Customer Reviews for WINCHESTER Winchester® Xtended Range Hi-Density Turkey Loads

WINCHESTER Winchester® Xtended Range Hi-Density Turkey Loads

Specially formulated shot is 10% denser than lead, which translates to harder hits and deeper penetration. The Winchester Xtended Range Hi-Density Turkey Load shot is uniform in roundness and size yet soft enough to use your favorite turkey choke, giving superior patterning performance at longer range, delivering 25% more pellets on target than standard lead loads. 10 rounds per box.
Overall Customer Rating:
4.596 out of 5
4.6
 out of 
5
(94 Reviews) 94
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 94 reviews
5 Stars
76
4 Stars
11
3 Stars
0
2 Stars
1
1 Star
6
87 out of 94(93%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer questions and answers:
1 Question | 2 Answers
Customer Reviews for Winchester® Xtended Range Hi-Density Turkey Loads
Review 21 for Winchester® Xtended Range Hi-Density Turkey Loads
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location: Hiawatha, KS
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Amazing

Date:April 22, 2008
I bought a box of these loads a couple of years ago, and have nothing to complain about. I use the 12 gauge, 3 1/2 inch 6 shots. I have yet to miss with this load. A perfect 6 for 6. Ive shot turkeys up to 50+ yards because of the amazing grouping these bullets throw out. It just drops them without any movement once they go down. My father and I havent seen anything like it when i killed my first turkey with it. If you havent used this load, you should really think about it. You wont have to look for another load again.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 22 for Winchester® Xtended Range Hi-Density Turkey Loads
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location: meherrin virginia
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

winchester xtended range

Date:April 29, 2008
In my 870 3 1/2" with a .675 choke and #6's is the best load in my gun (putting 50-60) shot in official turkey target(head and neck) at 40 yards. 675 choke seems to be right for these shell's as i have access to 10 chokes ranging from .658 to .715. Very even pattern is why i stuck with these instead of other non-toxic turkey shot-shell which gave splochy patterns.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 23 for Winchester® Xtended Range Hi-Density Turkey Loads
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location: Wisconsin
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Fantastic shells

Date:April 29, 2008
Purchased 2 boxes of these Xtended Hi-Density shells, 12 gauge, 3 1/2", 5 Shot. Sighted them in through my Rem 870 Super Magnum Express, tipped with a Mad Max Hevi-shot choke. Outstanding patterns at all ranges out to 50 yards. The best shells I have run through my turkey gun ever. Can't wait to try them out on the real thing next week. Winchester has a winner here.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 24 for Winchester® Xtended Range Hi-Density Turkey Loads
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location: LINCOLN NE
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

WINCHESTER XTEND RANGE TURKEY LOADS

Date:May 6, 2008
THESE LOADS ARE VERY GOOD, PATTERN VERY WELL IN MY
GUN. I WILL DEFINITELY BE BUYING MORE OF THESE LOADS.
PATTERN SOME IN YOUR GUN TO MAKE SURE THEY WORK
WITH YOUR GUN AND CHOKE, I THINK YOU'LL BE SATISFIED.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 25 for Winchester® Xtended Range Hi-Density Turkey Loads
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location: Central Indiana
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Excellent purchase

Date:February 24, 2009
Shoots excellent groups! Well worth the extra money. Shoots great through my Mossberg 535. Ready to try on a spring Longbeard!
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 26 for Winchester® Xtended Range Hi-Density Turkey Loads
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location: Thibodaux, La
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Turkey Stopper

Date:February 25, 2009
I shoot a 935 Mossberg with the factory xx choke. I went through just about every load on the market and by far and large the Winchester Supreme Ellite Xtended Range Hi- Density Turkey loads # 6 out preformed all other shells. I have bagged several birds at the 55 Yard mark with the above combination and believe me even at that distance its still like they were hit with a train. Anything inside 40 yards is JellyHeaded!!!!!!!!
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 27 for Winchester® Xtended Range Hi-Density Turkey Loads
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location: Carl Junction, Missouri
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Turkey Success w/Xtended Range Turkey Loads

Date:March 17, 2009
These are the best shells on the market today. You would not believe the success that my friends, clients, and I have had with them. There are many Kansas and Missouri that are record book type birds that have met their fate due to these loads......unbelievable!!!!!!!
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 28 for Winchester® Xtended Range Hi-Density Turkey Loads
Overall Customer Rating: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Would you recommend this product to a friend? No

cheaper ammo shot way better

Date:March 19, 2009
I went out to pattern my shotgun this past weekend (Mossburg 835 with a jeelyhead choke). I tried 7 different brands/shot size and this one was the most expensive. I was hoping for good things out of these shells but the federal flight control shells (half the price) shot much better then these did from 25yds out to 50yds. although they were the second best shooting out of the shells i tried, for the price i guess i expected more :(
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 29 for Winchester® Xtended Range Hi-Density Turkey Loads
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location: NC
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Worked Well

Date:March 20, 2009
I used this load in an Ithaca Turkeyslayer with three different chokes. A .655, a .660, and a .665.....the .655 showed obvious signs of overchoking, but with the .660, and the .665 it really shined. Nice even coverage.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 30 for Winchester® Xtended Range Hi-Density Turkey Loads
Overall Customer Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Location: Troy, Mo
Would you recommend this product to a friend? No

not so impressed

Date:March 30, 2009
i was not very immpressed with these shells. i have always used the winchester supreme high volocity and i though maybe i would give these a try so i patterned them in at 30 yards with my mossberg 935 and had 15 pellets in the kill zone( so much for extended range) but with the supreme high volocity at 30 yards i had 40 pellets in the kill zone.also these shells are very expsensive. I shoot 31/2'' 5 shot 2oz and i think i will stick with the supreme high volocity and i recommend them to
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 31 for Winchester® Xtended Range Hi-Density Turkey Loads
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

best factory load

Date:March 30, 2009
Shot a remington 11-87 with remington hevi-shot choke, 3" magnum #5 shot. shot at a paper plate twice at 40 yards and had 107 and 101 pellets in the plate. I then shot at a piece of cardboard at 40 yards with a 10" circle and put 135 pellets in the circle. The 2x8" I stood the cardboard against had pellets go over half the way through the thickness of it. I'm no rocket scientist but I'm sure thats plenty enough energy to bust a big tom up pretty bad! By far the best factory load I know of.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 32 for Winchester® Xtended Range Hi-Density Turkey Loads
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location: Tifton, Georgia
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Best shells on market

Date:March 30, 2009
Love the shells. Turkeys dont have a chance.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 33 for Winchester® Xtended Range Hi-Density Turkey Loads
Overall Customer Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location: Western PA
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Winchester Supreme Elite Xtended Range Hi-Density

Date:April 2, 2009
I purchased this particular Winchester load in 3.5", #4's for turkey hunting based on customer reviews and it's reputation. I have not had an opportunity to use them yet, which is why I rated it at 4 stars. I will update my review once I have actually had a chance to pattern and hunt with it. I will be using it in a 12 GA. Remington Super Mag Gobbler with a 23" barrel and Kick's ported super full choke tube for #4 shot.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 34 for Winchester® Xtended Range Hi-Density Turkey Loads
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location: TEXAS
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Works Great

Date:April 7, 2009
killed 3 turkey in 4 shots with this round 1 got away on the 4th shot at about 65 yards hit him in the neck and head he ran about 40 yards into some really tall grass and trees never found it but it was the shooter not the round:) but the 1st three fell right where they got shot at about 10 yard and 1 was at 20 yards.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 35 for Winchester® Xtended Range Hi-Density Turkey Loads
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location: Pa.
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Best pattern

Date:April 8, 2009
Shot the Elite #6s out of a Super Black Eagle II, with a .665 choke tube, and put 42 pellets in the head and neck region on the turkey target at 40 Yds. This is an awsome Turkey load, and worth the extra money.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 36 for Winchester® Xtended Range Hi-Density Turkey Loads
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location: Vermont
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

super load

Date:April 12, 2009
I just pick up a box last week. Work great with my Rem 870. At 20 yards I could not make out the head on the target. I also put a three inch hole in 3/4 inch plywood I was impressed. At 50 yards it pepper the kill zone. Can't wait to use them on a tom. GOOD JOB WINCHESTER!
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 37 for Winchester® Xtended Range Hi-Density Turkey Loads
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location: Princeton, NJ
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Awesome

Date:April 20, 2009
Fantastic shells. They knocked a very nice Tom well off of his feet on opening day! I doubt I will switch to anything else unless they stop making them. I highly recommend.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 38 for Winchester® Xtended Range Hi-Density Turkey Loads
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location: Northern WI
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Winchester Supreme Elite Xtended Range Hi-Density

Date:April 20, 2009
Well worth the money, I used them in a SBE with a Beretta/Benilli extended moble choke .675 (designed for Hevi-Shot). At 35 yds I put 23 "kill" pellets in the target.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 39 for Winchester® Xtended Range Hi-Density Turkey Loads
Overall Customer Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location: Frederick, MD
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Nice even pattern

Date:April 20, 2009
I have only shot a few rounds of the 3 1/2 #6 at the range, no results on a turkey yet. The pattern at the range a 40 yds is fairly tight and even. Of course your results will vary with your particular gun, choke, etc. but this was a big improvement over standard lead shot shells with my setup.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 40 for Winchester® Xtended Range Hi-Density Turkey Loads
Overall Customer Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location: Danville, CA.
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Great Stuff

Date:April 20, 2009
Sure it is pricey and other ammo will work but it is the best I've found and how many rounds of ammo do you actually fire at Turkeys. It's not like you go through a box an outing. I shoot a Winchester Super X2. With this ammo I've nocked 'em dead from far out without the use of any fancy aftermarket chokes.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
ReviewQuestion 21-40 of 94