Customer Reviews for HORNADY Hornady® TAP-FPD Rifle Ammunition

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Cabela's.

HORNADY Hornady® TAP-FPD Rifle Ammunition

Now the ammunition technology law-enforcement personnel and elite military units trust their lives to is available to the civilian market. These rounds are loaded with the same bullets used in Hornady's TAP Law Enforcement ammunition. The cases are polished nickel that improves feeding in all firearms and prevents corrosion. Propellants produce nearly zero muzzle flash, so night vision isn't affected at critical moments.
Overall Customer Rating:
4.706 out of 5
4.7
 out of 
5
(109 Reviews) 109
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 109 reviews
5 Stars
92
4 Stars
9
3 Stars
4
2 Stars
1
1 Star
3
103 out of 109(94%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Hornady® TAP-FPD Rifle Ammunition
Review 1 for Hornady® TAP-FPD Rifle Ammunition
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location: Dallas, TX
Age: 46-55
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Fantastic Self Defense Round

Date:January 13, 2012
Luckily I haven't had to try these out for real but they're a heck of a round. I keep my SIG P229 loaded on my night table with these. I also have my .380 Colt carry pistol loaded with the same.
I've used Hornady cartridges without fail.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 2 for Hornady® TAP-FPD Rifle Ammunition
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Country: United States
State: Kentucky
Age: 36-45
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

380ACP

Date:April 16, 2013
Had a hard time finding Hollow Point ammo that would not nose dive when being cycled through my 380, these HP are a little longer than the norm and have done the trick.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 3 for Hornady® TAP-FPD Rifle Ammunition
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Country: United States
State: Colorado
Age: 46-55
Gender: Female
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Better ammunition

Date:February 26, 2013
I really like the recoil from using this ammunition in my P238. Haven't notice any jam problems and what it does to the targets makes it the one that I like to carry for personal protection.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 4 for Hornady® TAP-FPD Rifle Ammunition
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Very Clean and Accurate 308 round

Date:October 13, 2012
The 308 155 Gr. TAP round is very accurate and amazingly clean. It's the cleanest 308 I've shot. Just barely fits in a FAL magazine, but it does function flawlessly. Also works great with a M14/M1A.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 5 for Hornady® TAP-FPD Rifle Ammunition
Overall Customer Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Hornady TAP-FPD .308 Ammo

Date:October 2, 2012
Of 20 rds used 2 were duds. the other 18 were amazingly accurate.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 6 for Hornady® TAP-FPD Rifle Ammunition
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Great ammo

Date:June 26, 2012
This is the only ammo I will use. It fires consistently and accurately and works perfectly in my glock 21.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 7 for Hornady® TAP-FPD Rifle Ammunition
Overall Customer Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Sig P229. 40 cal.

Date:June 6, 2012
Good quality components, no problems with it feeding or ejecting. Shot good, but just not as accurate as some of the other brands I shot, but still good for close range defense ammo.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 8 for Hornady® TAP-FPD Rifle Ammunition
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

TAP-FPD

Date:May 31, 2012
Tried 75 grain, no difference in accuracy, excellent round.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 9 for Hornady® TAP-FPD Rifle Ammunition
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Great Looking Round

Date:May 24, 2012
If performance is anything like their visual appearance this will be a great round.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 10 for Hornady® TAP-FPD Rifle Ammunition
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Country: United States
State: Florida
Age: 65 and over
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

JHP/XTD

Date:May 17, 2012
CLICKED ON HANDGUN JHP/XTD GOT RIFLE AMMO REVIEW. DONT USE RIFLE TAP/FPD BUT IF IT PERFORMS AS GOOD AS ITS HANDGUN COUNTER PART IT SHOULD BE EXCELLENT. I USE JHP/XTD IN 380, 9MM, AND 45ACP. ITS NOT THE CHEAPEST AND I HAVE TRIED THEM ALL. THIS IS CERTAINLY ONE OF THE VERY BEST. I RECOMMEND IT.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 11 for Hornady® TAP-FPD Rifle Ammunition
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Great Ammo

Date:May 16, 2012
My friend is a Team Hornady member. Their ammo and shooters are top notch. Highly reliable.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 12 for Hornady® TAP-FPD Rifle Ammunition
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Country: United States
State: Ohio
Age: 36-45
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

great stopping power

Date:May 2, 2012
Hornaday ammo is top of the line. Hunting or selfdefence recommend no other ammo.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 13 for Hornady® TAP-FPD Rifle Ammunition
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location: St. Louis, MO
Age: 36-45
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Wicked looking firepower!

Date:April 24, 2012
Fired these through my Ruger P95 without a problem. Now I know they are reliable, and am going to pick up a few boxes for a "just in case" situation.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 14 for Hornady® TAP-FPD Rifle Ammunition
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

awesome

Date:April 23, 2012
Best ammo ever!!! i liked the look and accuracy of the bullet. looking forward to reloading the nickel brass.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 15 for Hornady® TAP-FPD Rifle Ammunition
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Age: 46-55
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

My 1911 Loves This

Date:April 23, 2012
No FTEs or FTFs, price is good.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 16 for Hornady® TAP-FPD Rifle Ammunition
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location: Hellertown, Pennsylvania
Age: 56-65
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Great Personal Defense Factory Ammo

Date:April 10, 2012
I fired the 168 Grain bullet in this ammunition. I used an FNH Sport/Tactical bolt-action rifle with a pre-'64 Model 70 action and 24" fluted target barrel. I used a 3 to 10X Weaver tactical scope. At 100 yards, this ammunition fired in this rifle produced groups just under 1" without any problem. I could easily get smaller groups once I get used to using a tactical scope. The nickel-plated cases ensure smooth feeding and protection from corrosion. You may get even better results out of your rifle. I will be buying more of this ammunition sometime in the future.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 17 for Hornady® TAP-FPD Rifle Ammunition
Overall Customer Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

They go pow.

Date:April 10, 2012
Can't say a thing bad about them. I ended up with a 30rd mag full in my AR for at home. Wanted something that might not be to bad at over penetration, when it came to walls and such. Haven't ran to much through my rifle just because of the cost but recoil in down when comparing to mx855, which helps speed up that fallow up shot
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 18 for Hornady® TAP-FPD Rifle Ammunition
Overall Customer Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Good performance 9mm

Date:March 11, 2012
Ran these thru my Springfield XDM without any issues and plenty of power.
Shot these into a 5 gallon bucket of water but the jacket and core separated and the lead core went thru the bucket.
Zombie max ammo performed better.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 19 for Hornady® TAP-FPD Rifle Ammunition
Overall Customer Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Would you recommend this product to a friend? No

9mm

Date:March 11, 2012
Kel tec 9mm. 20 rounds attempted and 13 did not fire due to bad primers. All had dead center indentions. Some i even fed through twice and they still did not fire. My Kel tec shoots other ammo fine. Also I shot the same cartridge in .380 through my tarus and it worked fine. Maybe got a bad box?? Hard to trust it after my experience
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 20 for Hornady® TAP-FPD Rifle Ammunition
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location: san fernando, ca
Age: 25 and under
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

no wasted energy

Date:February 12, 2012
I picked up box of the 110gr for my sps varmmit and tested it on a 12 pound piece of pork shoulder. The results were instant and dramatic. Hit near dead center and blew the shoulder apart literally. Half went one way the other half flew 6ft the other direction. Now I know these don't have alot of energy for a .308 but these don't waste any by going though the target. Very pleased with these. If you are looking for a home defense round or varmmit bullet this is a good one
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
ReviewQuestion 1-20 of 109