Customer Reviews for CVA CVA Wolf™ 209 Magnum .50-cal. Rifle – Blued/Black

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Cabela's.

CVA CVA Wolf™ 209 Magnum .50-cal. Rifle – Blued/Black

The Wolf? 209 Magnum combines the simplicity and reliability of a break-open action rifle with the proven design of the Optima frame, then adds Illuminator fiber-optic sights, a ventilated recoil pad and other features to create a durable, versatile and accurate muzzleloading firearm. This .50-caliber rifle comes with a blued barrel and black composite stock and features the quality and reliability CVA is famous for in a compact model. Barrel: 24" Blued. Total length: 39-1/2''. Weight: 6-3/4 lbs. Available: .50 caliber.
Overall Customer Rating:
4.481 out of 5
4.5
 out of 
5
(131 Reviews) 131
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 131 reviews
5 Stars
85
4 Stars
35
3 Stars
3
2 Stars
5
1 Star
3
121 out of 131(92%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for CVA Wolf™ 209 Magnum .50-cal. Rifle – Blued/Black
Review 101 for CVA Wolf™ 209 Magnum .50-cal. Rifle – Blued/Black
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location: Baton Rouge,LA
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

CVA Wolf 209 .50 caliber muzzleloader

Date:June 11, 2007
I am very pleased with the gun. Very light and easy to manuver. Simple to clean and re-loads quickly in the field.
Great gun for deer hunting from a climber or fixed position stand.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 102 for CVA Wolf™ 209 Magnum .50-cal. Rifle – Blued/Black
Overall Customer Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location: maryland
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

great affordable rifle

Date:May 9, 2007
This rifle is AWESOME, for the money pound for pound this is one the best rifles I have ever shot
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 103 for CVA Wolf™ 209 Magnum .50-cal. Rifle – Blued/Black
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

CVA Wolf

Date:March 18, 2007
CVA Wolf
I just completed reading the reviews on the CVA Wolf and felt compelled to write a review myself. I purchased a CVA Wolf about a year ago and for the money, modern features and strength (150 grain powder loading capacity) you can’t go wrong with this gun. Yes you can spend more money, but the gun stock is not the part of a gun that puts meat on the table. On the subject of weak / broken ramrods I strongly recommend reading the owners manual on the use of Power Belt bullets. After over 200 rounds I have had no problem with my ramrod. I have shot sabots out of my Wolf and noticed that after only two shots the bore is fouled enough that the third round was extremely hard to load. This means CLEAN the barrel! If you are loading your CVA Wolf (or any muzzle loader for that matter) and the fouling is bad enough to break the ramrod it’s trying to tell you it’s not a good ideal to drop the hammer on a pipe bomb four inches from the end of your nose!
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 104 for CVA Wolf™ 209 Magnum .50-cal. Rifle – Blued/Black
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location: Western Cuyahoga County, OH
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Handy and capable

Date:March 1, 2007
A handy and capable hunting rifle/carbine. They call it a good "brush gun" in the description and they are dead on! I am using this in Ohio's regular deer gun season too. Two thumbs up!
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 105 for CVA Wolf™ 209 Magnum .50-cal. Rifle – Blued/Black
Overall Customer Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location: Saline Co., Ar.
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Great in-line for price!

Date:February 10, 2007
Good muzzleloader, found very accurate using two fifty grain triple se7en pellets behind powerbelt 295 grains copper hollow point at 60 yds with open sights. Check screws! My front sight was very loose. Ramrod lasted about six shots before bending even after cleaning on third shot and using bullet starter, but WORTH EVERY CENT PAID. I would recommend buying complete kit. Big savings! I didn't! Big Mistake!
Knock down power on white tail yet to be seen, but not to worried. would have given 5 stars other than ramrod that I am going to have to replace.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 106 for CVA Wolf™ 209 Magnum .50-cal. Rifle – Blued/Black
Overall Customer Rating: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Location: Baton Rouge,Louisiana
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

CVA Wolf

Date:January 28, 2007
Just got the gun and went to the range.At 50 yds.it will shoot hole for hole,but when you move out to 100 yds.you might as well throw away the gun.Grouping goes to 12 inch spread.Have tried 3 different weight bullits,all sabots,and 90grs,100grs,120grs of pyrodex pellets.Will try again with Powerbelt bullits to see if they will group better.Also I have a 4x12-50 Nikon on gun.Features of gun are great just disappointed with groups,if this does not work will try PRO model.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 107 for CVA Wolf™ 209 Magnum .50-cal. Rifle – Blued/Black
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location: Long Island, New York
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Great Shot

Date:January 19, 2007
Recieved
gun as a christmas present and am very impressed. I mounted a Bushnell
1.5 - 4.5 scope with T/C high mount rings so I can still use the sights for
close range. Tight groups at 50 yards with 100 gr of pyrodex and 348 gr
powerbelts. Cleaning is a breeze but the ramrod is a little on the weak
side. Overall a great gun for anyone looking to get into muzzleloaders
or an experienced shooter. Highly recomended, I will definitly be
buying another CVA soon.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 108 for CVA Wolf™ 209 Magnum .50-cal. Rifle – Blued/Black
Overall Customer Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location: Louisiana
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Great for price

Date:January 13, 2007
I put a Leupold vx II 3-9x40. Had to remove the open sight, they were in the way of the scope. With 95 Grs. 777 FFG and 240 Gr XTP Group was 1 1/2" 5 shot at 100 yards. Coney said 1837 FPS 12' away. So the 24" is fast enough. What more could you want?
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 109 for CVA Wolf™ 209 Magnum .50-cal. Rifle – Blued/Black
Overall Customer Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Not just for starters

Date:January 10, 2007
Great Gun purchased after Christmas. Shoots great mounted 1.5X4.5 Bushnell Scope and sighted in with only 6 shots held great groups can not wait to use next season. 4 stars for the plastic sights and somewhat light weight ram rod but other than that this gun is sure to be a performer. First CVA I ever owned and first in-line. When sighting I used 90 grains black powder and 295 grain copper HP Power Belts. Easy to clean and for me the carbine barrel suite me just fine. As long time conventional blackpowder (Cap Lock T/C WT MTN Carbine) shooter and hunter I would say this not just for entry level or anyone starting in muzzleloading sport but for anyone who wants value for their money. I Own T/C and like them as well but for the price your getting more then expected with this gun.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 110 for CVA Wolf™ 209 Magnum .50-cal. Rifle – Blued/Black
Overall Customer Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location: Austintown, Ohio
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

CVA WOLF

Date:January 9, 2007
I also recieved this gun for christmas and loved it the moment i laid my hands on it. I droped a nice doe with it at about 55 yards open sights just 2 days after i got it. The only down fall is the ram rod is not the strongest but the removable breech makes for easy cleaning. Its a great gun for the price.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 111 for CVA Wolf™ 209 Magnum .50-cal. Rifle – Blued/Black
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Very Very Nice Gun

Date:January 2, 2007
I recieved this gun for Christmas and out of the box Christmas day, i was dead on. I took it muzzleloader hunting the next day and i dropped a nice buck at 95 yards OPEN SIGHTS! My family also went together and bought my father this gun too for Christmas and he has fallen in love with it too. My only complaints are the extendable part of the ramrod is very weak, I broke mine yesterday and my father broke his a few days ago. But all in all a great gun from great manufactures of guns!
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 112 for CVA Wolf™ 209 Magnum .50-cal. Rifle – Blued/Black
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

sweet

Date:January 1, 2007
Sweet gun
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 113 for CVA Wolf™ 209 Magnum .50-cal. Rifle – Blued/Black
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location: MAINE
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

great

Date:December 29, 2006
very nice gun if you wont a good muzzleloader get this one. I just got it for cristmas and i love it. I put a pine ridge 2.5-7 scope on it would recommend this scope. I shot this gun two times and the open sight were off only inches from 100 and 20 feet the sope was off bad but i havent sighted it in yet. The price is the best. This gun is made very well and is ruged but very light the short barral is good for a fast shot but doesn't effect the grouping.
BUY THIS GUN
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 114 for CVA Wolf™ 209 Magnum .50-cal. Rifle – Blued/Black
Overall Customer Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location: pa
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

cva wolf 209 mag

Date:December 28, 2006
got
this gun for xmas 06 looked great out of the box came with all the
tools and a great book, bought 777 pellets and 270 grain powerbelt
platium areotips shoot 60 yards no ajustment to the sights 5 shot 2''
group 1'' high. Went home removed breech plug and it was like cleaning
my single shot 20 ga. no plastic cap holders the 209's fit in the
breech plug it's very simple. The only thing I didn't like is how high
the sights are my cheek weld didn't feel right that will go away after
I put a scope on it but other then the sights its a great starter gun,
fun to shoot and you can't beat the price!!
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 115 for CVA Wolf™ 209 Magnum .50-cal. Rifle – Blued/Black
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location: Davison,Mi.
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

no prob in the cold weather here in mi

Date:December 15, 2006
I bought 2 cva wolf gun kits last year to extend my and my sons hunting season.He had to go out of town so i let a cousin use his gun we both loved it we werent successful but we both liked the gun very well.He said hes hooked and is probly going to go buy one.I also hunted in another camp were all of them were impressed as well.Iwas amazed of how easy it was to handle and clean.With the break action its sealed and simple to use.I can't wait untill next year.im going to mount a scope on both of them and prob sight them in in the summer just so i can play with our new found fun.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 116 for CVA Wolf™ 209 Magnum .50-cal. Rifle – Blued/Black
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location: ohio
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

GREAT GUN

Date:December 14, 2006
This is a great gun not just a great gun for the money its tight well made and shoots excellent it points well and is balanced nice. With 250gr T/C shockwaves and 150grs of tripleseven powder it will shoot under 1 inch groups off of sand bags at 100yds.I have another muzzleloader that I payed way more for and I like this one much better. I will be buying another wolf for my daughter its an all around nice gun.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 117 for CVA Wolf™ 209 Magnum .50-cal. Rifle – Blued/Black
Overall Customer Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location: WV
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

I like it!

Date:December 11, 2006
I bought one of these, shot it with open sights, and it did ok. I put a scope on it, and I shot a 3 out of 5 shots touching at 50 yards (the others were within an inch or two).
Pretty easy to clean, the break open design is awesome. Alot of gun and accuracy for the money. It doesnt kick much, its light, and I would recommend buying it.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 118 for CVA Wolf™ 209 Magnum .50-cal. Rifle – Blued/Black
Overall Customer Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Location: The Woods Of Michigan
Would you recommend this product to a friend? No

Spend a little more and get a good gun!

Date:December 8, 2006
My fiance got the Wolf thinking that it would be light weight because of the 24" barrel and because it was inexpensive. We had to take it back two days later because the hammer mechanism will not work when it's cold outside. It will not stay locked. We were told that this is a common problem with the CVA's. Don't waste your money! You will be disappointed! Spend the little extra and get a Thompson Center Omega. Remember Cabela's will price match with it's competitors. So, look around and find the best deal, but don't get this gun. I can't speak for all of the CVA's, but I know that Thompson center makes a quality gun at an affordable price. Good luck.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 119 for CVA Wolf™ 209 Magnum .50-cal. Rifle – Blued/Black
Overall Customer Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location: coolidge, AZ
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

gillespie

Date:November 29, 2006
For a back up shot it is a good rifle. However it is lacking some of the quality that can be found in CVA's higher end products.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 120 for CVA Wolf™ 209 Magnum .50-cal. Rifle – Blued/Black
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

CVA Wolf 209 Magnum

Date:November 22, 2006
I purchased the muzzleloader so that I could expand my deer season. The weapon is a pleasure to shoot, cleans easily, and was definitely worth the nominal cost to purchase it. This rifle is advertised as accurate out of the box and that was no understatement.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
ReviewQuestion 101-120 of 131