Customer Reviews for HORNADY Hornady® SST-ML Low Drag Lock-N-Load® Speed Sabots with Flex Tip Technology

HORNADY Hornady® SST-ML Low Drag Lock-N-Load® Speed Sabots with Flex Tip Technology

Loaded with Hornady’s premium SST-ML™ bullet, the innovative Lock-N-Load Speed Sabot™ is the closest thing you can have to a cartridge for your muzzleloader. The unique tail section enables you to lock three Pyrodex™ or Triple Seven™ pellets directly to the projectile for faster and more convenient loading. In addition to this ultra-fast loading, the sabot engages the rifling of fast-twist barrels much better than ordinary lead bullets for accuracy far surpassing traditional projectiles. Tail can be trimmed to fit only two pellets if your muzzleloader performs best with 100-grain charges. Per 10. ATTENTION: Residents of DC and MA please check your local laws for restrictions before ordering any shot or bullet products.
Overall Customer Rating:
4.475 out of 5
4.5
 out of 
5
(40 Reviews) 40
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 40 reviews
5 Stars
32
4 Stars
2
3 Stars
2
2 Stars
1
1 Star
3
36 out of 40(90%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer questions and answers:
1 Question | 2 Answers
Customer Reviews for Hornady® SST-ML Low Drag Lock-N-Load® Speed Sabots with Flex Tip Technology
Review 1 for Hornady® SST-ML Low Drag Lock-N-Load® Speed Sabots with Flex Tip Technology
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:April 26, 2016

easy load

By
Country: United States
State: Maine
Age: 56-65
Gender: Male
i have used these hornady loads in 250 gr. with the tail for a few yrs now. they load easily and shoot great (one kansas buck at 206 yds) if another shot is required it only takes seconds to reload, as the triple 7 pellets are already on the tail, just drop in and add the primer. you can also shoot multiple shots without cleaning. best muzzleloader product i have used. maine master guide
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 2 for Hornady® SST-ML Low Drag Lock-N-Load® Speed Sabots with Flex Tip Technology
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:April 22, 2016

Best I've Used

By
Country: United States
State: South Dakota
Age: 36-45
Gender: Male
I've been using these ever since I started muzzleloader hunting. My Knight Disc Extreme shoots these very accurately. Several one shot knockdowns. I just bought a CVA Accura V2, so we'll soon see how well they fly from that cannon!
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 3 for Hornady® SST-ML Low Drag Lock-N-Load® Speed Sabots with Flex Tip Technology
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:December 29, 2015

Quality slug

By
Country: United States
State: West Virginia
Age: 26-35
Gender: Male
In my opinion these are the best muzzleloading bullets you can buy. They fly true and they leave a devastating wound Plus they are very easy to use
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 4 for Hornady® SST-ML Low Drag Lock-N-Load® Speed Sabots with Flex Tip Technology
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:January 14, 2015

Great product

By
Country: United States
State: Kentucky
Age: 46-55
Gender: Male
Hornady® SST-ML Low Drag Lock-N-Load® Speed Sabots with Flex Tip Technology
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 5 for Hornady® SST-ML Low Drag Lock-N-Load® Speed Sabots with Flex Tip Technology
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:October 14, 2014

RIGHT ON THE MONEY

By
Country: United States
State: New Mexico
Age: 46-55
Gender: Male
After reading the reviews on the Hornady SST-ML bullets, I had to try them. One inch groups @ 100 yrds. WOW!! I will not use anything else!
Thanks,
Chaz
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 6 for Hornady® SST-ML Low Drag Lock-N-Load® Speed Sabots with Flex Tip Technology
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:February 15, 2014

Better than buttered sliced bread!

By
Country: United States
State: Pennsylvania
Age: 46-55
Gender: Male
I have been using this cartridge for over 10 years and it has resulted in multiple one-shot kills out to 150 yards with my muzzle-loader. Great design, works well with speed loaders, and effective.
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 7 for Hornady® SST-ML Low Drag Lock-N-Load® Speed Sabots with Flex Tip Technology
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:December 18, 2012

speed sabots

By
Country: United States
State: Indiana
Age: 26-35
Gender: Male
Have been using these for years with great accuracy and performance.
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 8 for Hornady® SST-ML Low Drag Lock-N-Load® Speed Sabots with Flex Tip Technology
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:November 29, 2012

Awesome

By
Country: United States
State: New York
Age: 56-65
Gender: Male
I bought a CVA Wolf and few years ago.I put a Bushnell 3x9x40 scope on it. When I purchased the gun I also purchased 4 different sabots ie: Hornady, Powerbelt etc,. I found that with 100 grs of Triple 7's and 250gr Hornady SST I can shoot. a 1" group at 100yds and drops 3' ' at 150yds also a 1' group. I can shoot 6 rounds before needing to run a cleaner down the barrel. All others-2 shots max before I need to clean. All the other brands at 100yds with 100grs were with in 6'-7' random group around the bull. You can't beat Hornady. I also switched my rifle shells to Hornady as well, What a product...
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 9 for Hornady® SST-ML Low Drag Lock-N-Load® Speed Sabots with Flex Tip Technology
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:February 1, 2012

The Only Sabot

By
Location: Buffalo Gap, SD
Age: 36-45
Gender: Male
These sabots shoot straight and true from my T/C Impact rifle. I shot a 1" group at 100 yards with open sights. These sabots are amazing. If you are looking for a excellant sabots, these may be it, they were for me.
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 10 for Hornady® SST-ML Low Drag Lock-N-Load® Speed Sabots with Flex Tip Technology
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:February 1, 2011

Effective

By
Location: Nebraska
Age: 36-45
Gender: Male
Due to problem with my scope, I was in a pinch and had to purchase these at a local store. I use Blackhorn 209 powder (90gr). So I just cut the tail off the sabot, and sighted in my Traditions Pursuit. Easy to load, and very effective. Dropped a 140 class whitetail in his tracks at 135 yards. Recovered the bullet in the opposite side hide. Great weight retention, as it held together after smashing bone.
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 11 for Hornady® SST-ML Low Drag Lock-N-Load® Speed Sabots with Flex Tip Technology
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:April 5, 2009

Hornady Lock-N-Load Spped Sabots

By
Location: Carson City, Nevada-Klawock, Alaska
Work Well.
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 12 for Hornady® SST-ML Low Drag Lock-N-Load® Speed Sabots with Flex Tip Technology
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:January 5, 2009

AWESOM BULLETS

By
Location: West Virginia
I have looked over some of the reviews and a couple of them say they leave plastic residue in the barrel these comments are not all true. I have shot them in my TC Encore Pro Hunter and my remington 700 also and never had any trouble at all with cleaning or shooting a good pattern, niether have i had trouble loading them. This past muzzleloader season in Wv, I shot 2 deer and one went less than 25 yards and he was dead before he hit the ground and the other went no more than 15 yards. These bullets are awesome, I will continue to use them unless Hornady comes out with something better. If you want a bullet that makes a quick humane kill like i do these are the one's for you. I highly recommend these bullets for deer hunting.
Would you recommend this product to a friend? No
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 13 for Hornady® SST-ML Low Drag Lock-N-Load® Speed Sabots with Flex Tip Technology
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:November 30, 2008

lock-n-load sabots from hornady

By
Location: TN.
This is the most accurate sabot that I have ever tried, and I have tried darn near all of them. This combination of hornady with 3 triple7 pellets is the bomb. cutting paper at 100 yards sub 1" groups out of my TC Triumph mz
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 14 for Hornady® SST-ML Low Drag Lock-N-Load® Speed Sabots with Flex Tip Technology
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:September 22, 2008

worked great

By
i tried them and liked the way that thay worked.
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 15 for Hornady® SST-ML Low Drag Lock-N-Load® Speed Sabots with Flex Tip Technology
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:September 8, 2008

lock and load

By
Location: MO
this is my second year for using hornady lock and load Sabots. Great accuracy consistant.Killed 2 deer first muzzelloader season i hunted.Works great with my T/C encore,and triple seven pellets.
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 16 for Hornady® SST-ML Low Drag Lock-N-Load® Speed Sabots with Flex Tip Technology
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:February 2, 2008

Exellent, accurate!!!

By
My gun went from shooting a 6" group at 100 yards with powerbelts to 1" at 100 yards with the Hornady lock-n-load speed sabots. I haven't tried farther shots, because there isn't a need where I hunt, but I believe that it could perform accurately out to 200 yards or more with the Hornady's. Great product!
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 17 for Hornady® SST-ML Low Drag Lock-N-Load® Speed Sabots with Flex Tip Technology
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:January 22, 2008

Lock n Load

By
Location: Winchester, VA
Great product and very fast reload time also. I tried six different sabots last year and these things were more accurate then all the loads that i tried; and the devastation they create is incredible.
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 18 for Hornady® SST-ML Low Drag Lock-N-Load® Speed Sabots with Flex Tip Technology
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:January 10, 2008

as handy as sliced bread

By
Location: New Hampshire North Country
I can't say enough about the accuracy and ease of use of these sabots. You can even substitute your own tip if you're so inclined. I haven't found the need (for big game). They make extracting powder pellets from the package easy as well. I would like to see the sabots alone or some smaller caliber/ lighter tips for smaller game which can still be used in the larger original bore. Maybe a .30 cal in .50 cal sabot for flatter shooting, higher velocity for varmits etc.
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 19 for Hornady® SST-ML Low Drag Lock-N-Load® Speed Sabots with Flex Tip Technology
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:January 7, 2008

Speed Sabots

By
Excellent! Dead on out to 200 yards +
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 20 for Hornady® SST-ML Low Drag Lock-N-Load® Speed Sabots with Flex Tip Technology
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:November 26, 2007

Cleaner than T/C Sabots

By
Location: Illinois
I bought these during hunting season because we ran out of the T/C Sabots and needed 250gr to match up with my Nikon BDC scope. We loaded these and they shot perfectly through my T/C Muzzleloader. The second bullet goes down the tube much easier than the T/C bullets did. Yes they do leave a plastic residue and it's a pain when shooting a bunch but hey it's a muzzleloader... one shot right. My son shot his first deer with these out of my muzzleloader and it was a perfect 80yrd shot. The doe dropped in her tracks and got up and went about 15 yards. Too bad my son was so focused on the doe and didn't drop the 150 class buck that was with her. Live and learn! These bullets do the job and when I'm hunting that is all that matters... I can clean a gun.
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Viewing 1-20 of 40