Customer Reviews for CVA CVA Wolf™ 209 Magnum .50-cal. Rifle – Blued/Black

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Cabela's.

CVA CVA Wolf™ 209 Magnum .50-cal. Rifle – Blued/Black

The Wolf? 209 Magnum combines the simplicity and reliability of a break-open action rifle with the proven design of the Optima frame, then adds Illuminator fiber-optic sights, a ventilated recoil pad and other features to create a durable, versatile and accurate muzzleloading firearm. This .50-caliber rifle comes with a blued barrel and black composite stock and features the quality and reliability CVA is famous for in a compact model. Barrel: 24" Blued. Total length: 39-1/2''. Weight: 6-3/4 lbs. Available: .50 caliber.
Overall Customer Rating:
4.481 out of 5
4.5
 out of 
5
(131 Reviews) 131
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 131 reviews
5 Stars
85
4 Stars
35
3 Stars
3
2 Stars
5
1 Star
3
121 out of 131(92%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for CVA Wolf™ 209 Magnum .50-cal. Rifle – Blued/Black
Review 41 for CVA Wolf™ 209 Magnum .50-cal. Rifle – Blued/Black
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location: Jamestown, NC
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

cva wolf 209

Date:January 29, 2009
I have never had an inline muzzleloader but have shot percussion cap rifles. This gun is very lightweight and will do the job I need for the area I hunt. After getting the rifle I found
that all other reviews I read on it were true. It will be easy to
clean and I am sure it will perform like it should. I am ready to
shoot this gun and have some fun.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 42 for CVA Wolf™ 209 Magnum .50-cal. Rifle – Blued/Black
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location: West Hempstead, NY
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

CVA Wolf 209

Date:January 23, 2009
I bought the Wolf in anticipation of extending my hunting season for Whitetail deer. I went the entire shotgun/rifle season without even seeing a deer. My last ditch effort would be with the Wolf during muzzleloading season. Up until now I had only fired four rounds through the Wolf in order to sight it in. Long story shortened, I wound up face to face with a six pointer not 20 feet away from me. He caught sight of me and took off and in a matter of what seemed like two seconds was 75 yards away. I waited in the hope that he would break to the left so I'd have a prayer of a shot. He did, and I shot. He dropped in his tracks. A perfect shot at a moving target at 75 yards. Not only was he my first buck of the season, he was also my first buck ever. You betcha, I'd recommend this rifle.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 43 for CVA Wolf™ 209 Magnum .50-cal. Rifle – Blued/Black
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location: Harriman, TN
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

CVA Wolf

Date:January 23, 2009
Excellent Gun for the beginner or the experienced hunter. The gun is priced just right for those who don't want to spend a fortune on a hobby. The gun shoots great and is very accurate. I would definitely recommend this gun to others who are just beginning their muzzleloading adventure all the way to people who have been doing it for years.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 44 for CVA Wolf™ 209 Magnum .50-cal. Rifle – Blued/Black
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location: columbia kentucky
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

cva wolf

Date:January 21, 2009
The cva wolf rifle is a great gun. I got mine right at the last black powder hunt in 2008. I shot it about thirty times it is very accurate i shoot 150 grains of pyrodex rs powder and 240 grains hornady sabot bullets. I put 4 shots in the same bullet hole it dont get any better than that. So if your looking for a good gun for the money get a cva wolf 209 magnum rifle.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 45 for CVA Wolf™ 209 Magnum .50-cal. Rifle – Blued/Black
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Great Gun for the money

Date:December 18, 2008
I really liked the way the CVA performed it was a great gun!
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 46 for CVA Wolf™ 209 Magnum .50-cal. Rifle – Blued/Black
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

CVA Wolf

Date:December 10, 2008
This is a great rifle! Accurate and very easy to clean. Easy to load also. The sights catch light really well a you can aquire a good sight picture very easily. As a military man with many years in firearms experiance I recommend this muzzleloader! Alot of fun to fire!
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 47 for CVA Wolf™ 209 Magnum .50-cal. Rifle – Blued/Black
Overall Customer Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location: West Plains, Missouri
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

CVA Wolf

Date:December 8, 2008
Great muzzeloader. Easy to load and real easy to clean. Mounted scope and had sighted in at 100 yds with 4 shots, in a 4 inch group.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 48 for CVA Wolf™ 209 Magnum .50-cal. Rifle – Blued/Black
Overall Customer Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Location: U.P. Deer Hunter
Would you recommend this product to a friend? No

cva wolf junk!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

Date:December 5, 2008
This is the cheapest most inaccurate piece of junk on the market. Locked on a bench rest it will not group at all. Differnt powder and load combos same thing all over the paper no consistincy. If i could say one thing JUNK do not waste your time or money!!!!!!!!!!
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 49 for CVA Wolf™ 209 Magnum .50-cal. Rifle – Blued/Black
Overall Customer Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Location: Hardy, Va
Would you recommend this product to a friend? No

CVA Wold 209 Magnum Rifle

Date:November 28, 2008
I thought the barrel release would be convient but over a two week period, hunting in heavy brush, it came open at least six times and the cap was lost. Also, on my second hunt the front optical sight was lost.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 50 for CVA Wolf™ 209 Magnum .50-cal. Rifle – Blued/Black
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location: Minnesota
Would you recommend this product to a friend? No

Great Gun For The Money

Date:November 17, 2008
As usual Cabela’s had the gun to me in three days. I took it to the range and using 100 grains of Prodex granular powder and 250 grain Slick Load sabots held one inch three shot group at 50 yards and one and a half group at 100 out of the box with open sights. Snap shooting had a 4-inch group at 100 yards. As it will be uses for deer hunting I left well enough alone. Some of the guys at the range were shooting guns that cost twice what the Wolf did and could not get the groups I got. I would recommend this gun to both the newcomer to muzzle loading and the old timers alike. Extremely easy to clean
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 51 for CVA Wolf™ 209 Magnum .50-cal. Rifle – Blued/Black
Overall Customer Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location: North Carolina
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

2ndCVA

Date:November 11, 2008
This is my second CVA 50 cal muzzle loader. I really liked my first one however it was stolen. So when I decided to replace it I did not hesitate to buy another CVA. I really like this Wolf too. When I First got it I was concerned that you would have to screw the ram rod out to load it but you don't. I called CVA before I ever loaded it. They were very helpful. The only time you have to extend the ram rod is when you clean the muzzle loader. I love the way it breaks down and this allows big hands to get to the breech plug to put in your primer. The ONLY reason I did not give this gun five stars is the ram rod. It gets all scratched up when you use it. Scoped this wolf out with a Bushnell , shooting 240 grain hollow point sabots, 100 grains of pyrodex. 100 yards last three shots were all touching. Thats good for me because I can barely hold still even off a rest.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 52 for CVA Wolf™ 209 Magnum .50-cal. Rifle – Blued/Black
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location: Youngstown, Ohio
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

shoots great at a great price

Date:October 5, 2008
I did some research before buying this gun as it will be my deer gun. the olny problem I had was finding a 1 piece scope mount, so I cound install a red dot scope.I could olny find 1 company that made these (dura-sight) and the ramrod is a little cheap it has held up so far though I dont use sabbots.it olny took 11 shots to sight in with scope and was on the money with factory sights wich are very nice right out of the box. I use a tc 350 grain slug and am shooting a 1 inch group at 50 yards.this is a very accurate gun with ok fit and finish and very easy break down and clean even with a scope at a great price highly recomended.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 53 for CVA Wolf™ 209 Magnum .50-cal. Rifle – Blued/Black
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location: Linwood, NC
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

LOVE THIS GUN

Date:August 18, 2008
This is one awesome muzzle loader. It has the break action, easy to clean feature of expensive muzzle loaders with the accuracy of an expensive muzzle loader. I have had this same gun for two years, no need to even shoot it the second year except once before hunting season to ease my mind. Everything is so great, I have bought my wife and my brother one!! If for some reason I have to buy another muzzle loader, I will purchase another one of these.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 54 for CVA Wolf™ 209 Magnum .50-cal. Rifle – Blued/Black
Overall Customer Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location: Charlotte, NC
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Great for the money

Date:July 20, 2008
I got a Wolf on clearance at the end of last season. Dialed it in today and was extremely pleased.
I usually hunt in thick woods where shots are under 100 yards. Sighting in at 80 yards yielded groups of about 1.5 to 2 inches using 80 gr Goex FFG with both CheapShot 240 gr. sabots and Hornady XTP 300 gr. sabots. I am sure these groups could be tightened with experimentation, but this is all the accuracy I really need.
This is a light, compact gun that handles well. If you are taking 200 yard shots with magnum charges, I would get something heavier with a longer barrel. But for woods hunters, the Wolf will do everything you need it to do at a great price.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 55 for CVA Wolf™ 209 Magnum .50-cal. Rifle – Blued/Black
Overall Customer Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Location: Center of New Hampshire USA
Would you recommend this product to a friend? No

CVA wolf 209 50cal

Date:June 22, 2008
I wanted a short barrled gun that is quick to sight and is fast for jump hunting. It appears that it will be. The hamer does not cock until it is all the way back. not like most other guns of this type. The pistol grip is too small for a large hand. Your nuckle will hit the triger gard. this may become a problem for a few. I have not shot this gum yet but if it shoots anything like its big brother the Optima it will be fine. So I will be giving this gun to someone else with a smaller hand. I think that I will stick with my Optima.
Awasos
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 56 for CVA Wolf™ 209 Magnum .50-cal. Rifle – Blued/Black
Overall Customer Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location: Colorado
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

banger

Date:May 28, 2008
very light weight,shot with colorado legal tips. 385gr hornady great plains, buffallo ball, patch and ball. clean after every shot and mark your range rod, because barrel is tight and second shot,very hard to fully seat.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 57 for CVA Wolf™ 209 Magnum .50-cal. Rifle – Blued/Black
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location: Texas
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

CVA Wolf™ 209 Magnum Rifle

Date:April 22, 2008
I bought it in black without a scope since most of my hunting would be in areas of less than 150 yards. I tested it out of the box against a target. After first running a dry patch down the barrel and then firing a 209 cap, I loaded up with FFg black powder, patch and ball and sighted in at 50 yards. WOW! It was right on out of the box. I've tried different powders and shot including saboted rounds, and found that it likes 100 gr 777 pellets and either a ball or sabot. It loads easily, sights well (love the sights) and never mis-fires. Great buy!
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 58 for CVA Wolf™ 209 Magnum .50-cal. Rifle – Blued/Black
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location: Pittsfield ME
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Exc. buy

Date:March 14, 2008
Nice rifle I like it because it is short not big and bulky shoots exc. very acc. exc. buy
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 59 for CVA Wolf™ 209 Magnum .50-cal. Rifle – Blued/Black
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location: Charlotte, NC
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Wolf loader

Date:March 10, 2008
As a beginer muzzleloader I was actually nervous about getting into it. After I was offered a trip to Kentucky during Muzzleloading I decided to get an inexpensive loader from a well known company to try it out. I have numerous friends and family who have the more expensive loaders on the market but I just didn't want to spend that much incase I decided I didn't like the sport. After getting my Wolf I immediately noticed to things: 1- I would definately continue with the sport and 2- I cannot come up with any reasons to purchase a more expensive loader. It works like a champ and is very easy to maintain. I really like the break open action compared to others. As a matter a fact, the person I trust most when it comes to firearms, has even opted to sell his "high dollar" so called top quality loader and is trying to purchase a Wolf. Sure the barrel is shorter then most, but unless you are trying to shoot at long distance it doeasn't really make a difference unless you like carrying the extra weight. Coming from a shotgun with slugs area groing up and a big archery back ground, the closer I can get to an animal the more exciting the hunt is. After 15+ years of hunting, I still have only taken one shot longer than 100 yards. I would definately recommend this loader to anyone that wants a new one or their first one.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 60 for CVA Wolf™ 209 Magnum .50-cal. Rifle – Blued/Black
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location: Fort Bragg, Calif.
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

CVA Wolf 50 Cal.

Date:March 8, 2008
For the price this rifle is the best value going. A great shooter with a lot of fun in between. Much slower shooting but with much more gratifying results. Highly recomended for the beginner black powder shooter. My sons and I will have many fun afternoons shooting this smokepole.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
ReviewQuestion 41-60 of 131