Customer Reviews for PIETTA Pietta Model 1858 New Army .44 Caliber Revolver

PIETTA Pietta Model 1858 New Army .44 Caliber Revolver

The Remington Model 1858 was one of the most powerful and rugged performers of its day. Easily removable/replaceable cylinders make reloading extremely fast. These realistic reproductions boast a polished brass trigger guard and walnut grips.  The 5-1/2" barrel makes it easier to holster and handle. Barrel length: 5-1/2". Overall length: 11-1/2". Weight: 2 lbs. 9 oz.
Overall Customer Rating:
4.781 out of 5
4.8
 out of 
5
(160 Reviews) 160
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 160 reviews
5 Stars
128
4 Stars
30
3 Stars
1
2 Stars
1
1 Star
0
160 out of 160(100%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer questions and answers:
21 Questions | 104 Answers
Customer Reviews for Pietta Model 1858 New Army .44 Caliber Revolver
Review 21 for Pietta Model 1858 New Army .44 Caliber Revolver
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Country: United States
State: Texas
Age: 56-65
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Hoot to shoot

Date:February 5, 2013
This is my first BP revolver and the Pietta 1858 was everything I expected and more. The fit and finish of this revolver is excellent. It shoots tight patterns with a recoil less than a 9mm. I use .451 balls with #10 caps and get great results every time. One trick I picked up on a BP blog, is to put bore butter between the wad and ball. This works great for keeping fouling to a minimum, makes cleaning quick and eliminates chain fires. If you're thinking of getting into a BP revolver, this produce from Cabelas can't be beat.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 22 for Pietta Model 1858 New Army .44 Caliber Revolver
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Country: United States
State: Minnesota
Age: 56-65
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Excellent quality!

Date:February 5, 2013
Pietta brand bp guns were of somewhat dubious quality when Cabelas first started selling them years ago. They have definitely improved!
The action is smooth, finishing and polishing is good and the bluing a nice deep blue. Quite accurate, too, even in the shorter 5 1/2" model.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 23 for Pietta Model 1858 New Army .44 Caliber Revolver
Overall Customer Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Country: United States
State: Arizona
Age: 56-65
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Pietta .44 Cap n Ball

Date:February 5, 2013
The revolver appears to be put together well.The cyclinder turns easily, locks up tight. The finish is very nice, with minmal tool marks. Overall it is polished and blued well, and the grips fit nicely, and are good looking walnut.The trigger is heavy, and could use some stoning. Considering the price point, this is a good buy for those who enjoy blackpowder sports.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 24 for Pietta Model 1858 New Army .44 Caliber Revolver
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Country: United States
State: Alaska
Age: 56-65
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

1858

Date:January 19, 2013
I am very happy with this revolver. Smooth action, pulls fast, cross draw or my leg. Easy cylinder change, and just flat pretty. I recommend this BP gun.
Juneau AK.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 25 for Pietta Model 1858 New Army .44 Caliber Revolver
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Country: United States
Age: 46-55
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Great

Date:January 8, 2013
Great gun! Pietta has really improved quality. Fit and finish are very good. I liked it so much I bought another one!
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 26 for Pietta Model 1858 New Army .44 Caliber Revolver
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Nice quality fit and finish

Date:January 8, 2013
Nice pistols! Great deal on these around Christmas!
Fit, finish and function is top notch.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 27 for Pietta Model 1858 New Army .44 Caliber Revolver
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Country: United States
State: Florida
Age: 46-55
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

.44 Pietta

Date:December 27, 2012
own several of the .44 1858 models and like them all very well. Great shooters and lots of fun. 35gr Pioneer and .454 round balls give me lots of entertainment at the range. Nothing negative for the very low investment price, IMO.
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 28 for Pietta Model 1858 New Army .44 Caliber Revolver
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Country: United States
State: Florida
Age: 26-35
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

5 1/2" Barrel 1858 New Army

Date:December 11, 2012
It works great, I get better groupings with the 5 1/2" barrel than the full size 8" barrel. It works best with .451" balls & #10 percussion caps. I got a couple extra cylinders for quick reloads that work great with some practice.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 29 for Pietta Model 1858 New Army .44 Caliber Revolver
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

high quality straight shooter

Date:November 19, 2012
I use mine with a cowboy cylinder conversion. I can put 5 in one hole @ 20 ft . 4 inch spread @ 40ft. Very pleasant to shoot. The weight seems to suck up the recoil. I ended up with 3 models: 12" barrel, 8.5 and 5. The target model is my favorite. Action works like a Swiss watch.
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 30 for Pietta Model 1858 New Army .44 Caliber Revolver
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Country: United States
State: California
Age: 65 and over
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Uberti-Pietta Comparison 1858 Remington

Date:October 26, 2012
I own both 1858 New Army Remington pistols Uberti in 7 1/2 " Stainless and a 5 1/2 " Pietta in Blue finish.
They are comparable in fit and finish. The difference being these. Trigger on the Pietta had sharper edges than I liked, the Pietta had an oil finish on the wood which I liked better than the eurathane finish on the Ubert. The cylinders were not quite interchangeable..
Uberti's fit the Piatta but the Piatta's was a hair to long for the Uberti, Maybe a .001". If you are ordering the cartridge conversion cylinder get the one for the Uberti.
Note: Shorter barrel is handier but leverage on the loading lever is less..Harder to seat balls. also Pietta's ram is shaped for RB and the Uberti's shaped for conical bullets. Both shoot great!
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 31 for Pietta Model 1858 New Army .44 Caliber Revolver
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Country: United States
Age: 56-65
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Great replica & Fun to shoot

Date:October 25, 2012
This weapon is solid quality. It was packaged well and delivered quickly. I highly recommend this firearm. It is more fun to shoot than any of my modern firearms and a whole lot cheaper to shoot. This pistol is dead accurate.
Remember: This is Not a toy. Be safe and read the How To's before you try to use it. Excellent product.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 32 for Pietta Model 1858 New Army .44 Caliber Revolver
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Country: United States
State: Florida
Age: 56-65
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

1858 Sheriff's .44

Date:October 2, 2012
I am very surprised and pleased with the quality of this pistol. The finish is excellent as is the cylinder rotation. After searching for six month's for a decent price, I found it at Cabela's. I would highly recommend this purchase.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 33 for Pietta Model 1858 New Army .44 Caliber Revolver
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Country: United States
State: Missouri
Age: 56-65
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

my first pistol

Date:September 28, 2012
always loved civil war-era pistols, and the price was right on this one. had considered navy colt but a remmie is a stronger design. expected to do some finishing--smoothed off a burr on the hand and polished inside of trigger guard. otherwise, fit & finish great. converted to 45lc (ranges dont like black powder smoke) and new cylinder fit like a glove! can't wait to make some smoke with it.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 34 for Pietta Model 1858 New Army .44 Caliber Revolver
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

dang fine shooting iron

Date:September 4, 2012
excellent reproduction of the 1858 remington cap and ball pistola. once sighted in, very accurate. this is my third pistol purchase from cabela's. will buy again in the future. a very well made piece.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 35 for Pietta Model 1858 New Army .44 Caliber Revolver
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Country: United States
State: Texas
Age: 65 and over
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Excellent Black Power Revolver

Date:August 16, 2012
This is the second Black Power Revolver I have purchased. It is a beautiful work of art , the quality and finish is excellent better than you would thank. It fits the hand better than most. I have not been to the range yet but I have checked out everything and am excited to shoot it. Cabela's is defintly the place to buy and they stand by there merchandice.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 36 for Pietta Model 1858 New Army .44 Caliber Revolver
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Country: United States
State: Kentucky
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Remington 1858

Date:July 24, 2012
I found this to be built well & the finish was great! Pietta has stepped up on there game & this shows in this handgun. Works great & no defects I could find. I have gotten the 5" barrel one as well as the standard one & find them both to be great! Good job guy's.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 37 for Pietta Model 1858 New Army .44 Caliber Revolver
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Country: United States
State: New York
Age: 56-65
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Outstanding value

Date:July 23, 2012
The quality and aesthetics make this pistol a value at much higher prices.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 38 for Pietta Model 1858 New Army .44 Caliber Revolver
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Country: United States
Age: 56-65
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

PIETTA 1858

Date:July 23, 2012
Excellent Value
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 39 for Pietta Model 1858 New Army .44 Caliber Revolver
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Country: United States
State: Texas
Age: 26-35
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

I'm hooked!

Date:July 9, 2012
I bought this revolver as my first ever BP gun and now I am 100% hooked. Ladies and gentlemen if your thinking about buying one of these and you have money for another addiction, DO IT! This model with the shorter barrel shoots amazingly well and I consistently see 4 inch groups at 25-30 yards. I use a lubed felt wad and 25 grains of FFF Triple Seven for target loads (I’m going to try 15 grains soon) and 30 grains for hunting or protection which gives it a heck of a punch. This gun uses cci #10 caps with .454 lead balls and I have put over 500 rounds through it without a misfire. The recoil feels like a full size 9mm or a .380 except your shooting a large chunk of lead with big boom factor and lots of smoke and its sure punches a large hole on paper. I have had people approach me at the range asking if I was shooting a Raven. Even the ladies enjoy shooting this large caliber pistol with the recoil being as manageable as it is. I am so pleased with this purchase that I am saving for a Stainless Buffalo 1858 with the 12 inch barrel and target sights. I have read online that these are accurate to 50-100 yards and produce muzzle velocities of 1100+ feet per second. If you’re considering this gun, do it. It has pleasantly exceeded my expectations and is now a new passion.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 40 for Pietta Model 1858 New Army .44 Caliber Revolver
Overall Customer Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Country: United States
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

1858 Remington

Date:June 26, 2012
The most practical black powder revolver in my opinion and the best to convert to 45.lc. With practice you can swap the cylinder in 3 seconds....
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
ReviewQuestion 21-40 of 160