Customer Reviews for CVA CVA Wolf™ 209 Magnum .50-cal. Rifle – Blued/Black

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Cabela's.

CVA CVA Wolf™ 209 Magnum .50-cal. Rifle – Blued/Black

The Wolf? 209 Magnum combines the simplicity and reliability of a break-open action rifle with the proven design of the Optima frame, then adds Illuminator fiber-optic sights, a ventilated recoil pad and other features to create a durable, versatile and accurate muzzleloading firearm. This .50-caliber rifle comes with a blued barrel and black composite stock and features the quality and reliability CVA is famous for in a compact model. Barrel: 24" Blued. Total length: 39-1/2''. Weight: 6-3/4 lbs. Available: .50 caliber.
Overall Customer Rating:
4.481 out of 5
4.5
 out of 
5
(131 Reviews) 131
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 131 reviews
5 Stars
85
4 Stars
35
3 Stars
3
2 Stars
5
1 Star
3
121 out of 131(92%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for CVA Wolf™ 209 Magnum .50-cal. Rifle – Blued/Black
Review 41 for CVA Wolf™ 209 Magnum .50-cal. Rifle – Blued/Black
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location: Fort Bragg, Calif.
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

CVA Wolf 50 Cal.

Date:March 8, 2008
For the price this rifle is the best value going. A great shooter with a lot of fun in between. Much slower shooting but with much more gratifying results. Highly recomended for the beginner black powder shooter. My sons and I will have many fun afternoons shooting this smokepole.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 42 for CVA Wolf™ 209 Magnum .50-cal. Rifle – Blued/Black
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location: Round Rock TX
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

CAN'T BEAT THIS

Date:February 24, 2008
First of all 5 stars for cabelas,first class ordering and shipping. When I received this gun I was totally impressed with quality and build for the price I paid! Good looks,decent trigger,and darn good sights. Had a chance this weekend to fire the thing after fitting it with a modest quality 3x9 scope that I already owned. I know I had something going when starting at 25yards, three shots,one hole! Went to 100 yards the accuracy continued. 3 shot groups off of sandbags without cleaning 1 1/2 inches consistently. Want better? Started spit swabbing the bore clean after every shot, 3 shot groups were one jagged hole!!!! That's at 100yards!!! The load I used was 90 grains of Pyrodex Select loose powder and Hornady 250 grain SST/low drag sabots. Needless to say I will stay with loose powder forever and something close to this load.Some say to buy it for a backup, a starter gun, or to just get you thru the season in a pinch. I say, find a ML that shoots that good at any price! It probably won't happen. I'm so pleased with the performance I ordered another. BUY IT, HUNT WITH IT. Couldn't be more pleased!!!!!!!!!!!!!
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 43 for CVA Wolf™ 209 Magnum .50-cal. Rifle – Blued/Black
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location: NEW YORK
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

excellent gun

Date:February 12, 2008
i love this gun shoots excellent
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 44 for CVA Wolf™ 209 Magnum .50-cal. Rifle – Blued/Black
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location: UPSTATE NEW YORK
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

CVA WOLF 209 MAGNUM RIFLE - BLUE/BLACK

Date:February 11, 2008
SEEMS TO BE A GOOD CHOICE FOR THE PRICE FOR SOMEONE STARTING BACK INTO HUNTING WITH BLACK POWDER.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 45 for CVA Wolf™ 209 Magnum .50-cal. Rifle – Blued/Black
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location: OHIO
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Great Muzzleloader

Date:February 8, 2008
I bought one of these guns last year for my son. He loved it. This gun shoots well with 100gr. and 150gr. He loved how easy it was to take apart and clean. I talked with him about it and shot it many times myself I went out and bought one for myself. This is an awesome gun and a great value. We have taken three Ohio Deer with them. Not the guns fault but make sure that the scope mounts and the scope fit the gun. On my boys he has over under sights and he had to take the rear iron sight off to put his scope on. On mine we used some that CVA said would work on a WOLF.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 46 for CVA Wolf™ 209 Magnum .50-cal. Rifle – Blued/Black
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location: Southern California
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Big Bad Wolf

Date:February 7, 2008
This was for my grandson for Christmas. !st shot out of the box in the 10 ring.This rifle is very well made, easy to cleen, sighted in out of the box. He is in love with it and I am very impressed with the size, the way the parts fit, and the quality of the weapon. this is the perfect 1st. black powder rifle for the new black powder shooter. Thank You CVA
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 47 for CVA Wolf™ 209 Magnum .50-cal. Rifle – Blued/Black
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location: Arlington, TX
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Great first smoke pole

Date:January 29, 2008
Great little rifle to start muzzle loading with. Don't be fooled by the inexpensive price.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 48 for CVA Wolf™ 209 Magnum .50-cal. Rifle – Blued/Black
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location: Ellsinore, Mo
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Wolf 209 Magnum

Date:January 25, 2008
I got this Wolf 209 Magnum as a gift. Well as for the performance of the rifle is great.. 150gr pellets behind a 300gr honandy with speedloader sabots.. I am nailing Kodiak chew can at 225yrds very accurate rifle.. I cant wait to nail the coffin shut on a huge buck or doe.. I am a meat hunter so I have never had 10 point rack soup.. I would drop a good rack like anyone else but cant let food walk on by.. Great deal.. Rifles are like anything else made there is good and bad in all things... Thats why we can return in a timely manner for replacement or refund..
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 49 for CVA Wolf™ 209 Magnum .50-cal. Rifle – Blued/Black
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location: Omaha, NE
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Excellent Black Powder Rifle

Date:January 10, 2008
I received the CVA Wolf this Christmas just in time to use the last weekend of muzzleloader season here in Nebraska. I literally took this out of the box, cleaned it, greased the breech plug and took it to the blind the next morning. Put in 100 grains powder and a saboted bullet and waited for the deer to walk by. Saw a few small doe right away and waited. An hour later a good sized mature doe came within 50 yards and I pulled the trigger and she dropped 10 yards from where I shot her. This gun is a bargain at any price and accurate right out of the box. I would reccomend this to anyone thinking about going hunting during the muzzleloader season. Easy to clean and easy to own. Thanks Cabelas for carrying another quality product!
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 50 for CVA Wolf™ 209 Magnum .50-cal. Rifle – Blued/Black
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

dry mountain hunting Northern California

Date:December 20, 2007
If there were 6 stars I would rate this 6.5.
I had never hunted black power an not knowing if I would like it I went cheap!!!!
We're not allow scopes in CA, but the last 35 years I have had one on my long rifle. I must have shot fifty 240 Gr. lead cupped with 3 50/50 sticks with through it (cut the black every time). When I shot 245 gr. power belts with 3 50/50 I cut two 9's, one 10 and two X's.
I am only able to hunt late season when dew is up or when the rain is coming down.
I missed a nice 3X4 blacktail my first Wolf shot. It must have been a bird on the barrel, or a snake running up my leg, etc.,
my second shot a few days later dropped a nice forked horn.
The Wolf did it with a little help from me.
GLAD I WAS CHEAP!!!!!!!
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 51 for CVA Wolf™ 209 Magnum .50-cal. Rifle – Blued/Black
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location: Southwest Virginia
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Thanks, everyone

Date:December 19, 2007
While looking to get into muzzleloading I was glad to see the many reviews for the CVA Wolf 209 Magnum. I was impressed by, not only the high number of replies, but also by how many were so positive. Reading about the different powder loads and bullet types was very helpful. I settled on the full 150 grain magnum load with 270 grain Powerbelt Platinum Aerotip bullets. I received the rifle only a couple of days before the late muzzleloading season opened and opted to try it out with only the open sights. Wow! It shot dead-on at 30-yards right out of the box. On my second day in the woods I had a nice 6-pointer come within 50-yards. It stopped broadside and the shot hit where it was aimed. It was a through-and-through behind the front shoulder and the buck went only 20-yards before piling up. It was an overcast morning and the high-visibility sights really lit up. This little gun is perfect for hunting in heavier brush. Thanks again for recommending this rifle.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 52 for CVA Wolf™ 209 Magnum .50-cal. Rifle – Blued/Black
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location: Voorheesville, New York
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Best for the money

Date:December 18, 2007
The " WOLF " black powder rifle is an awsome gun. I can attest that at two hundred yards...yes two hundred yards it is as accurate as a centerfire rifle. With only a 24 inch barrel it made a believer out of me. I bought the rifle complete with a Bushnell 3 x 9 scope and shoot 295 grain powerbelts. I now have retired my shotgun from deer hunting. These guns pack a punch and I have yet to see a deer run from me.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 53 for CVA Wolf™ 209 Magnum .50-cal. Rifle – Blued/Black
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location: New England
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

CVA Wolf

Date:December 13, 2007
WOW! I just bought this firearm three days ago to extend the season a little. Sighted nearly dead on at 100 yards right out of the box, five shots. Took out into the field for the first time yesterday afternoon and was able to drop a nice doe right in her tracks. The breakopen design and ease of use and cleaning make this a great recommendation to first time and seasoned users alike.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 54 for CVA Wolf™ 209 Magnum .50-cal. Rifle – Blued/Black
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location: stbg PA
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

cva wolf

Date:December 12, 2007
great gun for the price. picked it up at the Hamburg store last season. Killed a doe in the early season with it, at 45 yards 100gr of 777 and a power belt bullet. Gun performed perfect. I also picked up the cva scope kit for it, easy to mount and sight in this was on the gun when i killed the deer. I even talked my buddy Kevin into picking one up and he's killed 2 deer in 5c with it. He tells me he loves it.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 55 for CVA Wolf™ 209 Magnum .50-cal. Rifle – Blued/Black
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location: BUFFALO, KY
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

great gun!

Date:December 8, 2007
THIS IS BY FAR THE MOST ACCURATE MUZZLELOADER I HAVE SHOT! USING HOLLOW POINT POWERBELTS 295 GRAIN I SHOT 4" GROUPS AT 100 YARDS. WITH 295 GRAIN POWERBELT ACCUTIP BULLETS I NEVER MISSED THE CENTER OF THE BULLSEYE. ALL USING TRIPLE 7 POWDER PELLETS AT 150 GRAINS. MY ONLY COMPLAINT WITH THIS GUN IS THAT THE STOCK WAS LOOSE WHEN I BOUGHT IT BUT THAT WAS A 5 MINUTE FIX. I RECOMMEND THIS GUN FOR EVERYONE. EASY TO LOAD AND VERY EASY TO CLEAN. THIS IS AN ABSOLUTE MUST HAVE!
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 56 for CVA Wolf™ 209 Magnum .50-cal. Rifle – Blued/Black
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location: Fort Smith, AR
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Best bang for the buck that I've ever spent

Date:November 7, 2007
I initiatially bought this gun to test the blackpowder hunting water, and was extremely suprised to see how accurate this little gun was. My friend bought a different rifle costing a lot more, and his rifle's accuracy has been fair to good at best.
I have since bought another one for my father and the results as for accuracy has been the same. This little gun will literally hit exactly where it's pointed. What more can I say.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 57 for CVA Wolf™ 209 Magnum .50-cal. Rifle – Blued/Black
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location: PA
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Big bang for the buck!

Date:October 22, 2007
You get a lot of gun for the money. Very accurate, very affordable.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 58 for CVA Wolf™ 209 Magnum .50-cal. Rifle – Blued/Black
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

alot of bang for the buck

Date:October 16, 2007
very accurate,affordable, and easy to clean, great for the money, and all with a lifetime warranty
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 59 for CVA Wolf™ 209 Magnum .50-cal. Rifle – Blued/Black
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location: Romulus Mi.
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

the best muzzleloader on the the market ,

Date:October 11, 2007
hands down will be the best blackpowder rifle you can buy, i have mine zero'ed and i mean hitting pop cans at 200 measured yards ,got it for christmas in 06 early so i used it in 06 deer season jackson mi, got my limit , looking forward to useing to now in nov 07 im using throughout gun season and black powder , nov 15th thru jan 1 easy cleaning easy reloading nice balanced flat shooting rifle cant BEAT IT !!!!!! 28 yrs old romulus mi.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 60 for CVA Wolf™ 209 Magnum .50-cal. Rifle – Blued/Black
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

209 Black Wolf is AWESOME

Date:October 9, 2007
Dear Clients,
I bought a Wolf after 2-years of fighting the traditional Black powdered guns and missing the chance of filling my deer tag.
I LOVE this gun. I read other reviews before buying it and it is everything I've hope for in a modern in-line weapon.
I mounted a 4x scope to boot and my groups are within an inch of each other. The price and looks of this gun makes it probably the best deal in the market place to date.
BUY THIS GUN....~
209 BW
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
ReviewQuestion 41-60 of 131