Customer Reviews for Thompson/Center Thompson/Center Omega .50-Caliber Z5 Rifle – Blued/Black

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Cabela's.

Thompson/Center Thompson/Center Omega .50-Caliber Z5 Rifle – Blued/Black

TC’s patented pivoting action seals the 209 primer tight, ensuring 100% of the fire from the primer goes into the powder charge. There’s no need for a capper or any other priming system. Just insert the primer into the primer hole and close the breech. The magnum charge capability, up to 150 grains of black powder or Pyrodex®, sends slugs thundering downrange. Quick-Load Accurizer Muzzle System on the 28" blued barrel makes loading easy, and 1-in-28" twist stabilizes sabots for tack-driving accuracy. The black synthetic stock is impervious to the elements and extremely tough for handling the hardest hunts. The pivoting action also makes the Omega easy to clean. There’s no bolt assembly or breech assembly to clean. You don’t have to disassemble it to remove the breech plug. Truglo® fiber-optic inserts in adjustable all-steel sights. Black synthetic stock. Overall length: 42-1/2". Weight: 7-1/4 lbs.
Overall Customer Rating:
4.831 out of 5
4.8
 out of 
5
(71 Reviews) 71
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 71 reviews
5 Stars
64
4 Stars
4
3 Stars
2
2 Stars
0
1 Star
1
69 out of 71(97%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Thompson/Center Omega .50-Caliber Z5 Rifle – Blued/Black
Review 1 for Thompson/Center Omega .50-Caliber Z5 Rifle – Blued/Black
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location: UP of Michigan
Age: 56-65
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

one fine muzzleloader

Date:January 30, 2012
This is my second Thompson Center rifle that I have owned. I have a T/C New Englander and I have had no problems with it. However, last summer (2011) I purchased a new Omega from Cabelas. I bought the Omega for a mule deer hunt in Colorado. In Colorado you must use open sights and I wanted to use a peep sight. I could't find a peep for my New Englander so I bought the Omega. If I knew how nice this gun shot I would have bought one a long time ago. This is truly a fine gun. You will have to get a smaller front sight for the peep to work on the gun. I was shooting tight groups at 135 yards. The guys I was shooting with thought that I shoot alot, I don't. It"s the gun. Thanks Cabelas.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 2 for Thompson/Center Omega .50-Caliber Z5 Rifle – Blued/Black
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

outstanding product

Date:January 11, 2012
Best muzzle loader I have ever used-loads quickly, fires perfectly, and cleans easily
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 3 for Thompson/Center Omega .50-Caliber Z5 Rifle – Blued/Black
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location: southwest Pa.
Age: 56-65
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

wow

Date:June 23, 2011
At 100 yards, this gun outperforms my 30-30 and my 30-06. I had cabelas put the nikon prostaff 2x7 scope on it and I gotta say, wow. It is unbelievably accurate. I hunt in an area where it is shotgun only but they allow in-lines. I am a 1 shot guy anyway so this is perfect. A quarter will cover my shots. I can't believe how accurate it is. At 200 yards it shoots good groups 14 inches low, but a good group. I use 100 grain of powder, don't plan on 200 yard shots but with compensation it will do it. Well made, I own 3 tc's a firestorm, this and a contender, all quality weapons. Buy it.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 4 for Thompson/Center Omega .50-Caliber Z5 Rifle – Blued/Black
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location: Green Bay, Wi
Age: 46-55
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

First Muzzleloader & Last

Date:February 20, 2011
I got an T/C Omega Z5 a couple of weeks ago. I put a Nikon 2x7 on it and then went to the range. After dialing in the scope. I now am shooting 3 shot groups that are touching, can cover all 3 holes with a quarter consistantly. This gun is more accurate than my rimfire lever action rifle. I could not be happier with this T/C gun. Thanks for all the reviews that I read about this gun before purchasing.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 5 for Thompson/Center Omega .50-Caliber Z5 Rifle – Blued/Black
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location: Northeast, Ohio
Age: 26-35
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Another quality product from T/C

Date:February 17, 2011
As you would expect with T/C this gun is accurate and reliable. Easy to operate and shoots very nicely with the fiber optic sights. The base model is a great no frills gun for the price.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 6 for Thompson/Center Omega .50-Caliber Z5 Rifle – Blued/Black
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location: Michigan
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

TC Omega .50 Cal blued/black

Date:April 8, 2010
My 1st muzzle loader. It was accurate at 100yds w/ open sites right out of the box.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 7 for Thompson/Center Omega .50-Caliber Z5 Rifle – Blued/Black
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location: phx,az
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Love it!!!

Date:January 28, 2010
Easy to Load. Great Quality!! Shoots Awesome. Spend a little more money and buy Thompson Center over some of the lower priced guns out there. You wont regret it!!!
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 8 for Thompson/Center Omega .50-Caliber Z5 Rifle – Blued/Black
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location: Michiganiac
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Great gun for the price

Date:January 5, 2010
Every review that I read was positve. Mine is no different. It shot great out of the box. I hope to put a scope on it for next year.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 9 for Thompson/Center Omega .50-Caliber Z5 Rifle – Blued/Black
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location: Grafton, Mass
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Tack Driver

Date:December 15, 2009
Walked in the woods for the first time with this gun...shot a deer 20 minutes later. Accurate, easy to clean and load! Best value for the $$$ out there
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 10 for Thompson/Center Omega .50-Caliber Z5 Rifle – Blued/Black
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location: Bob wisconsin
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

great gun

Date:November 30, 2009
very user friendly gun.Now that gun is sighted inI can't wait to use it this muzzleloader in Wisconsin. Great buy would recommed it
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 11 for Thompson/Center Omega .50-Caliber Z5 Rifle – Blued/Black
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location: kansas
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

thompson center

Date:October 27, 2009
This gun is easy to use and handle. The gun is extremely accurate with just the tru glow sights. My son and I shot the gun about 30 times to practice and then he shot a nice whitetail buck with a 24 inch spread at 40 yards. The buck never moved dropped right were he was standing. We were using Jim Shokey Gold sticks and Hornady XTP Mag bullets
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 12 for Thompson/Center Omega .50-Caliber Z5 Rifle – Blued/Black
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location: Upstate New York
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

kcm73

Date:September 5, 2009
I was pleased with Cabelas price on the gun and the quality of the gun itself.At first I could not get a good group out of it with the Hornady 250 grain XTPs,and tried the .452 300 grain XTPs and the gun became a tack driver.I load the XTPs on top of 120 grains of FF Triple Seven and could not be happier with the gun,load,accuracy and incredible damage it does to deer.I shot 2 deer last fall and the bullets mushroom perfectly and retain nearly all their weight,leaving a huge entry hole,that's right,entry hole.The first deer was hit right at the base of the neck and the bullet traveled all the way through the body cavity and lodged in the upper rear leg,the deer dropping in place ,flopping for a moment and then dying quickly.The second was hit broadside,ran about 50 yards and dropped,the entry hole was about the size of a large egg but the bullet was not recovered.I could not be more satisfied with the Omega Z5 and it's performance with the 300 grain XTPs.The gun is easy to clean,and a quality piece ,I would like to buy a second one for friends to use.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 13 for Thompson/Center Omega .50-Caliber Z5 Rifle – Blued/Black
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location: Northwest Colorado
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

T/C Omega

Date:August 24, 2009
Simple, accurate, awesome. This muzzleloader is the perfect choice for ease of use and accuracy when using T/C maxiball bullets and Triple Seven powder.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 14 for Thompson/Center Omega .50-Caliber Z5 Rifle – Blued/Black
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location: Richmond, Indiana
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Top of the line.

Date:August 8, 2009
I just bought one of these because I wasnt to happy with my CVA i have been using plus one of my buddys has one with a thumphold stock that shot 250yrds with ease so I knew i had to grap one. I took it out the other day sighted it in with IMR White hots and a 250 gr. Shockwave and I had .5" groups at 100yrds. But i wanted it one inch high so i did and i went out at 250yrds and was one the money i highly recommened anything Thompson Center puts out!
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 15 for Thompson/Center Omega .50-Caliber Z5 Rifle – Blued/Black
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location: St. George, UT
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Great Gun For The Cost

Date:March 19, 2009
This is my first blackpowder gun and I am not disappointed. I've only sighted it in at 50 yards but I am shooting a group you could cover with a $.50 piece. I can't wait to hunt with it this year.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 16 for Thompson/Center Omega .50-Caliber Z5 Rifle – Blued/Black
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location: Janesville, Wisconsin
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

great bang for your buck

Date:January 26, 2009
got the gun the day the late deer season closed, had enough time to sit,but not sight the gun. i loaded it with a 223 grain bullet and 90 grains of powder. i shot a doe right in the heart where i was aiming. i'm not touching the sights or adding a scope
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 17 for Thompson/Center Omega .50-Caliber Z5 Rifle – Blued/Black
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

dependble

Date:January 19, 2009
I bought this gun thinking it would be a good gun thats an understatement the day I got it it was raining but right out of the box useing 2 tripple seven pellets and a shockwave in the rain I still mangedge to hit a pop can at 75 yards off hand!
with the first shot! this gun is amazeing!
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 18 for Thompson/Center Omega .50-Caliber Z5 Rifle – Blued/Black
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location: Pompton Lakes , New Jersey
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Such a great rifle!!!!!

Date:January 18, 2009
This was my first muzzleloader. Accurate right out of the box. Easy to clean. Easy to learn how to use. Great with shockwave sabots. The guys from thompson center did an awesome job. My dads friends reccomended it and i would reccoment it to anyone to.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 19 for Thompson/Center Omega .50-Caliber Z5 Rifle – Blued/Black
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location: columbus,OH
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

thompson center omega

Date:November 27, 2008
I put a scope on this gun a week before the youth season in ohio and went and shot it at 50 yards and got it dialed in so that it was two inches high at fifty yards. On the second day of the youth season a decent size deer which ended up being a button buck ran down the hill and he stopped at 92 yards. I put the crosshairs on the heart area and pulled the trigger and after the smoke cleared i sall alot of blood coming out of his side. The deer only went 30 yards and fell over. This is my first muzzleloader and it was the first time that i had hunted with it. I only use 100 grains of powder and a 250 grain shockwave bullet. This gun shoots very tight groups at 50 yards but i have not got the chance to shoot at 100 yards but i think that it will group very tight from a bench. I think that if i loaded the gun with 150 grains of powder that this gun could easily take a deer at 200 hundred yards or more. I am going to put my slug gun in the gun case and only use my omega becuase i feel more confident with this gun with one shot than i do with my shotgun with three shots. This gun is very easy to clean and the accuracy dosn't change if you don't clean it after each shot. This is the best muzzleloader for the money.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 20 for Thompson/Center Omega .50-Caliber Z5 Rifle – Blued/Black
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Very reliable

Date:November 20, 2008
This muzzleloader is very accurate out of the box. When I got
the gun I shot three times at 50 yards and had a very good
group.It fits the shoulder very well. It does not kick very
hard. Its very easy to clean. Works well with a shockwave
sabot.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
ReviewQuestion 1-20 of 71