Customer Reviews for RCBS RCBS® Turret Press

RCBS RCBS® Turret Press

You have complete control over every step of the reloading process with the RCBS Turret Press because you can operate it in either progressive or single-stage mode. Heavy-duty cast-iron construction. Six stations on the turret head have 7⁄8"-14 threads to accommodate most reloading dies and offer flexibility in the mounting sequence of dies and powder measure. A detent ensures positive alignment. The turret head is held in place by one bolt, allowing quick, easy change-overs. The ball handle can be positioned for right- or left-hand use and there’s a primer catcher that snaps off for convenient disposal. Primer plugs and sleeves are included for seating large and small primers. Dies and shellholder not included.
Overall Customer Rating:
4.08 out of 5
4.1
 out of 
5
(25 Reviews) 25
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 25 reviews
5 Stars
13
4 Stars
6
3 Stars
3
2 Stars
1
1 Star
2
20 out of 25(80%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer questions and answers:
2 Questions | 5 Answers
Customer Reviews for RCBS® Turret Press
Review 1 for RCBS® Turret Press
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Country: United States
State: Washington
Age: 65 and over
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Wish I'd bought this sooner

Date:January 31, 2014
Great press. I've been using the same Rockchucker for more than 30 years & thought I'd upgrade. Some of the reviews about the turret press were pretty negative but I decided to try it anyway. Glad I did. Easy to set up & use and everything worked the way it's supposed to, even the spent primer catcher although it is on the small side. You need to be more deliberate with each step using this press but that's not a bad thing. Really pleased with it.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 2 for RCBS® Turret Press
Overall Customer Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Country: United States
State: Oklahoma
Age: 26-35
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Well Machined

Date:December 20, 2013
Great reloader for the money. I'm not a progressive reloader so works perfect for me. Super smooth operating doesnt torque in the handle or elsewhere. When the handle is down the spindle is peaked out at height making for easier setting of dies. The only problem ive noticed is when punching primers out they tend to get caught in the groove of the spindle and will hang it up. I use a hand primer so havent used the priming accessory parts. The turret head is very solid with distinct notches when rotating for lineup.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 3 for RCBS® Turret Press
Overall Customer Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Country: United States
State: New Mexico
Age: 56-65
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Primer design BAD

Date:March 15, 2013
I gave myself one for Christmas. Very pleased with the press and ease of set up and use. Sure beats removing dies one at a time and resetting next die. However, the automatic priming device leaves much to be desired! Mine would not push back or forth within the slot on the press; had to put 2 small washers between the press and primer handle. After only a few hundred shells the slide kept getting caught on the flimsy primer deflector. I ended up removing the primer on the press and setting up my old one stage RCBS press and using it to prime cases.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 4 for RCBS® Turret Press
Overall Customer Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Country: United States
State: Colorado
Age: 36-45
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Good press for the money

Date:November 19, 2012
Certainly faster than the rock chucker. Only 4 stars for 2 reasons.
1. Flat spring that deflects spent primers into catcher and then moves out of the way for new primer carrier sticks and deflects spent primers down into the ram linkage where it locks everything up and is hard to clear.
2. The small primer carrier wouldn't fit into the slot under the primer feed tube. I had to file it down. You have to watch very closely or you can get a large number of primers that end up upside down or sideways and stick the brass in the shell holder.
I've gone back to using the hand primer which takes longer but fixed all these problems.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 5 for RCBS® Turret Press
Overall Customer Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Age: 56-65
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? No

Poor Design

Date:October 9, 2012
This press failed in two ways. First, the spent primer collector does not work and the spent primers often end up inside the ram. Twice I had to disassemble the ram to free up the ram after locking up on a spent primer. Second, the spring clip on the top of the ram broke the second time I changed shellholders. I am really disappointed in the quality and design of this RCBS product. It is being shipped back for exchange.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 6 for RCBS® Turret Press
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Age: 46-55
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

RCBS turret press

Date:March 29, 2012
SUPER PRESS ! this is great, speeds up reloading time, great to work with
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 7 for RCBS® Turret Press
Overall Customer Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Age: 56-65
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Reloading

Date:March 28, 2012
Wonderful Tool I was Using A Single Stage RCBS.
Advanced To A Turet Press
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 8 for RCBS® Turret Press
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Age: 46-55
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Love the multifunctional capability

Date:March 28, 2012
I love the RCBS Turret press. This press gives me the option of using it single stage or progressive of which I have done both. When I have more time I use the progressive features, when I have less time I utilize the single stage so that I keep controls in place to make certain that I am performing safely and with quality as the utmost requirement I have for myself. My son and I have already tested the results at the range without a single dud. I'm very happy with this product. I have already completed over 600 reloads of three different calibers. I highly recommend this product.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 9 for RCBS® Turret Press
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location: Charlottesville VA
Age: 26-35
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Great starter press.

Date:January 9, 2012
I started out as a beginner with this press and am now confident enough to load every caliber I shoot often. I load three of the stations on the turret with bullet seater dies. These can stay adjusted for cartridge overall length. Then I use the fourth station for the powder measure. That has to be readjusted for different loads and calibers but it only takes a minute a two and then you can crank out as many of that load as you want. The fifth station I keep open for a decapper/sizer die since those take very little adjustment, they can switched out quickly for whatever cases you want to prep. This press has worked perfectly for me and is very accurate. For instance I can load up 50 or 100 .223 rounds using the powder measure, then switch to the .308 seater die and hand measure powder for four or five rounds to go hunting with in the morning. Once the dies are adjusted they don't need to be touched again unless you remove them from the press. When switching calibers, it always seats the bullets to the same measurement.
The only downside I see is you do need alot of other things than is offered in the deluxe kit to actually begin reloading. Such as a caliper, a large primer pocket cleaner, eventually a case trimmer, bullet puller, more case holders and obviously all the components (powder, primers, bullets, cases) . Overall I love this press and won't need anything more until I start shooting a whole lot more!
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 10 for RCBS® Turret Press
Overall Customer Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Location: Jackson, CA
Age: 56-65
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

It is the little things that can kill a great prod

Date:September 12, 2011
Just purchased this press a few weeks ago and today I spent time putting it on my work bench so I could put it to work. This press is well made but would you belive that the little spring that holds the shell holder in place was not in its proper location. I never thought so much time could be spent attempting to get this little spring back to its home. I gave up after 1 1/2 hours of work and, now plan to call service to see if they can help me. Oh without having the shell holder in its correct location you are not going anywhere with this great press.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 11 for RCBS® Turret Press
Overall Customer Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location: california
Age: 26-35
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

turret press

Date:April 1, 2011
another good product from rcbs.extra turret head is a plus,now i can set up all the dies i use with just removing one bolt to switch turret heads.the only downside the head has a little play but i installed a washer at the bolt to get rid of the play for more precision.installing washer wont let you rotate the head without loosening the bolt.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 12 for RCBS® Turret Press
Overall Customer Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location: Central Texas
Age: 46-55
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Handy press

Date:February 12, 2011
I have used my press for several years now. I have 4 turrets that I use quite frequently. It is so much quicker than my single stage press. It works great for reloading all my pistol cartridges, from decapping and resizing to finished round. I really enjoy rolling out a 100 or so rounds in a snap!!! The turrets change out fairly quickly also. I have rachet handy and it takes seconds to be changing out calibers. Definitely a winner!!!
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 13 for RCBS® Turret Press
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location: Bushkill, PA
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Turret Press

Date:September 10, 2009
Solid, sturdy turret press. My grand-kids will be using this press!
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 14 for RCBS® Turret Press
Overall Customer Rating: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Location: Los Angeles, CA
Would you recommend this product to a friend? No

only good for plinking handgun ammo

Date:September 5, 2009
I expected alot more from RCBS as I have owned a Rock Chucker since 1993. There is waaaaay too much play in the turret when sizing brass. The spent primer "catcher" is useless and 99% of the primers went onto the floor. Otherwise the press seems ok. Used it for a day and sent it back. Spent the extra $ for the other green turret press and am very happy with it.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 15 for RCBS® Turret Press
Overall Customer Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Would you recommend this product to a friend? No

disappointed

Date:September 4, 2009
The ram on this press would not accept RCBS shell holders. They would seat off-center about 1/8th inch. After speaking to RCBS and changing out the spring with no success, I gave up and decided to return it for something different.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 16 for RCBS® Turret Press
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location: Tucson, AZ
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Great Press for the Left Hander

Date:May 11, 2009
Been reloading for 29 years now, and this is my first press that a left hander can easily use. Much more convenient for feeding in and removing cases. As a turret press with no front support, may flex a little, but not a worry for the calibers I reload. Should work fine for all handgun calibers, and I use it up through 257 Roberts. Handy to leave your most used die setup in place. I have one rifle and one pistol setup, and use the 6th station for a universal decapper die. Typically good RCBS quality. Like all similar presses, I don't like the poor sensitivity it has for inserting primers, and use a separate tool for that instead. But as good as any of them for this part of the reloading process.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 17 for RCBS® Turret Press
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location: Kamloops BC -Canada
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

RCBS Turret Press

Date:November 18, 2008
The RCBS Turret press is lite, versitile, has smoth operation and is easy to use, I do not have to change die's anymore what a nice change. I even mounted my powder measure, this made the whole process evenr more enjoyable.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 18 for RCBS® Turret Press
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Top notch!

Date:June 23, 2008
Having used a single stage press for years, I finally bought this turret press. What a difference! Much better! I should have bought one years ago.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 19 for RCBS® Turret Press
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location: Rochester, NY
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

RCBS Turret Press

Date:March 17, 2008
This
is a great press as are all RCBS items. I am very pleased that I chose
the turret press instead of the single stage or the progressive press.
This allows you to set up 6 dies so you only have to set them once
instead of constantly switching dies with a single stage press, it also
allows you to control each step unlike a progressive press. I have
allready reloaded around 600 rounds and am very happy with the results.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 20 for RCBS® Turret Press
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location: Ga.
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

RCBS Turret Press

Date:October 29, 2007
Top quality,ruggedly designed and built. I don't use the press for priming, so I can't rate that aspect of it. As a loading tool goes, it's as good as I've used. I've had mine for about 5 years and load match quality 308's,along with several other rifle calibers. Easy caliber change and setup. I would recommend it to anyone who doesn't want to sacrifice quality for speed and convenience.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
ReviewQuestion 1-20 of 25