Customer Reviews for CVA CVA Wolf™ 209 Magnum .50-cal. Rifle – Blued/Black

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Cabela's.

CVA CVA Wolf™ 209 Magnum .50-cal. Rifle – Blued/Black

The Wolf? 209 Magnum combines the simplicity and reliability of a break-open action rifle with the proven design of the Optima frame, then adds Illuminator fiber-optic sights, a ventilated recoil pad and other features to create a durable, versatile and accurate muzzleloading firearm. This .50-caliber rifle comes with a blued barrel and black composite stock and features the quality and reliability CVA is famous for in a compact model. Barrel: 24" Blued. Total length: 39-1/2''. Weight: 6-3/4 lbs. Available: .50 caliber.
Overall Customer Rating:
4.481 out of 5
4.5
 out of 
5
(131 Reviews) 131
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 131 reviews
5 Stars
85
4 Stars
35
3 Stars
3
2 Stars
5
1 Star
3
121 out of 131(92%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for CVA Wolf™ 209 Magnum .50-cal. Rifle – Blued/Black
Review 1 for CVA Wolf™ 209 Magnum .50-cal. Rifle – Blued/Black
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location: Desloge, Mo.
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

cva wolf

Date:January 18, 2010
the cva wolf is a very easy muzzle loader to operate. i got mine and i went sighted it in with shots i cleaned it that night and went hunting the next weekend and killed a nine point at 85 yard dead heart shot over all the cva wolf is about the best muzzle loader by far for the price and it is not heavy to pack to your blind or stand
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 2 for CVA Wolf™ 209 Magnum .50-cal. Rifle – Blued/Black
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location: cleveland ohio
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

great for the price

Date:January 18, 2010
bought as a christmas gift for my son. only took 5 shots to zero in. easy to clean and light to cary.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 3 for CVA Wolf™ 209 Magnum .50-cal. Rifle – Blued/Black
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location: Virginia
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

CVA Wolf

Date:January 15, 2010
Great little gun for the money. Simple, accurate, well-made, easy to clean.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 4 for CVA Wolf™ 209 Magnum .50-cal. Rifle – Blued/Black
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location: Midwest
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

cva wolf .50

Date:January 11, 2010
Easy to carry in the brush, accurate with the
factory sights, and very simple to clean and maintain.
Good all around field gun.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 5 for CVA Wolf™ 209 Magnum .50-cal. Rifle – Blued/Black
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location: Hurricane, WV
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

the gun that gets it done!

Date:January 11, 2010
A great value and a great gun all in one! Took two adjustments to get it dialed in for me, open sights, dead center at 75 yards. Two 777 50 gr pellets, 295 gr Powerbelt hollowpoints. Dropped a doe 1st trip out. Fun to shoot and easier to clean than the old patch and ball. Bought a T handle to help with the ramrod length and to make it easier to grip.
Very happy with the gun.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 6 for CVA Wolf™ 209 Magnum .50-cal. Rifle – Blued/Black
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location: Van Wert Ohio
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

oh yea

Date:January 11, 2010
Shoots great right out of box...
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 7 for CVA Wolf™ 209 Magnum .50-cal. Rifle – Blued/Black
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location: Southeastern Ohio
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

First muzzleloader CVA Wolf

Date:January 7, 2010
I bought this on sale from Cabela's about 15 months ago. I've never hunted white-tail deer before, but wanted to give it a try after moving to southeast Ohio. I've been completely satisfied. This rifle is easy to load, handle, and clean. I've tried a half dozen different bullets, all with acceptable results, but at this point I hunt with 100 gr Blackhorn 209, Hornady 240 gr XTP Mag sabots and Winchester 209 primers. Six shots, six cleanly killed deer in 2 seasons. Very lethal wounds in every case. I am confident out to 100 yards, but haven't experimented with accuracy beyond that range. I mounted a cheap Tasco scope to help my aging eyesight, and feel I have a very competent package at a very reasonable cost. A great value. Could have spent more, but the freezer is full so don't see the need.
It would be fun if a Cabela's location were closer, but online ordering and service have been flawless.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 8 for CVA Wolf™ 209 Magnum .50-cal. Rifle – Blued/Black
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location: Marcell, Mn.
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Good brush gun

Date:January 5, 2010
First time ever with a muzzle-loader. I still hunt in heavy brush, and this gun is just what I was looking for. Easy to use and simple to clean and very accurate.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 9 for CVA Wolf™ 209 Magnum .50-cal. Rifle – Blued/Black
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location: Hillsboro, Mo
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

awsome

Date:January 4, 2010
I took it out of the box mounted a scope and was drilling bullseyes one after another from 100 yds and it is easy to use and easy to clean. This rifle was an excellent buy.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 10 for CVA Wolf™ 209 Magnum .50-cal. Rifle – Blued/Black
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location: Tennessee
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

cva wolf muzzleloader

Date:January 4, 2010
boys you cannot go wrong with this little gun. light,easy to handle and a nail driver too. great gun...
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 11 for CVA Wolf™ 209 Magnum .50-cal. Rifle – Blued/Black
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location: New york city
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Good gun for home defense

Date:January 1, 2010
i bought this rifle for home defense in nyc it is impossible to buy any modern firearm if you are under 21 and i am very satisfied with it the rifle it is not too big looks scary and the stopping power is tremoundous i strongly recommend this rifle for people who live in areas with strict gun control laws
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 12 for CVA Wolf™ 209 Magnum .50-cal. Rifle – Blued/Black
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location: Iowa, King of Whitetails
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

CVA Wolf

Date:December 31, 2009
I just bought a CVA wolf from Cabela's and have to express that their costumer service is second to none! They were the most friendly, most knowledgable and most willing to work with a challenging costumer as myself. I had a situation were I was needing my brother in law to pick up my new smoke pole for me and he was not goint to be able to pick up the gun for me until about 12 days after I orgianally wanted it. This was due to severe weather here in Iowa and Minnesota. Well, they worked with me, made the right suggestions and we ended up getting me the gun without having to put it on back order. The CVA wolf is great for a beginner and after doing plenty of research, I would suggest the Hornaday SST 250 grain pullet or T/C shockwaves, with 3 - 50 grains of powder of 777 powder. Not only will this set up a solid harvest for a whitetail, it will also take care of any possible issues with your sabot not mushrooming correctly, as some people have expressed. Also, in Iowa and Minnesota it gets fairly cold (-40 wind chill), and I would suggest getting a Mad Bomber hat and a whidshear sweater from Cabelas and you won't be sorry. It will keep you very warm but none the less, be sure to layer! Good luck, and Cabela's thank you for your amazing costumer service!
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 13 for CVA Wolf™ 209 Magnum .50-cal. Rifle – Blued/Black
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location: Farmland, Indiana
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Unbelievable, but you better belive it!

Date:December 31, 2009
CVA Wolf +Triple 7 pellets 100 gr. + Powerbelt aero tip .295 gr. + Winchester 209 primers + Bushnell Trophy DOA 250 3 X 9 X 40 scope = 1 inch groups at 100 yards, all for around $250.00, UNBELIEVABLE! Puts my $1,200.00 12 ga. rifled slug gun to shame:(
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 14 for CVA Wolf™ 209 Magnum .50-cal. Rifle – Blued/Black
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Nice black powder for the money

Date:December 30, 2009
Nice rifle. I am new to black powder. This is easy to use and clean up with triple 7 powder pellets. Great starter.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 15 for CVA Wolf™ 209 Magnum .50-cal. Rifle – Blued/Black
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location: Fort Morgan, CO
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

This Muzzleloader drops them in their tracks!!!!!!

Date:December 30, 2009
Purchased two CVA Wolf Muzzleloaders on December 16th 2009, one for myself & one for my brother in laws xmas gift. Out of the box both guns were sighted in at 25 yards, grouping all three bullets 1/2 inch from each other. One Wolf is scoped and the other open sights. With adjustments to both the next three rounds produced the same results. After final adjustments we grouped all 6 rounds in the bullseye, moved back to 100 yards had same results of groupings. We were shooting 295 gr Powerbelt aero tip bullets, 60 grs of pyrodex RS power, and Winchester 209 primers.
After that we loaded up the camper headed to Nebraska with our doe/buck tags for unit 22 on December 27th 2009. With the CVA Wolf's, powerbelts, pyrodex, and primers we harvested 4 mule deer on December 28th. 3 deer where taken from 60-80 yards and walked 10 steps and were DONE!!!! 1 deer was taken at 150 yards walked 10 steps and was DONE!!!!
I really LOVE my CVA and am ready to buy another one to use with open sights for states that dont allow scopes. Thank you Cabelas for carrying such good products and your service has been out of this World!!!!!
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 16 for CVA Wolf™ 209 Magnum .50-cal. Rifle – Blued/Black
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location: Central Vermont
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Out of the box

Date:December 21, 2009
I got this in and took it out of the box right away i pulled up on a target at 100 yards and hit just i little on the high side due to my aiming. I am interested in trying the new powerbelted bullets for a .50 cal rather than a conventional sabot but with the conventional i was right on the money @ 100 yards out of the box with 100 gr. of Triple seven pellets behind the sabot. Very pleased with my experience with this rifle.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 17 for CVA Wolf™ 209 Magnum .50-cal. Rifle – Blued/Black
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location: Kansas City, Mo
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Great Value

Date:December 7, 2009
I have had the CVA Optima for a little over a year. Bought this Wolf as a gift for Dad. Seems to me like this is an Optima with 2 inch shorter barrel and a reworked narrower stock. Maybe not as nice a finish as the Optima but seems to have all the function. Great rifle for the price.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 18 for CVA Wolf™ 209 Magnum .50-cal. Rifle – Blued/Black
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location: Dayton ME
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Wolf™ 209 Magnum .50-cal. Rifle

Date:November 29, 2009
A very high quality product for the money. At thirty yards I get a one inch group with the open sights.
Thanks CVA
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 19 for CVA Wolf™ 209 Magnum .50-cal. Rifle – Blued/Black
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location: omaha, nebraska
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

.50 cal. cva wolf

Date:November 24, 2009
the gun works great and is easy to clean. it shoots straight and gives you a nice big push with the magnum load (150 grains). I like to shoot it. I have used "hornady low-drag" sabots so far and they seem to work fine but I am trying powerbelts next, so we'll see how they'll shoot. this gun definately will get the job done and I haven't got to spend a whole bunch of money to do it.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 20 for CVA Wolf™ 209 Magnum .50-cal. Rifle – Blued/Black
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location: Iowa
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Good for the price

Date:November 10, 2009
A good, inexpensive, reliable muzzleloader for the beginner. Nice fiber-optic sites and a break-action for easy cleaning. Very similar to my CVA Optima Mag for about 1/3 of the price. The Wolf is an excellent product for the price.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
ReviewQuestion 1-20 of 131