Customer Reviews for Pioneer Powder American Pioneer Powder - Per Each

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Cabela's.

Pioneer Powder American Pioneer Powder - Per Each

American Pioneer Powder is a super-clean-burning black-powder substitute that's ideal for both muzzleloading and cartridge reloading. It replaces black powder volume-for-volume and delivers identical velocity and accuracy with virtually no residue. Produces virtually no odor. Per 1-lb. canister. FFG and FFFG Granulated Powder is a loose powder available in two granulations for easy duplication of your black-powder load. 16 oz. bottle. STICKS? are premeasured, compressed charges that make reloading fast and easy. 50-grain sticks available in .45 and .50 caliber. 100 compressed sticks per bottle. Available: FFG Granulated Powder FFFG Granulated Powder .50 Cal. Sticks
Overall Customer Rating:
2.6 out of 5
2.6
 out of 
5
(35 Reviews) 35
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 35 reviews
5 Stars
9
4 Stars
4
3 Stars
1
2 Stars
6
1 Star
15
14 out of 35(40%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for American Pioneer Powder - Per Each
Review 1 for American Pioneer Powder - Per Each
Overall Customer Rating: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Location: Newburgh, Indiana
Would you recommend this product to a friend? No

Slow to burn

Date:October 25, 2006
I tried the American Pioneer Powder Sticks this summer and found them to work as well as similar products. The clean up was just as advertised. A real dream. However during a shooting contest held by our hunting club I had one shot at 25 yards that bounced off the back stop and left a burn mark on the target,
One of the members was video taping the shoot and the powder stick can be seen flying down range leaving a smoke trail, One other shot at 50 yards caught on video tape also left a smoke trail down range and the bullet hit three inches below the bulls eye.
I would hate to have the buck of a lifetime broadside and have the bullet bounce of his side.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 2 for American Pioneer Powder - Per Each
Overall Customer Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Location: Alabama
Would you recommend this product to a friend? No

What a ripoff

Date:November 8, 2006
After many times, I got a poor group at every range attempted. Three to five inches at 50 yards and eight to to twelve at 100, and don't even ask about the 125 marker. My groups with other products at 100 yards are under three inches. The report of my rifle per shot was totaly incosistient, sometimes almost no recoil, others in-between, and yet others had extreme recoil. My shots were all over the place. Maybe the loose stuff is better, but I won't waste my money.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 3 for American Pioneer Powder - Per Each
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location: Southside, Virginia
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

American Pioneer Powder

Date:November 13, 2006
I have used this product in the granular form and am very pleased with it. It is exceptionally clean shooting. I clean between shots on the range when testing for accuracy and only see minimal grey on the patch. We sighted in my 10 year old son's new muzzleloader and he shot a 3 shot group at 100 yd that measured 1.25 inches. I believe this powder is very consistent and very clean and would highly recommend it in the granular form.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 4 for American Pioneer Powder - Per Each
Overall Customer Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Location: Branford, CT
Would you recommend this product to a friend? No

Poor Showing

Date:November 16, 2006
I am an avid hunter (30 years) and a certified firearms instructor. I recently purchased a top of the line muzzleloader with a matching scope, also of top quality and price. I special ordered the American Pioneer powder thinking that I could match the consistency and quality of the standard cylindrical pellets, with less clean-up. Using 250 Grain sabot bullets with 150 grains of American Pioneer Powder (Jim Shockey's) sighting in was impossible. I experienced inconsistent burns, inconsistent bullet patterns (at 75 yards on a bench rest), massive fouling due to slow burns and melted plastic (in the barrell) and inconsistent sizing of the so-called pellets. In my 50 caliber muzzleloader, some pellets fell right down to the bottom of the barrell and others had to be forced in using the ram rod. The packaging of the "pellets" was also shoddy. They were loosley packed in foam pellets and many of them were broken. I called the company (customer service). They said that they are looking into better packaging. They also said that I must have had a dirty/oily barrell. My barrell was spotless and dry...try again Shockey. Since my experience I have switched to back to clylindrical pellets, you know the ones I mean....at 100 yards my new muzzleloader shoots 1-2" groups... I am going back to old reliable...
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 5 for American Pioneer Powder - Per Each
Overall Customer Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location: Gasburg, VA
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

American Pioneer Powder

Date:November 21, 2006
Great black powder substitute.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 6 for American Pioneer Powder - Per Each
Overall Customer Rating: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Location: Des Moines, IA
Would you recommend this product to a friend? No

American Pioneer Powder Sticks

Date:November 21, 2006
Being new to Black Powder hunting, I did a ton of research before I went out and bought powder. I had my mind dead set on Triple 7 pellets. When I got to the store I was talked into trying this new revolution in clean muzzlelaoding. It truly is a very clean powder, however getting a consistent 100 grain was near impossible as most of the sticks in the container had piece that had crumbled away. Also the sticks are just wider that the barrell on my Knight Revolution which caused some of the powder to be shaved off. If they could make them fit in the barrell easier and store them in some other container these would be awesome but I think I am going with Triple 7 until they fix these problems.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 7 for American Pioneer Powder - Per Each
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location: South Dakota
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Pioneer Powder

Date:November 24, 2006
I have been using other black powders. Then I switched to Pioneer Pellets. I had a very inconsistant striking pattern. I read the other reviews at Cabelas and decided to switch to their fine powder. I went out and tried it and it is very consistant and I went to 150 grains. I shot 30 rounds all in about and area of 6" at 25 yards. I did step out to 50 yards and shot a couple in the same area. I have never cleaned my rifle after all these shots. I had a little trouble in the first inch or two in the barrel,, but after that it is just like a well cleaned barrel. I would highly recommend the fine powder but not the pellets. It was actually a pleasure shooting my muzzle loader because the only thing I hated about muzzle loaders is cleaning them.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 8 for American Pioneer Powder - Per Each
Overall Customer Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Location: MS
Would you recommend this product to a friend? No

American Pioneer Powder

Date:December 7, 2006
I have been hunting for years and have purchased several of the "new and best hunting products to come out". In other words... I wasted who knows how much money on stuff that ended up being completely worthless. American Pioneer Powder is my latest "worthless purchase". I have shot Triple 7 pellets and have NEVER had a problem. I decided to purchase American Powder hoping it would perform as it claimed... clean burning, less mess, and easy cleaning. It did absolutley NONE of these. The pellets were all broken up in the container, some of them fell to the bottom of my barrel, the others I had to cram in the barrel with my rod. Sighting in was an absolute nightmare.... I could never even get an accurate grouping to even try to dial my scope in. Using 100 grains of powder and a 250 grain bullet I had several shots that would not even make over 100 yards. They were hitting the ground at about 75 yards. Some of the shots I took would feel like I was shooting a .22 rifle, and others would try and take my arm off. I even had a friend video tape me as I shot to see what was going on. The tape clearly showed the bullet, sabot, and one of the sticks of powder going through the air. I finally got fed up wasting time and bullets, so I reach back in my gun box and pulled out my Triple 7 pellets. I shot three times at 100 yards and all three bullets were in a 1.5 inch group dead center on the target. At 150 yards I grouped 3 shots in a 3 inch circle. All in all....do not waste your time or money by purchasing American Pioneer Powder.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 9 for American Pioneer Powder - Per Each
Overall Customer Rating: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Location: ohio
Would you recommend this product to a friend? No

not so great

Date:December 13, 2006
After shooting about half a bottle of the powder all that I really liked about it was its ease of clean up. You can shoot all day without cleaning the gun out and still be able to get the bullets in but after 3 shots if I didnt clean the gun its accuracy was totaly gone the powder was also very coarse I just really disliked the powder. The half a bottle of it I have left will most likley just sit in my gun cabnet im going back to triple seven.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 10 for American Pioneer Powder - Per Each
Overall Customer Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Location: Iowa
Would you recommend this product to a friend? No

.45 cal sticks

Date:December 13, 2006
Simply put don't waste your money!!! Buy Triple 7 to begin with and save yourself a ton of headaches. Like some of the other reviews I had everything from sticks that landed smoking on the grass to over powered charges that felt like they were going to tear my shoulder off. Sticks in the bottle were broken and you could only hope that you had a properly measured charge. Also the tapered square shape of the stick didn't lend itself to easy loading.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 11 for American Pioneer Powder - Per Each
Overall Customer Rating: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Location: Bogalusa, La.
Would you recommend this product to a friend? No

American Pioneer Powder Sticks

Date:December 23, 2006
I recently used the American Pioneer Powder Sticks during the Muzzleloader season in Tennessee this year. I found the powder to burn clean as advertised with virtually no clean up. I experienced some "hang fires" where the bullet could actually be seen between the target and the muzzle. I found the "sticks" ignition to be inconsistent. Although I harvested several deer with this product, I really didn't trust its ignition. I am a very careful "smoke poler" and I am convinced the problem was not "pilot error" or "cockpit trouble". In fairness, I didn't try the granulated version or "Shockey's Gold". The sticks could use some improvements such as better ignition, keeping the sticks from breaking apart in the container. Their size is also incomsistent as some would fit in the barrel of my Knight Revolution and some had to be ramrodded home. I will not use them next season.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 12 for American Pioneer Powder - Per Each
Overall Customer Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

best yet

Date:February 11, 2007
I hunt deer with a triditional flintlock Kenticky Rifle. I have been looking for Black Powder substitute that works for some time. I got poor results with Tripple 7 and you can't use pyrodex in a flintlock. I also shoot percussion revolvers and my experinance with pyrodex has been you might as well use black powder for all the mess. Enter APP.
When I tried App the first time in my flintlock the first time I was really disapointed with the first two or three shots. The hang fires were quite bad. Then I tried 4f black powder in the flash pan. Ignition wos instant, all my shots were on target and I took ten shoots without cleaning!
I then tried APP in my revolvers. I used an over powder wad and no grease as per the instructions with the powder. The results were the same as with the flintlock. Very little or no fouling and on Target.
I would have rated this product 5 star except I found I had to ust 4 f black powder in the flash pan instead of 3f App.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 13 for American Pioneer Powder - Per Each
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location: Kent, Washington
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

APP grains shoot consistent and CLEAN

Date:February 28, 2007
I have always shot loose grains so cannot comment on sticks or pre-measure. APP is a great black powder substitute. My experience and groups have been flawless w/P.belts. I did get my dear last season on this combo and was doubly pleased!
I've only used the APP once in my revolver w/balls, wads, & #11's last fall just dinkin' around w/o targets. The recoil felt consistent and no mis-fires. I was very happy w/it.
The minimal clean-up is true to claims.
-FullOnBoom
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 14 for American Pioneer Powder - Per Each
Overall Customer Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Location: Mason City, IA
Would you recommend this product to a friend? No

Awful!!

Date:April 18, 2007
Sticks tend to crumple in barrel, resulting in eratic groupings, same amount of fowling as triple seven or pyrodex.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 15 for American Pioneer Powder - Per Each
Overall Customer Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Location: North Carolina
Would you recommend this product to a friend? No

no burn in this powder!!!

Date:July 12, 2007
This is the single worst hunting product I have ever bought. Misfire after misfire. Partial burns, No burns it was awful. Sent it back. Do not buy this product.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 16 for American Pioneer Powder - Per Each
Overall Customer Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location: Nebraska
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

American Pioneer Powder; FFG

Date:July 18, 2007
APP in the FFG granulation is a very clean way of shooting your blackpowder firearm. I only recommend its use in inline rifles with musket caps or 209 primers, as ignition is difficult for sidelocks or #11 inline cap shooters to achieve consistently. The courseness makes it almost impossible to use in a flask, but easy with a bottle-funnel at the shooting range. I have shot over 50 shots at a time without cleaning, with ease on the first as much as the last. The downside to APP is its power. It lacks the velocity that a similar volume of Pyrodex RS or Triple Se7en would give you. With heavier charges in inline rifles it makes a fine hunting load, and it makes a clean shooting range toy for other shooting purposes.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 17 for American Pioneer Powder - Per Each
Overall Customer Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Location: Cave Junction, OR
Would you recommend this product to a friend? No

Rocks work better!!!

Date:August 28, 2007
Not being a complete beginner at black powder hunting I was intrigued by the promises of AP Powder and gave it a try and Try is the operative description. From 60 yards and out, I was never able to achieve less than a 9 inch grouping and there were a few rounds that never touched the paper. The absolute worst shooting experience ever, I would strongly urge you to throw rocks, you will do better!!!
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 18 for American Pioneer Powder - Per Each
Overall Customer Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Location: Syracuse,NY
Would you recommend this product to a friend? No

AP powder

Date:September 11, 2007
After using the AP pellets for the first time, the only thing I can say is that I am not impressed. Couldn't get groups any tighter than 6 to 7 inches at 50 yards. I then let my friend try to see if he could do better and actually saw a smoke trail fall to the ground at about 20 yards out. Obviously all the powder was not igniting at once. P.S.-My freind didn't do any better!
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 19 for American Pioneer Powder - Per Each
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location: Tampa, Florida
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

American Pioneer Powder

Date:September 12, 2007
I am fairly new to the sport of blackpowder shooting. I have, however, done a lot of research reading on the use of synthetic black powder replacement products in various publications by Sam Fadala, who I would say is someone who knows what he is talking about. Pyrodex powder first came out in 1976, and it has always been known for years that the synthetic black powder substitutes are not totally 100% compatible with flintlock firearms, including the American Pioneer Black Powder products. I am a flintlock shooter, and the first time I tried the American Pioneer powder in my .50 caliber Blue Ridge Flintlock rifle, without using any of the pure black powder, all I got was fffft's (misfires). I knew what I had to do. I went out and bought cans of the pure black powder, and I tried the duplex powder-loading system in my guns, and have gotten good ignition with it. It works like this: first you pour a 20-grain "detonator charge" down the barrel, and then pour the balance of your powder charge with the American Pioneer Powder, or whatever you are using, like Pyrodex, or Triple 7 en. (Just remember not to exceed the manufacturer's recommended maximum load, and always use powder measures.) And the 4-fg frizzen pan powder is still needed for the frizzen. I picked up this information from a CVA owner's manual about the use of the duplex-loading system in flintlock firearms, and from the basic black powder handbook by Sam Fadala. I use the American Pioneer powder in my flintlocks because of the cleaner-burning capacity that it has, resulting in an easier post-range clean-up of the guns after shooting.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 20 for American Pioneer Powder - Per Each
Overall Customer Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Location: AL
Would you recommend this product to a friend? No

Bummer!

Date:September 17, 2007
This stuff is terrible ... horrible groups ... not even on paper.
Switched back to my regular black powder and fired just 3 shots -- tight group and done.
Will use the remainder of powder sticks to entertain on bon fire night!
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
ReviewQuestion 1-20 of 35