Customer Reviews for Hastings Hastings Laser Accurate Sabot Slugs

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Cabela's.

Hastings Hastings Laser Accurate Sabot Slugs

From the top name in replacement shotgun barrels comes a line of highly accurate slugs that will increase your accuracy whether you're using one of their barrels or not. The unique, patented, unitized sabot pressure wad flight profile of all Laser Accurate sabot slugs increases the accuracy with a bullet coefficient of .110 and eliminates all possibility of flyers. Expansion generated from the 12-gauge is 1-1/4"+ at 100 yds. Whether your requirement is for long-range magnum loads, for slug hunting at ranges out to 100 yards and beyond, or a lower recoil ammunition that still maintains Laser Accuracy, the Hastings Ammunition products will meet your needs and exceed your expectations. Made in USA. Five rounds per box. ATTENTION:Residents of DE, DC, IL, MA, NY and OH please check your local laws for restrictions before ordering any ammunition products. WARNING: You must be 18 or older to purchase ammunition. All ammunition will be shipped ground UPS. For safety reasons, we do not accept returns on ammunition. Always make sure you use the correct ammunition for your specific firearm. Check your local laws for any other regulations.
Overall Customer Rating:
4.791 out of 5
4.8
 out of 
5
(43 Reviews) 43
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 43 reviews
5 Stars
36
4 Stars
6
3 Stars
0
2 Stars
1
1 Star
0
42 out of 43(98%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Hastings Laser Accurate Sabot Slugs
Review 21 for Hastings Laser Accurate Sabot Slugs
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location: wisconsin
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Great slug. Good price.

Date:December 2, 2008
Bought these for my 14 year old son's 20 guage mossberg. He had used Hornadays the previous 2 years & has taken 3 deer with them. 1 - small 6 point buck, 1 - doe, 1 - small doe. All the deer were taken at about 25-30 yds, with 1 shot each, placed in the heart, or lungs and all the dear ran about 50 yds before they fell.
This year he tried Hastings Slugs. They sighted in great (so did the Hornadays). But where these shined was is in the field. My son Dropped a 9 pointer, 16" spread, 2 1/2 yr old buck dead in his tracks at about 75 yds.
Don't know if it's a fluke, or not, but I'll be buying Hastings again next year.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 22 for Hastings Laser Accurate Sabot Slugs
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location: michigan
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

laser acurate

Date:November 23, 2008
that is exactly what they meant LASER ACURATE
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 23 for Hastings Laser Accurate Sabot Slugs
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location: IOWA
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

GREAT SLUG, GOOD PRICE

Date:November 18, 2008
Very good slug and the price is right.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 24 for Hastings Laser Accurate Sabot Slugs
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location: Central Wisconsin
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Awsome product

Date:September 29, 2008
Loved this ammo. Cant tell you how impressed I was with the grouping and consistancy. At 110 yards with a Browning BPS rifled barrel I had picture perfect shots. This is the ammo I will use for life.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 25 for Hastings Laser Accurate Sabot Slugs
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location: Oregon
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Money saver

Date:September 23, 2008
I hunt elk and deer in coastal areas of Oregon that are shotgun only. I shoot a Benelli Super Black Eagle II with a scoped rifled slug barrel. Over the past two years I have spent about $100 on different sabot slugs, trying to get acceptable accuracy. I had settled on Hornady's as the most accurate, but wasn't totally happy. After last year's hunting season, I bought 4 boxes of Hastings 2 3/4" from Cabela's. This morning I removed the smooth bore barrel from my Benelli and put on my scoped slug barrel and went to the range. I found an untouched target at 50 yards. One shot of the Hastings hit dead center. I moved to the hundred range and put up one sight-in target and a large broadside deer target. My first shot at the sight-in target hit perfectly on windage and 5 inches low. I adjusted the scope elevation and fired again at the same target. Again the windage was perfect and the slug hole was 1/2 inch above dead center. I fired one other round at the deer target and had a PERFECT behind the shoulder hit. Four rounds to sight-in, and I feel more ready than I have in years. I have never felt more confident with any other hunting gun, including my Weatherby rifle. Highly recommended!
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 26 for Hastings Laser Accurate Sabot Slugs
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location: Fort Worth, TX
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Very Happy!

Date:September 23, 2008
I recently used the 2 3/4 inch slugs in my Rem. 870 with a 21" rifled slug barrel configured with 3x9x40 Bushnell Banner Scope and very pleased with the results. I was able to consistanly get 2-3 inch groups at 100 yrds. I fired 2 boxes and both with the same results. In the past I was using Partition Gold Slugs by Winchester and did not get near the results I did with Hastings. If you need more info about these slugs, visit Hastings web site to view a great informational video on field tests conducted by the company. Have a great season!
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 27 for Hastings Laser Accurate Sabot Slugs
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location: Evansville, IN
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

ripping slugs

Date:September 22, 2008
i shot these slugs into a hung up cow rib cage.( after slaughtered) and a huge foam back drop that would catch the bullet. these slugs mushroom like crazy. and are extremely accurate. They are about a half inch thick. and they mushroomed out to about 3/4 inch. want a slug that will nock down a deer. these are it. i have not been able to use them in the feild yet since season starts 15 nov. but i targeted them at 100 yards with a mossberge 535 rifled barrel with a 4x scope. it has 1.5 grouping. GREAT SLUGS! BUY THEM!
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 28 for Hastings Laser Accurate Sabot Slugs
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location: ROCKINGHAM NC
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

The name says it all.

Date:July 19, 2008
I shoot a Browning BPS 12 ga. with a fully rifled slug barrel with a cantilever scope mount with a Bushnell 3-9x40 scope with 6" eye relief. Over the years I have tried many different brand name sabot slugs on the market, and as most will agree, you usually settle for a particular round that shoots or groups "OK" for a slug gun" but not really that accurate. After buying and trying the Hastings LA slugs, I could not believe how accurate these things are, even out to 125 yds. I can literally group a 2" ragged hole with 5 shots out to 125 yds. I shoot the 2 3/4 mags 1 1/4 oz simply bucause I am not a big fan of heavy recoil from the 3" shells and there really isn't a very big differnce across the board between the two. The discard on impact design truly enhances accuracy, does not build up lead in your barrel riflings and delivers the ultimate smackdown of energy transfer on target. I am very pleased with this product and the price and will definately continue to use it.Very accurate,Very deadly!
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 29 for Hastings Laser Accurate Sabot Slugs
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

accuracy and lookalikes

Date:July 5, 2008
I have shot these sabots and had an accuracy of three shot groups at 100 yards being less than the width of two slugs side x side (center to center. Yes, they put the deer down and may have gone through the deer with great expansion.
As far as lookalikes, there will always be lookalikes if it is successful, however, Hastings was the first to be patented of all lookalikes.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 30 for Hastings Laser Accurate Sabot Slugs
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location: Bucks County, PA
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

They are accurate!

Date:January 29, 2008
I bought these to try only because the price was low for a sabot slug. I then went to the Hastings site and read the accuracy claims. At the range these slugs actually were very accurate, producing 2" - 3" groups at 75 yards. I was impressed! These slugs are different in that the sabot doesn't fall away from the slug in flight. Sure makes for a big hole in the target. My first shot in the field dropped a good sized doe in her tracks with the slug going clean through. I'm sold.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 31 for Hastings Laser Accurate Sabot Slugs
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location: Liberty Hill, TX
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Great Slug for the Money

Date:January 8, 2008
Great slug for the money. Very consistent out to 125 yds. They match up very well with the Hasting Slug barrels. Real consistent groupings.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 32 for Hastings Laser Accurate Sabot Slugs
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location: West Union IA
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Hastings Laser Accurate Sabot Slugs

Date:December 6, 2007
These are the best slugs that I've ever use and I tried them all. At 100 yards 3in group with 4 shots. I shot a deer at 150 yards dead run one shot and it was down and a nother a 75 yard and it took one shot also. Will be buying these shells agian for next year.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 33 for Hastings Laser Accurate Sabot Slugs
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

laser accurate is wright

Date:November 12, 2007
man they did not lie on the title laser accurate. mossberg 500 20 gauge with rifled barrel @ 1oo yards i put 5 shells within a 2inch group. right on top of one and other. and then i shot 5 more through the holes i already made with the first box. the price is great as well. the only things is thier not hollow point and i havent killed anything with them yet so i dont know how they expand but the way they shoot you should be able to hit a deer right in the hart and knock it down.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 34 for Hastings Laser Accurate Sabot Slugs
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location: Hartland< ME
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Accuracy and knockdown power

Date:November 7, 2007
Was able to shoot three inch groups at 100 yds with with my Mossberg slug gun without a rest. Harvested a nice 8- point, 220 lb. swamp dwelling whitetail on the opening day of the Maine firearm season. The front shoulder shot from 75 yards dropped him in his tracks,saving a tough tracking and retrieving situation.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 35 for Hastings Laser Accurate Sabot Slugs
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

slugs

Date:October 30, 2007
Best slug I have everr fired.Thats where I get my nickname
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 36 for Hastings Laser Accurate Sabot Slugs
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location: new jersey
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Hastings slugs

Date:October 29, 2007
For the last 5 years my club has been doing deer hunts for 2 towns. The slugs we were using the first year didn't seem to be adequate. Then we heard about the Hastings slugs. After we sighted in our shotguns (all different makes) at 50 and 100 yds and seeing the tight groups we got, we have not used anything else for the last 4 years. We purchase 10 - 12 cases a year.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 37 for Hastings Laser Accurate Sabot Slugs
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location: Catskill Mts. NY
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Hastings 20 gauge 2-3/4" Laser Sabot Slug.

Date:October 26, 2007
Firearm = Remington 11-87 20 gauge with 3” chamber 26” smooth bore barrel with rifled choke tube and Bushnell Trophy red dot sight. Barrel is pinned to receiver in 2 places. Trigger worked to 3-1/2 lbs.
Group was 3 shots 1-1/2” @ 50 yards.
I am very impressed with the accuracy and the lack of lead in the rifling that Remington Buckhammers and rifled slugs give. I feel if I were using a 4X scope I could have all shots touching. As a gunsmith I would highly recommend these. The only thing I am not sure of yet is how they will perform on deer. Hopefully I will find out this year :-]
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 38 for Hastings Laser Accurate Sabot Slugs
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location: Bergen County, NJ
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Quality with a fair price

Date:October 2, 2007
I use the Hasting 20 ga. slug.
We have not found a better slug, that hits in a 1 inch group better then this Slug. I have used many of the others, Hastings is a keeper.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 39 for Hastings Laser Accurate Sabot Slugs
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location: Northfield, NJ
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Hastings 20 ga slugs

Date:October 1, 2007
I sighted in my new H & R Ultra Slug Hunter with these slugs after watching the 9 minute video on thier website. After about 10 rds I was sighted in dead on at 100 yards. Once sighted in, my 3 shot group was not measurable. With the first two shots, I could barely make out that there were two holes. The third shot joined them and the three shot group looks like one hole. I will not shoot anything else out of this gun. Great ammo!
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 40 for Hastings Laser Accurate Sabot Slugs
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location: Fishkill, NY
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Hastings Sabot Slugs

Date:July 23, 2007
Upon trying the Hastings slugs, I found them to be extremely accurate. In fact, I had one slug go through the same hole as the one before it. These slugs are phenomenal! If you want a really accurate slug at a reasonable price, you have got to try the Hastings Laser Accurate Slugs!
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
ReviewQuestion 21-40 of 43