Customer Reviews for PIETTA Pietta Model 1858 New Army .44 Caliber Black Powder Revolver

PIETTA Pietta Model 1858 New Army .44 Caliber Black Powder Revolver

The Remington Model 1858 was one of the most powerful and rugged single-action revolvers of its day. Easily removable, replaceable cylinders made reloading extremely fast. A compact version of the original, the realistic Pietta Model 1858 New Army .44 Caliber Black Powder Revolver boasts the same performance with a polished brass trigger guard, blued steel construction, octagonal barrel and walnut grips. The 5-1/2” barrel makes it easier to holster and handle. Barrel length: 5.5”. OAL: 12.25”. Wt: 2.625 lbs.
Overall Customer Rating:
4.778 out of 5
4.8
 out of 
5
(194 Reviews) 194
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 194 reviews
5 Stars
157
4 Stars
34
3 Stars
1
2 Stars
1
1 Star
1
193 out of 194(99%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer questions and answers:
23 Questions | 121 Answers
Customer Reviews for Pietta Model 1858 New Army .44 Caliber Black Powder Revolver
Review 21 for Pietta Model 1858 New Army .44 Caliber Black Powder Revolver
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:April 21, 2015

Great deal!!

By
Country: United States
State: Alabama
Age: 46-55
Gender: Male
My favorite revolver!!! very accurate.
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 22 for Pietta Model 1858 New Army .44 Caliber Black Powder Revolver
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:April 17, 2015

DERN GOOD GUN

By
Country: United States
State: North Carolina
Age: 46-55
Gender: Male
I PURCHASED THE 1858 5.5 TO MATCH MY OTHER 1858 AND I HAVE HAD NOTHING TO GO WRONG WITH EITHER BUT I CARRY MY 1858 5.5 INCH BARELL GUN EVERY WHERE I GO AND AT 65 YARD'S I HIT THE RED 2 TIME'S AND THE OTHER 4 SHOT'S WAS IN THE 9 SO THEY ARE GOOD GUN'S STRAIGHT OUT OF THE BOX AND THE 1858 WITH THE 8 INCH BARELL IS ACCURATE UP TO 125 YARD'S 2 IN RED AND OTHER 4 BROKE AROUND THE RED LOVE THEM BOTH AND WILL BUY MORE GUN'S FROM CABELA'S VERY SOON.
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 23 for Pietta Model 1858 New Army .44 Caliber Black Powder Revolver
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:February 10, 2015

BP Model 1858 Army Pietta

By
Country: United States
State: Texas
Age: 56-65
Gender: Male
Well made cylinder removes easy for cleaning or cylinder change. Shoots great.
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 24 for Pietta Model 1858 New Army .44 Caliber Black Powder Revolver
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:February 4, 2015

Pietta .44 Cal 1858 New Army

By
Country: United States
State: Arizona
Age: 56-65
Gender: Male
Excellent fit, finish and workmanship. VERY accurate with Pyrodex 30 gr. pistol pellets, wool wad and .451 balls. #11 caps fit perfect. This is a great value for an enjoyable pistol to shoot!
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 25 for Pietta Model 1858 New Army .44 Caliber Black Powder Revolver
Overall Customer Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Date:February 3, 2015

1858 new army

By
Country: United States
State: South Carolina
Age: 46-55
Gender: Male
This is one nice firearm ! My only issue with this gun is that the action is a little rough out of the box however, I sure it will smooth out with use and I plan on useing it a lot .
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 26 for Pietta Model 1858 New Army .44 Caliber Black Powder Revolver
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:January 29, 2015

Excellent BP gun

By
Country: United States
State: Washington
Age: 65 and over
Gender: Male
I received my 5.5 inch piece this morning and spent all afternoon at the range. I was surprised at how well it shot. I used 30gr. of 3F with a 454 ball over a wad. At 25 yards I was 4" low and about as much to the left. At 50 yards it was dead on. Was able to keep all shots in the 9 and 10 rings of a B17 target.
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 27 for Pietta Model 1858 New Army .44 Caliber Black Powder Revolver
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:January 27, 2015

6.5" barrel length feels great

By
Country: United States
State: Connecticut
Age: 56-65
Gender: Male
When holding this model in your hand you can't help but notice how well it feels. The 6.5" barrel length gives this revolver a well balanced weight distribution. it shares everything else with the 8" barrel length and I didn't find any issues out of the box. There's no problem hitting targets at 25 yards or so once your use to it.
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
-1point
0out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 28 for Pietta Model 1858 New Army .44 Caliber Black Powder Revolver
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:January 14, 2015

Fun gun

By
Country: United States
State: Minnesota
Age: 36-45
Gender: Male
I liked this gun so much I purchased a second
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 29 for Pietta Model 1858 New Army .44 Caliber Black Powder Revolver
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:January 7, 2015

first black powder pistol

By
Country: United States
State: Massachusetts
Age: 56-65
Gender: Male
I'am new to black powder pistols, and this is my first purchase. The info I got from the cabelas salesman helped me select this pistol as a very good introduction gun. I have found it to be easy to load and to shoot, and very accurate. I would reccomend this pistol too anyone interested in shooting black powder pistols.
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 30 for Pietta Model 1858 New Army .44 Caliber Black Powder Revolver
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:December 26, 2014

Love my 1858's

By
Country: United States
State: Florida
Age: 36-45
Gender: Male
I recieved the 1858 with the 8 in barrel two Christmases ago, this Christmas I recieved the 5.5 in barrel 44 cal.. I absolutely love them both...The fit and finish on these guns are exceptional for the price. I got the shorter barrel for my home defense gun...and before you say is a BP pistol good for that...well with 35 grains of Pyrodex P i am pushing 930 FPS...Plenty of knock down power...I left my 8 in loaded for 15 months and went and shot it...they all fire with out fail...even the caps were on there that long...I love these guns and being shipped right to the door makes it even sweeter...im going to get two spare cylinders and a loading block next..
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 31 for Pietta Model 1858 New Army .44 Caliber Black Powder Revolver
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:December 20, 2014

like the others

By
Country: United States
State: Idaho
Age: 56-65
Gender: Male
I highly recommend this bp pistol, i have... several bp pistols and this model is the BEST of the lot! Last Christmas i got 2 of them [while they were on sale, and btw the holster[s] for them were on sale too!] for my youngest son [16] they both shot a little low and to the right at 24 yards but that was a quick CHEAP fix. whether we go target shooting or hunting at least 1 of them is on his side! he absolutely loves them! he cleans them after every use and sometimes just to 'keep them clean' oils his holsters,COUNTS his ball ammo [and reminds me to get him more when he runs 'low' ]
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 32 for Pietta Model 1858 New Army .44 Caliber Black Powder Revolver
Overall Customer Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Date:December 9, 2014

1858 Pietta Sheriff Model

By
Country: United States
State: Kentucky
Age: 65 and over
Gender: Male
Really liked the fit and finish of the metal. Grips a little rough in spots. Barrell length is ideal for me allowing a shorter sighting radius I prefer. Trigger broke perfectly for my preference. I ding this one star for not including the proprietary nipple wrench. I have three wrenches for #11 nipples and none fit this Pietta model, so better add a nipple wrench to your order.
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 33 for Pietta Model 1858 New Army .44 Caliber Black Powder Revolver
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:November 11, 2014

My Pistol

By
Country: United States
State: Arkansas
Age: 65 and over
Gender: Male
I now have two of these, there the best black powder pistols I have ever shot. They are well built to exact specs of the original guns, very accarute.
Love them. Thanks Billy
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 34 for Pietta Model 1858 New Army .44 Caliber Black Powder Revolver
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:November 11, 2014

You won't be disappointed.

By
Country: United States
State: Washington
Age: 65 and over
Gender: Male
I have owned other black powder pistols but when I was introduced to the features of the 1858 Remington, specifically the easy cylinder removal, I knew I had to have one. I had handled the full sized model and it felt “clumsy” as my hands are small, so I knew the 5-1/2 inch model is the one I needed. When Cabela’s offered that model at a very affordable price, I ordered one and have not been disappointed. The quality of the workmanship is great and it is easy for my smaller hands to use.
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 35 for Pietta Model 1858 New Army .44 Caliber Black Powder Revolver
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:November 11, 2014

Beautiful black powder pistol

By
Country: United States
State: Alabama
Age: 56-65
Gender: Male
Great pistol. Better quality than I thought for the money. Shoots accurate esp. For black powder You like blackpowder and the civil war days you got to get on
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 36 for Pietta Model 1858 New Army .44 Caliber Black Powder Revolver
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:July 17, 2014

Pietta/Remington 1858 C & B 5.5"

By
Country: United States
State: Michigan
Age: 56-65
Gender: Male
This is my first C & B revolver. I really liked the balance of the 5.5" barrel. The trigger guard is too close to the knuckle on my middle finger but that is due to my large hands. What a blast to shoot. haven't set any records doing reloads but who care it's just fun. 30gr of Pyrodex P, a CCI #10, Hornady .451" ball and a lubed wad and make some smoke. Accuracy is not to bad considering the sights are anything but easy to use. Just remember to clean thoroughly.
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 37 for Pietta Model 1858 New Army .44 Caliber Black Powder Revolver
Overall Customer Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Date:May 17, 2014

Nice looking gun

By
Gun shoots well loading difficult ramrod doesn't line up with cylinder gets caught on cylinder and can't seat the ball I advise you to buy a loader if you buy this gun .I use my 8inch new army to load cylinder for it now it has more leverage and a more accurate throw on the loading lever. The looks and firing of the gun still make it a good purchase !
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 38 for Pietta Model 1858 New Army .44 Caliber Black Powder Revolver
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:March 5, 2014

You will not be disappointed

By
Country: United States
State: New York
Age: 46-55
Gender: Male
Good day fellow shooters,
This is my third Pietta black powder pistol from Cabela’s, but my seventh black powder pistol all together. The first I purchased in 1988 proof mark AT from Cabela’s Kearny Nebraska. Some people say that the newer pistols are made better, I’m not so sure. I still think that the quality is the same now as in the earlier models. However the fittings are much different on the newer pistols than that of the older production ones. My older 1851 Navy has bigger cones/nipples and the springs seem harder/stronger. I have never had a problem with it since I purchased it twenty-six years ago. It is still going strong.
I just purchased the 5.5 inch 1858 and it shoots just awesome. The fitment is just spectacular, better than expected. I also like the natural wood grain on the grips much better than the glossy, shellacked, and unnatural feel of the Uberti grips. The plunger was easier than expected to use considering it was a shorter ramrod, not difficult at all to seat the round ball. The timing was good and the trigger pull… not so bad. I like the stockier look with the shorter barrel as opposed to the full-length barrels. I used a Hornady 454 round ball with a 2000 lubed Wad and a solid 35 grains of Goex FFFg black powder. The shots were just perfect at twenty and twenty-five yards. I’m not talking one or two inch groups, but all were center mass. I feel that the 450 and 451 round balls are a bit on the smaller side. For a nice tight/snug fit use 454’s you won’t go wrong. If you plan on using a 45LC conversion cylinder… purchase an Uberti it will fit both the Pietta and the Uberti but not the other way around.
Stay safe and use caution.
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 39 for Pietta Model 1858 New Army .44 Caliber Black Powder Revolver
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:March 3, 2014

Nice short barrel

By
Country: United States
State: New York
Age: 46-55
Gender: Male
Good day fellow shooters,
This is my third Pietta black powder pistol from Cabela’s, but my seventh black powder pistol all together. The first I purchased in 1988 proof mark AT from Cabela’s Kearny Nebraska. Some people say that the newer pistols are made better, I’m not so sure. I still think that the quality is the same now as in the earlier models. However the fittings are much different on the newer pistols than that of the older production ones. My older 1851 Navy has bigger cones/nipples and the springs seem harder/stronger. I have never had a problem with it since I purchased it twenty-six years ago. It is still going strong.
I just purchased the 5.5 inch 1858 and it shoots just awesome. The fitment is just spectacular, better than expected. I also like the natural wood grain on the grips much better than the glossy, shellacked, and unnatural feel of the Uberti grips. The plunger was easier than expected to use considering it was a shorter ramrod, not difficult at all to seat the round ball. The timing was good and the trigger pull… not so bad. I like the stockier look with the shorter barrel as opposed to the full-length barrels. I used a Hornady 454 round ball with a 2000 lubed Wad and a solid 35 grains of Goex FFFg black powder. The shots were just perfect at twenty and twenty-five yards. I’m not talking one or two inch groups, but all were center mass. I feel that the 450 and 451 round balls are a bit on the smaller side. For a nice tight/snug fit use 454’s you won’t go wrong. If you plan on using a 45LC conversion cylinder… purchase an Uberti it will fit both the Pietta and the Uberti but not the other way around.
Stay safe and use caution.
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 40 for Pietta Model 1858 New Army .44 Caliber Black Powder Revolver
Overall Customer Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Date:February 17, 2014

Almost a 5 star

By
Country: United States
State: Mississippi
Age: 46-55
Gender: Male
Finish and grips perfect, timing excellent, lock up very good. I was surprised how accurate the fixed sights were, 5 inch group at 20 yards, the gun may be better than that but I am not. More space between cylinder and barrel than I expected, measured .010". Loading lever fell down with every shot due to barrel Catch not properly indexed. Easy enough to fix but knocked out the 5th star.
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Viewing 21-40 of 194