This rifle is a real pleasure to shoot. Good balance, nice feel and sight picture with the Tru Glow sights. Great value on an AMERICAN MADE firearm. Be sure to get Bore Butter, No.13 Bore Cleaner, and Super Lube. Starter kit was nice but needed those extras too. Along with some 209 primers and some 777 powder. PS don't forget the can of old stew...
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 24 for Thompson/Center Omega .50-Caliber Z5 Rifle with Starter Kit – Blued/Black
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:July 31, 2007

omega z5

By
Location: vermont
bought this using my points from cabela's credit card. like how they feel compared to the older new englander with a heavier barrel i own. placing gun to my shoulder it line right up with the sights. thats important cause i'm not installing a scope on it. shoots nice and clean up was a breeze i recommend this gun to all before there all gone.
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 25 for Thompson/Center Omega .50-Caliber Z5 Rifle with Starter Kit – Blued/Black
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:July 10, 2007

tc omega z5 rifle

By
For a new user of blackpowder, this was a easy learn. easy as 1 2 3.
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 26 for Thompson/Center Omega .50-Caliber Z5 Rifle with Starter Kit – Blued/Black
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:January 21, 2007

New to inlines

By
Location: Florida
I have been hunting with a muzzleloader for over 30 years, and now with my glasses I can't see the open sights. Not wanting to put a scope on any of my muzzleloaders I bought a Omega Z5 and put a nice scope on it, It shoots better then any other rifle I have ever owned. Very light recoil, easy to load and clean. And will shoot 1 inch groups.
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 27 for Thompson/Center Omega .50-Caliber Z5 Rifle with Starter Kit – Blued/Black
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:November 29, 2006

My First Muzzleloader

By
Location: CA
I purchased a Thompson Center Omega Z5 rifle with starter kit for my first muzzleloader hunt. I chose the Thompson based upon name recognition, the 209 firing system and product reviews I had read in various publications. I was on a budget, and the Omega fit my parameters for performance and value.
The hunt I was drawn for was the M9 Devil's Garden hunt in Modoc National Forest, California. I had been putting in for five years for this hunt. I was very excited.
I went target shooting with the Omega as much as I could. It shot exceptionally well. The fiber optic sights were extremely easy to see, and recoil was minimal, even with a full powder load. The starter kit contained everything I needed to get started, minus the primers and powder.
When the moment of truth finally came, I was ready. On the second day of the hunt, I harvested a nice 5 by 4 Mulie. My father spotted the buck and I stalked to within 80 yards, dropping it with a single shot through the neck. No need for a speed load here! What a great experience! I had so many firsts on this hunt: first muzzle loader buck, first buck with my dad, first California mule deer, and first California public land buck. What a great season! Thank you Cablela's for providing the latest and greatest equipment!
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 28 for Thompson/Center Omega .50-Caliber Z5 Rifle with Starter Kit – Blued/Black
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:November 21, 2006

TC Omega Z5 Rifle

By
Location: ND
The TC Omega Z5 is my first muzzle loader rifle. While carefully researching all of the muzzler loaders available I looked for three main things: First, I wanted it to be capable of using the 209 primer which the TC offers. Second, never owning a muzzle loader before I wanted it to be simple to operate and the TC Omega is just that. The drop down action allows you to load the primer with ease and the windage and site adjustments were very easy to manuver. The TC Omega is also very accurate, and within 4 shots I was shooting a 3" group at a 100 yards using 100 grain powder pellets with a 250 grain sabot. And third, I wanted it to be easy to clean. One presaterated cleaning patch down the barrel followed by a dry patch and I was ready to shoot again. And for a final thorough cleaning the drop down action makes removing the breech plug very accessible and very easy to remove. Cleaning the barrel at that point is a snap. Overall I am very satisfied with my purchase, it is easy to operate, easy to clean and a very enjoyable rifle to shoot. The manual is very well written and explains the operation, care and storage of the TC that anyone can understand. Also of great importance is the DVD that is sent along with the TC Omega Z5 that explains the care and operation for the first time user.
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Viewing 21-28 of 28