Customer Reviews for PIETTA Pietta Model 1858 New Army .44 Caliber Revolver

PIETTA Pietta Model 1858 New Army .44 Caliber Revolver

The Remington Model 1858 was one of the most powerful and rugged performers of its day. Easily removable/replaceable cylinders make reloading extremely fast. These realistic reproductions boast a polished brass trigger guard and walnut grips.  The 5-1/2" barrel makes it easier to holster and handle. Barrel length: 5-1/2". Overall length: 11-1/2". Weight: 2 lbs. 9 oz.
Overall Customer Rating:
4.793 out of 5
4.8
 out of 
5
(179 Reviews) 179
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 179 reviews
5 Stars
145
4 Stars
32
3 Stars
1
2 Stars
1
1 Star
0
179 out of 179(100%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer questions and answers:
21 Questions | 108 Answers
Customer Reviews for Pietta Model 1858 New Army .44 Caliber Revolver
Review 21 for Pietta Model 1858 New Army .44 Caliber Revolver
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Country: United States
State: Michigan
Age: 56-65
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Pietta/Remington 1858 C & B 5.5"

Date:July 17, 2014
This is my first C & B revolver. I really liked the balance of the 5.5" barrel. The trigger guard is too close to the knuckle on my middle finger but that is due to my large hands. What a blast to shoot. haven't set any records doing reloads but who care it's just fun. 30gr of Pyrodex P, a CCI #10, Hornady .451" ball and a lubed wad and make some smoke. Accuracy is not to bad considering the sights are anything but easy to use. Just remember to clean thoroughly.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 22 for Pietta Model 1858 New Army .44 Caliber Revolver
Overall Customer Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Nice looking gun

Date:May 17, 2014
Gun shoots well loading difficult ramrod doesn't line up with cylinder gets caught on cylinder and can't seat the ball I advise you to buy a loader if you buy this gun .I use my 8inch new army to load cylinder for it now it has more leverage and a more accurate throw on the loading lever. The looks and firing of the gun still make it a good purchase !
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 23 for Pietta Model 1858 New Army .44 Caliber Revolver
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Country: United States
State: New York
Age: 46-55
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

You will not be disappointed

Date:March 5, 2014
Good day fellow shooters,
This is my third Pietta black powder pistol from Cabela’s, but my seventh black powder pistol all together. The first I purchased in 1988 proof mark AT from Cabela’s Kearny Nebraska. Some people say that the newer pistols are made better, I’m not so sure. I still think that the quality is the same now as in the earlier models. However the fittings are much different on the newer pistols than that of the older production ones. My older 1851 Navy has bigger cones/nipples and the springs seem harder/stronger. I have never had a problem with it since I purchased it twenty-six years ago. It is still going strong.
I just purchased the 5.5 inch 1858 and it shoots just awesome. The fitment is just spectacular, better than expected. I also like the natural wood grain on the grips much better than the glossy, shellacked, and unnatural feel of the Uberti grips. The plunger was easier than expected to use considering it was a shorter ramrod, not difficult at all to seat the round ball. The timing was good and the trigger pull… not so bad. I like the stockier look with the shorter barrel as opposed to the full-length barrels. I used a Hornady 454 round ball with a 2000 lubed Wad and a solid 35 grains of Goex FFFg black powder. The shots were just perfect at twenty and twenty-five yards. I’m not talking one or two inch groups, but all were center mass. I feel that the 450 and 451 round balls are a bit on the smaller side. For a nice tight/snug fit use 454’s you won’t go wrong. If you plan on using a 45LC conversion cylinder… purchase an Uberti it will fit both the Pietta and the Uberti but not the other way around.
Stay safe and use caution.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 24 for Pietta Model 1858 New Army .44 Caliber Revolver
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Country: United States
State: New York
Age: 46-55
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Nice short barrel

Date:March 3, 2014
Good day fellow shooters,
This is my third Pietta black powder pistol from Cabela’s, but my seventh black powder pistol all together. The first I purchased in 1988 proof mark AT from Cabela’s Kearny Nebraska. Some people say that the newer pistols are made better, I’m not so sure. I still think that the quality is the same now as in the earlier models. However the fittings are much different on the newer pistols than that of the older production ones. My older 1851 Navy has bigger cones/nipples and the springs seem harder/stronger. I have never had a problem with it since I purchased it twenty-six years ago. It is still going strong.
I just purchased the 5.5 inch 1858 and it shoots just awesome. The fitment is just spectacular, better than expected. I also like the natural wood grain on the grips much better than the glossy, shellacked, and unnatural feel of the Uberti grips. The plunger was easier than expected to use considering it was a shorter ramrod, not difficult at all to seat the round ball. The timing was good and the trigger pull… not so bad. I like the stockier look with the shorter barrel as opposed to the full-length barrels. I used a Hornady 454 round ball with a 2000 lubed Wad and a solid 35 grains of Goex FFFg black powder. The shots were just perfect at twenty and twenty-five yards. I’m not talking one or two inch groups, but all were center mass. I feel that the 450 and 451 round balls are a bit on the smaller side. For a nice tight/snug fit use 454’s you won’t go wrong. If you plan on using a 45LC conversion cylinder… purchase an Uberti it will fit both the Pietta and the Uberti but not the other way around.
Stay safe and use caution.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 25 for Pietta Model 1858 New Army .44 Caliber Revolver
Overall Customer Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Country: United States
State: Mississippi
Age: 46-55
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Almost a 5 star

Date:February 17, 2014
Finish and grips perfect, timing excellent, lock up very good. I was surprised how accurate the fixed sights were, 5 inch group at 20 yards, the gun may be better than that but I am not. More space between cylinder and barrel than I expected, measured .010". Loading lever fell down with every shot due to barrel Catch not properly indexed. Easy enough to fix but knocked out the 5th star.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 26 for Pietta Model 1858 New Army .44 Caliber Revolver
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Country: United States
State: Michigan
Age: 36-45
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Nice

Date:January 29, 2014
Really well made and nice bluing. Only bad part is those proof marks.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 27 for Pietta Model 1858 New Army .44 Caliber Revolver
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Country: United States
State: Louisiana
Age: 36-45
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Quality piece.

Date:January 12, 2014
This gun is so nice. I received it in September and it's a beauty. I also bought the spare cylinder, here on Cabela's and it fit perfect. I loaded it when I got it in Sept. and wasn't able to make it to the range until January. It shot flawlessly and was dead on. Loading is so easy with a flask that measures the correct powder amount, and there's tons of videos on Youtube that show how to do it, if you are clueless like I was. I use Triple Seven FFG powder and cleaning was a breeze. No one was at the range when I went, but I'm sure this dandy thing will be a great conversation starter, and maybe I can get others hooked on black powder the way I am now. I'm seriously thinking about getting a black powder rifle to hunt with, now.
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 28 for Pietta Model 1858 New Army .44 Caliber Revolver
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Country: United States
State: New York
Age: 36-45
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Great revolver

Date:January 9, 2014
I ordered this revolver and it was back ordered for many weeks, it went on sale during the back order with saved me an extra 50 bucks! Thanks Cabella's!
Upon recieving the .44 I unboxed it, read the manuals and inspected the gun thoroghly. Its a fine piece of craftmanship. Tight, precise timing and solid construction. Very good looking, and well oiled. Shoots great! Im hooked!
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 29 for Pietta Model 1858 New Army .44 Caliber Revolver
Overall Customer Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Country: United States
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Great value, but fit & QC needs improvement

Date:November 19, 2013
Once I corrected a couple of issues, this turned out to be a great revolver. The main problem I had is that the loading lever would drop with each shot, locking up the cylinder. I had to modify the loading lever latch to fix this problem. The fitter at the factory had placed a bevel on the bottom of the spring loaded latch because the loading lever catch was too short to catch the loading lever. I removed the bevel and put a bit of back bevel on it and now it stays put until I unlatch it. The other problem was that some de-burring was necessary in several areas for smooth operation. Once these issues were fixed, it has functioned flawlessly. I have really enjoyed this revolver. It shoots close to point of aim at 25 yards, and is very accurate. It is timed well, and It is really a great value.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 30 for Pietta Model 1858 New Army .44 Caliber Revolver
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Country: United States
Age: 65 and over
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Excellant copy of Remington 1858

Date:September 27, 2013
Well made [in Italy],Nice finish ,Smooth action,Excellent timing
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 31 for Pietta Model 1858 New Army .44 Caliber Revolver
Overall Customer Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Country: United States
State: Florida
Age: 26-35
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Fun gun for those into Black Powder.

Date:August 27, 2013
I purchased a Pietta 7" barrel gun at a pawn shop used in a very fancy wooden box with all the accessories. I was hooked the first time I loaded up and shot. But that kit is to nice and I wanted to keep it as new as possible giving it's from the 70's.
So I bought this smaller barrel version for something to have fun with. Quality has gone down a bit from the older gun ( The loading lever barrel release is very rough on the fingers ) And their was a single chipping off the bluing by the cylinder.
That being said I have over 200 rounds down range with this, using 30 grains of 777 Black Powder with no mechanical malfunctions what so ever. So happy with the deal having the starter kits come I ended up buying two 1851 Pietta's with brass frames that I also love. The quality on the 1851's is better then that of this 1858.
For the price if you want a strong steel framed black powder revolver you can't go wrong with this one. If you want to shoot over 20 gr of powder you need a steel frame, those Colt reproductions I have I shoot 15Gr of powder just to prevent the frame from stretching.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 32 for Pietta Model 1858 New Army .44 Caliber Revolver
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Country: United States
State: Indiana
Age: 65 and over
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Pieta 1858 Army Revolver.

Date:August 7, 2013
As I have a original 1858 long barreled revolver that a relative carried during and after the "War of Northern Agression", I have something to compare it to.
Pieta made some definate improvements. The area in the frame for putting on caps has been made larger and the grooves for locating the hammer safely have been made larger (deeper) but any single action should be carried loaded with only five rounds and the hammer down on the empty cylinder nipple unless you are anticipating getting into a gun fight where you will need all six shots.
Fit and finish are good. Action timing is perfect but the trigger pull is a bit rough and need of some smoothing and honing. No big problem. Mainspring is very heavy and strong and could be lightened some to be more like my original. Otherwise I am super pleased and like the shorter barrel for handiness. My old eyes do not do justice to the accuracy of this pistol nor the original for that matter.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 33 for Pietta Model 1858 New Army .44 Caliber Revolver
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Country: United States
State: California
Age: 46-55
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Good Gun

Date:July 30, 2013
Nice quality and feel
Hammer and triger pulls are nice out of the box.
Shoots well
Easy cylinder swap out
Extra cylinder and cylinder from my long barrel Pietta new army all interchange easily
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 34 for Pietta Model 1858 New Army .44 Caliber Revolver
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Age: 46-55
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Higher Quality Than Expected

Date:July 9, 2013
I have always been apprehensive over the years to buy a black powder pistol because, quite honestly, of the low cost of the pistols. I was of the mindset that nothing that low in price can be a quality made weapon; therefore not safe to fire.
I've read all the reviews of the 1858 and the high ratings made me take a second look. I decided to take the plunge.
When it arrived and I removed it from the box, the heft of the pistol was impressive, and I bought the 5.5" version ! I worked the action and the first thing I thought of was, "Wow !!". Nice solid action, no wiggling, loose parts, etc.. It was a quality piece.
Looking for something wrong, I broke the pistol down and checked it in depth. I looked for flash, seams, scratches, poor bluing, something, anything. I could not find a thing.
I highly recommend this pistol !!
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 35 for Pietta Model 1858 New Army .44 Caliber Revolver
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Country: United States
State: Utah
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

1858

Date:July 2, 2013
easy cylinder removal makes for easy cleaning only thing easer to clean is the stainless steel model, more money but worth it .
Shorter barrel is fun for a change these are well made my first is over 15 years constant use
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 36 for Pietta Model 1858 New Army .44 Caliber Revolver
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Country: United States
State: New Hampshire
Age: 65 and over
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Nothing but 44Cal. for me.

Date:May 12, 2013
I now have eight 44Cal. Pietta BP. This way I save money as I do not have to buy different size ball's. I also do not have to bring all my pistol's when I go to the range, and this allows me to have extra loaded cyl. on hand.
I just found out about a trick with my BP hand gun's that I am going to try out. I am going to put bore butter in between the ball and wad. I was told that this improves the accuracy and helps with the cleaning of the gun.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 37 for Pietta Model 1858 New Army .44 Caliber Revolver
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Country: United States
State: New York
Age: 46-55
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Very Pleased

Date:April 9, 2013
I was a little skeptical about the quality but when I received it that all went away. It's easy to see it is a quality firearm, very nicely done.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 38 for Pietta Model 1858 New Army .44 Caliber Revolver
Overall Customer Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Country: United States
State: Missouri
Age: 65 and over
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

good gun

Date:March 10, 2013
I bought this gun from Cabela's phone ordering. After loading it once with the cylinder in, I bought a Cabela's loader. While not the most accurate weapon, I could have bought. It does nicely at 25 yrds.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 39 for Pietta Model 1858 New Army .44 Caliber Revolver
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Country: United States
State: New Hampshire
Age: 56-65
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Fun Gun

Date:February 5, 2013
The previous reviews by other fans of this gun are right on the money as this is a quality gun and the spare cylinder fit perfect. Used the recomended 451 balls, #10 caps, and the 30 grain pellets and had a blast shooting this gun. Thanks to all of the other reviewers I finally have a black power revolver.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 40 for Pietta Model 1858 New Army .44 Caliber Revolver
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Country: United States
State: Texas
Age: 56-65
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Hoot to shoot

Date:February 5, 2013
This is my first BP revolver and the Pietta 1858 was everything I expected and more. The fit and finish of this revolver is excellent. It shoots tight patterns with a recoil less than a 9mm. I use .451 balls with #10 caps and get great results every time. One trick I picked up on a BP blog, is to put bore butter between the wad and ball. This works great for keeping fouling to a minimum, makes cleaning quick and eliminates chain fires. If you're thinking of getting into a BP revolver, this produce from Cabelas can't be beat.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
ReviewQuestion 21-40 of 179