Customer Reviews for CVA CVA Buckhorn 209 Magnum Rifle

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Cabela's.

CVA CVA Buckhorn 209 Magnum Rifle

All the top-performance features of modern in-lines in a package that's priced for anyone from the beginner to the veteran woodsman. The 24" 1-in-28" twist barrel offers complete powder burn for maximum velocity and downrange impact. An ultrareliable in-line 209 ignition system delivers optimum flash to ignite powder or pellets for shot-after-shot precision and zero delay between the hammer drop and main-charge ignition. Plus, it handles up to a 150-grain magnum charge to send a saboted bullet or conical streaking to the target. Dual-retention points between the barrel and stock retain a rock-solid hold for shot-to-shot consistency. A shock-dampening CrushZone™ butt pad absorbs recoil. Hollow stock with integrated grip panels and sling swivel studs. Illuminator™ fiber-optic sights. Drilled and tapped for mounting a scope. .50 caliber only. Length: 42". Weight: 6.3 lbs.
Overall Customer Rating:
4.662 out of 5
4.7
 out of 
5
(71 Reviews) 71
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 71 reviews
5 Stars
54
4 Stars
14
3 Stars
1
2 Stars
0
1 Star
2
69 out of 71(97%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for CVA Buckhorn 209 Magnum Rifle
Review 21 for CVA Buckhorn 209 Magnum Rifle
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location: SouthCentral,MN
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Solid Unit

Date:December 22, 2009
this is my first muzzleloader. I bought this knowing absolutely nothing about muzzloading rifles at all. Had a friend that knew a little show me the basics but this is a an easy to use rifle. I like it alot. the sights are great and its nice and light for walking and pushing deer. Nice durable gun, Im very happy with it.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 22 for CVA Buckhorn 209 Magnum Rifle
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location: Old Monroe, MO
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Works better than expected.

Date:December 19, 2009
I bought this gun as a back up and for the wife, when she wants to go. This gun isn't quite as good as my omega, but it is almost. I've he practiced a two hundred yard shot and did pretty good, even with 100 grains of powder and a t/c shockwave. I would never take that far of a shot, but I could. The only downfall is how the bolt works on it. Don't like the fact that my primer is exposed with the risk it could jar loose at a important time of the hunt. But other than that its a good gun worth every penny of what it cost!
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 23 for CVA Buckhorn 209 Magnum Rifle
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

shootenist rifle east of the big river

Date:December 4, 2009
every thing promised and more. Easy to shoot,clean,sight in and carry. AtoZ flawless. This is my first muzzleloader and has really become an extension of my arm in only oneday.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 24 for CVA Buckhorn 209 Magnum Rifle
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location: Virginia
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

CVA Buckhorn = awesome

Date:November 18, 2009
Great accuracy - I am impressed.
A bit of a pain to take apart to clean, but not too bad.
5 minutes and you are done.
This is my first muzzleloader and I cam completely satisfied with it. Killed a 6-pointer at ~120 yards on its first outing.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 25 for CVA Buckhorn 209 Magnum Rifle
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location: Twin Cities, MN
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Impressed (and I'm not easily impressed)

Date:November 16, 2009
I've mostly shunned in-line muzzleloaders because I don't feel they are "true" blackpowder rifles. With that, I already own a Hawkens and cap-n-ball revolver.
Since I was unable to go hunting during rifle season this year, I decided to get and in-line muzzleloader to more or less guarantee that I get a deer if I see one. There was no way I was going to pay $300+ for a dedicated deer muzzleloader and the Buckhorn drew my interest due to the price and positive feedback.
I received mine in the mail today and I'm impressed with its overall construction. The stock is plastic but feels very solid without any wiggle, the seams are clean and the molded-in grip panels should work very well with gloves.
Being striker fired, there is some disassembly to clean but its no more difficult that cleaning any other centerfire rifle. The barrel has a deep blue with no noticeable flaws in the blue or metal. The trigger assembly feels solid and though its striker fired, there is no creep in the trigger and lock time is quick. It also comes with an accessory kit containing everything you need to adjust the sights, load the 209 primer, take the rifle down and breech plug removal tool.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 26 for CVA Buckhorn 209 Magnum Rifle
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location: Yelm, Wa
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Excellent rifle

Date:November 4, 2009
I bought this rifle because of a few simple things. I have never been hunting because something always comes up. This year I lost my job. One of the key features that I purchased this rifle for was the lack of cost. I have read a great many reviews on many rifles. I called CVA and they sent me a #11/musket cap breach plug with nipples for each absolutely free of charge!!! Went to the range yesterday and shot 4 rounds at 50yds to see where it was shooting. Adjusted the sights and moved back to 100yds. 50gr of black powder shoots pretty low at 100yds (perfect for 50yds). 70grs of black powder is on paper but not very accurate. 80gr of black powder is right on the money. I am using #11 percussion cap (209's and optics are not legal in Washington state) 80gr of Goex Black powder, and 320gr T/C Maxiball lead conical (I may go up to a 350gr maxiball) and I couldn't be happier with it. I don't believe magnum loads are required to shoot this gun nor do I think they are necessary. Cleaning is a breaze too. I can't focus on the target and see the regular iron sights too. So with the fiber optic sights I can focus on the target and see the sights at the same time.
I will be going hunting for the first time in a couple of weeks for late Deer season and I'll be taking my CVA Buckhorn with me.
For the cost, this rifle great. I would highly recommend this to anyone, even family and friends.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 27 for CVA Buckhorn 209 Magnum Rifle
Overall Customer Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Location: Winterville NC
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

alright

Date:October 11, 2009
good product for the shot season that we have here in NC especially if you do not feel like spending a fortune
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 28 for CVA Buckhorn 209 Magnum Rifle
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Great Product

Date:August 18, 2009
This rifle was a great purchase! The quality is very apparent. There is no doubt CVA and others make nicer products, but for the money, this rifle can not be beat!! I purchased the rifle because it did not have a hammer, I like the slide bolt on the side and the safety. I would reccomend this to anyone who wants to save money and still get a quality product. The trigger is a little stiff but it does not have any creep, probably better to be stiffer for hunting situations anyways I suppose. I have already sighted it in and with 100gr. pyrodex and powerbelts it groups excellent!!
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 29 for CVA Buckhorn 209 Magnum Rifle
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location: Minnesota
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Great Gun For The Money

Date:August 9, 2009
I purchased the Buckhorn as a gift for a friend and after checking it out I plan to buy one with a scope for myself as a varmint gun. We can’t use scopes during the muzzle-loading season but I can use it with a scope during the shotgun season. I have three other black powder rifles so once sighted in I won’t have to remove the sight. Cabelas as usual got the gun to me very quickly
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 30 for CVA Buckhorn 209 Magnum Rifle
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location: Westport, Wa.
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Great gun, Great price, Great performer

Date:July 15, 2009
I got this gun last Christmas, wasn't sure how it would perform, but I wanted to give muzzle loader hunting a try. I found it a little difficult to sight in, mostly because I usually use a rifle w/scope. I changed the stock sights to Tru-Glo and it really made a difference and also had to change from a 209 to a musket cap and nipple(Wa. does not allow scopes or 209 primers). On my first time ever ML hunting on the first day of the elk season I dropped a 5x5 bull elk right thru neck @ 30yards. One shot One kill dropped him where he stood. I was using 90 grains of 777 ffg and 180grain precision QT polymer tipped bullets. Needless to say I'm hooked. Can't wait, Bear season starts in 2 weeks. I'll let you know how it goes. If your thinking about giving ML hunting a try, buy this gun you won't be disappointed
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 31 for CVA Buckhorn 209 Magnum Rifle
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location: Formerly IN currently NE
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Great Muzzle loader for the $$$

Date:May 29, 2009
Bought a combo deal for my dad last year with scope and all the trimmings... took 3 shots to sight in. This was my dads first time out hunting in 20+ years. Due to him selling his BSA 30-06 to put some food on the table during a rought spot years ago. The first night in the stand he dropped a doe at 130+ yards. He shot the smallest out of a group of 3 doe's but still proud of him none the less. The next day he shot a button buck on the run.
Needless to say I'm actually going to my local Cabelas to buy one of these tonight for my 1st muzzle loader.
Awesome Rifle.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 32 for CVA Buckhorn 209 Magnum Rifle
Overall Customer Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location: altoona pa
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

great gun

Date:April 11, 2009
i bought this as an entry level muzzleloader not expecting much out of it for the price of the gun. i figured i would try it out once i learned what i was doing move onto somthing better . wow what a great gun it only took a few shots and i was hooked on black powder. as far as trading up no way im happy with this gun and im keeping. it i put a bushnell banner 3-9 x 40 muzzleloader scope on it very accurate gun i shoot 100 gr triple 7 powder with hornaday 45 cal 240 gr sabboted hollow point . i dont care for the safety on it though thats why 4 stars instead of 5 .
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 33 for CVA Buckhorn 209 Magnum Rifle
Overall Customer Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Good gun at a great price.

Date:April 11, 2009
I have now owned a CVA Buckhorn for more than one year. In my experience it has been a wonderful weapon. It is incredibly consistent, easy to use, and fun to shoot. The CVA also has a relatively small kick. An example of how easy it is to use the CVA is that my 13 year old sister who is a left handed shooter is an ace shot with my right handed rifle. The CVA is perfect for all beginning blackpowder enthusiasts.
I have but one complaint for this firearm, the 209 Primers are difficult to load into the receiver. This results in slower reloading of the firearm.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 34 for CVA Buckhorn 209 Magnum Rifle
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location: checotah, oklahoma
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

buckhorn magnum rifle

Date:April 1, 2009
regarding, keeping the primer cap from falling out while walking. put a tiny amount of syrup on a Q-TIP and put a small dab by the primer hole, and it will secure the primer cap in place. and is easy to clean after use.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 35 for CVA Buckhorn 209 Magnum Rifle
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location: chicopee,ma
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

great

Date:February 16, 2009
I like the buckhorn because of the price and the rating. for a scope i used omega bdc works great. can shoot up to 200 yards or more.has a kick.i used 130 loose t777 and 250 hornady low drag.for the money it better than a bow.i just upgrade to knight rolling block. it always good to have a back up when you need it.i am not going to sell the buckhorn anytime soon. i tell my friends try if you do not like return it and try something else you like.thanks cva
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 36 for CVA Buckhorn 209 Magnum Rifle
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location: PA
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

CVA Buckhorn 209 Magnum Rifle

Date:January 29, 2009
I bought this gun as something to plink around with. I am amazed that I can shoot 4 inch groups at 100 yards. I would never have guess it was that well made. Since then it goes hunding with me.
The 209 primer is a great system. It sure beats an old flintlock.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 37 for CVA Buckhorn 209 Magnum Rifle
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location: Paducah, Ky
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Best value

Date:January 27, 2009
Nice rifle, great price. I like the fast twist too.
Al
Paducah, Ky
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 38 for CVA Buckhorn 209 Magnum Rifle
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location: Iowa
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

CVA Buckhorn In-Line Muzzleloader

Date:January 26, 2009
Talk about value for the money. You can't go wrong. Show me where else you can buy a decent muzzleloader for around $100+ bucks. Good luck with that one.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 39 for CVA Buckhorn 209 Magnum Rifle
Overall Customer Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Would you recommend this product to a friend? No

Disappointed

Date:January 23, 2009
I purchased this gun because it had good reviews and is a light gun. It was also very affordable, however, I took it out to sight in and after I put two .245 grain powerbelt bullets through it w/ 100 gr. of pyrodex triple 7 pellets(the buckhorn I got was not at all accurate), the third bullet was tough to seat all the way down. I ran a swab through the gun after the third shot, but still the fourth bullet I loaded got lodged halfway down the barrel without getting seated all the way this time. I had to take the gun completely apart in order to get the breech plug out so I could safely remove the charge and sabot. I have a Traditions Pursuit Pro break action muzzleloader (heavy gun though) already and I could fire up to 5 or 6 shots through it without having much trouble loading it, so something was wrong with this one. I sent the gun back and will be buying another break action muzzleloader that is light.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 40 for CVA Buckhorn 209 Magnum Rifle
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location: Youngstown, New York
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

CVA Buckhorn

Date:January 20, 2009
Product was delivered very quickly as usual. The fit and finish is very good. This is a very good solid feeling rifle. Don't let the cheap price fool you. The stock is very comfortable and durable. I added a butler's creek sling and a 3-9x40 scope to it. As for cleaning, it's not as easy as a break open but it still only takes all of a minute to completely strip it down. I have not had a chance to go to the range yet. I will do a follow up review when I get to the range. If the other reviews are an indicator, I think it will do great.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
ReviewQuestion 21-40 of 71