Customer Reviews for Cabela's Precision Dead Center .50 Caliber Sabots

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Cabela's.

Cabela's Precision Dead Center .50 Caliber Sabots

Superior flatter trajectory results from higher ballistic coefficients and velocities. Innovative polymer tips ensure incredibly deep penetration and efficient energy transfer for heavy blood trails on even the largest game animals. Per 12. ATTENTION: Residents of DC and MA please check your local laws for restrictions before ordering any shot or bullet products.
Overall Customer Rating:
4.802 out of 5
4.8
 out of 
5
(86 Reviews) 86
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 86 reviews
5 Stars
75
4 Stars
6
3 Stars
4
2 Stars
1
1 Star
0
82 out of 86(95%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Precision Dead Center .50 Caliber Sabots
Review 1 for Precision Dead Center .50 Caliber Sabots
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Country: United States
State: Minnesota
Age: 36-45
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Nice Sabot

Date:September 5, 2012
bought this due to price for my new gun just to try different rounds. Real nice craftsmanship, accurate but I plan to hunt with solid brass bullet due to lead concerns in venison
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 2 for Precision Dead Center .50 Caliber Sabots
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location: pennsylvania
Age: 36-45
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

awesome sabots

Date:January 12, 2012
it took me a few tries before i found these, but the name says it all. they shoot dead center. since buying them last year, i've taken 2 shots at deer. neither deer took a single step afterward. enough said :)
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 3 for Precision Dead Center .50 Caliber Sabots
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location: NJ
Age: 26-35
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

good mix

Date:December 6, 2011
This has got to be by far the most accurate bullet I have ever use in a muzzle loader. Having a big problem with grouping with my muzzle loader. I started to look for a more accurate higher BC.then other bullets on market. So I ran across this company on the web spoke to the engineering there. Told him what I was shooting and the issues I was having. Which was a grouping of over 4 inches at 100 yards out of my cva op elite. He told me not only what grain bullet to get but also to change powder I was using since I started shooting. Well I thought about it went to Cabelas and picked it all up. Next day I went to range to sight my weapon in and I kid u not. Groupings were .259 inch at 100 yards now that is the most accurate bullet I have ever seen out of a muzzle loader. They do a lot of testing on there stuff a know there product well. I will never buy a different type of bullet again. By they way the powder that I was told to use was blackhorn 209 at 120 grains
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 4 for Precision Dead Center .50 Caliber Sabots
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location: Louisiana
Age: 36-45
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

BayouStateHunter

Date:November 1, 2011
I really hope Cabela's pays attention to the reviews. The reason I do, is that I hope to be shooting this bullet for the rest of my hunting days. I've shot a good many brands/styles of bullets but none come close to the accuracy and performance of this bullet. I can't really tell you what kind of blood trail this bullet leaves b/c only one that was quartering me hard has moved from it's tracks. As for the one buck that did get up, he didn't make it 30 yards and piled back up. I've not shot a deer over 150 yards with the bullet. Most I've shot have been between 75 and 125 yards. Judging from what I've seen with this bullet, I'd feel very confident it will stomp a deer out beyond 200 yards though. I shoot 92 grains of "shockey's gold" loose powder w/ the New England 50 cal. muzzle loader. - I have also shot the "Precision Rifles" 250 grain bullet that shoots identicle - these are by far the best bullets I've ever shot!!! You won't be disappointed unless you miss!
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 5 for Precision Dead Center .50 Caliber Sabots
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Best there is.

Date:October 15, 2011
I have used these bullets (300gr/.50 cal) exclusively for years and until someone proves me wrong or they stop making them, I will never change. The best groups I have ever shot through my Omega. The heavy lead body, polymer tip, and boat tail design make for devastating downrange kills. And you don't need a ton of powder, 100 gr for me and I get sub 2" groups at 150 yds.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 6 for Precision Dead Center .50 Caliber Sabots
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location: Nebraska
Age: 36-45
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Deadly Dead Centers

Date:October 10, 2011
I had punched a lot of paper with these and found them to be the most accurate bullet out of my 209x50 Encore. (300 grain bullet/110 Blackhorn) I finally got to shoot an antelope at 70 yards straight on. The bullet passed through the left side front shoulder and stopped just short of the right hind quarter. The antelope never took a step. The bullet was perfectly mushroomed and did its job as expected.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 7 for Precision Dead Center .50 Caliber Sabots
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location: Colon, MI
Age: 25 and under
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Heavy is Heavenly

Date:September 26, 2011
I own a CVA Kodiak Pro Magnum that I have had all sorts of accuracy issues with since I bought it two years ago. I had tried several different powder and bullet combinations before I finally found these. I am now using the 300gr variant in front of 90gr of triple seven and am getting great groups. I took a doe last weekend with one of these babies; went through the left front shoulder and then destroyed the vitals. The doe went about forty yards and then piled up, I was very pleased with the terminal performance. If you are having trouble getting your muzzy to group, consider using heavier bullets, and I recommend these!
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 8 for Precision Dead Center .50 Caliber Sabots
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location: Palm Coast, FL
Age: 26-35
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Total Devastation

Date:August 28, 2011
Best sabot i have ever shot. Penetration is second too none. I have killed six bucks with these bullets. The shoots where all pass throughs except one. The one that didnt pass through busted the last rib, traveled through the body cavity, broke the opposite shoulder and lodged just under the skin. The recoverd sabot flattened to the size of a nickel. The deer was dead before his head hit the dirt. 6 shots 6 kills.
Traditions XLT Pursuit 2 50 grain pellets. 1.25" five shot groups at 100 yds.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 9 for Precision Dead Center .50 Caliber Sabots
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location: Lansing, MI
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Consistent

Date:August 26, 2011
I shoot a TC Triumph and have found these to be the most consistent sabots. I tried several brands and styles with various loads before I decided to stick with the Dead Centers. You lose a little velocity, but I get improved accuracy with using 2 pellets of 777 instead of 3.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 10 for Precision Dead Center .50 Caliber Sabots
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location: Lake St. Louis, Mo
Age: 56-65
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

New to black powder

Date:April 3, 2011
I am new to black powder hunting. but my experience is that these bullets group as good as I can shoot at 100 yards, 1.5 inches, and they get the job done in the field. My cousin wanted a doe to make Italian sausage. So, I went out on the first day of Missouri's late December muzzle loader season. I shot a doe at 60 yards and when the smoke cleared I did not see a thing, so I waited an hour. The doe had run about 70 yards down hill (always). It was a double lung thru shot with a good blood trail. I'm sold, paired them up with two 50 grain pelletsand bought enough bullets for several hunts.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 11 for Precision Dead Center .50 Caliber Sabots
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location: southern Iowa
Age: 46-55
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Best out there

Date:April 2, 2011
I recently tried to find which bullet works the best out of my vintage mk85, it seems that after trying barns, hornady and tc, this one will punch 3 shot groups inside an inch at a hundred yds. Watch out critters this fall!!!!
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 12 for Precision Dead Center .50 Caliber Sabots
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location: Chautauqua County, NY
Age: 26-35
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Great performance in CVA Accura & Traditions XLT

Date:March 6, 2011
I got some of these to try in preparation for a hunting trip to nebraska. I bought a ton of different bullets, and the 240 grain version of this bullet ended up shooting like a dream in my CVA
Accura. I chose to shoot a heavier 300 grain scorpion pt gold out of my Traditions XLT since it had a BDC scope, but that gun loved the 240 and 260 grain dead center bullets too. Anyway, I took a deer with each combination. When we skinned the deer out, it was very apparent that the dead center bullet did just as much, if not more, damage than the jacketed bullet. I wouldn't want to hit heavy bone with these bullets since they're not jacketed, but ribcage shots are no problem and lead to really good energy transfer. my deer was quartering away steeply, and it hit well back but ended up in the front of the ribcage. Bullet expansion was very good.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 13 for Precision Dead Center .50 Caliber Sabots
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

excellent sabots

Date:January 27, 2011
Very good accuracy . Tight groups out to 150 yds. shooting 120 grains ff Goex black powder in a t.c. omega. Hunted during regular rifle season and shot a buck that dropped with in 50 yds of impact using the 340 grain sabots.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 14 for Precision Dead Center .50 Caliber Sabots
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location: Louisiana
Age: 36-45
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

I love this bullet!

Date:January 20, 2011
I harvest 3 deer with this bullet this year. I'd used powerbelts and experienced deer running up to 75 yards w/ no blood trail and or bullet break up. This bullet only passed through one deer which was broadside - not quartering on a double lung shot. However, there is no need to worry about a blood trail b/c the deer will be laying where you shot it! It definitely puts the "thump" on them. I shot 1 buck @ about 150 yards, a large doe @ 100 yards, and another buck @ a little over 50 yards. So, the bullet performed very well at muzzle loader ranges. I use 90 grains of shockeys gold - this is less than the recommended powder charge but my rifle groups 1- 1.5 inches @ 100yds with this load and the bullet perfomred very well on the animals I shot. I'd definitely give it a try if you're tired of powerbelt bullet problems.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 15 for Precision Dead Center .50 Caliber Sabots
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location: YAKIMA, WA
Age: 26-35
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

OUTSTANDING

Date:January 9, 2011
DEAD CENTER SABOTS ARE BY FAR THE MOST CONSITENT BULLETS I HAVE USED TO DATE. I AM ABLE TO MAKE ALL MY SHOTS KNOWING THEY WILL HIT THEIR MARK EVERY TIME.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 16 for Precision Dead Center .50 Caliber Sabots
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location: U.S. Army soldier
Age: 46-55
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

175 grain, 45 cal dead center sabots

Date:September 9, 2010
These are without a doubt the best muzzleloader bullets on the market in my opinion. they shoot superb in my muzzleloader, and hit like a hammer. Haven't had a deer walk away from a dead center yet.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 17 for Precision Dead Center .50 Caliber Sabots
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location: west. washington
Age: 46-55
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

newtothegame

Date:September 3, 2010
my son won a tc blackdiamond at our local du banquet, so he wanted to try it out for hunting. since he did i had to also. we went to lacey cabelas and the person in the gun department helped us get everything we needed since neither one of us ever shot a muzzleloader before. he recomended the dead center 260 grain and told us to try 85 to 90 gr of 777 loose powder. we sighted it in at 100 yards and grouped them really nice. so on opening day of elk season we went out and my son shot a 5x5 at 80 yards, droped it dead in its tracks,first elk for him. i used his gun with the same combination and shot a cow at 120 yards, went 10 yards and was dead!! what a great product, sold for life!!!
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 18 for Precision Dead Center .50 Caliber Sabots
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location: Bridgewater, VA
Age: 26-35
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

2 thumbs up!

Date:July 10, 2010
I started using these 4 years ago in my .45 cal Encore. I first started using the .40 cal 200gr with 150 gr of powder. I killed 3 deer and a turkey with these. All 3 deer went down quickly, however I had 1 with a great blood trail and 1 with a horrible blood trail. I then switched to the .357 cal in 195 gr. I've killed 4 deer with these and 3 dropped on the spot and the 1 that ran left a great blood trail. Very accurate and load easy. Best muzzleloader bullet I have used.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 19 for Precision Dead Center .50 Caliber Sabots
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location: Ms
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

dead center sabots

Date:May 24, 2010
these are great on deer quick clean kills and shoot great groups from T/C Omega
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 20 for Precision Dead Center .50 Caliber Sabots
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location: Washington, IL
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Dead Center Sabots

Date:May 10, 2010
Very happy with the accuracy of these sabots. Shot the 50 cal 240 grains with 100, 110 and 120 grains of loose Triple 7. Seemed to like 120 grains best in my CVA. Good groups at 100, 150 and 200 yds. Changed to these based on reviews of expansion effectiveness (knock down power) which I believe will be true next season. Wasn't happy with that aspect of the platinum Power Belts I was using.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
ReviewQuestion 1-20 of 86