Customer Reviews for New England Firearms New England Firearms Sidekick Rifle - Blue/Wood

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Cabela's.

New England Firearms New England Firearms Sidekick Rifle - Blue/Wood

The Sidekick delivers modern, break-action in-line performance in the same reliable New England Firearms frame that has been a hunting staple for decades. The short-fall hammer speeds ignition time for added precision and features a New England Firearm's patented transfer bar system for increased safety. The 26", 1-in-28"-twist blued barrel offers complete powder burn for improved velocities. The 209 primer is held in place by a reusable primer carrier that helps seal out moisture and dust. An innovative telescoping ramrod fits easily within the forearm and thimble. Removable breech plug for fast, efficient cleaning. Adjustable fiber-optic sights for superior low-light performance. Features a hardwood stock with color case-hardened frame and blued barrel. .50 caliber only. Length: 41-1/2". Weight: 7-1/4 lbs.
Overall Customer Rating:
4.667 out of 5
4.7
 out of 
5
(27 Reviews) 27
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 27 reviews
5 Stars
20
4 Stars
6
3 Stars
0
2 Stars
1
1 Star
0
26 out of 27(96%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for New England Firearms Sidekick Rifle - Blue/Wood
Review 1 for New England Firearms Sidekick Rifle - Blue/Wood
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

NEF sidekick rifle

Date:July 28, 2008
purchased this muzzleloader for my son, it is very well built, easy to operate and very very accurate at 200 yards.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 2 for New England Firearms Sidekick Rifle - Blue/Wood
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location: Shallowater, Texas
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

milincar

Date:May 5, 2008
I own several New England and H&R Handi Rifles,so was not surprised at the quality for the money,accuracy, & looks of my new Sidekick 50 cal. rifle. I intend to take it elk hunting this fall ,if I get drawn for a tag.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 3 for New England Firearms Sidekick Rifle - Blue/Wood
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location: Haines Alaska
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Performance specs

Date:March 17, 2008
To be honest, I didn't know much about muzzleloaders. Southeast Alaska isn't really the place for one. Wet conditions and very large man-eating bears. I considered it a novalty. Shipping was fast considering I live in a remote area. Out of the box I noticed the fit of parts was nice but the finish on the steel was slightly lacking. I could see the milling marks. I was told NEF were all that way. I chose two different types of projectiles for the initial test fireing. T/C shockwave sabots and T/C Maxi-Ball. Using pyrodex powder, three target positions were 50, 100 and 150 yards. First was the Shockwave sabots. 50 and 100 yards were 3 to 4 inch spreads on the horizontal and vertical plane with 90 grains. 150 yards with 100 grains the sabots were exceptional on the horizontal with only slight adjustment on the vertical plane. Next came the Maxi-Ball with 90 grains at 50 and 100 yards. Consistent grouping within 2 inchs (wow). 150 yards with 100 grains the drop off rate was noticeable. 125 grains at 150 yards just seemed to make more smoke and the drop seemed the same. To sum it all up, the rifle was exceptional for the price. Do your homework and know the parameters of your load. My overall choice for projectile was the Maxi-ball up to 100 yards. Hope this helps.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 4 for New England Firearms Sidekick Rifle - Blue/Wood
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location: Tennessee
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Excellent Firearm

Date:February 29, 2008
Worth more than muzzleloaders, that cost more. Excellent trigger, fit and finish, very accurate, easy to clean. Great product. Cabela's is quick shipper.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 5 for New England Firearms Sidekick Rifle - Blue/Wood
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location: port neches texas
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

sidekick review

Date:February 20, 2008
can't say enough good things about this gun, I am a muzzleloader rookie and it shoots .44 cal 240 gr sabots as accurately as my centerfire rifles shoot their ammo. The rifle is more durable than a 10/22 yet very pretty.
Yes I did get a different range ram rod. Get the scope base from NEF soon as a scope will utilize the full potential of this rifle.
I was prepared to spend five or six hundred on a competitor's rifle, not necessary, this one owns them all.
pull the breech plug, easy to clean, easy to load the sabots. Makes for an enjoyable afternoon of shooting, and I only got a ML to get an extra week of deer hunting, never thought I would enjoy just going and shooting it.
Like any others, the breech plug can get a little stubborn if not cared for and greased, but hey man its black powder not black rifle.
I used mine in my climbing stand and scratched it up a bit but this is a utilitarian type weapon, get it out there in the field and use it.
the plastic primer carriers, I've only used one and made about fifty shots, I like to put a spent primer in a carrier and stick that one in for "safe mode".
once again, extremely pleased with this product.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 6 for New England Firearms Sidekick Rifle - Blue/Wood
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Nice bargain gun

Date:February 8, 2008
This is my first muzzleloader, so I don't have a lot of experience as of yet. For the price this is a fine firearm. It is easy to clean and operate. It is very tight and well made.
James
Houston, Tx
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 7 for New England Firearms Sidekick Rifle - Blue/Wood
Overall Customer Rating: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Location: BEMUS POINT, NY
Would you recommend this product to a friend? No

Certainly not intended for out-of-the-box use

Date:January 18, 2008
AFTER LOOKING ALL OVER FOR A SIDEKICK, I WAS ADVISED TO CHECK CABELA'S. SURE ENOUGH THERE IT WAS. I ORDERED IT, AND IT TOOK ONLY TWO DAYS TO ARRIVE-GREAT!!! BUT UNFORTUNATELY THE SEALED BOX ARRIVED INCOMPLETE AND UNUSEABLE. I WAS MISSING THE PRIMER CARRIERS AND THE BREECH PLUG WRENCH. THIS OMMISION WAS APPARENTLY A FACTORY ERROR, SO I CALLED THE FACTORY. IT APPEARS THAT I WILL HAVE TO WAIT UNTIL MARCH FOR THE "BACKORDERED" PARTS. NO NOTE IN THE BOX TELLING ME WHAT WAS SHORT SHIPPED..NO NOTHING!
CABELA'S DID A GREAT JOB, BUT OBVIOUSLY, THE FACTORY DROPPED THE BALL.
I, FOR ONE, CERTAINLY WOULD HAVE GONE ELSE WHERE HAD I HAD ANY IDEA OF THE PROBLEMS I WAS GOING TO HAVE GETTING A COMPLETE ORDER. BUT NOW I WILL SPEND MY TIME CALLING THE FACTORY IN FEBRUARY, THEN MARCH ...AND PROBABLY APRIL! LOOKS NICE ON MY GUN RACK, HOWEVER.....
NML
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 8 for New England Firearms Sidekick Rifle - Blue/Wood
Overall Customer Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location: Central MN
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Quality muzzle loader.

Date:January 7, 2008
I wanted a muzzle loader that had a more tradtional look and feel, this one really fits the bill.
The removable breach plug makes for very easy cleaning and service.
I have been very impressed with the feel, action, and accuracy. I cant get over how much power these guns have!
This is my first muzzle loader, maybe my last, I get the impression it will last me a liftetime.
After two weeks of rifle season, and still no deer, I used this gun to shoot my first deer...EVER! Pretty exciting.
Overall this is a guality firearm, at an affordable price.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 9 for New England Firearms Sidekick Rifle - Blue/Wood
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location: MD
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Accurate Rifle, Made in USA

Date:December 18, 2007
My Sidekick is not only accurate (overlapping holes are no problem with Hornady 180gr XTP MAG/green sabots with 100 gr. 777 at 50 and 100 yards), but a fantastic value. An added bonus is that H&R/New England Firearms, now a division of Marlin, makes these wonderful rifles in Gardner MA. I've hunted with my walnut/blued Sidekick two seasons and shot quite a bit in between and it is holding up nicely. A great shooting, accurate, inexpensive, American made muzzleloader: What more can you ask for!
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 10 for New England Firearms Sidekick Rifle - Blue/Wood
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location: Kentucky
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

great rifle at a great price

Date:November 19, 2007
Excellent sights, good fit & finish. The BEST trigger I've ever pulled on ANY firearm, light & very crisp. Not especially difficult to clean (q-tips come in handy for the breech plug). Shot well with several different projectiles. Seems to like fairly heavy charges of Pyrodex with most; best accuracy with most bullets I've tried was with 90-110 grains.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 11 for New England Firearms Sidekick Rifle - Blue/Wood
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location: rapid city, sd
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

sidekick

Date:October 15, 2007
nice trigger, easy to clean, great value
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 12 for New England Firearms Sidekick Rifle - Blue/Wood
Overall Customer Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

modern muzzleloader

Date:October 9, 2007
This is my first purchase of an inline so I can not compare the Sidekick to other inlines. I have shot flintlocks and percussion caps for years.I went this route to get the advantage of easier cleaning, With the removal breech plug this is a lot better way to keep your muzzleloader clean and make certain a sure fire each time. I bought the NEF not only because of the price but also I have had a 10 guage NEF I purchased many years ago for turkey hunting, It is a well built shotgun and the sidekick is a solid well built gun as well. I have not shot a deer with it yet but maybe tomorrow. I have shot it a bunch at the rifle range and the gun is patterning well. I have mounted a scope on the gun and not even a particularly good scope but I am getting a a hand's width pattern at 100 yds. I belive I like the primer holder method for this gun better than what I have seen in the other in lines. You can keep several ready and in easy reach for quicker reloading if needed. The adjustable ramrod is different but I got used to it and have not had any problem using it. All in all I am well pleased with the performance and would recommend geeting the good scope with the gun because I believe it could have good longer range performance than what I have been used to in the traditional muzzleloaders, but I am happy with the 100 yd oerformance I'm getting now. Good hunting.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 13 for New England Firearms Sidekick Rifle - Blue/Wood
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location: Greenville,SC
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

NEF SIDEKICK

Date:October 8, 2007
I have never been more impressed,out of the box,with any gun I've purchased.The fit and finish compare w/ guns costing 5 times as much.Very well put together w/out a spec of plastic on it;and it's made in the U.S.A. Not a better deal out there!!
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 14 for New England Firearms Sidekick Rifle - Blue/Wood
Overall Customer Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location: Redlands Ca
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

A nice sidekick to go shooting with.

Date:September 11, 2007
I bought this gun after attending Scout camp with my two boys. They had black powder shooting there and we wanted to add this to the target shooting that we do. It's fun to shoot and seems to be well made. You can't beat the price, especially since I wanted a wood stock. The breach plug can be difficult to remove, the rifle needed sighting in, and I use an aftermarket ramrod since the telescoping one that comes with the gun is a bit awkward. But like I said for the price it can't be beat. It's a fun affordable rifle to shoot.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 15 for New England Firearms Sidekick Rifle - Blue/Wood
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location: So. Cal.
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

New England Firearms Sidekick Rifle - Blue/Wood

Date:September 11, 2007
Fun, accurate and reliable.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 16 for New England Firearms Sidekick Rifle - Blue/Wood
Overall Customer Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location: Indiana, mostly hunting oriented (coyotes)
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

NEF Sidekick Rifle - Blue/Wood

Date:August 27, 2007
Bought one Fall of '06 that I scoped. Out of box, 2 Triple 7 50 gr. pellets, CCI 209, and Hornady 240 gr. 44 Black Mag. Sabots, give me clover leaf groups at 100 yds. Have only experimented with two other loads, that were not as accurate, but were acceptable. So, using the "if it isn't broke, don't fix it method" never bothered with another load work up.
The recent Sidekick I bought will be set up for peepsight. Have no doubt it will shoot well also. Have noticed a definite and gradual improvement in the tooling of the H&R/NEF's over the past 2 years. As with most muzzleloaders, just have to find a load that works best for your use. Believe the Sidekick is one of the best bang for the "buck" (pun intended) at present time. Other friends have had good results with theirs also.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 17 for New England Firearms Sidekick Rifle - Blue/Wood
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location: Missouri
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Sidekick Rifle

Date:June 25, 2007
After shooting and hunting with muzzleloading rifles and pistols for 35 years, I decided to give the .50 cal. Sidekick rifle a try. This is absolutely the easiest to load, shoot and clean muzzleloading rifle I have ever owned! The workmanship in this gun is flawless, blued steel and wood, Williams fiber-optic sights, excellent trigger. What more could you ask for? With the primer holders, you can carry them in your pocket and don't have to bother with an inline capper or worry about losing your caps on the ground during loading. I have heard some complaints about the ramrod. If you run the bullet down the barrel before extending the ramrod to seat it, you won't have any problems whatsoever. This firearm design has been built by H & R since the 1890's. Believe me, they have it perfected!
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 18 for New England Firearms Sidekick Rifle - Blue/Wood
Overall Customer Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location: North Carolina
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

1stSgtusmc

Date:April 30, 2007
good except the ram rod is hard to adjust when you are in a hurry.easy to clean.easy to load.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 19 for New England Firearms Sidekick Rifle - Blue/Wood
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

NEF Muzzleloader

Date:February 11, 2007
I shot NEF's for years. They are well made and accurate. Their .50 cal muzzleloader is no different. The weapon is simple to use and easy to clean. I sighted it in with a couple of friends who both have higher-end muzzleloaders. They were both impressed with the weapon, or maybe envious is a better word. When I informed them of the price they agreed the weapon was worth every penny.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 20 for New England Firearms Sidekick Rifle - Blue/Wood
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location: Lusby,MD
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

nef muzzleloader

Date:January 12, 2007
this gun is a very nice gun i killed my first deer with this gun i give it a 5 star rating
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
ReviewQuestion 1-20 of 27