Customer Reviews for CVA CVA Wolf™ 209 Magnum .50-cal. Rifle – Blued/Black

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Cabela's.

CVA CVA Wolf™ 209 Magnum .50-cal. Rifle – Blued/Black

The Wolf? 209 Magnum combines the simplicity and reliability of a break-open action rifle with the proven design of the Optima frame, then adds Illuminator fiber-optic sights, a ventilated recoil pad and other features to create a durable, versatile and accurate muzzleloading firearm. This .50-caliber rifle comes with a blued barrel and black composite stock and features the quality and reliability CVA is famous for in a compact model. Barrel: 24" Blued. Total length: 39-1/2''. Weight: 6-3/4 lbs. Available: .50 caliber.
Overall Customer Rating:
4.481 out of 5
4.5
 out of 
5
(131 Reviews) 131
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 131 reviews
5 Stars
85
4 Stars
35
3 Stars
3
2 Stars
5
1 Star
3
121 out of 131(92%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for CVA Wolf™ 209 Magnum .50-cal. Rifle – Blued/Black
Review 1 for CVA Wolf™ 209 Magnum .50-cal. Rifle – Blued/Black
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:January 18, 2010

cva wolf

By
Location: Desloge, Mo.
the cva wolf is a very easy muzzle loader to operate. i got mine and i went sighted it in with shots i cleaned it that night and went hunting the next weekend and killed a nine point at 85 yard dead heart shot over all the cva wolf is about the best muzzle loader by far for the price and it is not heavy to pack to your blind or stand
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 2 for CVA Wolf™ 209 Magnum .50-cal. Rifle – Blued/Black
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:January 18, 2010

great for the price

By
Location: cleveland ohio
bought as a christmas gift for my son. only took 5 shots to zero in. easy to clean and light to cary.
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 3 for CVA Wolf™ 209 Magnum .50-cal. Rifle – Blued/Black
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:January 15, 2010

CVA Wolf

By
Location: Virginia
Great little gun for the money. Simple, accurate, well-made, easy to clean.
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 4 for CVA Wolf™ 209 Magnum .50-cal. Rifle – Blued/Black
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:January 11, 2010

cva wolf .50

By
Location: Midwest
Easy to carry in the brush, accurate with the
factory sights, and very simple to clean and maintain.
Good all around field gun.
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 5 for CVA Wolf™ 209 Magnum .50-cal. Rifle – Blued/Black
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:January 11, 2010

the gun that gets it done!

By
Location: Hurricane, WV
A great value and a great gun all in one! Took two adjustments to get it dialed in for me, open sights, dead center at 75 yards. Two 777 50 gr pellets, 295 gr Powerbelt hollowpoints. Dropped a doe 1st trip out. Fun to shoot and easier to clean than the old patch and ball. Bought a T handle to help with the ramrod length and to make it easier to grip.
Very happy with the gun.
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 6 for CVA Wolf™ 209 Magnum .50-cal. Rifle – Blued/Black
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:January 11, 2010

oh yea

By
Location: Van Wert Ohio
Shoots great right out of box...
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 7 for CVA Wolf™ 209 Magnum .50-cal. Rifle – Blued/Black
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:January 7, 2010

First muzzleloader CVA Wolf

By
Location: Southeastern Ohio
I bought this on sale from Cabela's about 15 months ago. I've never hunted white-tail deer before, but wanted to give it a try after moving to southeast Ohio. I've been completely satisfied. This rifle is easy to load, handle, and clean. I've tried a half dozen different bullets, all with acceptable results, but at this point I hunt with 100 gr Blackhorn 209, Hornady 240 gr XTP Mag sabots and Winchester 209 primers. Six shots, six cleanly killed deer in 2 seasons. Very lethal wounds in every case. I am confident out to 100 yards, but haven't experimented with accuracy beyond that range. I mounted a cheap Tasco scope to help my aging eyesight, and feel I have a very competent package at a very reasonable cost. A great value. Could have spent more, but the freezer is full so don't see the need.
It would be fun if a Cabela's location were closer, but online ordering and service have been flawless.
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 8 for CVA Wolf™ 209 Magnum .50-cal. Rifle – Blued/Black
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:January 5, 2010

Good brush gun

By
Location: Marcell, Mn.
First time ever with a muzzle-loader. I still hunt in heavy brush, and this gun is just what I was looking for. Easy to use and simple to clean and very accurate.
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 9 for CVA Wolf™ 209 Magnum .50-cal. Rifle – Blued/Black
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:January 4, 2010

awsome

By
Location: Hillsboro, Mo
I took it out of the box mounted a scope and was drilling bullseyes one after another from 100 yds and it is easy to use and easy to clean. This rifle was an excellent buy.
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 10 for CVA Wolf™ 209 Magnum .50-cal. Rifle – Blued/Black
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:January 4, 2010

cva wolf muzzleloader

By
Location: Tennessee
boys you cannot go wrong with this little gun. light,easy to handle and a nail driver too. great gun...
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 11 for CVA Wolf™ 209 Magnum .50-cal. Rifle – Blued/Black
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:January 1, 2010

Good gun for home defense

By
Location: New york city
i bought this rifle for home defense in nyc it is impossible to buy any modern firearm if you are under 21 and i am very satisfied with it the rifle it is not too big looks scary and the stopping power is tremoundous i strongly recommend this rifle for people who live in areas with strict gun control laws
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 12 for CVA Wolf™ 209 Magnum .50-cal. Rifle – Blued/Black
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:December 31, 2009

CVA Wolf

By
Location: Iowa, King of Whitetails
I just bought a CVA wolf from Cabela's and have to express that their costumer service is second to none! They were the most friendly, most knowledgable and most willing to work with a challenging costumer as myself. I had a situation were I was needing my brother in law to pick up my new smoke pole for me and he was not goint to be able to pick up the gun for me until about 12 days after I orgianally wanted it. This was due to severe weather here in Iowa and Minnesota. Well, they worked with me, made the right suggestions and we ended up getting me the gun without having to put it on back order. The CVA wolf is great for a beginner and after doing plenty of research, I would suggest the Hornaday SST 250 grain pullet or T/C shockwaves, with 3 - 50 grains of powder of 777 powder. Not only will this set up a solid harvest for a whitetail, it will also take care of any possible issues with your sabot not mushrooming correctly, as some people have expressed. Also, in Iowa and Minnesota it gets fairly cold (-40 wind chill), and I would suggest getting a Mad Bomber hat and a whidshear sweater from Cabelas and you won't be sorry. It will keep you very warm but none the less, be sure to layer! Good luck, and Cabela's thank you for your amazing costumer service!
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 13 for CVA Wolf™ 209 Magnum .50-cal. Rifle – Blued/Black
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:December 31, 2009

Unbelievable, but you better belive it!

By
Location: Farmland, Indiana
CVA Wolf +Triple 7 pellets 100 gr. + Powerbelt aero tip .295 gr. + Winchester 209 primers + Bushnell Trophy DOA 250 3 X 9 X 40 scope = 1 inch groups at 100 yards, all for around $250.00, UNBELIEVABLE! Puts my $1,200.00 12 ga. rifled slug gun to shame:(
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 14 for CVA Wolf™ 209 Magnum .50-cal. Rifle – Blued/Black
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:December 30, 2009

Nice black powder for the money

By
Nice rifle. I am new to black powder. This is easy to use and clean up with triple 7 powder pellets. Great starter.
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 15 for CVA Wolf™ 209 Magnum .50-cal. Rifle – Blued/Black
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:December 30, 2009

This Muzzleloader drops them in their tracks!!!!!!

By
Location: Fort Morgan, CO
Purchased two CVA Wolf Muzzleloaders on December 16th 2009, one for myself & one for my brother in laws xmas gift. Out of the box both guns were sighted in at 25 yards, grouping all three bullets 1/2 inch from each other. One Wolf is scoped and the other open sights. With adjustments to both the next three rounds produced the same results. After final adjustments we grouped all 6 rounds in the bullseye, moved back to 100 yards had same results of groupings. We were shooting 295 gr Powerbelt aero tip bullets, 60 grs of pyrodex RS power, and Winchester 209 primers.
After that we loaded up the camper headed to Nebraska with our doe/buck tags for unit 22 on December 27th 2009. With the CVA Wolf's, powerbelts, pyrodex, and primers we harvested 4 mule deer on December 28th. 3 deer where taken from 60-80 yards and walked 10 steps and were DONE!!!! 1 deer was taken at 150 yards walked 10 steps and was DONE!!!!
I really LOVE my CVA and am ready to buy another one to use with open sights for states that dont allow scopes. Thank you Cabelas for carrying such good products and your service has been out of this World!!!!!
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 16 for CVA Wolf™ 209 Magnum .50-cal. Rifle – Blued/Black
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:December 21, 2009

Out of the box

By
Location: Central Vermont
I got this in and took it out of the box right away i pulled up on a target at 100 yards and hit just i little on the high side due to my aiming. I am interested in trying the new powerbelted bullets for a .50 cal rather than a conventional sabot but with the conventional i was right on the money @ 100 yards out of the box with 100 gr. of Triple seven pellets behind the sabot. Very pleased with my experience with this rifle.
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 17 for CVA Wolf™ 209 Magnum .50-cal. Rifle – Blued/Black
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:December 7, 2009

Great Value

By
Location: Kansas City, Mo
I have had the CVA Optima for a little over a year. Bought this Wolf as a gift for Dad. Seems to me like this is an Optima with 2 inch shorter barrel and a reworked narrower stock. Maybe not as nice a finish as the Optima but seems to have all the function. Great rifle for the price.
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 18 for CVA Wolf™ 209 Magnum .50-cal. Rifle – Blued/Black
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:November 29, 2009

Wolf™ 209 Magnum .50-cal. Rifle

By
Location: Dayton ME
A very high quality product for the money. At thirty yards I get a one inch group with the open sights.
Thanks CVA
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 19 for CVA Wolf™ 209 Magnum .50-cal. Rifle – Blued/Black
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:November 24, 2009

.50 cal. cva wolf

By
Location: omaha, nebraska
the gun works great and is easy to clean. it shoots straight and gives you a nice big push with the magnum load (150 grains). I like to shoot it. I have used "hornady low-drag" sabots so far and they seem to work fine but I am trying powerbelts next, so we'll see how they'll shoot. this gun definately will get the job done and I haven't got to spend a whole bunch of money to do it.
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 20 for CVA Wolf™ 209 Magnum .50-cal. Rifle – Blued/Black
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:November 10, 2009

Good for the price

By
Location: Iowa
A good, inexpensive, reliable muzzleloader for the beginner. Nice fiber-optic sites and a break-action for easy cleaning. Very similar to my CVA Optima Mag for about 1/3 of the price. The Wolf is an excellent product for the price.
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Viewing 1-20 of 131