Customer Reviews for PIETTA Pietta Model 1858 New Army .44 Caliber Revolver

PIETTA Pietta Model 1858 New Army .44 Caliber Revolver

The Remington Model 1858 was one of the most powerful and rugged performers of its day. Easily removable/replaceable cylinders make reloading extremely fast. These realistic reproductions boast a polished brass trigger guard and walnut grips.  The 5-1/2" barrel makes it easier to holster and handle. Barrel length: 5-1/2". Overall length: 11-1/2". Weight: 2 lbs. 9 oz.
Overall Customer Rating:
4.786 out of 5
4.8
 out of 
5
(173 Reviews) 173
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 173 reviews
5 Stars
139
4 Stars
32
3 Stars
1
2 Stars
1
1 Star
0
173 out of 173(100%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer questions and answers:
21 Questions | 108 Answers
Customer Reviews for Pietta Model 1858 New Army .44 Caliber Revolver
Review 21 for Pietta Model 1858 New Army .44 Caliber Revolver
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Country: United States
State: Louisiana
Age: 36-45
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Quality piece.

Date:January 12, 2014
This gun is so nice. I received it in September and it's a beauty. I also bought the spare cylinder, here on Cabela's and it fit perfect. I loaded it when I got it in Sept. and wasn't able to make it to the range until January. It shot flawlessly and was dead on. Loading is so easy with a flask that measures the correct powder amount, and there's tons of videos on Youtube that show how to do it, if you are clueless like I was. I use Triple Seven FFG powder and cleaning was a breeze. No one was at the range when I went, but I'm sure this dandy thing will be a great conversation starter, and maybe I can get others hooked on black powder the way I am now. I'm seriously thinking about getting a black powder rifle to hunt with, now.
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 22 for Pietta Model 1858 New Army .44 Caliber Revolver
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Country: United States
State: New York
Age: 36-45
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Great revolver

Date:January 9, 2014
I ordered this revolver and it was back ordered for many weeks, it went on sale during the back order with saved me an extra 50 bucks! Thanks Cabella's!
Upon recieving the .44 I unboxed it, read the manuals and inspected the gun thoroghly. Its a fine piece of craftmanship. Tight, precise timing and solid construction. Very good looking, and well oiled. Shoots great! Im hooked!
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 23 for Pietta Model 1858 New Army .44 Caliber Revolver
Overall Customer Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Country: United States
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Great value, but fit & QC needs improvement

Date:November 19, 2013
Once I corrected a couple of issues, this turned out to be a great revolver. The main problem I had is that the loading lever would drop with each shot, locking up the cylinder. I had to modify the loading lever latch to fix this problem. The fitter at the factory had placed a bevel on the bottom of the spring loaded latch because the loading lever catch was too short to catch the loading lever. I removed the bevel and put a bit of back bevel on it and now it stays put until I unlatch it. The other problem was that some de-burring was necessary in several areas for smooth operation. Once these issues were fixed, it has functioned flawlessly. I have really enjoyed this revolver. It shoots close to point of aim at 25 yards, and is very accurate. It is timed well, and It is really a great value.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 24 for Pietta Model 1858 New Army .44 Caliber Revolver
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Country: United States
Age: 65 and over
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Excellant copy of Remington 1858

Date:September 27, 2013
Well made [in Italy],Nice finish ,Smooth action,Excellent timing
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 25 for Pietta Model 1858 New Army .44 Caliber Revolver
Overall Customer Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Country: United States
State: Florida
Age: 26-35
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Fun gun for those into Black Powder.

Date:August 27, 2013
I purchased a Pietta 7" barrel gun at a pawn shop used in a very fancy wooden box with all the accessories. I was hooked the first time I loaded up and shot. But that kit is to nice and I wanted to keep it as new as possible giving it's from the 70's.
So I bought this smaller barrel version for something to have fun with. Quality has gone down a bit from the older gun ( The loading lever barrel release is very rough on the fingers ) And their was a single chipping off the bluing by the cylinder.
That being said I have over 200 rounds down range with this, using 30 grains of 777 Black Powder with no mechanical malfunctions what so ever. So happy with the deal having the starter kits come I ended up buying two 1851 Pietta's with brass frames that I also love. The quality on the 1851's is better then that of this 1858.
For the price if you want a strong steel framed black powder revolver you can't go wrong with this one. If you want to shoot over 20 gr of powder you need a steel frame, those Colt reproductions I have I shoot 15Gr of powder just to prevent the frame from stretching.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 26 for Pietta Model 1858 New Army .44 Caliber Revolver
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Country: United States
State: Indiana
Age: 65 and over
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Pieta 1858 Army Revolver.

Date:August 7, 2013
As I have a original 1858 long barreled revolver that a relative carried during and after the "War of Northern Agression", I have something to compare it to.
Pieta made some definate improvements. The area in the frame for putting on caps has been made larger and the grooves for locating the hammer safely have been made larger (deeper) but any single action should be carried loaded with only five rounds and the hammer down on the empty cylinder nipple unless you are anticipating getting into a gun fight where you will need all six shots.
Fit and finish are good. Action timing is perfect but the trigger pull is a bit rough and need of some smoothing and honing. No big problem. Mainspring is very heavy and strong and could be lightened some to be more like my original. Otherwise I am super pleased and like the shorter barrel for handiness. My old eyes do not do justice to the accuracy of this pistol nor the original for that matter.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 27 for Pietta Model 1858 New Army .44 Caliber Revolver
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Country: United States
State: California
Age: 46-55
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Good Gun

Date:July 30, 2013
Nice quality and feel
Hammer and triger pulls are nice out of the box.
Shoots well
Easy cylinder swap out
Extra cylinder and cylinder from my long barrel Pietta new army all interchange easily
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 28 for Pietta Model 1858 New Army .44 Caliber Revolver
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Age: 46-55
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Higher Quality Than Expected

Date:July 9, 2013
I have always been apprehensive over the years to buy a black powder pistol because, quite honestly, of the low cost of the pistols. I was of the mindset that nothing that low in price can be a quality made weapon; therefore not safe to fire.
I've read all the reviews of the 1858 and the high ratings made me take a second look. I decided to take the plunge.
When it arrived and I removed it from the box, the heft of the pistol was impressive, and I bought the 5.5" version ! I worked the action and the first thing I thought of was, "Wow !!". Nice solid action, no wiggling, loose parts, etc.. It was a quality piece.
Looking for something wrong, I broke the pistol down and checked it in depth. I looked for flash, seams, scratches, poor bluing, something, anything. I could not find a thing.
I highly recommend this pistol !!
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 29 for Pietta Model 1858 New Army .44 Caliber Revolver
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Country: United States
State: Utah
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

1858

Date:July 2, 2013
easy cylinder removal makes for easy cleaning only thing easer to clean is the stainless steel model, more money but worth it .
Shorter barrel is fun for a change these are well made my first is over 15 years constant use
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 30 for Pietta Model 1858 New Army .44 Caliber Revolver
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Country: United States
State: New Hampshire
Age: 65 and over
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Nothing but 44Cal. for me.

Date:May 12, 2013
I now have eight 44Cal. Pietta BP. This way I save money as I do not have to buy different size ball's. I also do not have to bring all my pistol's when I go to the range, and this allows me to have extra loaded cyl. on hand.
I just found out about a trick with my BP hand gun's that I am going to try out. I am going to put bore butter in between the ball and wad. I was told that this improves the accuracy and helps with the cleaning of the gun.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 31 for Pietta Model 1858 New Army .44 Caliber Revolver
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Country: United States
State: New York
Age: 46-55
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Very Pleased

Date:April 9, 2013
I was a little skeptical about the quality but when I received it that all went away. It's easy to see it is a quality firearm, very nicely done.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 32 for Pietta Model 1858 New Army .44 Caliber Revolver
Overall Customer Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Country: United States
State: Missouri
Age: 65 and over
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

good gun

Date:March 10, 2013
I bought this gun from Cabela's phone ordering. After loading it once with the cylinder in, I bought a Cabela's loader. While not the most accurate weapon, I could have bought. It does nicely at 25 yrds.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 33 for Pietta Model 1858 New Army .44 Caliber Revolver
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Country: United States
State: New Hampshire
Age: 56-65
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Fun Gun

Date:February 5, 2013
The previous reviews by other fans of this gun are right on the money as this is a quality gun and the spare cylinder fit perfect. Used the recomended 451 balls, #10 caps, and the 30 grain pellets and had a blast shooting this gun. Thanks to all of the other reviewers I finally have a black power revolver.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 34 for Pietta Model 1858 New Army .44 Caliber Revolver
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Country: United States
State: Texas
Age: 56-65
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Hoot to shoot

Date:February 5, 2013
This is my first BP revolver and the Pietta 1858 was everything I expected and more. The fit and finish of this revolver is excellent. It shoots tight patterns with a recoil less than a 9mm. I use .451 balls with #10 caps and get great results every time. One trick I picked up on a BP blog, is to put bore butter between the wad and ball. This works great for keeping fouling to a minimum, makes cleaning quick and eliminates chain fires. If you're thinking of getting into a BP revolver, this produce from Cabelas can't be beat.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 35 for Pietta Model 1858 New Army .44 Caliber Revolver
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Country: United States
State: Minnesota
Age: 56-65
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Excellent quality!

Date:February 5, 2013
Pietta brand bp guns were of somewhat dubious quality when Cabelas first started selling them years ago. They have definitely improved!
The action is smooth, finishing and polishing is good and the bluing a nice deep blue. Quite accurate, too, even in the shorter 5 1/2" model.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 36 for Pietta Model 1858 New Army .44 Caliber Revolver
Overall Customer Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Country: United States
State: Arizona
Age: 56-65
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Pietta .44 Cap n Ball

Date:February 5, 2013
The revolver appears to be put together well.The cyclinder turns easily, locks up tight. The finish is very nice, with minmal tool marks. Overall it is polished and blued well, and the grips fit nicely, and are good looking walnut.The trigger is heavy, and could use some stoning. Considering the price point, this is a good buy for those who enjoy blackpowder sports.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 37 for Pietta Model 1858 New Army .44 Caliber Revolver
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Country: United States
State: Alaska
Age: 56-65
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

1858

Date:January 19, 2013
I am very happy with this revolver. Smooth action, pulls fast, cross draw or my leg. Easy cylinder change, and just flat pretty. I recommend this BP gun.
Juneau AK.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 38 for Pietta Model 1858 New Army .44 Caliber Revolver
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Country: United States
Age: 46-55
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Great

Date:January 8, 2013
Great gun! Pietta has really improved quality. Fit and finish are very good. I liked it so much I bought another one!
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 39 for Pietta Model 1858 New Army .44 Caliber Revolver
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Nice quality fit and finish

Date:January 8, 2013
Nice pistols! Great deal on these around Christmas!
Fit, finish and function is top notch.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 40 for Pietta Model 1858 New Army .44 Caliber Revolver
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Country: United States
State: Florida
Age: 46-55
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

.44 Pietta

Date:December 27, 2012
own several of the .44 1858 models and like them all very well. Great shooters and lots of fun. 35gr Pioneer and .454 round balls give me lots of entertainment at the range. Nothing negative for the very low investment price, IMO.
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
ReviewQuestion 21-40 of 173