Customer Reviews for WINCHESTER Winchester® Xtended Range Hi-Density Turkey Loads

WINCHESTER Winchester® Xtended Range Hi-Density Turkey Loads

Specially formulated shot is 10% denser than lead, which translates to harder hits and deeper penetration. The Winchester Xtended Range Hi-Density Turkey Load shot is uniform in roundness and size yet soft enough to use your favorite turkey choke, giving superior patterning performance at longer range, delivering 25% more pellets on target than standard lead loads. 10 rounds per box.
Overall Customer Rating:
4.604 out of 5
4.6
 out of 
5
(96 Reviews) 96
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 96 reviews
5 Stars
78
4 Stars
11
3 Stars
0
2 Stars
1
1 Star
6
89 out of 96(93%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer questions and answers:
1 Question | 2 Answers
Customer Reviews for Winchester® Xtended Range Hi-Density Turkey Loads
Review 1 for Winchester® Xtended Range Hi-Density Turkey Loads
Overall Customer Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Location: Illinois
Age: 36-45
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? No

Very disappointed

Date:February 25, 2012
I shoot a Benilli Supernova with a 26in. Barrel primos jellyhead choke tube with .655 restriction. I shot three and a half #6 shot and at 50 yds. Put four and five shots in the kill zone. had the same results with high velocity shells from Winchester in the same load that cost four times less. If you are shooting the above go with the hevi 13 #7 shot with 22 pellets in the kill zone at 50 yds.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 2 for Winchester® Xtended Range Hi-Density Turkey Loads
Overall Customer Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Would you recommend this product to a friend? No

40 yards max

Date:February 17, 2011
super x3 shotgun indian creek coke tube pattern not what i expected just plan unacceptable. Heavy shot mag. blend has a really good pattern hands down. xtended range #5 40 yrds 30 pellets. Heavy shot 110 pellets same range. I know what I will be using.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 3 for Winchester® Xtended Range Hi-Density Turkey Loads
Overall Customer Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Location: MN
Age: 56-65
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? No

functionality

Date:June 14, 2010
I was very disappointed with the range--short. One indication was the wading only went 15 yards while my 3 1/2 inch non Xtended Range" turkey load shell's wading travels 25 yards.
At 40 yards with a turkey choke, the "Xtended Ranfe" pattern was further apart than the pattern of a non "Xtended Range" shell.
I'll go back to my 3 1/2 inch regular turkey loads (lot less $).
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 4 for Winchester® Xtended Range Hi-Density Turkey Loads
Overall Customer Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Location: atlanta Ga
Would you recommend this product to a friend? No

nonono

Date:May 19, 2009
these shells patterned great but have a very hard time killing a turkey happened twice to people i know.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 5 for Winchester® Xtended Range Hi-Density Turkey Loads
Overall Customer Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Location: Troy, Mo
Would you recommend this product to a friend? No

not so impressed

Date:March 30, 2009
i was not very immpressed with these shells. i have always used the winchester supreme high volocity and i though maybe i would give these a try so i patterned them in at 30 yards with my mossberg 935 and had 15 pellets in the kill zone( so much for extended range) but with the supreme high volocity at 30 yards i had 40 pellets in the kill zone.also these shells are very expsensive. I shoot 31/2'' 5 shot 2oz and i think i will stick with the supreme high volocity and i recommend them to
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 6 for Winchester® Xtended Range Hi-Density Turkey Loads
Overall Customer Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Location: McAlester, OK
Would you recommend this product to a friend? No

The worst shells ever.

Date:March 11, 2008
These are the WORST shells that I have ever shot out of my shotgun!! I shot cheap turkey loads that shot alot tighter pattern than these. It was a terrible deal. I would not recomend these to some body I didn't like much less a friend.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 7 for Winchester® Xtended Range Hi-Density Turkey Loads
Overall Customer Rating: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Would you recommend this product to a friend? No

cheaper ammo shot way better

Date:March 19, 2009
I went out to pattern my shotgun this past weekend (Mossburg 835 with a jeelyhead choke). I tried 7 different brands/shot size and this one was the most expensive. I was hoping for good things out of these shells but the federal flight control shells (half the price) shot much better then these did from 25yds out to 50yds. although they were the second best shooting out of the shells i tried, for the price i guess i expected more :(
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 8 for Winchester® Xtended Range Hi-Density Turkey Loads
Overall Customer Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Country: United States
State: West Virginia
Age: 56-65
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Good Product

Date:May 29, 2012
This is a good load but can be better if you can find Hevi-Shot Magnum Blend. I fist shot the Winchester load with Primos Jelly Head choke tube and was very happy but I had one more choke tube and shot combination to try. I used the Hevi-Shot choke tube (made by Hevi-Shot not by Cabelas) and the 3" Hevi-Shot Magnum Blend load and was amazed.(over 200 shot in 8" circle on bullseye at 35yd and over 100 shot on bull 8" circle at 60 yards). Gun was new Browning Maxus. At time of testing could not find the 3 1/2" load but it could only be equal to or better if that is possible.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 9 for Winchester® Xtended Range Hi-Density Turkey Loads
Overall Customer Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Country: United States
State: Alabama
Age: 36-45
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Good replacement for lead shot

Date:May 7, 2012
Pattern is acceptable at 50 yards though not as tight as my old magnum lead loads. Makes up for it in power at that range with several pellets complete passthrough.
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 10 for Winchester® Xtended Range Hi-Density Turkey Loads
Overall Customer Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location: Readlyn IA
Age: 36-45
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Federal Heavyweight is better

Date:April 2, 2012
Patterned these and Federal Heavyweight with flight control wad. Federal patterned slightly better at 40 yards. These did pretty good too, not as good tho.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 11 for Winchester® Xtended Range Hi-Density Turkey Loads
Overall Customer Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Age: 36-45
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Great

Date:March 28, 2012
Good ammo through the right choke tube works great. In my opinion the more expensive ammo is always better.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 12 for Winchester® Xtended Range Hi-Density Turkey Loads
Overall Customer Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location: Knoxville, TN
Age: 26-35
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Winchester Supreme Elite Xtended Range 3.5" #6

Date:March 22, 2011
So far I have only patterned them on paper but if what I see on paper translates on a turkey's head I should be in good shape this spring. Only 4 stars because shot pattern looks good but I just don't know yet what it will produce in the field.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 13 for Winchester® Xtended Range Hi-Density Turkey Loads
Overall Customer Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location: Pa turkey hunter
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

excellent except

Date:April 26, 2010
This shell outperformed all others tested for maintaing a tight pattern. It is expensive and the buffering material leaks out after several trips in the field ( normal for a turkey hunter ). Each shell must have wax or another coating aplied to the center of the crimp to keep material from leaking. Before I realized this it caused my Benelli to jam in the magazine and almost ruined a hunt. The company sent new shells but next year I had the same issue. Still use them though as they shoot outstanding.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 14 for Winchester® Xtended Range Hi-Density Turkey Loads
Overall Customer Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location: Southaven, MS
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Good Turkey Load

Date:May 5, 2009
I purchased the #5s. I have not had a chance to pattern with them yet but I did take a turkey at 30 yards with no problem. I will pattern before I take longer shots. I was impressed to find the pellets taken from the turkey were perfectly round. Some hevi-shot shells I have opened contained shot of different sizes and shapes. This shot was round and the same size. Should help with the tight pattern I hope to get. 4 stars because they are a bit expensive.
Rem 870 Super Mag w/ Rem x-full turkey choke.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 15 for Winchester® Xtended Range Hi-Density Turkey Loads
Overall Customer Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location: Danville, CA.
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Great Stuff

Date:April 20, 2009
Sure it is pricey and other ammo will work but it is the best I've found and how many rounds of ammo do you actually fire at Turkeys. It's not like you go through a box an outing. I shoot a Winchester Super X2. With this ammo I've nocked 'em dead from far out without the use of any fancy aftermarket chokes.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 16 for Winchester® Xtended Range Hi-Density Turkey Loads
Overall Customer Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location: Frederick, MD
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Nice even pattern

Date:April 20, 2009
I have only shot a few rounds of the 3 1/2 #6 at the range, no results on a turkey yet. The pattern at the range a 40 yds is fairly tight and even. Of course your results will vary with your particular gun, choke, etc. but this was a big improvement over standard lead shot shells with my setup.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 17 for Winchester® Xtended Range Hi-Density Turkey Loads
Overall Customer Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location: Western PA
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Winchester Supreme Elite Xtended Range Hi-Density

Date:April 2, 2009
I purchased this particular Winchester load in 3.5", #4's for turkey hunting based on customer reviews and it's reputation. I have not had an opportunity to use them yet, which is why I rated it at 4 stars. I will update my review once I have actually had a chance to pattern and hunt with it. I will be using it in a 12 GA. Remington Super Mag Gobbler with a 23" barrel and Kick's ported super full choke tube for #4 shot.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 18 for Winchester® Xtended Range Hi-Density Turkey Loads
Overall Customer Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location: colorado
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

pattern test

Date:February 20, 2008
Compares favorably/slightly better to Hevi 13 out of a Benelli nova using a H.S undertaker tube. Chose this one over all others for an upcoming turkey hunt.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 19 for Winchester® Xtended Range Hi-Density Turkey Loads
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Country: United States
State: North Carolina
Age: 46-55
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Deadly

Date:September 16, 2014
Reach out and touch them. These loads are deadly and pattern great.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 20 for Winchester® Xtended Range Hi-Density Turkey Loads
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Country: United States
State: New Mexico
Age: 36-45
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

xtended strikes again!

Date:April 29, 2014
3.5 #5 out of my moss 835 with carlson .675 choke shoots great! Called in two this past weekend at the same time. Shot the first one at 30yds, dropped him on the spot, but no biggie at that range. The second bird took off running and I went into autopilot and stoned him dead on a flat out run at 60+ yds. One of the pellets hit below his knee and broke it which is a testament to these loads downrange energy (in addition to a dead bird!). May not pattern out of every gun, but will do well in most. Puts 30 pellets in a 3" circle at 40 yds w/ my setup.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
ReviewQuestion 1-20 of 96