Customer Reviews for CABELA'S Cabela's .50 Caliber Muzzleloader Starter Kit

CABELA'S Cabela's .50 Caliber Muzzleloader Starter Kit

Get on the range and into the woods quickly by purchasing this assortment of premium shooting accessories for your muzzleloader - all you'll need are primers and powder. Includes: 20 250-gr. Shockwave controlled expansion bullets in Mag Express Sabots. Composite T-Handle Short Starter/Ramrod Extension, Super Jag with integrated spire-point bullet tip, three Magnum Quickshot speedloaders, 209 capper/decapper, bronze cleaning brush, 4-oz. bottle of Black-Powder Solvent, 1/2-oz. tube of Superlube and 25 cleaning patches. ATTENTION: Residents of DC and MA please check your local laws for restrictions before ordering any shot or bullet products.
Overall Customer Rating:
4.364 out of 5
4.4
 out of 
5
(77 Reviews) 77
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 77 reviews
5 Stars
41
4 Stars
27
3 Stars
7
2 Stars
0
1 Star
2
72 out of 77(94%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer questions and answers:
2 Questions | 2 Answers
Customer Reviews for Cabela's .50 Caliber Muzzleloader Starter Kit
Review 1 for Cabela's .50 Caliber Muzzleloader Starter Kit
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location: UT
Age: 46-55
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Pleased

Date:January 16, 2012
My experience with this muzzleloader has been positive. Easy to load, easy to clean. It came with the starter kit which was a great bonus. So far, my experience with this muzzleloader is very postive.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 2 for Cabela's .50 Caliber Muzzleloader Starter Kit
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Country: United States
State: Michigan
Age: 36-45
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Good Stuff

Date:November 12, 2013
All quality items, that are needed.....I DO use Blackhorn 209, and the cleaner is not the recommended type, however, I still bought the kit knowing I have friends that will use it, and it is still a great kit.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 3 for Cabela's .50 Caliber Muzzleloader Starter Kit
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Country: United States
State: Hawaii
Age: 36-45
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Muzzleloading for beginners

Date:April 30, 2013
My CVA Wolf is my first muzzleloader and the Cabelas Starter Kit is what I purchased to help me get the basics and stay within my budget. The kit comes with everything needed to start your hunt minus the pyrodex charge and primers.
Thank you for this wonderful product.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 4 for Cabela's .50 Caliber Muzzleloader Starter Kit
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Country: United States
State: North Carolina
Age: 46-55
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Son Loves It!

Date:January 15, 2013
This is our first experience with black powder. I got this rifle for my 16 year old son, along with the kit. You cannot beat this for the money! Cabela's got it to our house even before we expected it. We'll be getting another black powder rifle from Cabela's in time to prepare for BP season 2013!
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 5 for Cabela's .50 Caliber Muzzleloader Starter Kit
Overall Customer Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Country: United States
State: New York
Age: 26-35
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

great for starters

Date:August 6, 2012
For anyone starting out with black powder this is a great kit.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 6 for Cabela's .50 Caliber Muzzleloader Starter Kit
Overall Customer Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Country: United States
State: South Carolina
Age: 56-65
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

good

Date:July 8, 2012
it was good for a starter kit, it arived on time and in good shape, thanks
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 7 for Cabela's .50 Caliber Muzzleloader Starter Kit
Overall Customer Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Country: United States
Age: 65 and over
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Good purchase for new muzzleloader

Date:May 18, 2012
Being new to the black powder sport, I purchased my first muzzleloader and the starter kit is an good way to get the essentials to get you started
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 8 for Cabela's .50 Caliber Muzzleloader Starter Kit
Overall Customer Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Location: Leesburg, VA
Age: 56-65
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Purchase items separately

Date:March 5, 2012
If the starter kit is not included with your muzzleloader purchase, consider buying these items separately as needed rather than purchasing the kit. I prefer Powerbelts over Sabot bullets anyway.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 9 for Cabela's .50 Caliber Muzzleloader Starter Kit
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location: Pine City, ny
Age: 26-35
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Good product

Date:January 24, 2012
I purchased this as a present for my father. As a beginner this should be a fine starter gun. The starter kit is great too. All you need to get started!
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 10 for Cabela's .50 Caliber Muzzleloader Starter Kit
Overall Customer Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location: Fort Atkinson WI
Age: 46-55
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

50 Cal. Starter kit

Date:January 24, 2012
This was a great kit to give my son as a gift. It was the quality product that I expect to get from Cabelas. Thank you again.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 11 for Cabela's .50 Caliber Muzzleloader Starter Kit
Overall Customer Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Location: West Ky.
Age: 65 and over
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? No

Better off buying separately

Date:January 16, 2012
My opinion is you're better off buying the items you want separately. The plastic speed loaders lack the speed and durability of most others and the bullets can be purchased separately as reasonable I beleive.
Most rifles you won't use the short starter handle either.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 12 for Cabela's .50 Caliber Muzzleloader Starter Kit
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location: Ashland, OH
Age: 56-65
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Great starter kit

Date:January 16, 2012
Recently purchased a Traditions Canyon .50 Cal muzzle loader with this kit included for a young hunter I'm mentoring. It had everything I needed to show him the basics of cleaning and loading his new gun. Happy to say he had the gun shooting dead on in 4 shots.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 13 for Cabela's .50 Caliber Muzzleloader Starter Kit
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location: Indiana, PA
Age: 46-55
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Starter Kit

Date:January 11, 2012
Everything needed to get started but the caps and pellets.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 14 for Cabela's .50 Caliber Muzzleloader Starter Kit
Overall Customer Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location: Dearborn ,Mi
Age: 56-65
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Cabela's Muzzleloader Starter Kit – .50 Caliber

Date:January 9, 2012
As a hunter who was not previously into muzzleloaders this kit was a good way to start out. All you have to add is powder and primers.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 15 for Cabela's .50 Caliber Muzzleloader Starter Kit
Overall Customer Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location: Colorado
Age: 56-65
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

50 cal Starter Kit

Date:January 9, 2012
Being new to muzzleloading, I wasn't sure what I needed and what I didn't need. The starter kit had everything I needed to go to the range and shoot my new gun. After going to the range I determined what else I was going to need, but this kit got me started in the right direction.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 16 for Cabela's .50 Caliber Muzzleloader Starter Kit
Overall Customer Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Location: Connecticut USA
Would you recommend this product to a friend? No

.50 Cal Starter kit

Date:October 3, 2011
This was the second one I purchased. Last year it was for my son's Thompson. It had the powerbelt bullets and was a great value. This time I bought the starter kit for the new CVA Optima I bought for myself. They now package the starter kit with sabot ammunition which is not recommended by CVA (or others). My fault, I didn't notice the change. No point in even sighting in with sabots if I am using powerbelts to hunt because the flight characteristics are different. Plus, sabots are VERY hard to clean up in the barrel because of plastic build up. So, they are no use to me.
Bottom line, the starter kit without useable bullets is more expensive than buying the other things in the package. Not a good deal.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 17 for Cabela's .50 Caliber Muzzleloader Starter Kit
Overall Customer Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location: san jose ca
Age: 26-35
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

good stuff for a starter like me

Date:September 26, 2011
it has the stuff u need for the range and cleaning so don't just go out to shoot without this stuff or Ur gun will get messed up
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 18 for Cabela's .50 Caliber Muzzleloader Starter Kit
Overall Customer Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location: Perry fl.
Age: 46-55
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

new to muzzle loading

Date:July 20, 2011
being new to the sport I wasn't sure what I needed and what I didn't and starter kit was everything I needed to go to the range and shoot my new gun. sure you'll be buying other stuff but it will get you started. hince the name "starter kit"
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 19 for Cabela's .50 Caliber Muzzleloader Starter Kit
Overall Customer Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Location: Grand Junction, CO
Age: 46-55
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? No

Black Powder Starter Kit

Date:July 5, 2011
the kit was nice, and good value, however i did not like 3 speed loader tubes. they dont have a cap and require the installation of a bullet in the tube to seal it.
i dont believe this is legal in colorado. (the state i bought it in)
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 20 for Cabela's .50 Caliber Muzzleloader Starter Kit
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location: Houston, TX
Age: 56-65
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Pretty neat buy!

Date:March 2, 2011
Very applicable for a muzzle-loader shooter!
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
ReviewQuestion 1-20 of 77