Customer Reviews for CVA CVA Wolf™ 209 Magnum .50-cal. Rifle – Blued/Black

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Cabela's.

CVA CVA Wolf™ 209 Magnum .50-cal. Rifle – Blued/Black

The Wolf? 209 Magnum combines the simplicity and reliability of a break-open action rifle with the proven design of the Optima frame, then adds Illuminator fiber-optic sights, a ventilated recoil pad and other features to create a durable, versatile and accurate muzzleloading firearm. This .50-caliber rifle comes with a blued barrel and black composite stock and features the quality and reliability CVA is famous for in a compact model. Barrel: 24" Blued. Total length: 39-1/2''. Weight: 6-3/4 lbs. Available: .50 caliber.
Overall Customer Rating:
4.481 out of 5
4.5
 out of 
5
(131 Reviews) 131
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 131 reviews
5 Stars
85
4 Stars
35
3 Stars
3
2 Stars
5
1 Star
3
121 out of 131(92%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for CVA Wolf™ 209 Magnum .50-cal. Rifle – Blued/Black
Review 21 for CVA Wolf™ 209 Magnum .50-cal. Rifle – Blued/Black
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location: Kansas City, Mo
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Great Value

Date:December 7, 2009
I have had the CVA Optima for a little over a year. Bought this Wolf as a gift for Dad. Seems to me like this is an Optima with 2 inch shorter barrel and a reworked narrower stock. Maybe not as nice a finish as the Optima but seems to have all the function. Great rifle for the price.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 22 for CVA Wolf™ 209 Magnum .50-cal. Rifle – Blued/Black
Overall Customer Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location: ohio
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

wolf magnun

Date:December 5, 2009
used my wolf magnum using 245 grain shockwave bullets with 2 50 grain pellets .shot at a deer at 80 yds,and it went right down in its tracks.good gun for the money. easy to clean,and ilike the break open barrel which makes it easy to put your 209 primer on.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 23 for CVA Wolf™ 209 Magnum .50-cal. Rifle – Blued/Black
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location: Dayton ME
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Wolf™ 209 Magnum .50-cal. Rifle

Date:November 29, 2009
A very high quality product for the money. At thirty yards I get a one inch group with the open sights.
Thanks CVA
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 24 for CVA Wolf™ 209 Magnum .50-cal. Rifle – Blued/Black
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location: omaha, nebraska
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

.50 cal. cva wolf

Date:November 24, 2009
the gun works great and is easy to clean. it shoots straight and gives you a nice big push with the magnum load (150 grains). I like to shoot it. I have used "hornady low-drag" sabots so far and they seem to work fine but I am trying powerbelts next, so we'll see how they'll shoot. this gun definately will get the job done and I haven't got to spend a whole bunch of money to do it.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 25 for CVA Wolf™ 209 Magnum .50-cal. Rifle – Blued/Black
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location: Iowa
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Good for the price

Date:November 10, 2009
A good, inexpensive, reliable muzzleloader for the beginner. Nice fiber-optic sites and a break-action for easy cleaning. Very similar to my CVA Optima Mag for about 1/3 of the price. The Wolf is an excellent product for the price.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 26 for CVA Wolf™ 209 Magnum .50-cal. Rifle – Blued/Black
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location: mobile,al.
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Great gun

Date:November 2, 2009
My wife bought me this gun for Christmas in 07. It only took a few shots to sight it in. I put a cheap 3x9x40 tasco scope on it & was hitting bullseye at 75 yards. Went hunting with it 2 weeks later when primitive weapon season open and shot a 11 pointer and dropped him in his tracks.It is a sweet shooting gun & has the knock down power like my 30.06. I suggest this gun for everybody....
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 27 for CVA Wolf™ 209 Magnum .50-cal. Rifle – Blued/Black
Overall Customer Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Would you recommend this product to a friend? No

wolf

Date:October 17, 2009
Junk, don't buy it. Will not shoot a good group for nothing. I spent more money on bullets then the guns worth...
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 28 for CVA Wolf™ 209 Magnum .50-cal. Rifle – Blued/Black
Overall Customer Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location: Kansas
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Cva ML

Date:October 12, 2009
I bought this Muzzleloader for my boys and have so far been impressed with its accuracy. Sighting it in at 100 yards. Using a 3x9 scope it is very accurate. The Ram rod is a little on the flimsy side.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 29 for CVA Wolf™ 209 Magnum .50-cal. Rifle – Blued/Black
Overall Customer Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location: Texas
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

wolf 209 magnum

Date:October 5, 2009
If you are looking for a great gun at a great price ya gotta get one of these!
Mounted a scope on this, took it to the range with my 100lb kid to sight it in for his first youth hunt. ( He's never shot a gun before)
After getting it dialed in At 100 yards I was getting 1 inch groups with 100 gr of 777 magnum pellets, a 250gr T/C shock wave and Winchester 777 primer.
At 50 yards he was getting 2 inch groups ( never shot ANYTHING before)!
Only four stars because the ramrod is a little flimsy and the iron sights are not that great.
Cleans easy, shoots fantastic, and even with 100 gr of powder your small youth can shoot all day!
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 30 for CVA Wolf™ 209 Magnum .50-cal. Rifle – Blued/Black
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location: NV
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Great Shooter

Date:May 13, 2009
This thing shoots great out of the box, The break open action is easy to load and clean. Like it better than my other muzzleloaders of higher price.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 31 for CVA Wolf™ 209 Magnum .50-cal. Rifle – Blued/Black
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location: Chattanooga, TN
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

CVA Wolf 209 muzzleloader

Date:May 1, 2009
Bought this for my son 2 years ago and was delighted at how well this smokepole shoots! (100 yd zero after about 4 or 5 shots with 90 gr. Tripple 7 and a Hornady 300gr XTP.) Absolutely no issues with it at all. In fact he killed his first deer, a running doe at 60 yards, with it this year. (You go Bubba!) Gotta get me one of these!
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 32 for CVA Wolf™ 209 Magnum .50-cal. Rifle – Blued/Black
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location: Coopersburg, PA
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Great Gun

Date:March 16, 2009
This is a great gun for first time ml hunters. Took me 4 shots to get it sighted in, it was practically on right out of the box at 100 yards. Real easy to clean just one screw takes apart the whole gone practically. The only problem i had with the gun was the red stick to the front sight fell off it was an easy fix and im not worrying cause im gonna get a scope for it. This is buy far the best buy i have made from Cabelas and i would definitely recommend it to a friend.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 33 for CVA Wolf™ 209 Magnum .50-cal. Rifle – Blued/Black
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location: Fairbanks, AK
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

My First Muzzleloader

Date:February 23, 2009
I got mine when Cabela's had it on sale, and after shooting it, I would pay full price for it. I have a pal who I don't see too often and we shot it at his homestead - put some .50 cal balls through a few 10 inch firewood rounds at 40 paces... makes a nice big boom and a poof of smoke too! If you follow the instructions it is easy to use. I also opted for a kit that included all the goodies I needed, plus a basic muzzleloader safety video, and took a local AK Dept of Fish and Game class which really got me to know what I was doing. I may have to get this for my pal for his birthday...
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 34 for CVA Wolf™ 209 Magnum .50-cal. Rifle – Blued/Black
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location: Henderwsonville,N.C.
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Nice Short Muzzleloader

Date:February 18, 2009
The wolf is my first muzzle loader gun, so I did't have any expectations and only read the other guys reviews to lead me to one decision, with the price so reasonable, I just said buy the darn gun. I did and I'm very happy I did, the gun shoots very accurate with low drag sabots at 60 yds in my back yard... UMMM I live in the sticks, but when I tried the platium powerbelts they were all over the target. I would say if your looking for a starter MZ please try out the "WOLF".
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 35 for CVA Wolf™ 209 Magnum .50-cal. Rifle – Blued/Black
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location: UP STATE NEWYORK big man big hunter
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

cva wolf

Date:February 11, 2009
I BOUGHT THIS GUN BECOUSE IT IS SHORTER THAN MY WIFES CVA OPTIMA AND 4 INCHES SHORTER GREAT AS A STILL HUNTING GUN . I HAVE NOT HAD A CHANCE TO SHOOT THIS GUN AT THIS TIMEBECOUSE OF ALL THE SNOW ! JUST A WARNING IF YOU ARE USE TO THE OPTIMA HAMMER ,IT IS NOT THE SAME IT HAS A RESET HAMMER I THOUGHT MINE HAD A DEFECT UNTIL I CALLED CVA AND WAS TOLD THAT IT IS A RESET HAMMER ,AND THEY DONT LET YOU KNOW THIS IN THE MANUAL .
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 36 for CVA Wolf™ 209 Magnum .50-cal. Rifle – Blued/Black
Overall Customer Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location: monticello ky
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

wolf rifleblued/black

Date:February 10, 2009
I LOVE IR I AM WANTING TO GET ME ANOTHER ON AS SOON AS
I CAN
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 37 for CVA Wolf™ 209 Magnum .50-cal. Rifle – Blued/Black
Overall Customer Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location: ohio
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

nice gun

Date:February 10, 2009
this is a nice gun,its light to carry and shoots good.
i would recommend this gun to everyone
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 38 for CVA Wolf™ 209 Magnum .50-cal. Rifle – Blued/Black
Overall Customer Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location: hunting for 30years. rifle,shotgun,muzzleloader
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

good quality

Date:February 9, 2009
I am impressed with the quality, the ram rod has been improved over the last model. I have not shot it yet but when I do, I will leave more feed back.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 39 for CVA Wolf™ 209 Magnum .50-cal. Rifle – Blued/Black
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location: New York
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

CVA Wolf 209

Date:February 9, 2009
This is a perfect gun for those tight spaces.Being slightly disabled the lenght and weight fits my needs to perfection.
The gun is built for easy loading and cleaning. Would recommend to all.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 40 for CVA Wolf™ 209 Magnum .50-cal. Rifle – Blued/Black
Overall Customer Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location: Preston, Missouri
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Nice rifle for the price

Date:February 1, 2009
I recently ordered the Wolf for myself after alot of research of each rifle I was interested in.
The rifle fired great, I have some issues with workmanship, paint is already chipping off around the break open, the adjustable sight was loose and the ram rod was flimsy and scratched the first time I pulled it out to use it.
The gun fired flawlessly, although all I was not able to hit a target because of the sight. It was smooth and very little recoil from a 100 grains of pyrodex. I used a 245 powerbelt as suggested for the type of shooting I will be doing.
Overall I am pleased with the gun other than the issues mentioned above and would recommend the rifle for a beginning muzzleloader hunter.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
ReviewQuestion 21-40 of 131