Customer Reviews for Thompson/Center Thompson/Center Omega .50-Caliber Z5 Rifle – Blued/Black

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Cabela's.

Thompson/Center Thompson/Center Omega .50-Caliber Z5 Rifle – Blued/Black

TC’s patented pivoting action seals the 209 primer tight, ensuring 100% of the fire from the primer goes into the powder charge. There’s no need for a capper or any other priming system. Just insert the primer into the primer hole and close the breech. The magnum charge capability, up to 150 grains of black powder or Pyrodex®, sends slugs thundering downrange. Quick-Load Accurizer Muzzle System on the 28" blued barrel makes loading easy, and 1-in-28" twist stabilizes sabots for tack-driving accuracy. The black synthetic stock is impervious to the elements and extremely tough for handling the hardest hunts. The pivoting action also makes the Omega easy to clean. There’s no bolt assembly or breech assembly to clean. You don’t have to disassemble it to remove the breech plug. Truglo® fiber-optic inserts in adjustable all-steel sights. Black synthetic stock. Overall length: 42-1/2". Weight: 7-1/4 lbs.
Overall Customer Rating:
4.831 out of 5
4.8
 out of 
5
(71 Reviews) 71
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 71 reviews
5 Stars
64
4 Stars
4
3 Stars
2
2 Stars
0
1 Star
1
69 out of 71(97%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Thompson/Center Omega .50-Caliber Z5 Rifle – Blued/Black
Review 41 for Thompson/Center Omega .50-Caliber Z5 Rifle – Blued/Black
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

T/C Omega

Date:November 28, 2007
I purchased this rifle to use during the 2007 blackpowder season and I must admit I was really amazed by the accuracy of this rifle. Topped with a Nikon 3-9x40 Pro Staff scope, 100 grains of 777 powder and a 250 grain Shockwave bullet, this combination provided the accuracy of most centerfire rifles. I was able to harvest a decent 6-pointer at 150 yard shot. I have told friends of mine who could not believe this from a muzzleloader and proved to them at 150 yards my bullet was only 1½ low when sighted in at 1" high at 100 yards. Thanks Cabelas for providing an excellent product at an excellent price.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 42 for Thompson/Center Omega .50-Caliber Z5 Rifle – Blued/Black
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location: NW TN
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Great Rifle

Date:November 13, 2007
This gun does everything a hunter needs. Most importantly it is very accurate. 120 grains of 777 and 250 grain shockwave are the ticket through my new gun.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 43 for Thompson/Center Omega .50-Caliber Z5 Rifle – Blued/Black
Overall Customer Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Location: Wisconsin
Would you recommend this product to a friend? No

Great Gun - w/ a BIG PROBLEM

Date:November 4, 2007
I purchased this rifle with high hopes and excitement to use it in the upcoming season. However, a big problem on a small component has let me down. The gun seems great...however, the extended jag which comes with the gun and must be used to load and clean the gun - is flawed. I have broken (2) of them in the past week due to the jag breaking at the base of the threads where it is screwed into the ramrod. I hadn't shot more than a dozen rounds (cleaning between each shot!) when the first broke while loading a bullet - the second broke after firing another 2 rounds and I was just pushing a cleaning pad down the barrel. Needless to say both issues shortened my day at the range and my rifle is still not sighted in. This is ridiculous and unacceptable. I don't know what I will do from here, buying another one seems like a waste of money, yet the gun is rendered useless without it...I sent an email to TC - we'll see what they have to say.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 44 for Thompson/Center Omega .50-Caliber Z5 Rifle – Blued/Black
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location: Steuben County, NY
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Amazing Gun

Date:October 30, 2007
Had this gun out shooting two days after it showed up on my door. Took 4 shots to get the scope adjusted into the bullseye at 100 yds. Refreshed the target and fired three more shots, two touching, and one 1/4" to the right. I've never seen this kind of accuracy from a muzzleloader before.
Gun shoots very well when cleaned between shots, and when fired three times in a row without cleaning (allthough it does make it a bit tougher to get the sabot down the bore.)
I'm sure there will be those who disagree, but I found my best results with 100 gr. of 777 pellets and a 250 gr. Hornaday SST sabot. (tough to load, but incredibly accurate) I'm looking forward to trying out Hornaday's new easy load SST sabot.
Amazing gun at an amazing price, what more can you ask for?
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 45 for Thompson/Center Omega .50-Caliber Z5 Rifle – Blued/Black
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location: Bennington, NH
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Great product

Date:October 27, 2007
Out of the box this gun was right on. Took it to my local sand pit to sight it in, dead on off a rest and off hand at 50 yards. At 75-100 yards, same results. Loading was quick and painless, swabbed barrel between shots to make it easier. Not having hunted with a muzzleloader for nearly 25 years, this gun is quite an improvement over the traditional gun I used back then. Can't wait until opening day next week. With the price and overall quality of this gun, you can't go wrong !!
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 46 for Thompson/Center Omega .50-Caliber Z5 Rifle – Blued/Black
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location: louisa virginia
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

very nice

Date:October 23, 2007
the omega is a great gun, very easy to load, shoot and clean.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 47 for Thompson/Center Omega .50-Caliber Z5 Rifle – Blued/Black
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

omega

Date:October 22, 2007
Great Gun.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 48 for Thompson/Center Omega .50-Caliber Z5 Rifle – Blued/Black
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

tc omega z5 rifle starter kit

Date:October 19, 2007
I did a lot of research before the purchase of my first black powder rifle. I shot several brands of muzzleloaders and finally decided to go with the Omega Z5. It was a little more than I wanted to spend initially but I caught it on sale at Cabela's. What a great decision! I bought the leupold rifleman scope mount to fit the 4x12 40mm rifleman scope and had it shooting 1 inch groups at 100 yards. 2 triple 7 (50 grain) pellets and tc shockwave 240grain ammo. Two days into black powder season I took my first deer. I would recommend from experience to go ahead and spend a little more for one of the Thompson Center rifles, you won't be dissappointed. It is really as easy to load and shoot as the commercials you see on tv and it comes with a really good instructional video.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 49 for Thompson/Center Omega .50-Caliber Z5 Rifle – Blued/Black
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location: Eastern Shore, MD
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

100 yard accuarcy out of the box

Date:October 14, 2007
I love my Omega! Did a lot of research to replace my chainstore special imported sidelock. I use iron sights only and at range today hit the bull at 105 yards on my 3rd shot! Starting out with T/C Shockwaves 250 grain then switched to T/C Maxi-Hunters 350 grain and hit bull with 2nd shot! These kick hard but massive destruction compared to sabots. Loading and cleaning a snap. Breech plug tool wrong size but 7/16 socket much better to use anyway. Contacted T/C and they are sending me correct one. Great customer service too. Buy American, spend the money, and you will not be disappointed. (By the way, giving sidelock to local bar to hang on their wall as a decoration).
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 50 for Thompson/Center Omega .50-Caliber Z5 Rifle – Blued/Black
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location: Chico, Ca.
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

awesome

Date:October 14, 2007
I've been using the Omega for 4 years and it's preformed every year. We have 5 hunters in my party using it and we've all been extremely impressed with the Omega.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 51 for Thompson/Center Omega .50-Caliber Z5 Rifle – Blued/Black
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location: Corinth, NY
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Great rifle

Date:October 5, 2007
Bought the TC Omega and what a great rifle. Shot good groups out of the box and only had to tweak the elevation a little bit. Definately the best inline for the price.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 52 for Thompson/Center Omega .50-Caliber Z5 Rifle – Blued/Black
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

great gun - great price

Date:October 2, 2007
Great gun to shoot and clean. Everything i was told about T.C. guns was correct. Very well made compared to some others I have seen.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 53 for Thompson/Center Omega .50-Caliber Z5 Rifle – Blued/Black
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location: Arkansas
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

TC Omega

Date:September 21, 2007
The best bang for the buck gun I have ever purchased. Easy to clean and was shooting 1 inch groups within 5 shots.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 54 for Thompson/Center Omega .50-Caliber Z5 Rifle – Blued/Black
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location: Philadelphia, PA
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Shoots great right out of the box!

Date:September 11, 2007
The 1st time I used the omega z5 I was on a 1oo yard range and had just taken it out of the box. I didn't even put on a scope, just wanted to test out the factory iron sights. They light up very well and @ 100 yds with no adjustments made to the factory settings I put 5 shockwaves in a 3 inch group just low of the 10 ring. I love this gun and would recommend it to anyone. The breach seals flawlessly and clean up is a cinch.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 55 for Thompson/Center Omega .50-Caliber Z5 Rifle – Blued/Black
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location: Los Angeles, CA
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Big Thumbs Up

Date:September 10, 2007
I have been shooting my Omega Z5 for a little over a month. The design is clean and Elegant, a hardy weapon for hunting big and medium game. Easy to clean and take apart in the field if necessary. I am eagerly waiting for hunting season to begin.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 56 for Thompson/Center Omega .50-Caliber Z5 Rifle – Blued/Black
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location: Price, UT
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Sweet

Date:August 20, 2007
The gun is great, great feel, strong engineering and pretty tight groups. I also purchased the Pine Ridge 1x Scope, great optic for the price. The best accuracy was achieved with the variflame primers from Cabelas that use a lot less power to ensure that all of the powder burns before exiting the barrel. Great deal with a free knife to boot!!
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 57 for Thompson/Center Omega .50-Caliber Z5 Rifle – Blued/Black
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

TC Omega Z5

Date:August 19, 2007
This is one of my favorite guns. It's accurate, rugged, reliable, and simple. It can easily achieve 1/2 inch accuracy at 50 yards.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 58 for Thompson/Center Omega .50-Caliber Z5 Rifle – Blued/Black
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location: Nebraska
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

T/C Omega Z5

Date:July 18, 2007
This is by far the best muzzleloading rifle I have ever owned. The fiber-optic sights are easy to aim with, particularly in low-light situations. By using the drop-breech action, the Omega gives quick, easy access to the breech plug for tool-free priming and simplified cleaning. Swivel studs are pre-installed from the factory, and make putting on a sling or bipod a breeze. With the QLA (Quick Load Accurizer) Muzzle System, I can load without a bullet starter. It also means I can count on the bullet staying aligned properly with the barrel while ramming so there's no chance of that bullet tipping, giving me maximum accuracy in turn. If you want a quality muzzleloader for an affordable price, the Omega is the only way to go!
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 59 for Thompson/Center Omega .50-Caliber Z5 Rifle – Blued/Black
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

As expected

Date:July 9, 2007
I expected to get a high quality muzzleloader from Thompson Center and I did. I have not shot it much, only a dozen or so rounds, but from what I have seen so far it shoots well. I'm still playing around trying to find what it shoots best.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 60 for Thompson/Center Omega .50-Caliber Z5 Rifle – Blued/Black
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location: Hancock Wisconsin
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

T/C Omega

Date:June 26, 2007
Being new to muzzle loading I didnt know what to expect.Just went to the range to season the barrel,not caring to much about accurracy.Loaded 70 grains of 777,patch and round ball and fired away.Around shot number 10 I was curious to see where I was hitting.At 100 yards the round balls were about 4" apart left to right and dead on up and down!!!This was with no rest!!Cant wait to zero it in later this summer for Hunting.Very pleased with offhand accuracy and the ease in wich this gun cleaned.Great intro to muzzle loading pice too!!!
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
ReviewQuestion 41-60 of 71