Customer Reviews for HEVI-SHOT Hevi-Shot® "Dead Coyote" Ammunition

HEVI-SHOT Hevi-Shot® "Dead Coyote" Ammunition

With these Hevi Shot® T-shot loads, you can be deadly at ranges you never thought possible with a 12 gauge. If you're a waterfowler, you already know the benefits of Hevi Shot® -- it's 10% heavier than lead, 54% denser than steel and produces superior downrange pattern densities that make cleaner kills at greater distances. But until now, it wasn't available in a shot size larger than BB, so you weren't able to experience its true potential. The 3" load pounds out 50 pellets at 1,350 feet-per-second. Each pellet is molded perfectly round to minimize the effects of air resistance and keep your pattern together longer. Simply put, Hevi Shot® T shot will deliver a lethal payload at the very extreme of shotgun ranges. Try it and you'll be a believer. 10 shells per box. Shotshells will has a folded crimp rather than the a rolled crimp as shown in the image.
Overall Customer Rating:
4.803 out of 5
4.8
 out of 
5
(66 Reviews) 66
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 66 reviews
5 Stars
59
4 Stars
5
3 Stars
0
2 Stars
0
1 Star
2
63 out of 66(95%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer questions and answers:
4 Questions | 13 Answers
Customer Reviews for Hevi-Shot® "Dead Coyote" Ammunition
Review 21 for Hevi-Shot® "Dead Coyote" Ammunition
Overall Customer Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Date:April 7, 2011

This round is great

By
Would give five stars but the price for these is a bit much. Other wise this round works great.
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 22 for Hevi-Shot® "Dead Coyote" Ammunition
Overall Customer Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Date:April 5, 2011

Squib Round

By
Location: Pittsburgh, PA
Age: 36-45
Gender: Male
My third shot at a running 46 pound coyote was a squib round, meaning the primer went off but not the gunpowder, making a "pop" sound. This lodged the wad in my barrel and I had to use a stick to ram it out. This was from a brand new box I just bought a month ago. If I had loaded the squib round 1st, I would not have gotten my largest coyote ever and would have been sick about it. Performance was awsome when they went off. I have taken two coyotes so far from the one box, including the 46 pounder that was hit from my first 2 shots. One piece of T shot went straight through the head at 30 yards. I think this would be the perfect coyote round, since my area does not alowe buck shot. I hope this is just a one in a million fluke. Unfortunatly I do not have confidence in the reliability of this product to take the chance of using it in the field again.
Would you recommend this product to a friend? No
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 23 for Hevi-Shot® "Dead Coyote" Ammunition
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:November 16, 2010

Hevi

By
Location: McGraw, NY
Age: 46-55
Gender: Male
The good stuff, turns your shotgun into a coyote swatting machine! Highly recommended
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 24 for Hevi-Shot® "Dead Coyote" Ammunition
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:November 4, 2010

hevi-shot dead coyote

By
Location: northern lower michigan
Age: 46-55
Gender: Male
nothing better, no arguing, no debate, no walking wounded. better than buckshot for head shooting deer to 47 yards. try it out. awsome stuff except for the price.
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 25 for Hevi-Shot® "Dead Coyote" Ammunition
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:March 16, 2010

"DEAD"coyotes

By
Location: colorado
If you're looking to hang up the rifle, this ammo will allow you to do just that. I just recently went out on a hunt and was absolutely impressed when I rolled a yote at some 75+ yards on a dead run.
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 26 for Hevi-Shot® "Dead Coyote" Ammunition
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:March 4, 2010

Dead Coyote

By
Location: OKLAHOMA
Good pig ammo also.
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 27 for Hevi-Shot® "Dead Coyote" Ammunition
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:February 4, 2010

brings them down

By
Location: milwaukee, WI
It will take down a goose or Swan like nothing else. Gives you much more range. Can't wait to try on coyotes.
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 28 for Hevi-Shot® "Dead Coyote" Ammunition
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:January 12, 2010

T Shot 3" 25 yard and 45 yard Tests were Amazing!

By
Location: China, ME
I have a Benelli SuperNova with a PatternMaster Long Range Choke for Predator Hunting (Choke is Made for 3" and 2-3/4" Shot Shells). I have done extensive testing with 6 different types of ammo; Federal Premium 1 Buck, Federal Premium 00 Buck, Winchester Supreme 000 Buck, Remington Express Magnum 4 Buck, Hevi-Shot Dead Coyote 00 Buck, and Hevi-Shot Dead Coyote T Shot.
Both the Hevi-Shot Dead Coyote Loads ( 00 Buck and T shot) out performed all of the others with T shot having the densest pattern out to 45 yards. The T Shot had a 97.6% Lethality on a 12x12 Target at both Distances! At 25 yards this is a True Coyote Killer and you will not be unhappy!
The Tests were done in 18 degrees F for the 25 yard Pattern Test and a little under 0 degrees F for the 45 yard Pattern Test. These two loads will be in my gun all winter and I will perform another Pattern Test when warmer weather rolls around, the next set of tests will be for 45 yards out to 80+ yards using the 00 Buck Load.
Trust Me You Will NOT Be Disappointed in the T shot. I will be using Hevi-Shot Dead Coyote with 3 3" T shots followed up by 2 3" 00 Buck Shots in my Benelli SuperNova with the PatternMaster Long Range Choke, those 00 Buck will carry much farther for any coyotes that happen to make it out of the 45 yard range when I will be Scatter Shooting!
Do Yourself a Favor if you are a Serious Predator Hunter and get Hevi-Shot Dead Coyote 3" T Shot!
Hunt Hard and Be Safe!
COYOTE INC
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 29 for Hevi-Shot® "Dead Coyote" Ammunition
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:January 9, 2010

Best goose ammunition

By
The Dead Coyote 3 1/2 inch T shot is the best ammunition I have ever used for geese. I use a browning autoloader and had no problems. I tried it out for the first time today and had two kills at 70 yards with an IM choke. Yes these shells are expensive but you pay for what you get.
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 30 for Hevi-Shot® "Dead Coyote" Ammunition
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:December 7, 2009

Should be named "Dead Grizzly"

By
Location: Hanover, NH
Exceptional product, the "T" sized shot carried its energy well beyond 50 yards making it a perfect Goose load with the additional benefit of the pellets passing through the birds at closer range so biting into a hidden pellet is an issue of the past. I think these shells are the greatest.
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 31 for Hevi-Shot® "Dead Coyote" Ammunition
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:July 24, 2009

Coyote Killer

By
Location: Palomino Valley Nevada
This is the best Coyote killing ammunition you can use in close quarters. Out to 85 to 100 yards. I haven't left one standing yet. It is a bit pricey but if the object is to rid your property or predators this is the stuff.
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 32 for Hevi-Shot® "Dead Coyote" Ammunition
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:July 6, 2009

Great Round

By
Location: NY
Use these rounds with a dead coyote choke. Awesome patterns all the way out 60+ yards. If you are serious about coyote hunting, it is a no brainer
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 33 for Hevi-Shot® "Dead Coyote" Ammunition
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:May 4, 2009

Great ballistics

By
I use these loads on canada geese, loading them as the third and final round in the chamber for the longer distance shots. They have incredible knockdown power out to 60-70 yards. More than you need at close range but unbeatable at long range.
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 34 for Hevi-Shot® "Dead Coyote" Ammunition
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:February 10, 2009

everything and more

By
Location: Southern Maryland
Awesome load, quality loads. Everything and more. Just a little more so pricey, but you truly get what you pay for. A word of caution, if you are planning to consume your game- plan your ranges accordingly. Tends to produce some tighter than average pattnerns even at longer ranges. A perfect "swiss cheese" load on varmints.
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 35 for Hevi-Shot® "Dead Coyote" Ammunition
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:January 30, 2009

So grreat, it will probably be outlawed soon!

By
Location: I hunt semi arid eastern Nevada, mainly for geese
I guess the secret is out now, from what your other reviewers have shared. The T pellet energy with the pattern master choke in a beretta extrema 2 (from cabelas) in 3 & 1/2" is so lethal it kills giant canada geese graveyard dead beyond 100 yards. The trick is figuring the drop. Straight aways and quartering shots are very doable at extreme ranges you have probably never thought possible. Tricky on those looong passing shots though. Go try on the Pattern boards guys and prove it to yourselves and make lots of $$ betting your buddies how far you can shoot and penetrate . Very expensive, but worth it for the performance, especially on these smart wild local eastern Nevada Ginormous Canadas.
Still have to wonder why they have to cost soooo much though. Just have to make them count.
Someone should do an article after field trial tests and share the data for both distances, penetration, foot pounds of energy, patterns and drop.
Tip: Start buying a box every month, so as to not feel the $$sting so much during season and also to be sure to have them available when you need them come season.
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 36 for Hevi-Shot® "Dead Coyote" Ammunition
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:January 23, 2009

WOW

By
Im not one to give into manufature claims or hype. It took me a long before I decided to purchace this expensive ammunition. I must say I am extreamly impressed. out of my 1300 defender at 35 yards it kept a pattern under 36 INCHES! Ive shot alot of different loads including federal flitecontol buck, and nothing comes close to this. If you are use to lite loads this probably isnt for you. I feel so confident with this ammunition it is now my new home defense load. I you are concerned about cost it is well worth it. you wont be dissapointed.
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 37 for Hevi-Shot® "Dead Coyote" Ammunition
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:October 19, 2008

"Dead Coyote" Hevi Shot

By
Location: Arkansas
I caught two red foxes trying to kill my chickens this week. I'm not going to give the gory details. The name says it all. This stuff works.
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 38 for Hevi-Shot® "Dead Coyote" Ammunition
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:September 30, 2008

Dead Coyotes

By
They take the name dead coyote seriously. I killed all of my 7 coyotes out past 40 yards and dropped them in their tracks. Cycles and shoots very well through my 870 and has one of the most deadly patterns I've ever seen. Great load!
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 39 for Hevi-Shot® "Dead Coyote" Ammunition
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:May 25, 2008

3 1/2" dead coyote loads

By
Location: Manhattan, Kansas
These shells are awesome. I shot 2 turkeys at 71yds with a laser rangefinder. I waited until they crossed and hammered them both, filling both tags with one shot. I patterned these and at 70yds they're still putting 5-8 pellets in the turkey with my Mossberg 835. It will let you know it when you touch one of these off.
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 40 for Hevi-Shot® "Dead Coyote" Ammunition
Overall Customer Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Date:May 5, 2008

Light Hits

By
Location: DE
Used these in a Moss500 pump. Cycled poorly and I received two light hits out of 8 total trigger pulls. That's 5 shots fired for 8 seperate rounds. The rounds that did go off were excellent. I love the T size shot and the 3" size. Will not use this brand again due to the light hits and high cost. Switched mid trip to Federal BBB 3 inchers and had no trouble at all. Purchased the FEDERAL for $10 less, I got 15 more shells, and had no light hits.
Would you recommend this product to a friend? No
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Viewing 21-40 of 66