Customer Reviews for HORNADY Hornady® SST-ML Low Drag Lock-N-Load® Speed Sabots with Flex Tip Technology

HORNADY Hornady® SST-ML Low Drag Lock-N-Load® Speed Sabots with Flex Tip Technology

Loaded with Hornady’s premium SST-ML™ bullet, the innovative Lock-N-Load Speed Sabot™ is the closest thing you can have to a cartridge for your muzzleloader. The unique tail section enables you to lock three Pyrodex™ or Triple Seven™ pellets directly to the projectile for faster and more convenient loading. In addition to this ultra-fast loading, the sabot engages the rifling of fast-twist barrels much better than ordinary lead bullets for accuracy far surpassing traditional projectiles. Tail can be trimmed to fit only two pellets if your muzzleloader performs best with 100-grain charges. Per 10. ATTENTION: Residents of DC and MA please check your local laws for restrictions before ordering any shot or bullet products.
Overall Customer Rating:
4.4 out of 5
4.4
 out of 
5
(35 Reviews) 35
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 35 reviews
5 Stars
27
4 Stars
2
3 Stars
2
2 Stars
1
1 Star
3
31 out of 35(89%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer questions and answers:
1 Question | 2 Answers
Customer Reviews for Hornady® SST-ML Low Drag Lock-N-Load® Speed Sabots with Flex Tip Technology
Review 1 for Hornady® SST-ML Low Drag Lock-N-Load® Speed Sabots with Flex Tip Technology
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Country: United States
State: Pennsylvania
Age: 46-55
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Better than buttered sliced bread!

Date:February 15, 2014
I have been using this cartridge for over 10 years and it has resulted in multiple one-shot kills out to 150 yards with my muzzle-loader. Great design, works well with speed loaders, and effective.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 2 for Hornady® SST-ML Low Drag Lock-N-Load® Speed Sabots with Flex Tip Technology
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Country: United States
State: Indiana
Age: 26-35
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

speed sabots

Date:December 18, 2012
Have been using these for years with great accuracy and performance.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 3 for Hornady® SST-ML Low Drag Lock-N-Load® Speed Sabots with Flex Tip Technology
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Country: United States
State: New York
Age: 56-65
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Awesome

Date:November 29, 2012
I bought a CVA Wolf and few years ago.I put a Bushnell 3x9x40 scope on it. When I purchased the gun I also purchased 4 different sabots ie: Hornady, Powerbelt etc,. I found that with 100 grs of Triple 7's and 250gr Hornady SST I can shoot. a 1" group at 100yds and drops 3' ' at 150yds also a 1' group. I can shoot 6 rounds before needing to run a cleaner down the barrel. All others-2 shots max before I need to clean. All the other brands at 100yds with 100grs were with in 6'-7' random group around the bull. You can't beat Hornady. I also switched my rifle shells to Hornady as well, What a product...
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 4 for Hornady® SST-ML Low Drag Lock-N-Load® Speed Sabots with Flex Tip Technology
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location: Buffalo Gap, SD
Age: 36-45
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

The Only Sabot

Date:February 1, 2012
These sabots shoot straight and true from my T/C Impact rifle. I shot a 1" group at 100 yards with open sights. These sabots are amazing. If you are looking for a excellant sabots, these may be it, they were for me.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 5 for Hornady® SST-ML Low Drag Lock-N-Load® Speed Sabots with Flex Tip Technology
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location: Nebraska
Age: 36-45
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Effective

Date:February 1, 2011
Due to problem with my scope, I was in a pinch and had to purchase these at a local store. I use Blackhorn 209 powder (90gr). So I just cut the tail off the sabot, and sighted in my Traditions Pursuit. Easy to load, and very effective. Dropped a 140 class whitetail in his tracks at 135 yards. Recovered the bullet in the opposite side hide. Great weight retention, as it held together after smashing bone.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 6 for Hornady® SST-ML Low Drag Lock-N-Load® Speed Sabots with Flex Tip Technology
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location: Carson City, Nevada-Klawock, Alaska
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Hornady Lock-N-Load Spped Sabots

Date:April 5, 2009
Work Well.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 7 for Hornady® SST-ML Low Drag Lock-N-Load® Speed Sabots with Flex Tip Technology
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location: West Virginia
Would you recommend this product to a friend? No

AWESOM BULLETS

Date:January 5, 2009
I have looked over some of the reviews and a couple of them say they leave plastic residue in the barrel these comments are not all true. I have shot them in my TC Encore Pro Hunter and my remington 700 also and never had any trouble at all with cleaning or shooting a good pattern, niether have i had trouble loading them. This past muzzleloader season in Wv, I shot 2 deer and one went less than 25 yards and he was dead before he hit the ground and the other went no more than 15 yards. These bullets are awesome, I will continue to use them unless Hornady comes out with something better. If you want a bullet that makes a quick humane kill like i do these are the one's for you. I highly recommend these bullets for deer hunting.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 8 for Hornady® SST-ML Low Drag Lock-N-Load® Speed Sabots with Flex Tip Technology
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location: TN.
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

lock-n-load sabots from hornady

Date:November 30, 2008
This is the most accurate sabot that I have ever tried, and I have tried darn near all of them. This combination of hornady with 3 triple7 pellets is the bomb. cutting paper at 100 yards sub 1" groups out of my TC Triumph mz
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 9 for Hornady® SST-ML Low Drag Lock-N-Load® Speed Sabots with Flex Tip Technology
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

worked great

Date:September 22, 2008
i tried them and liked the way that thay worked.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 10 for Hornady® SST-ML Low Drag Lock-N-Load® Speed Sabots with Flex Tip Technology
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location: MO
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

lock and load

Date:September 8, 2008
this is my second year for using hornady lock and load Sabots. Great accuracy consistant.Killed 2 deer first muzzelloader season i hunted.Works great with my T/C encore,and triple seven pellets.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 11 for Hornady® SST-ML Low Drag Lock-N-Load® Speed Sabots with Flex Tip Technology
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Exellent, accurate!!!

Date:February 2, 2008
My gun went from shooting a 6" group at 100 yards with powerbelts to 1" at 100 yards with the Hornady lock-n-load speed sabots. I haven't tried farther shots, because there isn't a need where I hunt, but I believe that it could perform accurately out to 200 yards or more with the Hornady's. Great product!
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 12 for Hornady® SST-ML Low Drag Lock-N-Load® Speed Sabots with Flex Tip Technology
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location: Winchester, VA
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Lock n Load

Date:January 22, 2008
Great product and very fast reload time also. I tried six different sabots last year and these things were more accurate then all the loads that i tried; and the devastation they create is incredible.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 13 for Hornady® SST-ML Low Drag Lock-N-Load® Speed Sabots with Flex Tip Technology
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location: New Hampshire North Country
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

as handy as sliced bread

Date:January 10, 2008
I can't say enough about the accuracy and ease of use of these sabots. You can even substitute your own tip if you're so inclined. I haven't found the need (for big game). They make extracting powder pellets from the package easy as well. I would like to see the sabots alone or some smaller caliber/ lighter tips for smaller game which can still be used in the larger original bore. Maybe a .30 cal in .50 cal sabot for flatter shooting, higher velocity for varmits etc.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 14 for Hornady® SST-ML Low Drag Lock-N-Load® Speed Sabots with Flex Tip Technology
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Speed Sabots

Date:January 7, 2008
Excellent! Dead on out to 200 yards +
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 15 for Hornady® SST-ML Low Drag Lock-N-Load® Speed Sabots with Flex Tip Technology
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location: Illinois
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Cleaner than T/C Sabots

Date:November 26, 2007
I bought these during hunting season because we ran out of the T/C Sabots and needed 250gr to match up with my Nikon BDC scope. We loaded these and they shot perfectly through my T/C Muzzleloader. The second bullet goes down the tube much easier than the T/C bullets did. Yes they do leave a plastic residue and it's a pain when shooting a bunch but hey it's a muzzleloader... one shot right. My son shot his first deer with these out of my muzzleloader and it was a perfect 80yrd shot. The doe dropped in her tracks and got up and went about 15 yards. Too bad my son was so focused on the doe and didn't drop the 150 class buck that was with her. Live and learn! These bullets do the job and when I'm hunting that is all that matters... I can clean a gun.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 16 for Hornady® SST-ML Low Drag Lock-N-Load® Speed Sabots with Flex Tip Technology
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location: Sacramento, Ca.
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Varmint Huntin'

Date:June 2, 2007
Went varmint huntin' and set up the bait at about 3:00am. Just about sunrise the coyote showed up. As we watched he tugged at the bait doing his best to free the bait from the teather that held it. I leaned my Knight up against the truck door and touched off a Dead Center backed up with 150 grains of Pryrodex pellets. That coyote never knew what hit him! He was dead before he hit the ground. The Dead Center with the Pyrodex did the trick. Now my friend/rancher can rest assured that this coyote will never bother his livestock again. I have to admit that dead center bullets backed up with Pyrodex pellets are a deadly combination. By the way, last month I shot a fat gobbler at about 60 yards with 100 grains of Pyrodex pellets and a dead center bullet right through his neck. Lucky shot? Maybe. But the round went where I aimed. I'm sold on Dead center bullets and Hornady sabots. They are a winning combination.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 17 for Hornady® SST-ML Low Drag Lock-N-Load® Speed Sabots with Flex Tip Technology
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location: jamestown,ny
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

muzzleloaderslugs

Date:April 11, 2007
i thought the sabots i bought are an axcellemt choice u can load the powder pellets rite on the sabots i will buy again
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 18 for Hornady® SST-ML Low Drag Lock-N-Load® Speed Sabots with Flex Tip Technology
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Easiest to load with superb accuracy

Date:November 29, 2006
I've used the SST sabot for a couple of years and loved them. Now they have improved it with jag extension for your pellets. The pellets stay on and will not slide off. The new style did not change my accuracy at all. They shoot a half inch group @ 100 yds. out of my muzzleoader. They also make reloading a whole lot faster.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 19 for Hornady® SST-ML Low Drag Lock-N-Load® Speed Sabots with Flex Tip Technology
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location: upstate NY, first year using muzzeloader
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Hornady Lock-N-Load Speed Sabots

Date:November 22, 2006
This is an excellent product and one of the reasons I was willing to try muzzeloading. Loading the rifle was easy and load development was simple using 30 or 50 grain pellets.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 20 for Hornady® SST-ML Low Drag Lock-N-Load® Speed Sabots with Flex Tip Technology
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location: Terryville,Ct.
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

excellent

Date:November 22, 2006
really quick
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
ReviewQuestion 1-20 of 35