Customer Reviews for CVA CVA Buckhorn 209 Magnum Rifle

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Cabela's.

CVA CVA Buckhorn 209 Magnum Rifle

All the top-performance features of modern in-lines in a package that's priced for anyone from the beginner to the veteran woodsman. The 24" 1-in-28" twist barrel offers complete powder burn for maximum velocity and downrange impact. An ultrareliable in-line 209 ignition system delivers optimum flash to ignite powder or pellets for shot-after-shot precision and zero delay between the hammer drop and main-charge ignition. Plus, it handles up to a 150-grain magnum charge to send a saboted bullet or conical streaking to the target. Dual-retention points between the barrel and stock retain a rock-solid hold for shot-to-shot consistency. A shock-dampening CrushZone™ butt pad absorbs recoil. Hollow stock with integrated grip panels and sling swivel studs. Illuminator™ fiber-optic sights. Drilled and tapped for mounting a scope. .50 caliber only. Length: 42". Weight: 6.3 lbs.
Overall Customer Rating:
4.662 out of 5
4.7
 out of 
5
(71 Reviews) 71
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 71 reviews
5 Stars
54
4 Stars
14
3 Stars
1
2 Stars
0
1 Star
2
69 out of 71(97%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for CVA Buckhorn 209 Magnum Rifle
Review 1 for CVA Buckhorn 209 Magnum Rifle
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location: California Sierras
Age: 65 and over
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Condor safe Tulley Elk gun

Date:August 3, 2010
Seeing the reviews for the CVA Buckhorn 209 Magnum Rifle gave me confidence that my quest for an inexpensive accurate, Condor safe, muzzel loading rifle could be fullfilled. The .50 Barnes .290 grain Tipped TSX and EZ were tried out. Both performed marvelously. Both printed well under an inch at 50 yards even with long trigger creep and lock time for the bolt to fall. The rifling is mirror bright and clean to the naked eye. Firing 3 rounds of the EZ to simulate fast follow up shots put 3 rounds touching at the 50 yard sight in range. All shots were loaded over 3 pellets of Triple 777. Great rifle CVA. Deadeye
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 2 for CVA Buckhorn 209 Magnum Rifle
Overall Customer Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location: Southern New England
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Good accuracy at very low price

Date:February 27, 2010
Bought this just prior to the '09 CT ML season via a Toyota-owner's discount + a gift card - the net out of pocket was <$100!
Can't beat the accuracy, even at 3x the price. Been shooting 295 ap pb's over (2) 50gr 777 pellets(yes, I've read the "iffy" reviews). They are accurate (2-3" or so @75-100yds). Put an inexpensive Bushnell 3-9 on it and shot a doe last day of the season at about 40yds. The PB appeared to go thru, but their bothersome reviews have got me looking for an alternate projectile. Been to the range w/it since - its still on target.
Fairly easy to clean - pull the cap @ the rear & remove the bolt. Same for unloading at the end of the day. Trigger is very good; crisp. Having a safety on a ML is an added bonus.
I had originally thought the operation was a little unconventional. The bolt actually slides forward when the trigger is pulled. This hasn't been an issue as I make sure to keep the inside of the receiver clean and lubricated. Although the underside of my scope gets powder-residue after long sessions at the range. There are receiver covers out there that prevent this.
All in all, a very robust, accurate rifle at a very reasonable price.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 3 for CVA Buckhorn 209 Magnum Rifle
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location: Temple, PA
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

worth its weight in gold!

Date:February 23, 2010
I purchased this rifle for the 09' hunting season. I took it out of the box, added a scope, sighted in after 3 shots, and put 10 more in a 3 inch circle at 100yards. No complaints whatsoever. You cannot beat the price. It shoots as well as a more expensive gun and is easy to maintain. It is a fun gun to shoot. Happy to say I took my first doe with it this season at 20 yards, she didnt even go 30 yards and dropped. The Hornady 300gr. XTP mag w/ 100gr. triple seven works great with this gun. I would recommend this gun to anyone starting out or on a tight budget and wants to enter the world of muzzleloading. Happy Hunting!!!
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 4 for CVA Buckhorn 209 Magnum Rifle
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location: Tennessee
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

CVA Buckhorn

Date:February 1, 2010
Sweet little gun that cannot be beat for the price, dead on accurate right out of the box. Cannot wait till I get a chance to use it now that it is scoped.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 5 for CVA Buckhorn 209 Magnum Rifle
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location: Lumberton, Texas
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Wonderful

Date:February 1, 2010
The 209 Buckhorn by CVA is a wonderful blackpowder rifle. Very easy to learn to shoot and clean. It comes with all the tools you need to clean it. Price is well below what it should be. For a rifle to cost this little and be so outstanding makes no sense to me. Im not complaining though. I feel this is definately worth the price and would recommend it to anyone looking to purchase a blackpowder rifle. You cant go wrong with this one.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 6 for CVA Buckhorn 209 Magnum Rifle
Overall Customer Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location: Crookston, Mn.
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

New Muzzleloader

Date:February 1, 2010
I just purchased the CVA Buckhorn 209 Magnum Rifle, I like the looks and feel of it, and I like the sights. I have not fired it yet, but will put it on the Bench rest this spring, and to be able to hunt deer with it in the fall of 2010.
Thank You!!!
Cabelas
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 7 for CVA Buckhorn 209 Magnum Rifle
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location: Pittsburg PA
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

solid product

Date:January 27, 2010
very nicely made, shoots well, i bought it because i didn't have one, so i added it to my collection of guns. was on sale with rebate and also had cabelas bucks to redeem, i had it delivered to cabelas, and quickness was exceptional. the muzzleloader was in perfect condition ready to shoot. like it alot.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 8 for CVA Buckhorn 209 Magnum Rifle
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location: East Texas
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

CVA Magnum

Date:January 26, 2010
Top quality rifle with many innovations to maximize the blackpowder venue. Quality weatherproof stock. Easy disassembly and cleaning with supplied tools. Has the benefit of firing with 209 shotgun primers for a hot ignite.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 9 for CVA Buckhorn 209 Magnum Rifle
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

love it

Date:January 21, 2010
this gun is great you should use 150 grains pelets for maximum accuracy this product is awsome!
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 10 for CVA Buckhorn 209 Magnum Rifle
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location: peebles,ohio
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

great purchase

Date:January 18, 2010
my wife bought me the cva backhorn 209 muzzleloading rifle for christmas.the first time i shot it was at a deer at about 125 yards and killed it.this is the 4th cva muzzleloader ive owned and in my opinion they are the best on the market.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 11 for CVA Buckhorn 209 Magnum Rifle
Overall Customer Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location: St. Louis, Mo
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Good Entry into Blackpowder

Date:January 18, 2010
I bought this gun to muzzle load hunt for a few extra weekends. It was a great entry level purchase; light, durable, great sights.
The only complaints I have are:
1.A little bit of the blueing came off during the shipping process. Not a huge deal to to me as paid less than $100 for this gun with all the rebates and what not.
2.It is a pain to clean, but I knew that going in to it and decided not to spend the extra money on a break action.
It shoots true and shooting round balls and patches, I can 20+ rounds in 3" groups at 75 yards without cleaning. Good enough for what I wanted and I couldn't beat the price.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 12 for CVA Buckhorn 209 Magnum Rifle
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location: long Island, NY
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

CVA Buchhorn 209 Magnum

Date:January 18, 2010
This is one solid rifle. The design, balance and accuracy is all great. priced right and powerful.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 13 for CVA Buckhorn 209 Magnum Rifle
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location: Indiana
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Great for the cost

Date:January 14, 2010
Great gun for the price. Shoots straight every time!
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 14 for CVA Buckhorn 209 Magnum Rifle
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location: Illinois
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

CVA Buckhorn

Date:January 13, 2010
This is a very good rifle, easy to use. easy to take apart. I would recomend the barrel blaster cleaning products, they make the clean up a snap.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 15 for CVA Buckhorn 209 Magnum Rifle
Overall Customer Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Would you recommend this product to a friend? No

Cheap Sights Break Easily

Date:January 12, 2010
The sights are plastic & easily broken. They are NOT covered under warranty, and replacements are NOT available from CVA.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 16 for CVA Buckhorn 209 Magnum Rifle
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location: Raytown, MO
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

A Lot of Bang for the Buck...horn 209 Mag Rifle

Date:January 11, 2010
Santa bought one for my son for Christmas. The muzzle loader is built really nice with smooth tigger pull, fiber optics iron sighs, and recoil pad. So nice that I got myself one, after Christmas.
Sure you can spend more, to get more, but for the few times we are able to get out to muzzleload hunt, this is a nice additional to the arsenal. This rifle gets a vote YES for recommending to others. You are not going to find a better muzzle loader for the price, and you would probably have to spend several hundred$ more to see any signifcant increase in muzzleloader quality. Thanks Cabelas
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 17 for CVA Buckhorn 209 Magnum Rifle
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location: los angeles ,california
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

cva buckhorn

Date:January 5, 2010
excellent starter rifle for first time blackpowder shooter.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 18 for CVA Buckhorn 209 Magnum Rifle
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

1st shot 1st kill

Date:January 2, 2010
I bought this gun for myself as a christmas present and had
not had a chance to shot it before a late winter season in Illinois as I walked into the blind I spooked 6 deer from the
area and I set up and waited 2 hours later 3 deer walked out and I took aim very first shot from gun at 71 steps and deer laid dead. great gun and dead on. Can't wait to shot it more and take longer shots. thanks again to all the people that gave there reviews this is the reason I bought the gun I also bought one for my 12 year old son for his Christmas and I hope he enjoys it as much as I have with one shot.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 19 for CVA Buckhorn 209 Magnum Rifle
Overall Customer Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location: indiana
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

first doe!

Date:January 1, 2010
First time trying a muzzle loader, verry green to this and first
year dear hunting. I had a very seasoned hunter showing me the ropes . used a tasco pronghorn scope for sights. Tried using 245 g powerbelts with not much luck, my first shot after
i thought i had it sighted in was a miss at 50 yards.I had two days left before the season was over and re-sighted with 295
powerbelts cause that was all i could find. At 100 yards i was on elevation but right 4 inchs. 6 clicks left and need to be hunting! I got my shot at a nice doe at about 80 yards and
crossed my hoofs! Got her! last day! The gun seems pretty
well made for a starter but not real crazy about the open breech set-up. Any way i have meat in the freezer and a great
experience hunting! All with a rifle under 100.00 bucks!
Thanks Cabelas!
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 20 for CVA Buckhorn 209 Magnum Rifle
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location: WI
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

dead on

Date:December 23, 2009
At 50 yards, three shots right out of the box in a one inch grouping. A one-click adjustment put them right in the bulls-eye. Awesome little gun for the price. The fiber optic sights are awesome.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
ReviewQuestion 1-20 of 71