Customer Reviews for PIETTA Pietta Model 1858 New Army .44 Caliber Revolver

PIETTA Pietta Model 1858 New Army .44 Caliber Revolver

The Remington Model 1858 was one of the most powerful and rugged performers of its day. Easily removable/replaceable cylinders make reloading extremely fast. These realistic reproductions boast a polished brass trigger guard and walnut grips.  The 5-1/2" barrel makes it easier to holster and handle. Barrel length: 5-1/2". Overall length: 11-1/2". Weight: 2 lbs. 9 oz.
Overall Customer Rating:
4.786 out of 5
4.8
 out of 
5
(168 Reviews) 168
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 168 reviews
5 Stars
135
4 Stars
31
3 Stars
1
2 Stars
1
1 Star
0
168 out of 168(100%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer questions and answers:
21 Questions | 107 Answers
Customer Reviews for Pietta Model 1858 New Army .44 Caliber Revolver
Review 21 for Pietta Model 1858 New Army .44 Caliber Revolver
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Country: United States
State: Indiana
Age: 65 and over
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Pieta 1858 Army Revolver.

Date:August 7, 2013
As I have a original 1858 long barreled revolver that a relative carried during and after the "War of Northern Agression", I have something to compare it to.
Pieta made some definate improvements. The area in the frame for putting on caps has been made larger and the grooves for locating the hammer safely have been made larger (deeper) but any single action should be carried loaded with only five rounds and the hammer down on the empty cylinder nipple unless you are anticipating getting into a gun fight where you will need all six shots.
Fit and finish are good. Action timing is perfect but the trigger pull is a bit rough and need of some smoothing and honing. No big problem. Mainspring is very heavy and strong and could be lightened some to be more like my original. Otherwise I am super pleased and like the shorter barrel for handiness. My old eyes do not do justice to the accuracy of this pistol nor the original for that matter.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 22 for Pietta Model 1858 New Army .44 Caliber Revolver
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Country: United States
State: California
Age: 46-55
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Good Gun

Date:July 30, 2013
Nice quality and feel
Hammer and triger pulls are nice out of the box.
Shoots well
Easy cylinder swap out
Extra cylinder and cylinder from my long barrel Pietta new army all interchange easily
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 23 for Pietta Model 1858 New Army .44 Caliber Revolver
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Age: 46-55
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Higher Quality Than Expected

Date:July 9, 2013
I have always been apprehensive over the years to buy a black powder pistol because, quite honestly, of the low cost of the pistols. I was of the mindset that nothing that low in price can be a quality made weapon; therefore not safe to fire.
I've read all the reviews of the 1858 and the high ratings made me take a second look. I decided to take the plunge.
When it arrived and I removed it from the box, the heft of the pistol was impressive, and I bought the 5.5" version ! I worked the action and the first thing I thought of was, "Wow !!". Nice solid action, no wiggling, loose parts, etc.. It was a quality piece.
Looking for something wrong, I broke the pistol down and checked it in depth. I looked for flash, seams, scratches, poor bluing, something, anything. I could not find a thing.
I highly recommend this pistol !!
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 24 for Pietta Model 1858 New Army .44 Caliber Revolver
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Country: United States
State: Utah
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

1858

Date:July 2, 2013
easy cylinder removal makes for easy cleaning only thing easer to clean is the stainless steel model, more money but worth it .
Shorter barrel is fun for a change these are well made my first is over 15 years constant use
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 25 for Pietta Model 1858 New Army .44 Caliber Revolver
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Country: United States
State: New Hampshire
Age: 65 and over
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Nothing but 44Cal. for me.

Date:May 12, 2013
I now have eight 44Cal. Pietta BP. This way I save money as I do not have to buy different size ball's. I also do not have to bring all my pistol's when I go to the range, and this allows me to have extra loaded cyl. on hand.
I just found out about a trick with my BP hand gun's that I am going to try out. I am going to put bore butter in between the ball and wad. I was told that this improves the accuracy and helps with the cleaning of the gun.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 26 for Pietta Model 1858 New Army .44 Caliber Revolver
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Country: United States
State: New York
Age: 46-55
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Very Pleased

Date:April 9, 2013
I was a little skeptical about the quality but when I received it that all went away. It's easy to see it is a quality firearm, very nicely done.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 27 for Pietta Model 1858 New Army .44 Caliber Revolver
Overall Customer Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Country: United States
State: Missouri
Age: 65 and over
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

good gun

Date:March 10, 2013
I bought this gun from Cabela's phone ordering. After loading it once with the cylinder in, I bought a Cabela's loader. While not the most accurate weapon, I could have bought. It does nicely at 25 yrds.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 28 for Pietta Model 1858 New Army .44 Caliber Revolver
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Country: United States
State: New Hampshire
Age: 56-65
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Fun Gun

Date:February 5, 2013
The previous reviews by other fans of this gun are right on the money as this is a quality gun and the spare cylinder fit perfect. Used the recomended 451 balls, #10 caps, and the 30 grain pellets and had a blast shooting this gun. Thanks to all of the other reviewers I finally have a black power revolver.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 29 for Pietta Model 1858 New Army .44 Caliber Revolver
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Country: United States
State: Texas
Age: 56-65
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Hoot to shoot

Date:February 5, 2013
This is my first BP revolver and the Pietta 1858 was everything I expected and more. The fit and finish of this revolver is excellent. It shoots tight patterns with a recoil less than a 9mm. I use .451 balls with #10 caps and get great results every time. One trick I picked up on a BP blog, is to put bore butter between the wad and ball. This works great for keeping fouling to a minimum, makes cleaning quick and eliminates chain fires. If you're thinking of getting into a BP revolver, this produce from Cabelas can't be beat.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 30 for Pietta Model 1858 New Army .44 Caliber Revolver
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Country: United States
State: Minnesota
Age: 56-65
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Excellent quality!

Date:February 5, 2013
Pietta brand bp guns were of somewhat dubious quality when Cabelas first started selling them years ago. They have definitely improved!
The action is smooth, finishing and polishing is good and the bluing a nice deep blue. Quite accurate, too, even in the shorter 5 1/2" model.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 31 for Pietta Model 1858 New Army .44 Caliber Revolver
Overall Customer Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Country: United States
State: Arizona
Age: 56-65
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Pietta .44 Cap n Ball

Date:February 5, 2013
The revolver appears to be put together well.The cyclinder turns easily, locks up tight. The finish is very nice, with minmal tool marks. Overall it is polished and blued well, and the grips fit nicely, and are good looking walnut.The trigger is heavy, and could use some stoning. Considering the price point, this is a good buy for those who enjoy blackpowder sports.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 32 for Pietta Model 1858 New Army .44 Caliber Revolver
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Country: United States
State: Alaska
Age: 56-65
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

1858

Date:January 19, 2013
I am very happy with this revolver. Smooth action, pulls fast, cross draw or my leg. Easy cylinder change, and just flat pretty. I recommend this BP gun.
Juneau AK.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 33 for Pietta Model 1858 New Army .44 Caliber Revolver
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Country: United States
Age: 46-55
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Great

Date:January 8, 2013
Great gun! Pietta has really improved quality. Fit and finish are very good. I liked it so much I bought another one!
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 34 for Pietta Model 1858 New Army .44 Caliber Revolver
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Nice quality fit and finish

Date:January 8, 2013
Nice pistols! Great deal on these around Christmas!
Fit, finish and function is top notch.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 35 for Pietta Model 1858 New Army .44 Caliber Revolver
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Country: United States
State: Florida
Age: 46-55
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

.44 Pietta

Date:December 27, 2012
own several of the .44 1858 models and like them all very well. Great shooters and lots of fun. 35gr Pioneer and .454 round balls give me lots of entertainment at the range. Nothing negative for the very low investment price, IMO.
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 36 for Pietta Model 1858 New Army .44 Caliber Revolver
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Country: United States
State: Florida
Age: 26-35
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

5 1/2" Barrel 1858 New Army

Date:December 11, 2012
It works great, I get better groupings with the 5 1/2" barrel than the full size 8" barrel. It works best with .451" balls & #10 percussion caps. I got a couple extra cylinders for quick reloads that work great with some practice.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 37 for Pietta Model 1858 New Army .44 Caliber Revolver
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

high quality straight shooter

Date:November 19, 2012
I use mine with a cowboy cylinder conversion. I can put 5 in one hole @ 20 ft . 4 inch spread @ 40ft. Very pleasant to shoot. The weight seems to suck up the recoil. I ended up with 3 models: 12" barrel, 8.5 and 5. The target model is my favorite. Action works like a Swiss watch.
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 38 for Pietta Model 1858 New Army .44 Caliber Revolver
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Country: United States
State: California
Age: 65 and over
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Uberti-Pietta Comparison 1858 Remington

Date:October 26, 2012
I own both 1858 New Army Remington pistols Uberti in 7 1/2 " Stainless and a 5 1/2 " Pietta in Blue finish.
They are comparable in fit and finish. The difference being these. Trigger on the Pietta had sharper edges than I liked, the Pietta had an oil finish on the wood which I liked better than the eurathane finish on the Ubert. The cylinders were not quite interchangeable..
Uberti's fit the Piatta but the Piatta's was a hair to long for the Uberti, Maybe a .001". If you are ordering the cartridge conversion cylinder get the one for the Uberti.
Note: Shorter barrel is handier but leverage on the loading lever is less..Harder to seat balls. also Pietta's ram is shaped for RB and the Uberti's shaped for conical bullets. Both shoot great!
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 39 for Pietta Model 1858 New Army .44 Caliber Revolver
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Country: United States
Age: 56-65
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Great replica & Fun to shoot

Date:October 25, 2012
This weapon is solid quality. It was packaged well and delivered quickly. I highly recommend this firearm. It is more fun to shoot than any of my modern firearms and a whole lot cheaper to shoot. This pistol is dead accurate.
Remember: This is Not a toy. Be safe and read the How To's before you try to use it. Excellent product.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 40 for Pietta Model 1858 New Army .44 Caliber Revolver
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Country: United States
State: Florida
Age: 56-65
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

1858 Sheriff's .44

Date:October 2, 2012
I am very surprised and pleased with the quality of this pistol. The finish is excellent as is the cylinder rotation. After searching for six month's for a decent price, I found it at Cabela's. I would highly recommend this purchase.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
ReviewQuestion 21-40 of 168