Customer Reviews for MEC Super Crown Crimp Starter

MEC Super Crown Crimp Starter

The Super Crown Crimp Starter fits all MEC reloaders. This metal crimp starter easily folds even the hardest unskived plastic hulls for perfectly shaped star crimps. The Big Bore fits 10 ga. to 16 ga. Small Bore fits 20 ga. to .410 ga. Available: Big Bore 6 pt. Big Bore 8 pt. Small Bore 6 pt. Small Bore 8 pt.
Overall Customer Rating:
3.789 out of 5
3.8
 out of 
5
(19 Reviews) 19
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 19 reviews
5 Stars
10
4 Stars
4
3 Stars
0
2 Stars
1
1 Star
4
14 out of 19(74%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Super Crown Crimp Starter
Review 1 for Super Crown Crimp Starter
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Country: Russia
Age: 36-45
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Quality, quality, quality

Date:January 15, 2013
I've being buying Super Crown Crimp Starter for my Russian friends since 6-10 years ago. All of them were happy and always recommend to their friends
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 2 for Super Crown Crimp Starter
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Country: United States
State: Michigan
Age: 56-65
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

A Must For New Hulls

Date:November 19, 2012
If you are going to load never fired hulls this tool is a must have. Even with once or more fired hulls it's a great help. Best to line up previous crimp lines with tool for perfect crimps every time.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 3 for Super Crown Crimp Starter
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location: Northern Indiana
Age: 56-65
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Great Start

Date:October 24, 2011
Well built, easy to align, and cutter then heck!!!!!!
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 4 for Super Crown Crimp Starter
Overall Customer Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Location: Orange, CA
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? No

JUNK CRIMP STARTER

Date:September 14, 2011
DON'T WAIST YOUR MONEY ON THIS ITEM. AFTER I USED THIS ON NEW FIOCCHI HULLS IN 20 & 28 GA. I COULD NOT EVEN JAM THE SHELLS IN MY DOUBLE GUNS AND FORGET ABOUT RECYCLING IN MY AUTOLOADERS. I WENT BACK TO THE PLASTIC ONES ON MY MEC PRESSES AND I'AM BACK IN BUISNESS.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 5 for Super Crown Crimp Starter
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location: TEXAS
Age: 26-35
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Best upgrade for your MEC

Date:June 8, 2011
Greatly improves crimping of new and used hulls! Clean hulls look and load great! Will always have one on my loader!
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 6 for Super Crown Crimp Starter
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location: Northwest Wyoming
Age: 46-55
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Crimp Starter 10 gauge

Date:March 22, 2011
This 6 point super crimp starter works well with Winchester, Federal and Remington hulls. A must for reloading the big hulls and getting that all important deep crimp.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 7 for Super Crown Crimp Starter
Overall Customer Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Location: Northern Calif.
Age: 56-65
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? No

Don,t buy it!!

Date:March 2, 2011
I bought one in 28 gauge for use on my mec 9000. When it says on the inst. sheet it may take a 1000 rounds to "break in" you know your in trouble!! I t may be the worst handloading acc. ever !!
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 8 for Super Crown Crimp Starter
Overall Customer Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location: California
Age: 56-65
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Great for crimping new hulls

Date:February 17, 2011
I have modified the Super Crown Crimp Starter to work with my Spolar reloader which normally uses the mec plastic crimp starters. Their blunt edges don't work so well when crimping new cylindrical hulls. I tried the Super Crown and it works great for those new hulls. I would like to see a deeper angle to the crimper because just when I'm getting to the best crimp depth the hull starts to mushroom a bit. This goes away at the next station where the outside of the hull is supported. The sharp ridges of the Super Crown fold the crimp very well but I find that when using it for already crimped hulls, the sharp edges catch the plastic and may not rotate to the correct position like the standard starters do.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 9 for Super Crown Crimp Starter
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location: Calgary Canada
Age: 46-55
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

shot reloading

Date:July 6, 2010
Good product need more shot reloading things like rollcrimp and shell vice
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 10 for Super Crown Crimp Starter
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location: Washington, DC
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Very Good Addition to Reloading Equipment

Date:March 1, 2010
As soon as I recieved the Crimper, I slapped it on and it worked like a champ. It produced an effortless stream of perfect pre-crimps, which helped tremendously with the final stamp.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 11 for Super Crown Crimp Starter
Overall Customer Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location: Fort McMurray Alberta Canada
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

MEC Super Crown Crimp Starter

Date:October 20, 2009
Works well, I had to adjust the crimper depending on the shot shell brand but other wise no problems .
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 12 for Super Crown Crimp Starter
Overall Customer Rating: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Location: South Africa
Would you recommend this product to a friend? No

Not what I expected/Hoped

Date:August 14, 2008
I do a lot of clay thaget shooting so I load about 300 shell a week. I reload using a MEC 9000G reloader. I sometimes have a problem with fired shells that does not close correctly. I saw this Crimp Starter and thought it would solve the problem. To my dismay it actually made my problem worse. It is absolutely brilliant in putting the folds in the shell but it does not fold the ends inwards. So at the next stage where the crimp is closed the sides for the shell is slill straight upwards and not folded inward. This causes the closing stage to not close the crimp but mangel the front end of the shell. I tried loading 30 shells (with several different settings for the crimp starter) and only managed to get 2 usable shells. I ended up putting the original crimp starter back.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 13 for Super Crown Crimp Starter
Overall Customer Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Location: Clemson, S.C.
Would you recommend this product to a friend? No

good idea, doesn't work

Date:March 21, 2008
I bought the crimp starter in an effort to save some of my 28 gauge hulls. When it lined up with the grooves in the hull, the results were very good. However, unless I manually positioned it for each hull, I lost about 25% to terrible crimps. Don't waste your money. The factory crimp starter isn't perfect, but it is better than this one.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 14 for Super Crown Crimp Starter
Overall Customer Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location: Kenai, AK
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Good For New Hulls

Date:January 27, 2008
I bought the 20 ga 8 point crimp starter. I'm a skeet shooter and load about 1000 shells a month on my MEC 9000 progressive loader. This crimp starter functioned and worked very well except it is overly aggressive for what I am loading for. I load primarily Remington STS and Winchester AAHS hulls that have been fired at least once and up to as many as ten times. After a couple of loadings using this crimp starter I noticed the crimp petals were prematurely frayed. I went back to the plastic crimp starter that came with my reloader and the crimp petals lasted much longer. I would recommend this crimp starter for new hulls that have not been skivved. It will work for shells that have been fired but expect premature crimp petal wear.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 15 for Super Crown Crimp Starter
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

MEC Super Crown Crimp Starter

Date:January 15, 2008
Great addition to any Shotshell loader. Works great with the new HS hulls.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 16 for Super Crown Crimp Starter
Overall Customer Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Location: MI
Would you recommend this product to a friend? No

Don't waste your money

Date:November 7, 2007
This review is for the 8pt crimp starter. Tried using it on 3" hulls that were made by trimming down 3.5" hulls. No matter what I tried I could not get a good crimp. can't say how it would work on new hulls, but I can say don't waste your time or money if you are going to use trimmed hulls. Maybe the 6pt starter would have been a better choice.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 17 for Super Crown Crimp Starter
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location: Stoney Creek, Ontario, Canada
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

MEC Super Crimp

Date:July 6, 2007
I thought that this item was a little pricey, but, after I saw what it did to brand new hulls it was well worth the money. The old plastic crimper doesn't compare to it. Also noticed that on used hulls it gives them a tighter crimp....great product and highly recommended to other reloaders
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 18 for Super Crown Crimp Starter
Overall Customer Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location: Cedar Hill, Texas
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

MEC crimp starter

Date:April 2, 2007
I have loaded only four boxes of 12 gauge shot shells with the new crimp starter from MEC, but I can definitely see a tighter crimp resulting with this crimp starter. I am very satisfied with it and would recommend it to other reloaders.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 19 for Super Crown Crimp Starter
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location: MO
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

GREAT

Date:February 2, 2007
This
item has a price tag that makes you say EEEEEK; however, it really
works WONDERS on new hulls that have never been crimped as well as used hulls. Way better
than the plastic starters. I would reccommend this to anyone. Thanks
MEC for another great product!
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.