Customer Reviews for CVA CVA Wolf™ 209 Magnum .50-cal. Rifle – Blued/Black

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Cabela's.

CVA CVA Wolf™ 209 Magnum .50-cal. Rifle – Blued/Black

The Wolf? 209 Magnum combines the simplicity and reliability of a break-open action rifle with the proven design of the Optima frame, then adds Illuminator fiber-optic sights, a ventilated recoil pad and other features to create a durable, versatile and accurate muzzleloading firearm. This .50-caliber rifle comes with a blued barrel and black composite stock and features the quality and reliability CVA is famous for in a compact model. Barrel: 24" Blued. Total length: 39-1/2''. Weight: 6-3/4 lbs. Available: .50 caliber.
Overall Customer Rating:
4.481 out of 5
4.5
 out of 
5
(131 Reviews) 131
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 131 reviews
5 Stars
85
4 Stars
35
3 Stars
3
2 Stars
5
1 Star
3
121 out of 131(92%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for CVA Wolf™ 209 Magnum .50-cal. Rifle – Blued/Black
Review 61 for CVA Wolf™ 209 Magnum .50-cal. Rifle – Blued/Black
Overall Customer Rating: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Date:February 29, 2008

CVA Wolf - Not he best, save for a better rifle

By
Location: Tampabay
The Good:
Shoots OK with the correct bullets. Seems to do better with sabots. 295 Powerbelts were inconsistent.
Customer support answers the phone
The Bad:
Stock became loose after about 25 shots. Called customer support, you need a special tool, at least a 10in. 6mm alan wrench to tighten a 9in is too short.
The manual is terrible. I tried to remove the barrel based on the manual, could not separate it, so I called customer support again. They said there are three different Wolf variations and mine had a steel pin that needed to be "tapped" out. They told me, "it is hard to remove the first time". No kidding, I had to "tap" the nail set with a sledgehammer!
As noted by others the ramrod is flimsy. You unscrew it to extend it, but it bends easily. It is hard to collapse back without pliers. The finish on the ramrod showed scrapes after it's first use.
Save your money and buy something with a decent manual, like a Thompson.
Would you recommend this product to a friend? No
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 62 for CVA Wolf™ 209 Magnum .50-cal. Rifle – Blued/Black
Overall Customer Rating: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Date:February 25, 2008

CVA wolf muzzleloader

By
Location: Indiana
Upon unpacking I noticed the front fibre-optic was broken. I called cabelas customer service line and they assured me they would correct the problem. I did not realize that the buttstock was loose as well as the forend until later. I corrected this myself. This is a cheaply made rifle, with soft metal (do not overtighten the scope base screws} and do not try to overtighten the buttpad screws if you should happen to receive a rifle with a loose buttstock as I did. There is not a lot of plastic to hold a screw tight in the buttstock and it will easily strip. I would definitely opt for a different brand next time. The rifle was poorly packed from cva's factory but cabelas definitely did everything to make my complaint right in regards to the front sight. I did not report the other problems as I feel it was not cabelas fault.
highlandeer
Would you recommend this product to a friend? No
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 63 for CVA Wolf™ 209 Magnum .50-cal. Rifle – Blued/Black
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:February 24, 2008

CAN'T BEAT THIS

By
Location: Round Rock TX
First of all 5 stars for cabelas,first class ordering and shipping. When I received this gun I was totally impressed with quality and build for the price I paid! Good looks,decent trigger,and darn good sights. Had a chance this weekend to fire the thing after fitting it with a modest quality 3x9 scope that I already owned. I know I had something going when starting at 25yards, three shots,one hole! Went to 100 yards the accuracy continued. 3 shot groups off of sandbags without cleaning 1 1/2 inches consistently. Want better? Started spit swabbing the bore clean after every shot, 3 shot groups were one jagged hole!!!! That's at 100yards!!! The load I used was 90 grains of Pyrodex Select loose powder and Hornady 250 grain SST/low drag sabots. Needless to say I will stay with loose powder forever and something close to this load.Some say to buy it for a backup, a starter gun, or to just get you thru the season in a pinch. I say, find a ML that shoots that good at any price! It probably won't happen. I'm so pleased with the performance I ordered another. BUY IT, HUNT WITH IT. Couldn't be more pleased!!!!!!!!!!!!!
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 64 for CVA Wolf™ 209 Magnum .50-cal. Rifle – Blued/Black
Overall Customer Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Date:February 20, 2008

Cabela's has great deals and great bargains!

By
I am very happy with my purchase, and I have no complaints. The Cabela's staff members were both knowlegable and helpful. I had a very good shopping experience. The product was everything that the advertisment said it would be.
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 65 for CVA Wolf™ 209 Magnum .50-cal. Rifle – Blued/Black
Overall Customer Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Date:February 20, 2008

cvawolf

By
i am very pleased with the performance of this rifle, it shoots 3 inch groups at 100 yds loaded with 100 grains of pyrodex loose powder, and 240 grain tompson center xtp bullets. the ramrod could be made better, the finish started coming off after loading 6-8 shots and bends pretty easy. for you hunters who like to shoot heavier grain bullets, it performs fairly well at 100 yds with 320 grain tompson center maxi balls, (4 to 5'' groups). and lets not forget about cabelas fast shipping, i recieved this rifle 3 days after i ordered it, standard shipping!!
happy hunting.
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 66 for CVA Wolf™ 209 Magnum .50-cal. Rifle – Blued/Black
Overall Customer Rating: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Date:February 18, 2008

Cheap CVA Wolf

By
Location: Texas Hill Country
Probably get what you pay for. This break action shoots OK, but you have to slam the action shut or it will not close far enough to allow you to cock it. It comes with the cheapest ramrod I have ever seen, have to put extension on it to seat bullet. I'm not sure how much they save by not having a removable barrel, but not worth it.
Would you recommend this product to a friend? No
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 67 for CVA Wolf™ 209 Magnum .50-cal. Rifle – Blued/Black
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:February 12, 2008

excellent gun

By
Location: NEW YORK
i love this gun shoots excellent
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 68 for CVA Wolf™ 209 Magnum .50-cal. Rifle – Blued/Black
Overall Customer Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Date:February 12, 2008

Good gun

By
Location: virginia
for the money. It does the job and maintenance is much
easier. Also don't have to baby it like more expensive types.
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 69 for CVA Wolf™ 209 Magnum .50-cal. Rifle – Blued/Black
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:February 11, 2008

CVA WOLF 209 MAGNUM RIFLE - BLUE/BLACK

By
Location: UPSTATE NEW YORK
SEEMS TO BE A GOOD CHOICE FOR THE PRICE FOR SOMEONE STARTING BACK INTO HUNTING WITH BLACK POWDER.
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 70 for CVA Wolf™ 209 Magnum .50-cal. Rifle – Blued/Black
Overall Customer Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Date:February 8, 2008

Wolf magnum

By
Location: Texas
I bought a CVA percussion rifle a couple of years ago and loved everything about it but the reliability of the cap actually igniting the charge, it drove me crazy. I recently bought the wolf because of the inline charge design and use of primers instead of caps. I love this gun; I honestly don't see how a miss-fire could happen. The only reason it doesn't get 5 stars is the ram rod needing the little extension which will get bent and the butt stock is a little loose and I don't see a way to tighten it up. That being said, it has a great feel and balance to it overall and you can't beat it for the money.
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 71 for CVA Wolf™ 209 Magnum .50-cal. Rifle – Blued/Black
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:February 8, 2008

Great Muzzleloader

By
Location: OHIO
I bought one of these guns last year for my son. He loved it. This gun shoots well with 100gr. and 150gr. He loved how easy it was to take apart and clean. I talked with him about it and shot it many times myself I went out and bought one for myself. This is an awesome gun and a great value. We have taken three Ohio Deer with them. Not the guns fault but make sure that the scope mounts and the scope fit the gun. On my boys he has over under sights and he had to take the rear iron sight off to put his scope on. On mine we used some that CVA said would work on a WOLF.
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 72 for CVA Wolf™ 209 Magnum .50-cal. Rifle – Blued/Black
Overall Customer Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Date:February 7, 2008

cva wolf muzzloader

By
Location: wv
this is a very good muzzleloader for the price i also own knight and thompson center muzzleloaders and feel this is a very comparable item with a very lower retail
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 73 for CVA Wolf™ 209 Magnum .50-cal. Rifle – Blued/Black
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:February 7, 2008

Big Bad Wolf

By
Location: Southern California
This was for my grandson for Christmas. !st shot out of the box in the 10 ring.This rifle is very well made, easy to cleen, sighted in out of the box. He is in love with it and I am very impressed with the size, the way the parts fit, and the quality of the weapon. this is the perfect 1st. black powder rifle for the new black powder shooter. Thank You CVA
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 74 for CVA Wolf™ 209 Magnum .50-cal. Rifle – Blued/Black
Overall Customer Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Date:January 31, 2008

Bud1542

By
Location: Hurricane, WV
The CVA Wolf Magnum rifle is lightweight and has all the plusses one would find on a much more expensive rifle. Ease of handling while doing a lot of walking is one thing I look for in a rifle; the "Wolf" meets that standard. I recommend it for those who want a quality product without spending a great deal of money.
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 75 for CVA Wolf™ 209 Magnum .50-cal. Rifle – Blued/Black
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:January 29, 2008

Great first smoke pole

By
Location: Arlington, TX
Great little rifle to start muzzle loading with. Don't be fooled by the inexpensive price.
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 76 for CVA Wolf™ 209 Magnum .50-cal. Rifle – Blued/Black
Overall Customer Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Date:January 28, 2008

A gift

By
Location: Fingerlakes, NY
I bought this gun as a gift for my dad. After receiving the gun I sighted it in so that he could hunt with it the following weekend. It sighted in very quickly and is very easy to clean. I could not believe how quickly I was able to clean it after sighting it in and then after the first hunt that we had. I gave it 4 stars simply because I don't know how it is going to do for the long term.
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 77 for CVA Wolf™ 209 Magnum .50-cal. Rifle – Blued/Black
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:January 25, 2008

Wolf 209 Magnum

By
Location: Ellsinore, Mo
I got this Wolf 209 Magnum as a gift. Well as for the performance of the rifle is great.. 150gr pellets behind a 300gr honandy with speedloader sabots.. I am nailing Kodiak chew can at 225yrds very accurate rifle.. I cant wait to nail the coffin shut on a huge buck or doe.. I am a meat hunter so I have never had 10 point rack soup.. I would drop a good rack like anyone else but cant let food walk on by.. Great deal.. Rifles are like anything else made there is good and bad in all things... Thats why we can return in a timely manner for replacement or refund..
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 78 for CVA Wolf™ 209 Magnum .50-cal. Rifle – Blued/Black
Overall Customer Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Date:January 13, 2008

Deer Killer

By
Location: Mechanicville MD
This is a good gun for the money. Its fast, powerfull ,and good looking. When I got it had a bushnell banner scope mounted on it. This made it look even better and more acurate. I am a avid deer hunter and this is definately a killer.
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 79 for CVA Wolf™ 209 Magnum .50-cal. Rifle – Blued/Black
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:January 10, 2008

Excellent Black Powder Rifle

By
Location: Omaha, NE
I received the CVA Wolf this Christmas just in time to use the last weekend of muzzleloader season here in Nebraska. I literally took this out of the box, cleaned it, greased the breech plug and took it to the blind the next morning. Put in 100 grains powder and a saboted bullet and waited for the deer to walk by. Saw a few small doe right away and waited. An hour later a good sized mature doe came within 50 yards and I pulled the trigger and she dropped 10 yards from where I shot her. This gun is a bargain at any price and accurate right out of the box. I would reccomend this to anyone thinking about going hunting during the muzzleloader season. Easy to clean and easy to own. Thanks Cabelas for carrying another quality product!
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 80 for CVA Wolf™ 209 Magnum .50-cal. Rifle – Blued/Black
Overall Customer Rating: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Date:January 8, 2008

2

By
Location: Louisiana
I ordered this gun to replace a CVA Optium I had, which I found was too long and too heavy for me to hunt with. I was excited when received the Wolf fits me better and is not as heavy, but notice the barrel was lose. I went through misery finding the correct tool to tighten the barrel, gunsmith didn't even have the tool to tighten. We finally was able to rig up something to correct the problem. Will not be ordering any more Wolf products. I have not have the opportunity to shot the gun at any game to comment on it's performance. But was disappointed in Wolf's customer service help.....
Would you recommend this product to a friend? No
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Viewing 61-80 of 131