Customer Reviews for FEDERAL Federal Premium® .270 WSM Rifle Ammunition

FEDERAL Federal Premium® .270 WSM Rifle Ammunition

.270 WSM ammunition shoots extremely flat and hits hard providing hunters with highly effective cartridges for a variety of big game. 20 per box.
Overall Customer Rating:
4.742 out of 5
4.7
 out of 
5
(31 Reviews) 31
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 31 reviews
5 Stars
27
4 Stars
2
3 Stars
1
2 Stars
0
1 Star
1
30 out of 31(97%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer questions and answers:
1 Question | 0 Answers
Customer Reviews for Federal Premium® .270 WSM Rifle Ammunition
Review 1 for Federal Premium® .270 WSM Rifle Ammunition
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Country: United States
State: Tennessee
Age: 56-65
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

FEDERAL

Date:January 9, 2014
I REMBER WHEN I WAS JUST A KID. FEDERAL HADE JUST STARTED MAKING AMMO. NO ONE WANTED IT. THE THOUGHT IT WAS JUNK. BUT IT IS GOOD AMMO AND MADE IN THE USA. BUT THE ARE PRICEN THEM SELVES OUT OF BUSSINES. BECAUSE THARE IS STILL GOOD AMMO OUT THARE THATS JUST AS GOOD AND DONT COST AS MUCH. BUT LIKE I SEED I LIKE IT BECAUSE IT IS MADE IN THE USA.,
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 2 for Federal Premium® .270 WSM Rifle Ammunition
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Age: 46-55
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Great bullet, great round.

Date:January 29, 2013
I use the Accubond bullet in both my Browning A-bolt in 270WSM 140 grain and in my Ruger Scout rifle in 308 with 165 grain. I have had great luck with these rounds on both deer and hogs. They are hard to find on the shelves, but you'll be happy with them.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 3 for Federal Premium® .270 WSM Rifle Ammunition
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Country: United States
State: Missouri
Age: 46-55
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

My Featherweight Loves This Round!

Date:December 5, 2012
I can consistantly group 1" MOA and if I do my part, Sub MOA with Federals 140 gr. Accubond load from my Winchester Featherweight. I've taken at least a dozen deer with this caliber / round and none have ran further than 50 yards and a majority drop right in their tracks. My longest shot to date was just shy of 400 yards on a doe who ran 30 yards before dropping and it was with this round. Each box has four individual plastic carriers that hold five rounds which you can either attach to your belt or drop in your pocket without fear of shells rattling around. Great thinking Federal! It's probably as close to handloaded ammo that you can buy offering great performance and well worth the money.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 4 for Federal Premium® .270 WSM Rifle Ammunition
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Country: United States
State: Washington
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

GREAT AMMUNITION

Date:May 24, 2012
This ammunition is very accurate and has great knock down performance, My 270 WSM Model Seven Remington shoots this factory loads very well, i will continue to use this ammo for deer. Federal 130 grain Barnes Triple Shock are a little spendy but worth the money.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 5 for Federal Premium® .270 WSM Rifle Ammunition
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location: Plano, Texas
Age: 56-65
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Consistant

Date:April 23, 2012
Not only are these rounds more affordable than Winchesters own ammunition, but they are also imprint more consistant patterns. The lower recoil of the 130 gr. ammo also suits my wife! PH's in Africa also like the Trophy Bonded bullet over Balistic tips!
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 6 for Federal Premium® .270 WSM Rifle Ammunition
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location: NC
Age: 56-65
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Best Ammo I have ever use to deer hunt.

Date:April 16, 2012
This Ammo load is the very best there is for a 270 WSM. If you hit the deer any where in the shoulder vital area it is down on the spot no tracking for me yet with this Ammo.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 7 for Federal Premium® .270 WSM Rifle Ammunition
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location: Duvall, WA.
Age: 56-65
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Fed .270WSM

Date:April 10, 2012
As expected Quality. Sub MOA Groups in my Weatherby.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 8 for Federal Premium® .270 WSM Rifle Ammunition
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Age: 46-55
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Impressive

Date:February 14, 2012
I was surprised by the deadly accuracy.
I have only been to the firing range so far but am confident I’ll score with this ammo when I get out there to drop game.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 9 for Federal Premium® .270 WSM Rifle Ammunition
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location: Mississippi
Age: 56-65
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

270 WSM 140 gr Accubond

Date:January 14, 2012
Excellent round for accuracy and bullet performance.
I have achieved pass thru on all the large whitetails that I have shot excellent terminal performance
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 10 for Federal Premium® .270 WSM Rifle Ammunition
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location: Lafayette La
Age: 36-45
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Awesome bullet

Date:December 22, 2011
Shot a big bull elk in November with this bullet in .270 WSM 110 grain TTSX at 350 yards. He ran 25 yards. They also shoot outstanding. I've gotten 4" groups at 500 yards from my factory Remington 700 CDL.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 11 for Federal Premium® .270 WSM Rifle Ammunition
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location: Poplarville, MS
Age: 26-35
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Best round

Date:September 10, 2011
I bought a Ruger Mark77 .270 WSM with a Nikon 3x9 -50 Pro Staff scope. Right before hunting season started last year. Had to get it sighted in. I tried several different brands from Winchester Supreme to Hornady. I could not get good grouping. Average grouping size was from 2.0in to 2.75in. Holes all over the target. I was shooting with a vise. Tried cleaning rifle before shooting with not much difference. I wouldn't even think about useing the rifle for hunting season. So I said let me try the lead free rounds. Cleaned my rifle before going out in the backyard to shoot. After shooting 3 rounds I was amazed with the results. Had a .75in group at 100yds. I let rifle rest and cool for a few hours and came back and shot 3 more rounds same result. Glad I found this ammo. Now I will not hesitate one bit about taking this rifle into the woods. I am extremely pleased with this ammo that I ordered 3 more boxes. Pricey but will fill the freezer year after year.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 12 for Federal Premium® .270 WSM Rifle Ammunition
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location: Sheboygan, WI
Age: 26-35
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

TTSX ACCURACY

Date:May 3, 2011
Last year I used 130 grain TSX to took down 6 of the 7 deer. The one I didn't find falls about 80 yards from where I make the shot, but don't know where this one went. This year I switching to 110 grain TTSX after talking to Barnes Personnel. The bullet looks identical, but TSX is a bit slimmer and longer. The shot TTSX at the range today and it perform just a bit more accurate than TSX. I got a sub 1/2 in at 185 yards. After I inspect the ammo, I think TTSX will do more damage than TSX due to quick expansion created more killing pressure. I used a Browning stainless stalker 270 wsm. TTSX is a lot more foregiving on the shoulder compare to heavier bullet. I would recommend this ammo to anyone who wants a flat shooting bullet.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 13 for Federal Premium® .270 WSM Rifle Ammunition
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location: Texas
Age: 56-65
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

one dead deer

Date:April 7, 2011
Hunting in the big West Texas country is like much of the Western states and supreme accuracy is paramount. My Hill Country Rifle in 270 WSM is very accurate with this round, 3 shot groups less than .35" at 100 yards. A carefully held neckshot brought down my deer with certainty and he never wiggled.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 14 for Federal Premium® .270 WSM Rifle Ammunition
Overall Customer Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location: clayton, nc
Age: 26-35
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

A deer won't tote 1 far.

Date:February 23, 2011
I shot several deer with this ammo this year. Not 1 of them could take another step after impact. I am pleased with the trauma caused by this ammo. Kills are clean and humane and I hate to lose a deer! I was not impressed with the accuracy, however. I am a good shot and my savage is a good rifle. At 150 yards I could shoot 2 rounds within 1" of each other and the other would be 3"-4" off. That means at 250 yards I could be waaaay off! That's not good at all considering the price of the ammo. I don't know what's causing this inconsistency. I still shoot this ammo because I have used more accurate ammo that isn't nearly as effective on big game. I am going to continue looking for a better round, maybe something by hornady. I hate to think I may cripple a deer or miss one completely because I took my chances with inaccurate ammo.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 15 for Federal Premium® .270 WSM Rifle Ammunition
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location: Roanoke Va.
Age: 56-65
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Great Cartridge

Date:January 20, 2011
This cartridge has great knock down power and very good expansion for a clean kill. I killed two bucks and three does with one shot kills this season.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 16 for Federal Premium® .270 WSM Rifle Ammunition
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location: Klamath Falls, OR.
Age: 36-45
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Tack Drivers!

Date:August 10, 2010
I'm really happy with the 270 WSM Federal Vital Shoks. The 130 gr. Barnes TSX bullets consistantly shot sub half inch groups at 100 yards out of my Rem 700 sps. Can hardly wait to see how they perform on my Oregon bighorn sheep hunt next week!
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 17 for Federal Premium® .270 WSM Rifle Ammunition
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location: Gainesville, Fl.
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Federal 270 WSM 130 NBT

Date:May 3, 2010
sub-moa groups out of my Tikka. at the range out preformed winchesters silver tips by ~0.50" (3 shot groups). in the feild downed a 300+ boar hog @ ~150 yds.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 18 for Federal Premium® .270 WSM Rifle Ammunition
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

TCM

Date:April 26, 2010
I have shot this ammunition out to 350yards and the performance is outstanding. I've always been a fan of Federal Premium ammunition regardless of caliber.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 19 for Federal Premium® .270 WSM Rifle Ammunition
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location: SAN JOSE,CA.
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

FEDERAL 270 WSM W/ 130 GRN BARNES TSX

Date:April 6, 2010
WHAT GREAT AMMO. MY NEPHEW AND I WENT HOG HUNTNG USING MY BROWNING A BOLT AND BROWNING BLR WHICH BOTH SHOT SUB MOA WHEN SIGHTED IN. MY NEPHEW DROPPED HIS STONE DEAD WITH ONE SHOT BEHIND THE SHOULDER AT 110 YARDS. I KILLED MINE WITH A QUARTERING AWAY AT 180 YARDS THAT ENTERED BEHIND THE LEFT SHOULDER AND EXITED THROUGH RIGHT SHOULDER TAKING OUT BOTH LUNGS. THE BARNES TSX IS SO EFFICTIVE I MAY USE IT EVEN WHERE LEAD FREE AMMO ISN'T REQUIRED.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 20 for Federal Premium® .270 WSM Rifle Ammunition
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location: hillsborough, NJ
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

awesome ammo

Date:February 16, 2010
Outstanding accuracy as well as performance.I have a winchester model 70with a laminated stock, in .270 WSM. I can get groups as tight as 1/2 to 5/8 of an inch at a 100 yards.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
ReviewQuestion 1-20 of 31