Customer Reviews for PIETTA Pietta Model 1858 New Army .44 Caliber Revolver

PIETTA Pietta Model 1858 New Army .44 Caliber Revolver

The Remington Model 1858 was one of the most powerful and rugged performers of its day. Easily removable/replaceable cylinders make reloading extremely fast. These realistic reproductions boast a polished brass trigger guard and walnut grips.  The 5-1/2" barrel makes it easier to holster and handle. Barrel length: 5-1/2". Overall length: 11-1/2". Weight: 2 lbs. 9 oz.
Overall Customer Rating:
4.781 out of 5
4.8
 out of 
5
(160 Reviews) 160
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 160 reviews
5 Stars
128
4 Stars
30
3 Stars
1
2 Stars
1
1 Star
0
160 out of 160(100%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer questions and answers:
21 Questions | 104 Answers
Customer Reviews for Pietta Model 1858 New Army .44 Caliber Revolver
Review 21 for Pietta Model 1858 New Army .44 Caliber Revolver
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Great Gun!

Date:June 14, 2008
I recieved the pistol in flawless condition and in good time. It is an awesome pistol to behold. The avant garde styling of this pistol with the 5 1/2" barrel makes it really stand out. Very deep bluing and the Fit and finish were perfect as far as I can tell. It's very tight and I am thinking that after about a hundred rounds or so, it will seem like an old friend. I purchased this pistol with the express purpose of a full conversion to .45 Long Colt. I bought the Kirst Cartridge Konverter w/gate and the Richards-Mason ejector assembly.I plan to use Magtech 250GR, 761fps Cowboy Action Cartridges. Im very satisfied with the quality and am looking forward to taking it to the range.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 22 for Pietta Model 1858 New Army .44 Caliber Revolver
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location: fort leanardwood mo
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

1858 army pistol 5 1/2 barrel

Date:July 18, 2008
love this pistol, very nicely made and lots of fun to shoot,they now have a stainless steel model, which i will buy later. these weapons easy to load and shoot,had little problems cleaning it. if you want to try shooting black power pistols, then these weapons are great for the price.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 23 for Pietta Model 1858 New Army .44 Caliber Revolver
Overall Customer Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location: No Cal
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Good Shooter

Date:August 11, 2008
The center pin was a little large for an R&D, so I had to ream the cyl. Accurate, better than an 8inch uberti. Good action/finish/wood, however I had to refinish the stocks.
The 1858 in 5 1/2 is a nice looking unit that handles well.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 24 for Pietta Model 1858 New Army .44 Caliber Revolver
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location: Upstate NY
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Excellent pistol

Date:October 13, 2008
This gun is nicely made, balances well, shoot like a dream. I have another Pietta Remington from Cabelas--the regular 7.5 inch bbl. These are my pistols for CAS. They shoot well, make losts of smoke and noise and feel good in my hip and cross-draw holsters. I put a conversion cylinder in it and it puts those heavy .45 LC cowboy bullets right to the point of aim.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 25 for Pietta Model 1858 New Army .44 Caliber Revolver
Overall Customer Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location: Galt, Ca
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

1858 New Army 5-1/2" Barrel .44 Caliber Revolver

Date:December 8, 2008
Excellent Revolver
I only had the one opportunity fired it . Would have Given it 5 stars but mine arrived with scratches on the barrel .
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 26 for Pietta Model 1858 New Army .44 Caliber Revolver
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location: Roundup Montana
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

The 1858 Rem 51/2 barrel revolver

Date:December 24, 2008
This is a little honey...I have both the bigger barrel and this.
I have been using 30 grains of 777 powder 3 fg. Drop a pistol wad into the cylinder followed by a conical pistol bullet and its like firing a modern weapon. Make sure you use #10 caps. No 11 are too big. The literature on the gun doesn't tell you about caps.
The extra cylinder makes loading really fast and great on the range or if your out and about with this baby. Bottom line...
highly recommended for black powder buffs.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 27 for Pietta Model 1858 New Army .44 Caliber Revolver
Overall Customer Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location: Colorado Springs, Co
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

new army

Date:December 31, 2008
The revolver looks like it will be fun to shoot. Overall quality was good. One issue with the brass casting for the trigger guard it has some small pin holes on the left side. I look forward to shooting this revolver for many years to come.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 28 for Pietta Model 1858 New Army .44 Caliber Revolver
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location: oregon
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

excelent

Date:January 10, 2009
I got mine for my birthday...naturally I tried to "pick it apart"
as soon as I pulled it out of the box...it's absolutly flawless,
loads well...shoots well...I did bump up the recomended
charg..from 28 grains to 32...and the bullet to a 454...but
I'm still messing with the load...seems to hit pretty well
no mater what I do with it...still using the #11 cap...so
what if I have to squize them to get them to stay on...I don't want to have to pry off the # 10.
anyway...I'm very happy with mine...oh yeah...uncle mikes
sidekick # 3 holster fits it perfectly.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 29 for Pietta Model 1858 New Army .44 Caliber Revolver
Overall Customer Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

1858 New Army 5 1/2 Barrel .44 Cal. Revolver

Date:February 4, 2009
This is my first black powder gun. I'm happy with its performance even though I don't know bullet velocities yet. I like the sound and smoke it produces. I've shot it on two occations. All six bullets left with out fail. I'm using #10 caps and .454 round balls on top of prelubed wads. Accuracy is not bad either. I shot to glass soda pop bottles at 10 yds dead center. I would have given this gun a 5 rating except the blueing is not well done on the triger. Easy to clean and oil. The gun came will good instruction manuel.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 30 for Pietta Model 1858 New Army .44 Caliber Revolver
Overall Customer Rating: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Location: salisbury , MD
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Its a keeper but needs better nipples to hold cap.

Date:February 10, 2009
The pistol is well worth the money. I rate it two because the percusion caps # 10 or 11 will not stay on the nipples. It has a nice blue finish and the grips are average. The trigger pull is sweet.I can hit a phone book at ten yards dead center.If it wasn't for the percusion caps falling off when firing or tilting the pistol . I would rate it a 5.I think cabelas needs to contact the company or provide better nipples with this pistol.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 31 for Pietta Model 1858 New Army .44 Caliber Revolver
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

.44 Cap-n-Ball; What a buy!

Date:March 3, 2009
This is my first Pietta BP pistol and I must say that I am impressed. The fit and finish was even better than I expected and it feels great in my hand. I have owned several other BP pistols of various manufacture and I can't say this Pietta version lacks quality in any respect, even though it is by far the least expensive. It loads and fires well with no malfunctions to date. It is very accurate at 25 yds. free handed and I am planning to shoot from a rest and tailor the load soon to see just what this baby can do. You can't go wrong with this one. Looks good, feels great, shoots well...what else could you ask for?!!
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 32 for Pietta Model 1858 New Army .44 Caliber Revolver
Overall Customer Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location: Edgewood, MD
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

1858 New Army 5-1/2 inch barrel

Date:March 9, 2009
This is a fun gun to shoot. The loading lever is shorter than my '58 with 8 inch barrel and my '51 with 7-1/2 inch barrel. It's a little more difficult to ram the lead ball with the shorter loading lever but it's still fun to shoot. I bought this to have a smaller gun for my shoulder holster but it has the same punch as any of my larger guns. I would highly recommend this gun to a friend or to an interested stranger (which I already have done).
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 33 for Pietta Model 1858 New Army .44 Caliber Revolver
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location: SE Wisconsin
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Good buy

Date:March 18, 2009
Great Italian reproduction. Mechanics and finish meet full expectations. Dislike extremely large front blade sight. Would like to have same revolver in 36 caliber. Can not beat Cabela's prices.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 34 for Pietta Model 1858 New Army .44 Caliber Revolver
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location: Palo Alto,CA
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

1858 New Army 51/2"

Date:March 22, 2009
I got this gun for recreational shooting and the gun shoots so smooth that I go out shooting every chance I get I would give this gun a big thumbs up.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 35 for Pietta Model 1858 New Army .44 Caliber Revolver
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location: Radcliff Ky.
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

best of the best

Date:April 21, 2009
Very well built, remington brand is the best, and Cabelas still has great service every time, I got a conversion cylinder for this to fire 45 cowboy bullets, its awesome, I can load this remington with the conversion cylinder faster than I can load my 38 special, its just like poppin in a clip, you put all 6 bullets in at once and close the lever. I love the shorter barrel, its a nice (medium frame revolver) Medium frames are my favorite becuase the barrel is long enough to be accurate and obsorb the recoil but short enough not to be top heavy and is more manuverable. I would recomend this gun for anyone who likes to shoot or even for self defence if you get the conversion cylinder becuase you can load this thing faster than modern day revolvers but it has that classic look as well, this gun is actually the exact same model that Clint East Wood was packing in (Pale Ryder) But anyways, I already had the 36 long barrel but I must say this one is much better. P.S. remington is the best brand for doing a conversion for that fact that they can be loaded and unloaded so quickly, I still like Colts for shooting black powder and lead balls though.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 36 for Pietta Model 1858 New Army .44 Caliber Revolver
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

My 1st Black Powder Experience is Awesome

Date:May 4, 2009
I bought this one after much, much thought. Loading the cylinder is much easier on this replica than the Colt Navy or Army models. I used Goex replica powder sticks (I cut them in half to fit in the cylinder) the one meant for .45 caliber and followed the wad and ball course of things. I used CCI No 10 caps. And wow! I had tons of fun shooting. Lots of smoke and inaccuracies on my part, but after much practice I was able to shoot reasonable groups.
I have an 8 inch version of this 1858, but I enjoy this shorter version much more since it is whole lot easier to aim.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 37 for Pietta Model 1858 New Army .44 Caliber Revolver
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location: Salisbury, NC
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

One great pistol!

Date:May 5, 2009
Having purchased several cap and ball pistols over the years(starting in 1976 while a senior in high school, an 1860 army .44 cal. What a thrill it was, and still is, to buy a real pistol thru the mail.) I have found varying degrees of quality. Most are Pieta and co. and were good overall with a timing problem here and some looseness there, I must say this latest addition is by far the tightest, most well made black powder pistol I have ever purchased. I wouldn't hesitate to buy the smokeless powder conversion cylinder for this pistol and may in fact do so after seeing its high quality. Thanks and I'll be back for more to add to my growing collection!
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 38 for Pietta Model 1858 New Army .44 Caliber Revolver
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location: Alabama
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

1858 new army 44 5 1/2"

Date:May 26, 2009
Just recieved my new 1858 pietta today. Inspected it wiped it down checked operation and headed to the range. I have been shooting black powder for over 30 yrs. Both long guns, single shot big bore pistols and revolver pistols. I still have a 1973 hewes (no longer in bussiness)1858 36 cal. That was built by pietta and still shooting it, BUT I CAN TELL YOU THAT THIS NEW PISTOLA IS THE BEST I HAVE SEEN. Out of the box the action, finish, and overall quality of workmanship is unserpassed by any I have been looking at. At the range is where you find the proof of the pudding. I loaded it up with 30grains of 3fg and .454 round ball purchased at Cabelas with a 44-45 lubed wad squezzed off the first shot at a target 30' away and caught the edge of a 1 1/2 inch bullseye only to follow up with a group with all holes touching but one and that one I was thinking how good this piece is and not concentrating on my target. I did a cylinder of draw and shoot and again it worked without missfires. I did use # 10 caps that I always press on with a wood cloths pin.out of 24 rounds I only had 1 cap come off. If you are looking for a good shooter this is the one. I am ordering the 8" model tomorrow and I am sure it will be just as good as this one. Thank you Cabelas as alway's you did it again.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 39 for Pietta Model 1858 New Army .44 Caliber Revolver
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

1858 5.6 .44 revolver

Date:June 15, 2009
Very nice product. Smooth action, and tight frame. Shoots well. I would recommend this pistol to collectors and BP enthusiasts.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 40 for Pietta Model 1858 New Army .44 Caliber Revolver
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location: Northern California
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

1858 New Army 5-1/2 barrel with extra cylinder

Date:June 15, 2009
When I opened the box, I was greeted with the usual Italian maker's four quarts of SAE30W motor oil covering the gun, and after some de-greasing, I began the serious once-over. The gun was well fitted, all parts presented no seriously sharp edges. The grips were a little over-sized for the frame, but with a little sand paper I'll get them down to the proper size. The cylinder pin was a bit stiff, but a little dab from an old tube of graphite grease, and it moved much more smoothly. The action is slick and tight, and both cylinders interchanged with just a little work. Some light stoning of the hand, and all works quite smoothly now. Since most Italian reproduction percussion handguns have inconsistently machined nipple sizes, I swapped out the nipples on both cylinders with some American made aftermarket bronze nipples that are a snug fit for CCI #11 caps. I haven't shot the revolver yet, but if it is like my other Pietta 1858 with 8 inch barrel, it should be quite accurate. I noticed the front sight on the new gun to be a bit taller than what I've seen on other "Remmies", so I suspect it should shoot to point of aim at 25 yards with the right load.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
ReviewQuestion 21-40 of 160