Customer Reviews for CVA CVA Buckhorn 209 Magnum Rifle

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Cabela's.

CVA CVA Buckhorn 209 Magnum Rifle

All the top-performance features of modern in-lines in a package that's priced for anyone from the beginner to the veteran woodsman. The 24" 1-in-28" twist barrel offers complete powder burn for maximum velocity and downrange impact. An ultrareliable in-line 209 ignition system delivers optimum flash to ignite powder or pellets for shot-after-shot precision and zero delay between the hammer drop and main-charge ignition. Plus, it handles up to a 150-grain magnum charge to send a saboted bullet or conical streaking to the target. Dual-retention points between the barrel and stock retain a rock-solid hold for shot-to-shot consistency. A shock-dampening CrushZone™ butt pad absorbs recoil. Hollow stock with integrated grip panels and sling swivel studs. Illuminator™ fiber-optic sights. Drilled and tapped for mounting a scope. .50 caliber only. Length: 42". Weight: 6.3 lbs.
Overall Customer Rating:
4.662 out of 5
4.7
 out of 
5
(71 Reviews) 71
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 71 reviews
5 Stars
54
4 Stars
14
3 Stars
1
2 Stars
0
1 Star
2
69 out of 71(97%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for CVA Buckhorn 209 Magnum Rifle
Review 61 for CVA Buckhorn 209 Magnum Rifle
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location: Louisiana,LA
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

INCREDIBLEGUN

Date:November 29, 2006
This is an awsome gun!It was my first ever muzzleloader to shoot and buy.The first time I shot it,it is not loud or bad recoil.This gun is EEEEZZZZZ to clean.I'm 13 and it's really easy.This is my second favorite gun.I really love to hunt with this gun.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 62 for CVA Buckhorn 209 Magnum Rifle
Overall Customer Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location: upstate new york
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

great deal for the dollar

Date:November 21, 2006
For under $125 this gun cant be beat. It may not have all the features of a gun costing twice as much, but is still easy to use and clean and is super accurate.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 63 for CVA Buckhorn 209 Magnum Rifle
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location: southern illinois
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

one bad buckhorn

Date:November 21, 2006
i
purchased the buckhorn this fall and the first time i took it deer
hunting i took a 125 class 8-pointer at 70 yards and followed that up
by a 100 yard shot on a big doe with rifle sights only. what a great
gun thank you very much
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 64 for CVA Buckhorn 209 Magnum Rifle
Overall Customer Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location: Atlanta Ga
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Right on Target

Date:November 21, 2006
I bought this muzzleloader due to the low cost and fact would be using it for one week only. Right out of the box , my first shot at a target showed it to be almost right on the bullseye at 50yards. I was very pleased. I do believe I would get the breakopen model as it woud be easier to clean, than having to take the gun apart, and it isn't that much more in cost.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 65 for CVA Buckhorn 209 Magnum Rifle
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location: greenleaf , ID
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

209 buck horn magnum

Date:November 20, 2006
this muzzle loader is lightwheight, accurate easy to use and doesn't have alot of recoil. The best thing about this rifle is the price it is very affordable.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 66 for CVA Buckhorn 209 Magnum Rifle
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location: Granby, CT
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Magnum Rifle

Date:November 20, 2006
Bought this rifle for decoration purposes. It look great over my fireplace. Have yet to find the occasion to actually fire it. Waiting for that bear in my back yard.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 67 for CVA Buckhorn 209 Magnum Rifle
Overall Customer Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location: Phila Pa. I also shop at the Hamberg Store.
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

cva buckhorn 209 mag rifle

Date:November 20, 2006
The Buckhorn 209 Mag. is made well,light weight,easy to load
& shoot. I also liked the CABELAS price. This is my first black
powder experience.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 68 for CVA Buckhorn 209 Magnum Rifle
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location: Tennessee
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Get it all!

Date:November 14, 2006
Have you ever bought a new vehicle and became very excited because months later you find a hidden accessory or compartment that the dealer didn't tell you about? That is the deal with the buckhorn 209.
It packs all the mean power of an expensive in-line with a price that will leave room in your pocket for that celebrational brewski. I bought one so that a friend of mine could go hunting with me. I was going to let him have it until I gave it a test run at the range. To my surprise after mounting the scope it only took a couple of clicks to zero in! And it's a magnum so you can throw in the extra fifty grains and blow that big buck to kingdom come! Not a big fan of solid black and blueing... but at around one benjamin... well... I am sure I know where not to look a gift horse. Cleaning is a cinch as with any in-line. It's just like cleaning a shot gun. Cap, spring, bolt, hammer and breech plug out and you can see completely through the barrel. The only thing easier is a brake action. Now for the extras I was telling you about... the ram rod is tapped at both ends and has a patch jag built on one end and there is an extender included in the gun box. No need to buy a cleaning kit! Since the ram rod is exactly as long as the assembled gun barrel you can use it to safety check for whether or not the gun is already loaded. Just screw the extender in to the blank end of the ramrod slide it in and if the brass tap at the end of the ram rod is even with the end of the gun barrel you are ready to load! There are also 2 small holes in the end of the recoil pad made for holding 2-209 primers! ...WOW! It's like finding a hidden cup holder in that old dodge! LOL
Overall... This is a serious gun. Great for a beginner and satisfying for a pro... and... my friend's gonna have to buy his own because I'm keeping this one!
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 69 for CVA Buckhorn 209 Magnum Rifle
Overall Customer Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location: Lapeer, Mi
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Good learner

Date:November 8, 2006
The CVA Burckhorn 209 is the first muzzleloader that I have purchased. I am just getting into the sport of muzzleloading and this is the best gun I think that I can learn on. It is easy to use and fairly easy to service. Many nice features for a gun priced so well. Fiber optices, pre-drilled for scope, 209 ignition, etc. I think that this gun will provide years of good hunting and some great stories. I would defently recommend this to anyone interested in muzzleloading.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 70 for CVA Buckhorn 209 Magnum Rifle
Overall Customer Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location: rhode island
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

cva buckhorn

Date:November 6, 2006
I purchased the buckhorn last sept for my first muzzleloader,upon recieving the gun and becoming familar with it several things have happened,first the ramrod that came with did not fit ,but the company was excellent to send me another right away,after missing deer season because of inability to sight in good, i discovered the front sight was loose from the barrel,i do not like to hunt with scopes i like the open sight routine..this season despite numerous hours at range powerbelts and boxs of powder,i still could not sight in ,discovered the rear assembly was not tight to the barrel either,i purchased a scope and wham great gun,,a friend has a buckhorn thats why i purchased mine hes never had a problem swears by it and many deer to prove it,I will say cabelas is nothing short of 100 percent standing by their product as they have a new one on the way as i send back this one,i could just have a bad apple but we all get one sooner or later so i guess thats mine,but like i said i can change the open sights or stay with the scope,I will continue to buy cabelas products because of their desire to put there customers first !!!!in many purchases from them only time had a problem....
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 71 for CVA Buckhorn 209 Magnum Rifle
Overall Customer Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location: Virginia
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Good Gun

Date:November 4, 2006
I have killed my first and only two deer with this gun. While it is slightly difficult to clean, I enjoy it. I suggest putting a scope on it because I dont like the sights. Overall this is a very good gun.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
ReviewQuestion 61-71 of 71