Customer Reviews for THOMPSON/CENTER Thompson/Center Omega .50 Cal Muzzleloader with Thumbhole Stock

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Cabela's.

THOMPSON/CENTER Thompson/Center Omega .50 Cal Muzzleloader with Thumbhole Stock

The reliability and easy cleaning of Thompson/Center’s patented pivoting breech design is now available with a Realtree Hardwoods HD® composite thumbhole stock and a 28" Hardwoods camo barrel for enhanced all-weather performance. Pick up this .50-caliber muzzleloader and you’ll be amazed by its natural balance and the way the stock cradles your thumb in a stable shooting position. The pivoting breech design completely seals the 209 primer within the breech for flawless protection from the elements and 100% positive ignition. When it’s time to clean, there’s no breech assembly to remove and scrub. Adjustable steel sights with fiber-optic inserts. Barrel length: 28". Overall length: 42". Weight: 7-1/2 lbs. Camo Pattern: Realtree Hardwoods HD® .
Overall Customer Rating:
4.829 out of 5
4.8
 out of 
5
(41 Reviews) 41
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 41 reviews
5 Stars
35
4 Stars
5
3 Stars
1
2 Stars
0
1 Star
0
41 out of 41(100%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Thompson/Center Omega .50 Cal Muzzleloader with Thumbhole Stock
Review 1 for Thompson/Center Omega .50 Cal Muzzleloader with Thumbhole Stock
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Country: United States
State: California
Age: 46-55
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

center fire

Date:May 21, 2013
this is my first black powder rifle. it was easy to use fun to shoot and the best was the ease of cleaning.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 2 for Thompson/Center Omega .50 Cal Muzzleloader with Thumbhole Stock
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Country: United States
State: Arkansas
Age: 26-35
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Very nice muzzle loader

Date:May 14, 2013
Great muzzle loader at a great price.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 3 for Thompson/Center Omega .50 Cal Muzzleloader with Thumbhole Stock
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Country: United States
State: Arkansas
Age: 26-35
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Incredible

Date:December 11, 2012
This is the the creme of the crop muzzleloader. I'll never buy anything but a Thompson Center for muzzleloading. The thumbhole stock is also a must and drastically will increase your control and accuracy. Get this gun over any others.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 4 for Thompson/Center Omega .50 Cal Muzzleloader with Thumbhole Stock
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Country: United States
State: Texas
Age: 56-65
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

thompson omega thumbhole

Date:October 31, 2012
extremly accurat. easy loading . very reliable
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 5 for Thompson/Center Omega .50 Cal Muzzleloader with Thumbhole Stock
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Country: United States
State: Tennessee
Age: 36-45
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Can't go wrong

Date:October 15, 2012
I have always been a fan of Thompson Center and own several of their side locks. I read the reviews on this particular Omega and just had to give it a try. Topped with a Leupold muzzleloader scope, this setup is a real tack driver. The camo finish and thumb-hole stock help make this an unbeatable package.
Looking forward to hitting the woods on November 3rd!
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 6 for Thompson/Center Omega .50 Cal Muzzleloader with Thumbhole Stock
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Country: United States
State: Virginia
Age: 46-55
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

bad to the bone

Date:May 5, 2012
this thumbhole stock omega .is BAD TO THE BONE in everyway.very accurate..at 100yds with the 250 g. shockwaves.. shot 5 shots 1st shot 1/4'' high next 4. dead on bullseye.clipping holes.un real, straight out of the box. open sights. this is by far one heck of a muzzeloader.
.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 7 for Thompson/Center Omega .50 Cal Muzzleloader with Thumbhole Stock
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location: Lamar, CO
Age: 26-35
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

One of the best of the Market!

Date:January 14, 2012
The 28 inch barrel really shoots flat and the thumbhole stock is really comfortable. You can't go wrong with this gun!!!
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 8 for Thompson/Center Omega .50 Cal Muzzleloader with Thumbhole Stock
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location: IL
Age: 26-35
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Tack Driver

Date:January 14, 2012
High-vis open sights are nice, but had to adjust rear sight all the way down (almost off), so it needs a scope. Best shot grouping with T/C magnum express sabots and two 777 magnum pellets, (red box). Would never trade that thumbhole stock- love it.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 9 for Thompson/Center Omega .50 Cal Muzzleloader with Thumbhole Stock
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location: Missouri
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Can't quit smoking

Date:January 12, 2012
The Omega is well balanced and a great shooter. So good I have yet to scope it. The sights are amazing and it is a breeze to break down and clean. Money well spent.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 10 for Thompson/Center Omega .50 Cal Muzzleloader with Thumbhole Stock
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location: Petersburg, MI
Age: 56-65
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

My favorite gun

Date:January 9, 2012
I love this gun!! I fits me like a glove with hunting clothes on. It is very accurate, the trigger pull is sweet.
It's easy to clean and it's really light to carry in the field.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 11 for Thompson/Center Omega .50 Cal Muzzleloader with Thumbhole Stock
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location: SW Minnesota
Age: 46-55
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Quality Item

Date:January 14, 2011
Basically the Omega met all expectations. I had received feedback from fellow sportman advising me to purchase an Omega. The gun has been everything I would expect - Thanks
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 12 for Thompson/Center Omega .50 Cal Muzzleloader with Thumbhole Stock
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location: Voluntown, CT
Age: 46-55
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Simply the Best ML Ever

Date:January 5, 2011
I bought this ML 2 years ago, and it has been simply the best gun I've ever owned! I use 100gr. of Triple7, along with a .250gr T/C Shockwave, and I have dropped 5 deer in 2 years with this gun in their tracks.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 13 for Thompson/Center Omega .50 Cal Muzzleloader with Thumbhole Stock
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location: Colby, Ks
Age: 26-35
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Thompson/Center Omega .50-Caliber Thumbhole Rifle

Date:September 9, 2010
The Thompson/Center Omega .50-Caliber Thumbhole Rifle is great. Loaded it with 150 grains of powder and shot 150 grain bullets. I shot group of three othat would fit inside of golf ball at 100 yards, I sighted it in one inch high at 100 yards and only cleaned it every 12 shots. At 200 yards I shot a group of three and the were within 7 inches of eachother. It dropped only 4 inches between one and two hundred yards.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 14 for Thompson/Center Omega .50 Cal Muzzleloader with Thumbhole Stock
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location: Batesville, AR
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

T/C OMEGA

Date:January 9, 2010
Best gun I have ever owned I hunt whitetail and it drops them in there tracks!
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 15 for Thompson/Center Omega .50 Cal Muzzleloader with Thumbhole Stock
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location: Powhatan,Virginia
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

OMEGA .50CAL

Date:November 26, 2009
IT IS THE FIRST AND LAST MUZZLELOADER I WILL EVER OWN!! I SHOOT 3 WHITE HOTS AND A 250 SHOCKWAVE BONDED BULLET!ANYTHING IN FRONT OF IT BETTER GET OUT THE WAY!! AWESOME!!!!
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 16 for Thompson/Center Omega .50 Cal Muzzleloader with Thumbhole Stock
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location: Windham NH
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Can't beat Thompson Center

Date:March 18, 2009
This is a great black powder rifle. I am new to black powder but everyone (new and old) that has shot this gun loves it. I have converted my father in-law LONGTIME knight owner over to omega and that was just with 2 days of shooting. I bought the Camo Thumbhole Omega with the stainless barrel, the Sims recoil pad, Power t Handle from Thompson, and the Nikon Omega scope and I couldn't be happier. I went to the range dialed it in at 100 yards (6 shots) and I am ready to go. I called Thompson about the DVD and the breach plug and they sent me new ones free of charge. I received them in 2 days (although I live in NH). I use the Triple 7 with the shockwave and it is accurate and fun to shoot.
I went to the range with an buddy that has an omega without the Sims recoil pad and what a difference. I shot all day 50 rounds or so and felt great he had a big old bruise on his arm. Well worth the investment in Thompson will get right back to you over email and/or on the phone. The buddy mentioned above when out and dropped the gun and a little crack formed on the but end they took the gun in put a new stock, new trigger assembly and cleaned up the barrel for nothing. It is unbelievable to have a company stand behind there product. I would certainly recommend the omega to anyone looking.
The Nikon scope with BDC redical is unreal dial in at 100 yards and let the good time roll. As a package this was a lot more than I wanted to spend but man I am I happy I did. Also the T-Handle is great. I thought it was wasted money but you get the leverage without beating up on your hands.
Also I read about the thumbhole beating up your thumb not an issue. I had shoulder surgery so I went with the thumbhole and I love it. My wife shoots it as well and she loves it as well.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 17 for Thompson/Center Omega .50 Cal Muzzleloader with Thumbhole Stock
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location: Front Royal VA
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Great Rifle

Date:February 17, 2009
This rifle is great, if you want a 50 cal. it is a rifle for you, I shot it only one day so far but I can not wait until I get the time to shoot more. The triger is great and the thumb hole is the key to this rifle. I look at all type of rifle and I am glad I pick this one. So far I shot it in at 100 yards and the grouping is about 1 inch with 100 GR. of triple seven and a 240 GR XPT bullet. I hope this help you if you are looking for a TC rifle
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 18 for Thompson/Center Omega .50 Cal Muzzleloader with Thumbhole Stock
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location: Freesoil, Michigan
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

T/C omega

Date:January 1, 2009
Love it. using triple 7 125 grains with a t/c shockwave sabot and shoot 1 1/2 inch groups at 100 yards. paired it with a nikon prostaff scope 3-9x40. excellent gun easy to clean and love the hardwoods camo. i would recommend it to anyone who needs a comfortable reliable and overall simole muzzleloader.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 19 for Thompson/Center Omega .50 Cal Muzzleloader with Thumbhole Stock
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location: Chester, Virginia
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Great Buy

Date:October 22, 2008
The Camo Hardwoods ThumbHole Omega is the most accurate black powder rifle right out of the box I have ever experienced. I can not beleive how comfortable this gun is, with it's weight at only 7 lbs., it is so easy to bring to your shoulder, aim, and squeeze the trigger.
I wish I had purchased one earlier.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 20 for Thompson/Center Omega .50 Cal Muzzleloader with Thumbhole Stock
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location: Indiana
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

TC Omega

Date:October 15, 2008
This is one of the finest rifles that I have ever owned. I can't wait to hunt with it. I do not recomend useing the (Shockwave
sabbots) as you will need a hammer in the field with you to load the darn things. I have muzzleloader hunted since 1974 and have never experanced anything like them. In fact I am
sending them back to Thompson Center.
Also the CD was so warped that it will not play.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
ReviewQuestion 1-20 of 41